We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Yak & Yeti

Show Prices
#42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Yak & Yeti
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 858: English reviews
New York City, New York, Usa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good value, well located, very friendly and accommodating staff A long time visitor who would like to see a little upgrading of the facilities and furnishings Staff was very helpful arranging airport pickups

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
qateef
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here at the last day of our stay, I can say you can feel the 5 star in their but not quite what I was expected, I think the place just needs renovations. Big thanx to the Manager Philip for his effort he has done for us so we get the room we asked for. Don't be fooled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zakaroni
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. As you must know, our hotel property conserves a history of about 100 years; we are continuously thriving to keep it up to date with the latest technologies and facilities. A half of the hotel renovation process was put in place...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staying in the Yak hotel was very pleasant and enjoyable for me. We liked the location very much. The service people everywhere were very nice and polite. We liked the breakfast very much. I have stayed last year 4 times

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed S
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful feedback regarding our hotel. Thank you for highlighting our high class services and facilities. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not the distant future. Best Regards, Philippe Belhay

Winter Park, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had such high hopes for this property, but regardless of what other reviewers say about this property ( take a look at 1. Where the reviewers are from. 2. Look at the number of reviews they have made; that should give you a better evaluation of whose giving glowing comments). Let's start with the front desk host, who unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. We express our sincere apology for the inconveniences that have caused during your stay with us. However, the management is investigating regarding our comment. Please rest assured that your comment is taken on board by the management for swift action. Upon...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ground floor room with a view over the garden was lovely. However lots of noise from next room - walls are very thin. Staff very helpful and polite. Food is good, lots of choices at breakfast. Lovely kept gardens with a small swimming pool with outside bar but it took quite a while to get a cup of tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula110
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful feedback regarding our hotel. Thank you for highlighting our high class services and facilities. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not the distant future. Best Regards, Philippe Belhay

Thane, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying here for 4 nights in January. The hotel is beautiful (minimalist yet comfortable). Day one I found the rooms to be really dark as they don't have enough lights in the room but then eventually you get used to it. For the pricing - it is totally worth it. Big celebs and business officials stay here and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet11C
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful feedback regarding our hotel. Thank you for highlighting our high class services and facilities. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not the distant future. Best Regards, Philippe Belhay

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Kathmandu is one of the most vibrant and colorful cities in the world, and anyone visiting should be pleased with the Yak & Yeti. It's distinctive name is surpassed only by it's welcoming environment, wonderful location and the great service provided by a friendly staff, committed to your comfort. I've stayed in hotels around the world, from zero to five...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smith3583
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful feedback regarding our hotel. Thank you for highlighting our high class services and facilities. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not the distant future. Best Regards, Philippe Belhay

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had such a lovely time in the hotel firstly with the friendly staff who are happy to help, with a smile no matter what your request. The surrounds are well kept and beautiful and despite being so close to the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu, it feels like a quiet oasis away from it all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahesha
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful feedback regarding our hotel. Thank you for highlighting our high class services and facilities. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not the distant future. Best Regards, Philippe Belhay

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice hotel with great staff and comfortable rooms. Great breakfast buffet with many items to choose from. A few things for me were a little off. 1: bar shorted alcohol content in drinks. 2: dinner staff not familiar with menu or lack of English posed a problem. 3: for a 5 star hotel you have to pay for Wi-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perry H
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. Please rest assured that your constructive comment has been taken on board by the management for swift action. Upon your next visit to Hotel Yak & Yeti, please do ask to meet with your General Manager to ensure your stay a...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

when searching for hotels in KTM, this hotel comes as top 5 or 10 hotels. Its a let down the hotel smells n has dated interiors. It's not a 5 star. Not worth the price. its ok to be ranked as 3 or max 4 star. The breakfast buffet does't have live stations, coffee machine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kanwarjot Singh W
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti! Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. Please rest assured that your constructive comment has been taken on board by the management for swift action. Upon your next visit to Hotel Yak & Yeti, please do ask to meet with your General Manager to ensure your stay a...

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#52 of 193 in Kathmandu
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#56 of 193 in Kathmandu
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: £101 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Yak & Yeti staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Yak & Yeti staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the heritage rooms - pool view. Those are brighter and bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles Harriet11C, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The breakfast buffet is included, and you can negotiate great values in the lobby shops if you take the time to get to know them.”
 of 5 bubbles smith3583, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ramsharans2017, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“quite location even though not far from in main city roads”
 of 5 bubbles 51tejalp, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“WIFI is not included in your hotel rate. So, if you need to have this amenity it will be an extra $10 per day. The buffet breakfast is OK.”
 of 5 bubbles arturofranz, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5