We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

New Road Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Road Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of New Road Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

First of all, I must praise the hosts at this place. They all speak English well and are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are not very nice, small and damp (tried two fan rooms, i.e. no ac. The restaurant is good and prices are so so. The staff will be more than happy to arrange taxi etc for you, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Risskov, Arhus, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great 5 nights here! Really good location and super friendly staff. The atmosphere was always very chilled, which made you feel layer back, even in the hustle and bustle from Bangkoks busy streets. Good food and drink options in the cafe and for breakfast, but also many street food choices available close by! We enjoyed ourselves!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MathildePoulsen
Management response:

Dear, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is very apreciated. We are glad that you have pleasant stay with and we hope to see you again at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont,...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got great advice about my travels here. The staff is super knowledgeable and very helpful with getting to nearby countries. They have a lot of package deals that are reasonably priced. This is definitely a commercial backpackers place and not for super budget backpackers! They also charge 200 baht extra for booking trains and extra for buses which is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura c
Management response:

Dear, We would like to thank you for your very good feedback. We are glad that you liked our hotel and the services offered. We hope to see you again very soon at New road Guesthouse. For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office Supervisor.

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Rooms are a bit small but very clean. Staff is helpful and can give you a lot of information of Thailand and Bangkok. Many other backpackers so you will meet cool other people. Location is not perfect but good enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan Taeke G
Management response:

Dear, We would like to thank you for your very good feedback. We are glad that you enjoy our staff and hotel and we hope to see you again very soon at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok. For any information, please do not hesitate to get back to us. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont. Front Office...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed 2 nights and I can totally recommend this guesthouse! The staff was very friendly and helped us with so many questions, there is free coffee and tea and, near to the Lebua State Tower and china town, its good situated and many sights such as the Patpong Night Market are easy to reach, also if you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurametke
Management response:

Dear, We would like to thank you for choosing the New Road Guesthouse for your last stay in Bangkok and we are very happy that you enjoy our hotel, facilities and location. We hope to see you again and all the team wish you all the best for 2017. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont, Front Office Supervisor

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Staff is helpful and friendly. The location of the hostel is alright and nearby public transport. We extended our stay a couple times and for that reason we switched rooms for 3 times. The bigger rooms with aircon were oke. The small room with fan is really basic and a bit dirty. Still a place I would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewout24
Management response:

Dear, We would to thank you for your very good comment and we are very happy that you enjoy our hotel, the staff and the location. We always try to give the best we can to match our customer satisfaction and we hope to see you again for your future stay in Bangkok. Warm regards, Mr Julien Dupont Front Office...

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We were over there for two days. Staffs are very co operative along with foods are also very delicious. The location of the hotel is very perfect as it connect you with ferry station and the Metro also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abhijat D
Management response:

Dear, First of all, we would like to thank to have choose the New Road Guesthouse for your last stay in Bangkok. We are very happy that you like our hotel, facilities and location and we hope to welcome you again. If you have any question about booking another trip with us, please feel free to contact us. Warm regards...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 17 November 2016

For this price you find bigger and nicer rooms elsewhere. While we had one of the more expensive rooms, the room was only big enough for an iron bed with springs, a closet and one narrow passageway between the bed and the wall. When you turn on the AC a perfume of mildew is blown out. The bathroom is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ku_en_Ma
Balsta, Sweden
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend (both 20 years) stayed here for two nights in November 2016, and were very pleased. The room was small with an even smaller bathroom, but it doesn't really matter since the common areas (both outside and inside) are big and nice. Also, there's coffee and tea free for you to take, at any time. We went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaifos
troon
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

This hostel is one of the best. The staff are very friendly and go the extra mile to help you. We have traveled around Thailand for 5 weeks and this is the best hostel we have stayed in! Special thank you too Noom for being so welcoming! We will be staying here in the future, because of Noom and her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love_fatty_foods

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bluefin Guesthouse
#149 of 598 in Bangkok
31 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#30 of 598 in Bangkok
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#45 of 598 in Bangkok
282 reviews
Admire Thonburi
#81 of 598 in Bangkok
28 reviews
Silom
P&R Residence
P&R Residence
#62 of 598 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Silom

Neighbourhood Profile
Silom
Despite the lack of any major tourist attractions, this lively neighborhood is a favorite of many. Whether it's the (somewhat naughty) nightlife of Soi Patpong, the various handicraft night markets or the plethora of dining options that tickle your fancy, a night out in Silom is a must on every itinerary. It's worth a stop during daytime, too: join office workers on a quest to tasty street food during lunch and shop at Silom Complex for a great mix of Thai and international stores. After a day of strolling around the congested sidewalks, a visit to Silom's Lumphini Park, Bangkok's answer to NYC's Central Park, is a welcome change of scenery.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Road Guest House is a place with great atmosphere and homey surroundings. In the middle of hectic Bangkok you will find this nice hotel which is very popular among travelers all over the world. Next to the lobby you will find a Service Center that can provide you free travel advice from experienced European and local staff.The lobby, café area and most rooms just went through a comprehensive renovation leaving the guesthouse new and fresh. Despite the new interior the guesthouse have kept their budget rates with prices and rooms for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Road Guest House

Address: 1216/1 Charoen Krung Road | Between Soi 34 and 36, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Price Range: £14 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Road Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your New Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Road Guest House Hotel Bangkok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Road Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“maybe Air Condition, because we had none and just with a ventilator it can get very hot.”
 of 5 bubbles laurametke, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had an upper floor with a room to ourselves. It was very quiet. I've seen some comments about the dorms not being as nice.”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Definitely go for aircon!”
 of 5 bubbles baileyemma111, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Dorms have AC 6 pm- 10 am, not super loud but expect some partiers at 3 am.”
 of 5 bubbles 742catherinek, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5