We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Baan Pastel

12/1, Rat Chiang Saen 2 Ko Alley Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
Traveller (51)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#93 of 445 hostels in Chiang Mai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Salon
24-hour security
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Room service
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese, Thai
26Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Belgo-Thai wrote a review Jul 2019
Brussels, Belgium14 contributions5 helpful votes
I use to stay at baan Pastel for almost 2 month and i never get a warm welcoming like this.khun the owner was really pay attention to me and everything i need to be confortable.is there everything u need around bar, restaurant and many shop. I use to get a welcome drink everyday of was staying there. I really love this place and will be back definitly.thank you khun Oo
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 1 Aug 2019
Dear Belgo- Thai, Thank you so very much for your stay and taking your time to write how much you enjoyed your stay at Baan Pastel. Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you again and definitely you will get your favorite drink as always. With much appreciation. Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cyn wrote a review May 2019
77 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
A cozy little boutique hotel in a quiet alley in Chiang Mai. Own by a very friendly and helpful lady Mdm. Ou. We were great warmly by her little brown Poodle and Maltese mix called Brownie. The hotel serves breakfast on request and has a cafe next door. Our room was the first room and according to Mdm. Ou was the most requested room that comes with a balcony and a small sitting space. The room was a good size and feels homely. We found the bed a little hard then we use too and there was a broken tile cause by the last guest. We were provided with drinking water by the jug, coffee, tea, towels, slippers, shampoo and body wash. Toothpaste, toothbrush and mini bar items have to purchase. The room could use another chair because the was only a chair for the dresser. The shower area was a little tight and we can hear conversation from the cafe every morning in the bathroom clearly. There are few convenient shops like 7 eleven, Tesco Lotus Express and Big C located 15 minutes away. Bumrung Buri Market (mostly locals and you can get pork rinds, cooked dishes and mango stick rice in a very reasonable price) was located 20 minutes away on the other direction. Saturday night market was only 10 minutes away. (All distance are by foot).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 27 May 2019
Dear cindyy341, Thank you very much for taking your time to write about Baan Pastel. We are delighted that you consider our hotel as "a home away from home". We also appreciate your feedback and we will inform the cafe staff to be careful not to make a noise to disturb our guests. We hope we will have a chance to welcome you again next time you visit Chiang Mai. Best regards, Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Galina G wrote a review Mar 2019
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates28 contributions22 helpful votes
It seems to me that it's impossible not to like this hotel! It is clean, well taken care of and with love! You can feel care from the owner and staff in small details! There are few options of food for breakfast, you can choose, as well as vegetarian options are available. Perfect location! Hotel is located very close to old town (10-15 min walking) however it is on the quiet street without car noise. The only noise disturbance can be from loud birds voices early in the morning! Special thanks I would like to say to Ou, owner of the hotel. She is very helpful, can assist you with almost any booking arrangement you may need (taxi, bus tickets, zoo tickets...). I was in touch with her by mail long before my arrival and she always was ready to assist. So I loved the hotel and few days after my check out when I needed to find a hotel in Chiang Mai again, I had no doubts where to come back! Do not try to find what was not good! Nothing really! The only thing I did not like was few dirty spots on towels when I just arrived, however towels were changed immediately with apologies. Just one more thing I would suggest: to inform guests in advance that there is security deposit required to be provided upon check in and refunded to you upon check out only. Not a big amount, just would be better to be informed about it before your arrival. I do recommend this property for stay and say THANKS to all people taking care of it!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony on the same side as hotel entrance, not back side, it's better view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 22 Mar 2019
Dear Galina, Thank you very much for staying at Baan Pastel (twice already) and taking your time to write about us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and came back for second time. Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you for the third time and more in the future. We appreciate all your feedback and we were sorry about the spots on towel (we don't use that towel anymore.). We collect 200 THB for the key deposit on the check in date but if the guests check out and do not lose our key, the deposit amount shall be returned. Have a wonderful day. Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mathias R wrote a review Mar 2019
Bangkok, Thailand73 contributions20 helpful votes
Nice small hotel in Chiang Mai in peaceful area. Owner and staff are friendly. Clean rooms and great services. A very good value. The english spoken owner can organise trip or activities for you, as well as manage the renting of cars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 6 Mar 2019
Dear Zen-play, Thank you very much for your stay and your kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, happy with our staff's friendliness and our service. Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you again to Baan Pastel. Best regards, Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brent V wrote a review Feb 2019
Edmonton, Canada40 contributions9 helpful votes
I booked this place blind, I thought it was close to the airport, it’s still a 25 min taxi ride, well it’s hidden and it’s a very nice new 2 storey boutique hotel. I have a bad knee and they accommodated me changing rooms to the main floor. That’s just the start, the Owner and staff are amazing, they assisted me with pretty much everything I needed. I got lost a lot, it took a few days to figure the layout but after that you realize this is a nice area of Chiang Mai and coming back to the Baan Pastel every time was like coming home! I will stay here again and won’t get lost anymore😂!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 6 Feb 2019
Dear Brent V Thank you very much for your stay and your kind review. We are delighted to know that you felt like home every time you come back to Baan Pastel because that's what we meant to be. ("Baan" means "home" in Thai.) Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you (home) again. Best regards, Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Narumol T wrote a review Sept 2018
Bangkok2 contributions3 helpful votes
Our Family are very happy with Baan Pastel,We stayed in Family room 2 nights. Hotel's decorations is cute and bright. The place are neat and clean .The Hotel is quiet at night but not so far from ChiangMai's attraction. Khun AU , the owner and her staff is very warm welcome and friendly. Especially we love Brownie ,her dog. Narumol
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 26 Sept 2018
Dear khun Narumol, Thank you very much for the kind words and your family’s kindness to Brownie too. We really appreciate you let us know how happy you were at Baan Pastel. We are delighted that you like our hotel decorations, cleanliness, and our location. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Baan Pastel again in the future. Best regards, Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lemalteur wrote a review Sept 2018
Grenoble, France19 contributions7 helpful votes
During your stay I've been treated like a VIP, like nowhere else in Chiang Mai. The manager, khun Uu, speaks excellent english and is very helpful. You can enjoy a delicious breakfast on your private balcony. And above all, the place is very quiet. Lots of small restaurants around, and not far from the Old Town (15 min walk to Tha Phae gate).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 26 Sept 2018
Thank you very much for your stay and your kind review. We are delighted that you liked our hotel, our service, our breakfast and our location. Hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you to BaanPastel again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Connector818021 wrote a review Sept 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
K.Ou,the owner, is very nice and friendly.. We enjoyed so much the trip in Chiangmai. The rooms are clean, decoration is cozy, feel like home. The area is residence community, quite and close to main road.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 24 Sept 2018
Dear khun Kay, Thank you very much for your stay and your kind review. It is really heartwarming to know that you enjoyed your trip in Chiang Mai and you were happy staying at Baan Pastel. We intended to make our hotel to be cozy and clean so that our guests will feel like home. . We hope to have a chance to welcome you and your lovely family again to our hotel. Best regards, Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mods85 wrote a review Jul 2018
Haworth, United Kingdom69 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Really liked this hotel, spotlessly clean. Freshly painted and decor was so cute. Spacious rooms with great A/C got a great nights sleep. Fridge freezer, filled with drinks, There is also iron, kettle and hairdryer and flat screen tv. Breakfast was really nice, had eggs toast bacon, tea or coffee. We were able to store our baggage for free. The staff were all really lovely, and helpful. And spoke good english. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a lovely stay in Chaing Mai Love melanie & daisy xx
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 17 Jul 2018
Thank you very much Melanie & Daisy😊 for your stay and your kind review. We are delighted that you liked Baan Pastel; room, cleanliness, facilities, staff, breakfast and our service. We look forward to welcoming you to Baan Pastel boutique hotel again. Much love, Ou & Baan Pastel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jacqpjpk wrote a review Mar 2018
Hua Hin, Thailand9 contributions6 helpful votes
Baan Pastel is a small hotel in a quiet area. A bit far from night bazaar and old city. The rooms are  clean. The shower area on the small side. Breakfast moderate. If you stay for a longer period, it is very inconvenient there is not a wardrobe or something where you can hang your clothes or storage personal stuff. Also there is no safe for valuable things. Ou (the manager) and her staff were very friendly. Allways ready to help you. She gives advice about restaurants, things to do, orders taxi if you like etc. BUT... be careful if you use there towels or bedsheet. They wash it by themselves. If there are stains that (according to them) can not be removed, they will charge you. It happened to us twice. First time I could understand.  (Although I found it a weird "rule")The  towels still had stain after washing. Next day we were very carefull with using the towels, didn't want to have problems  again.  But to our big surprise the manager told us,  that again the towels could not be cleaned properly. This time there was a slight discoloration (???)  It realy made me upset and told her so. We suggested maybe  she should wash on higher temperature or use a different program.  At the end she said she would not charge us for the second time.   But it was not only about the money but more the idea of being  (in my opinion) reprimanded like a child. We have travelled a lot,  been in many hotels  but  NEVER experienced a "stain" policy. The last day of our stay the manager said we did not have to pay at all for the towels and that she would change the way of washing. Anyway these incidents made me feel very uncomfortable in Baan Pastel. It spoiled my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Baan Pastel B, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Baan Pastel
Responded 4 Sept 2018
Thank you very much for taking your time to write about us. We are glad that you were happy with our friendly staff and clean rooms. It is unfortunate that you were disappointed by our lacking of closet and safe for valuables. Due to our minimalism design, we have hangers on the room’s wall to hang clothes and we supply additional stand hangers for guests who stay long term. We understand your concern about no safe for valuables, however, we have bedside table with the key that you can keep your passport or wallets inside. Besides a daily regular visit by police officer (signing their name on the list in front of the hotel, we have 24- hour reception counter service, 8 CCTV cameras, and key card access system to monitor and assure our security. We have never had any crime incidents at all. We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable about the permanent stain problem. We have a message to remind our guests to avoid making permanent stain because we cannot use it anymore with other guests. We use the extra clean program with additional detergent, using bleach to wash dirty towels and bedsheets before we notify guests for having to charge them for making permanent stain. We inform guests that they can take those towels/ bedsheets as we can no longer use them with other guests. For your case, I did not charge you because I appreciate your suggestion of using high temperature program and it helps reduce the use of additional detergent or bleach. Although the stains cannot be washed out. Lastly, I would like to thank you again for your stay and your feedback. I do apologize for any inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Mai area.
PRICE RANGE
£17 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAAN PASTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Baan Pastel
Which popular attractions are close to Baan Pastel?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Village Sanctuary (0.2 miles), Elephant Green Park (0.07 miles), and Fort of Ka-Tham (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Baan Pastel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Baan Pastel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Baan Pastel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Baan Pastel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baan Pastel?
Conveniently located restaurants include B Samcook Home 16, Ma-Chill Coffee, and Cozy Coffee & Bakery.
Does Baan Pastel have airport transportation?
Yes, Baan Pastel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Baan Pastel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Chiang Mai.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Baan Pastel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Baan Pastel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain) (5.0 miles), Chiang Mai Gate (1.4 miles), and Fort of Ka-Tham (0.3 miles).