We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Smith Residence

37 Nuntharam Rd Tambon Haiya, Amphue Muang, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 94 apartments in Chiang Mai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
new URL
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Pool
Rooftop pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
183Reviews14Q+A49Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 64
  • 11
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
papapip wrote a review Nov 2021
Chiang Mai, Thailand20 contributions19 helpful votes
whatever you do, do not go hear basic room has no fridge etc, you can not use the pool or the gym, you must upgrade your room the cost of government electric is around 4 baht per here at smiths phew too much, you got to pay a big deposit, the list goes on and on, there are so many many better way cheaper places to go long term, okay you if you are a tourist then you think okay prices reasonable but long term forget this place big time
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: don't book a room if you do make sure it is a quiet room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anucha Yongsmith, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Smith Residence
Responded 12 Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. Smith management takes all kinds of reviews to improve our services. However, we suspect that this review is based on false information and the guest has not even used our services at all. Every room at the Smith has a refrigerator provided for a basic amenity. How come this guest states that our room does not have fridge? On top of that, some of our units do not include the access to the pool and gym for the budget travellers or for any guests who do not require the access to those facilities. It is unfortunate for every serviced apartment in Thailand that the government charges us with the higher rate more than houses. The 4 THB rate is reserved only for the household, not for the apartment business and Smith residence has no exception. In conclusion, we hope you would come to stay with us to experience the real atmosphere at Smith's. We believe you will enjoy your time at our place and will certainly worth every penny.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan R wrote a review Sept 2020
Bangkok, Thailand85 contributions46 helpful votes
Just back from 9 nites at Chiang Mai Smith. All was great as usual. The staff were polite the cafe put out good food at a reasonable price and my room was a good value. Chiang Mai is quiet now due to the CoVid situation. If you are already in Thailand I would strongly recommend you go to Chiang Mai. The locals really need the income. Thanks Smith for once again being my home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anucha Yongsmith, Owner at Smith Residence
Responded 4 Oct 2020
We hope that our rooms and services would make you feel at home and we are looking forward to seeing you again :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sandgrownun18 wrote a review Feb 2020
Blackpool, United Kingdom260 contributions125 helpful votes
this is the third consecutive year my wife and I have booked a suite room on floors 7/8 at the Smith Residence, and everything is as good, if not beter each time. Great location, first class service, plesant reception, cleanliness and room service second to none, we just cant fault it. We have booked for a further 3 months from December this year, and cant wait, ts a home from home (hoping for room 804 again)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anucha Yongsmith, Owner at Smith Residence
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hearing that your stay was fantastic and satisfied. We will be waiting for your return in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pirouettes27 wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I spent some time at the beautiful smith residence recently. What a perfect location from which to explore Chiang Mai! Lovely room, great amenities, wonderful staff — just avoid the cafe. The teenaged girl working there is as angsty as they come. Don’t dare interrupt her day with an order haha. It’s a shame, she was a mar on otherwise perfect customer service, but it lost them a star because she made many mornings unpleasant. An attitude adjustment would help her tremendously.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Smith_Residence, Owner at Smith Residence
Responded 24 Jul 2019
Thank you very much for your review. It has been our pleasure to make you stay pleasant like your home. Please be informed that your opinion has come to our attention and we took care of the situation seriously. We would be grateful if you address any difficulties you encountered to our management directly so that we can investigate the issue right away. We are looking forward for your return the next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BoBBournemouth wrote a review Apr 2019
Bournemouth146 contributions99 helpful votes
The Smith residence is a fine apartment block just south of the night food market and the Chiang Mai gate. It is cheap and cheerful and suits most people. When in Thailand it is a good idea to change your levels of expectation as this is not the West. The standards of Everything are not the same. Not better or worse, just different. You have to be more accepting and much less judgemental than we are in Western society. However, if you are looking for an apartment in a slightly quieter location, with fewer rooms, but at higher price, they have another block, five minutes walk, called the Smith Suites. I stayed here and really liked it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
My Traveling Life wrote a review Jan 2019
Bangkok, Thailand16 contributions6 helpful votes
Smith Residence has been my go to place in Chiang Mai for 8 years. I still like it. Inexpensive but clean accommodation with a decent restaurant. The rooms could use some refurbishing and that is underway.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Matsumoto S wrote a review Jan 2019
Beijing, China31 contributions6 helpful votes
Unclean rooms, unsatisfactory front desk service. Bad attitude. Restaurant closes too early, trashy looking hallways. Looks and feels like the "slums"! Not recommended. Better to get a hotel room. They are selling apartment rooms as hotel rooms. Wifi constantly "off-line" and nothing but EXCUSES from poorly-trained staff. Rip off!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anucha Yongsmith, Owner at Smith Residence
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review. First of all, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We would like to receive feedbacks to improve our services. However, we believe this reviewer is the guest that was asked to leave due to various demands that we could not comply with and he threatened to write a bad review, indicated by false information provided in the review. We would like to tell the potential guest another side of the story; It is a mandatory that cleanliness is our priority as evidenced by numerous reviews stating that our place is clean. Besides, our restaurant opens from 7am - 8pm daily. In addition, we install 4 internet access points on each floor to ensure that guests will have the best connection. Our staff went to his room many times but it was revealed that he connected to the wrong internet access point that resulted in poor connectivity. To summarize, none of your statements are true but full of biases and prejudices. We urge the potential guests to rely on most of reviews, not just only this review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Travelling House Sitters wrote a review Jan 2019
Croatia103 contributions236 helpful votes
We had an apartment on the top floor for 1 month, the apartment was serviced 2 times per week and left in immaculate condition every time. The room itself was a Suite and was very spacious. The bed was extremely large and comfortable. The suite had a well-stocked kitchen and comfortable living area. The residence also has a rooftop pool and gym with a great view. Over Christmas an New Years the Residence puts on a communal get together with provided food and food made by the guests staying, it was a good way to meet others that were living there. Overall it was a great apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The suite with a mountain view is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LaureW wrote a review Jan 2019
61 contributions15 helpful votes
I stayed at Smith Residence one month in 2018 and I was very pleased with everything. The room is spacious (I was on the 6th floor, at the back side), with microwave and fridge, flat TV with some decent channels (though it was not possible to connect an external hard drive to it), bathroom with bath/shower, big cupboard with safe, table and chairs and a small balcony. On the top roof, there is a small gym as well as a swimming pool with lounge chairs. Laundry service is perfect, food at the restaurant on the ground floor is quite good and everyone is very helpful and friendly. The WiFi was working great and there is a small supermarket downstairs. Just outside the residence, there is a lady selling fruits, really great, and a machine to fill up your water bottles for just 1 baht. Yes, there is noise from the street (but I still could sleep with the window open) and the walls are thin (you also used to it if you've been in Thailand for a while). The only "down" point is that the lift is between floors so if you can't go up/down a few stairs, I wouldn't recomment it. The electricity and water are paid aside, during check-out, but the price was exact (with pictures of the meters) and fair. There are plenty of places to eat/drink around, the food market is 5 minutes from there, as is the Saturday Walking Street. All in all, it's a really good option for a longer stay. I definitely will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Peter D wrote a review Dec 2018
Rocky Mountain House, Canada28 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed at Smith Suites two years ago for five months. We returned this December to see if the Chiang Mai experience was just a fluke or is it really this good here. We stayed at the Smith Residence this time as we only had a week on this visit. Our experience was like coming home. The people were just as welcoming and helpful as ever. The Smith staff were terrific and so willing to do whatever they could to make even our short stay perfect. The location for both the Residence and the Suites are ideal. Just south of the Chiang Mai gate and on quieter streets. There is a real sense of community here, one that we confirmed on this return visit. We are sorry that we couldn't have been here for longer but our goal was met and Chiang Mai is a place to live.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Mai area.
PRICE RANGE
£17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chiangmai smith residence hotel chiang mai
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SMITH RESIDENCE - Updated 2024 Prices (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Smith Residence
Which popular attractions are close to Smith Residence?
Nearby attractions include Saturday Night Market Walking Street - Wua Lai Road (0.2 miles), BBN Boxing Gym Chiangmai (0.06 miles), and Wat Muen San Temple (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Smith Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Smith Residence?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Smith Residence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Smith Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include AUM Vegetarian Food, TULOU Restaurant, and Khao Soi Loong Prakid Gard Gorm.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Smith Residence?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Smith Residence located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Chiang Mai.
Are there any historical sites close to Smith Residence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain) (4.5 miles), Chiang Mai Gate (0.9 miles), and Fort of Ka-Tham (0.6 miles).