We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai

10/1 Moo 3 Rural Road Rd. Pa Daet Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (191)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#134 of 504 hotels in Chiang Mai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Floral hotel sheik istana is ideally situated on the Ping River, the main river that runs through the city, in one of the most beautiful locations in Chiang Mai. All attraction areas are all within easy reach. The design of the 35 luxuriously appointed guest rooms was inspired by Moroccan and Asian architecture, making the hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam,from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
231Reviews6Q+A55Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 62
  • 22
  • 5
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jeenalola wrote a review Nov 2018
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel is located by the Ping river and has very nice exterior design in Morrocan style with swimming pool, fountains and lots of greenery, even though the territory of the hotel isn’t very big. The service in the hotel is below average, non of the staff speaks English, housekeeping doesn’t put an effort to clean the room. Breakfast is so so, and I wouldn’t recommend to order food in their restaurant, as after two times having lunch here we had stomach ache. Smell in the room is very bad due to high humidity. Oh yes and location... it’s far from the Old city (about 15-20min drive), so you have to take a Grab (local Uber) for 85Baht per trip, or rent a bike/motorbike.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
chiangmaicharlies wrote a review Aug 2018
Chiang Mai, Thailand5653 contributions505 helpful votes
+1
Just 20 minutes away from downtown Chiang Mai, this is a beautiful Moroccan style hotel on the banks of the River Ping. Very quiet and much better than staying in the centre of town. It has two swimming pools and a very impressive gym area on two floors. If you live locally you can use the gym and swimming pool at very modest rates. Sheik Istana Hotel has lovely gardens next to the river, which come alive at night with impressive lighting. We had very good quality Thai dishes at the restaurant in the evening, which were very reasonably priced. The breakfast was a typically unexceptional hotel style buffet. The room was extremely comfortable and attractive with all the normal additions. A nice balcony overlooked the gardens and river, and the impressive Chedi Liam on the opposite side. Sadly, no BBC news channel on the large, flat screen TV. Thoroughly recommended, and I would most happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Higher the better; all overlook the river.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jenaleepaige wrote a review Jul 2017
Chiang Mai, Thailand43 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel has a great location on the river. The sunrise and sunset are so beautiful from the rooftop area. The sauna and gym were a great plus. The hotel helped arrange for transport a couple of times and they have an easy free transport to and from the old city. Higher floors for quieter experience at night. Wouldn't recommend the breakfast. Better to walk down the street to get much better quality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Louise D wrote a review Jun 2017
7 contributions1 helpful vote
A bit out of town but worth the 200bht taxi fare. A bit dated but suits the Moroccan style. Quite comfortable, clean, tidy, with excellent staff. Reasonable amenities pool x 2, gym, spa. Variety of resturants near by. We won't hesitate going back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All face the river
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ydcherie wrote a review Mar 2017
Bangkok, Thailand6 contributions
+1
This is the first time I have stayed here. It is only 15 minutes away from the airport. The hotel was not very big, there was a small lobby. The accommodation is quiet and private. Good receptionist. The room I got a remote of tv control was not working. But it's not a big deal. The bed is very comfortable and does not want to wake up. Water in the bathroom is flowing fast. Adjust the temperature of hot and cold water as well. Overall, everything is fine. The staff are nice and polite. If you look for a place that is not crowded, this is a nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rob m wrote a review Mar 2017
Princeton Junction, New Jersey11 contributions4 helpful votes
Thailand has become so comercialized that it can be difficult to find real Thai kindness, tranquility and hospitality. We found all three at Sheik Istana Hotel. The hotel has a Moorish style, but the guests are mostly Thai or European. We enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosarin I, Manager at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai
Responded 7 Mar 2017
Dear Mr.Rob We would like to say thank you for your last visit and very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. We promise we will keep improving our service but never forget to keep all three things you mention ( Thai kindness , tranquility and hospitality ) We wish to welcome you again next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SitarLover wrote a review Feb 2017
San Diego, California101 contributions7 helpful votes
When we first arrived we thought the hotel was average, it seemed a little dated but the riverside setting was nice. It was at night and we decided to have dinner at the hotel while we waited for our room. The food was not good and we wished we had taken the effort to find a place to eat outside the hotel. The room was large and clean but there was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom. Yellow water was coming out of the faucet and the toilet. In the morning we tried to resolve the situation. One of the most frustrating things about this hotel was how it was so hard to find someone to help. There was one gentleman who acted as the concierge, bellboy, travel agent and front desk attendant. So after waiting about 15 minutes to talk to someone we had to wait another 20 minutes to talk to the hotel manager who was nice enough and told us the staff would fix the problem with our room if we just waited some more. After waiting a bit more, they said the situation was fixed, we went back to the same foul smell and same yellow water. Then it was another wait to talk to the manager again, they had to call him on his cell each time because he was never at the hotel. He gave us another room, the other room had the same problem. So we went back and again we had to wait for a long time again to talk to the manager. They said this time the problem would be fixed, it wasn't. There was nothing more that could be done, so we decided to look for another hotel. We asked that the hotel refund our booking for the remaining nights, but they refused saying that our rate was nonrefundable. At the lobby we ran into another guest who also decided that she couldn't stay at the hotel. We did receive a full refund after emailing the travel website, but the whole experience wasted a lot of our valuable travel time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosarin I, Manager at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai
Responded 14 Feb 2017
We are sincerely sorry about your experiences during stayed in our hotel .We are always take seriously to our guest’s concern and using it to improve our services and facilities for their extremely satisfied . We admit that during that week we had the water filter problems and that we had solve it in about few days. Now we improved the water system in the hotel and train our staff per standard of the international hospitality and still checking what’s an error in our place every day. We assure that if you have a chance to come back staying with us again. Your “terrible experience” will be changed to “terrific experience” and you will love our hotel. Thanks for your commenting.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leo Tang wrote a review Feb 2017
Pattaya, Thailand74 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Hotel room got a strange odor like rotten eggs over the waterwork, very hard for us to take a shower or brush over teeth. Although this hotel has a nice view of Ping river, its rust odour can't be resisted.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
warkentineAlmaty wrote a review Feb 2017
Almaty2 contributions
The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are luxurious. Even though it's conveniently located on a main road near the city, the rooms are situated such they have no traffic noise as other hotels do. A huge, two story work out facility and two pools, although small. Loved sitting out at night enjoying the river, lights and lush gardens.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: higher floors allow you to leave curtains open to enjoy the river view without passers-by looking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alan S wrote a review Feb 2017
6 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a quiet,comfortable hotel with a Moroccan theme.There are some very pleasant gardens to enjoy with views of the tranquil river. Most of the staff do not have a good command of English, but all are extremely courteous and helpful.Joey,who organises tours from within the hotel,also runs an efficient and inexpensive taxi service.He speaks good English and comes highly recommended. The only (minor in my view) downsides to the hotel are (1) it is slightly outside of the city.Having said that,if you prefer quietr as opposed to bustle,that may not be a bad thing!A taxi to the city will cost about 200baht .(2) the food,whilst very good, is limited in range. There are much better lunch/dinner options within walking distance though!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Mai area.
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FLORAL HOTEL SHEIK ISTANA CHIANGMAI - Updated 2024 Prices (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai
Which popular attractions are close to Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Nearby attractions include Wiang Kum Kam (0.7 miles), My Day Chiang Mai Tour (0.6 miles), and Wat Kuu Kham (Wat Chedi Liam) Temple (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paak Dang Riverside Dining, Malao Malao At Riverside, and Terrace Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai have airport transportation?
Yes, Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Phra That Doi Kham (Temple of the Golden Mountain) (4.9 miles), Chiang Mai Gate (2.2 miles), and Fort of Ka-Tham (1.9 miles).
Does Floral Hotel Sheik Istana Chiangmai have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.