Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Viangthapae Resort

47 Soi.4, Thapae Rd, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
Traveller (329)
360
Panoramas (34)
Room & Suite (177)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Tue, 27 Feb
£52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 24 resorts in Chiang Mai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Resort located in the center of Chiang Mai. Built on an area of 2 rai on Thapae road, the 800 years old road which is the signature of Chiang Mai. Only 20 minutes to Chiang Mai international airport and 5 minutes to Chiang Mai fomous places such as Warorot market, Thapae Gate, Sunday walking street, Night Bazaar, flower market, many beautiful temples, various restaurants and shopping stores.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Quiet
296Reviews7Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 133
  • 117
  • 31
  • 11
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Leanne wrote a review Feb 2023
5 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
A must book! Viang Thapae we absolutely loved you. 10 - 15 minute from airport in cab.

Beautiful jungle setting, peaceful and clean stunning room felt authentically Thai. Fabulous location to all major attractions in Chiang mai

Quality Breakfast small choice but quality of food great!

Great pools and staff very friendly and extremely helpful.

Walking distance to most places including night market or 100bht - 150bht if you fancy a tuk tuk hotel can arrange!

So clean and beautifully comfortable.
We stayed with a 10 year old who was abit noisy definitely would go back with friends or as a couple perfect hotel and made our visit to Chiang Mai.

Temple end of the road also! Small launderette round the corner

Thank you viang Thapae you are incredible
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Won't regret booking. Bar is poorly stocked and doesn't operate with is unfortunate unless you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
david m wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
stayed here for a weekend and accidentally booked the wrong weekend on booking.com . booking.com refused to refund me but the lovely lady on reception went above and beyond, rang b.com and somehow convinced them to refund my and rebooked with no extra charge!
the hotel really was cute as a button with beautiful gardens and decor with a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mzomar wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver, Canada31 contributions12 helpful votes
A lovely oasis just mins walk from the Thapae Gate entrance to the old city and the night bazaar. It was clean and quiet which provided a comfortable place to recharge after being out in the heat and the busy city all day. The staff were kind and always smiling but not the most helpful with recommendations (I think more due to language barrier- they did speak some English just not extensive)

Only con - reported to have fitness center but not functional. There were 3 cardio machines that didn’t work and a single dumbbell and no mats. The day after I brought this to their attention a treadmill showed up but I was unable to guarantee it worked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guj D wrote a review Mar 2020
18 contributions25 helpful votes
A really nice hotel that at first appears out of the way, but once you get your bearings the city is easily within walking distance and the "out of the way" position adds to the seclusion of the hotel. The hotel staff are welcoming and helpful and the room is clean and fresh with good air conditioning. Breakfast is good but there is little other food during the day. There is, however, lots of choice locally and in the city. We actually travelled in Feb but because of Covid 19 this is the first chance I have had to post this recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike M wrote a review Jan 2024
Kansas City, Missouri84 contributions75 helpful votes
Really a great place. Fantastic location, great pool. Great breakfast and staff.
AC was blowing stale air and my room was way too hot. I notified the staff but nothing was done.
Other than that it was a great stay. 4 stars from me.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Make sure your AC works otherwise it'll be some hot nights in there.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian G wrote a review Dec 2022
New York City, New York35 contributions11 helpful votes
Loved this place! The rooms were very comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the location was great. We stayed here before and after our visit to Elephant Nature Park (GO THERE!) and were allowed to safely leave bags while we were gone even though we checked out before leaving and back in upon returning. We will absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sorsola wrote a review Sept 2022
Bala, United Kingdom38 contributions40 helpful votes
We booked 2 pool access rooms (2 couples). Arrived really early thinking we’d have to dump our bags and wait for check in time. Lady on the front desk was very welcoming and friendly. As it was quiet we were able to get in to our rooms immediately. Absolutely beautiful, authentic and really clean. Bathrooms are a decent size. Everyone on site very polite and friendly. Nothing not to like about this place and we’ll be coming back to stay in June. Thank you so much for the wonderful stay. ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heather M wrote a review Apr 2015
Canberra, Australia119 contributions77 helpful votes
I moved to this hotel after staying in another one up the road. The other was more modern and upmarket but this felt more superior in its style, character and comfort. There are superior and deluxe rooms - deluxe being much nicer and most with balconies overlooking their own separate pool. Staff are friendly and welcoming, with the very Thai lobby having lovely lemongrass aroma filtering through. The bed was the most comfortable that I have slept on here. The grounds are gorgeous and peaceful. Breakfast is average.
There are two swimming pools - one separate for the deluxe rooms in a separate building both clean and relaxing. There is no lift but the buildings are only 3 stories high and a porter will take your luggage up.
Despite this being a 3 star property I felt much more comfortable here than in the previous 4 Starr property. Plus it was much cheaper and I'm a 5 star type of traveller! Wifi and breakfast included in the price. I had lunch here at the restaurant twice and it was delicious. All in all a really happy experience for me and as I Was travelling on my own that's really important.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viangthapae Resort
Responded 27 Sept 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place. We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further. With my warm regards, Narin Kajai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris B wrote a review Jun 2014
London, United Kingdom111 contributions103 helpful votes
I cut short my stay here. My room (and the one next door) were dark and dingy (no proper windows, certainly no view) and the WiFi hardly works in the room (only in lobby area). The rave first reviews sound suspiciously generous to me, and don't tally with what I found. (I'd like to see IP addresses). Front desk staff perfectly nice and helpful etc but there is no fitness centre, and the pool is tiny, and I don't think it's fair to describe it as a new hotel when it is an old building with no elevator and some recently refurbished rooms, some of which are small, and which have glass paines in the door covered by a curtain, leaving me paranoid about privacy. I don't understand their pricing at 3500 baht per night, when for an extra 500 baht you can stay at a top hotel like the Meridien, and for 500 baht less you can stay 20 metres up the road at the De Chai Colonial which is far better. Not a bad hotel but very overpriced at the moment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viangthapae Resort
Responded 27 Sept 2015
Thank you very much for your kindly review for our property, we hope you have a good memories during your stay with us at our place. We, looking forwards to saving you again in the near further. With my warm regards, Narin Kajai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dougggggg wrote a review Jul 2015
725 Nocumi Street16 contributions11 helpful votes
We attempted to make a reservation with 2 adults and 2 young children (under 10). The phone number on their website is incorrect to start with. My Thai wife spoke to the man for 2 or 3 minutes. I had told her about the rate on the website of $69 per night. She handed me the phone...I did not know what they had talked about. I asked for the quoted rate, he said only 1 child allowed. His solution was yo quote me a price of $122 for a premium room. I said the second child was 3 and could sleep in the bed with us. He did not budge. I asked if we could get a fold out bed. "No!" was his response. I explained that he was, in effect, attrmpting to charge $53 extra for the second child. He again refused to discuss any solutions other than a "premium room." At no time did I raise my voice. I just tried to reason with him.....Finally, I said, "can't we just get regular room and fit the 3 year old in the bed?" He said, "$122." I said, "That is too much extra to charge."....He hung up on me. Don't even call them if you have more than one child and are on a budget. My Thai wife told me that what he did is considered very rude in Thailand, as it is in my country. I hope he reads this and I hope they lose customers because of it!

Thank you TripAdvisor for giving people a forum where they can voice their opinions when quality accommodations and service are not provided.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NuTai T, ผู้จัดการ at Viangthapae Resort
Responded 5 Jul 2015
We are welcome ONLY the people who happy to stay with us, you are Just call and checking for the price and I am already give you the info., and you done want to pay as the rate what we offering, and the last my word I am remember I say "THANK YOU" to you, and I hope you still good memories. (ALL the detail and OUR HOTEL POLICY YOU MAY FIND FROM THE WEB-SITE before you make decision to made a booking and 1 room you can stay 2 people NOT 4 people as you want. So, please do not comment by you own word with our the witness and try to destroy our place without your experience, BECAUSE you never come to stay with us even 1 day. Please stop do it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from ViangThapaeResort
Chiang Mai, Thailand36 contributions
hotel have 2 set of connecting room (one room with Double BED and other room with TWIN. BED) AND they have the door connecting in between at the balcony in the back side of the room. P.S. the connecting room are available for DELUXE room ONLY.
Show all answers
Answer from Jakki W
Worle, United Kingdom233 contributions52 helpful votes
Hi, They provide cribs in The Deluxe Rooms on request, not in the Superior rooms. I think you can get them in the Superior rooms but you have to pay extra
Show all answers
Answer from ViangThapaeResort
Chiang Mai, Thailand36 contributions
For the room types as Executive Room, they have living.
Monica8529 asked a question Aug 2016
Victoria, Australia27 contributions24 helpful votes
is the pool in the shade?
Answer from spudog
Northampton, United Kingdom27 contributions24 helpful votes
The resort has two pools , the one nearest reception did seem to be in the shade however the other pool did enjoy sunshine .We were in room 2104 , a lovely room on the ground floor with access to the pool from our little terrace . My wife and I loved this hotel and will return next April . Hope this helps .
JASM55 asked a question Sept 2015
City of Greater Geelong, Australia10 contributions12 helpful votes
Is it a good pool? Outdoor area? Size?
Answer from Heather M
Canberra, Australia119 contributions77 helpful votes
Yes the far end pool is good for laps, the front one is a little smaller. But very nice pools and better than others in the area that i have seen.
Show all answers
Mike M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Kansas City, Missouri84 contributions75 helpful votes
"Make sure your AC works otherwise it'll be some hot nights in there. "
Read full review
Leanne wrote a tip Feb 2023
5 contributions4 helpful votes
"Won't regret booking. Bar is poorly stocked and doesn't operate with is unfortunate unless you want a beer. So stock up in local supermarket"
Read full review
Lisaformrio wrote a tip Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China16 contributions6 helpful votes
"Book deluxe room"
Read full review
GeraldineAndMichael wrote a tip Jan 2019
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
"Room with balcony is always our choice."
Read full review
Ross Seddon wrote a tip Oct 2018
Berwick, Australia277 contributions33 helpful votes
"No lift so if mobility a problem rest ground floor."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Mai area.
PRICE RANGE
£21 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIANGTHAPAE RESORT - Updated 2024 (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Viangthapae Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Viangthapae Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Rescue Park (0.2 miles), Mr K Best Tailor (0.1 miles), and New Louis's Custom Tailor (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Viangthapae Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Viangthapae Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Viangthapae Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Viangthapae Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Viangthapae Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hummus Chiang Mai, Renegade Craft Beer & Ciders, and Sababa Chiang Mai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Viangthapae Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Viangthapae Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Chiang Mai.
Are any cleaning services offered at Viangthapae Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Viangthapae Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chiang Mai Gate (1.7 miles), Fort of Ka-Tham (0.4 miles), and Fort of Ku-Hueang (0.5 miles).