We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Ha Long Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Ha Long Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 574: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Ha Long Bay
 Click to rate
Kupang, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely place to stay near halong bay if you had extra budget for hotel. It had good views straight to the halong bay , delicious foods with many choices. The location also near halong park that still under construction. If you want buy souvenirs, don't worry, the local souvenirs merchant will standby near hotel at the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yanto T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was fantastic in it's self. Clean, modern, beautiful bathroom and bedroom. Great facilities. Nice pool and good food. Having read reviews I was a little apprehensive about the construction site. There is no denying it's there and halong bay is undergoing a lot of construction but nothing that bothered me at the hotel. (Not in regards to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard S
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Richard S, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. I will share with our team as this feedback is an encouragement to all of us. Thank you very much for your kind understanding in regards to the construction site and we hope to see you again very soon. For and on...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good service as always! This was my 6th visit . Mr. Tung our bartender served us well as he always do! Thanks Thung! Also a big thanks to the rest of the F&B crew! Staff always had a goodmorning, goodafternoon or a goodnight ready with a smile. Even with a joke! Great stay , good rooms, good food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars G
Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were expecting a 4* hotel on the bay and ended up getting a low end 3* hotel looking onto a massive carnival construction site. Once this construction is complete what view they have will be GONE! We paid a premium price for Christmas Eve dinner and it was terrible. Food quality was average at best and the food stations...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 6ixpack
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear 6ixpack, Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback about your stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Please...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Currently staying at the Novotel Halong Bay - DO NOT GO THERE!! The information from the hotel does not state that there is a massive, dirty, muddy construction site directly across the road; the hotel forgot to mention that there is limited internet even though they do not tell you before hand or when you arrive and check in but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 123JRF123
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear 123JRF123, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

After booking a boutique hotel in Hanoi, this was to be the big splurge in Ha Long over NYE2017. Imagine how disappointed we were when we discovered the hotel was only ok! Rooms were clean enough, but the linens smelled so bad I could not sleep the first night! The buffet pretty expensive but since there wasn't much else around,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iloveizzys
gmnovotel, Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Iloveizzys, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I was quite surprised to read linen smelled...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights either side of a cruise. We really wished we had spent longer on the cruise rather than stay in the hotel. It's in need of quite a few updates, the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, towels and chair stained, the view is not what is advertised in the pictures on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shayne-Marie B
Savigny-le-Temple, France
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Spent New year's eve at the ha long bay and stayed at the Novotel. Upgraded in a superior room thank you! Sea view is mainly view on the construction ground in front of the hôtel. Glad i didnt pay for it ! The walls are as thin as paper so hopefully your neighbour will be quiet -ours werent. Breakfast average...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julien F
gmnovotel, Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Julien F, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback is very important to...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed the hotel and the atmosphere. The food and drinks were great. Tung was an awesome and friendly bartender who really made our experience enjoyable. All of the wait staff were extremely kind and helpful, which was a relief after staying at a hotel in Hanoi where the staff was unfriendly. Everything was always clean and well done,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the managment at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Brendan F, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel was modern and clean overall. There was a good selection of food at the buffet breakfast and the wait staff were very attentive. Unfortunately there were negatives which let the hotel down. The bed was very hard, I woke up with a sore back this morning. Water leaked onto the floor tiles from the shower door and made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SzKNz
gmnovotel, For and on behalf of the management at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review

Dear SzKNz, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us....

586 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (507)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
4.0 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tuan Chau Island
411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 61 in Halong Bay
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#10 of 61 in Halong Bay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 61 in Halong Bay
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#7 of 61 in Halong Bay
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Quang Ninh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Address: 160 Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Price Range: £56 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Ha Long Bay staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Ha Long Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best views at higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles 792yantot, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 123JRF123, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a balcony well in advance.”
  • Halong Bay islands
 of 5 bubbles MichealMacSuibhne, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have fantastic views of the Bay. Ask for one with a balcony so you can take in the sites.”
 of 5 bubbles 347AdamK, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request view out to Halong while still available”
 of 5 bubbles mcgyver10, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5