We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 353: English reviews
Start your review of Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really had a goodtime with Phan Anh hotel. Our lasted only 3 days. The position of the hotel is near Bùi Viện and other street that you can actually walk to anywhere you want in District 1. We had 6 people in our group and it costed total 3 million VND for the room (with 8 beds) in 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viet_Theatre_Team
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Dorm roomes were clean and confortable and bathroom absolutely ok. Staff was friendly and you get a free beer between 7 and 9 pm. Breakfast was included and surely a good way to start the day before exploring the city!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stefan Z
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and thought it was perfect. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. We stayed in a private room for $22 per night and they provided free breakfast, a free beer at happy hour and clean towels and other toiletries. The room was very clean and we were right close to a market. The air...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Megan K
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Phan Anh Backpackers is located very close to pub street and the famous backpacker area. So where you want to be is a short walk away and we were glad that we didn't stay in the chaos. We stayed in a private room which were very clean with working air conditioning. I cannot comment on breakfast as we never woke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liezel D
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Stayed 2 nights here and it was a brilliant! The staffs spoke excellent English and were very helpful! The common area was small enough for customers can make friends, "of course beer for free"! Dorms room were clean and beds were comfortable. Excellent location with everything being walkable. Would definetely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _hungpk17
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Hostel is located in small street, very close to the main partystreet, but because it's in a small street, there was not a lot of noise here. Breakfast was good and each day a free beer! Staff is really friendly, helped us a few times witg h grab taxi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martijn K
southern california
Reviewed 26 December 2016

This hostel is clean, so it's not an ordeal to stay here. The problem is that the service is limited to sales. Everything costs. For example, water. Breakfast is mediocre. And if you ask for anything, like a little jelly, they look at you resentfully and watch you eat. There are no decent coffee shops anywhere near this place. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank quillstand
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a double room, the bed was a little bit hard but it was clean and the shower was hot, we enjoyed the breakfast and the location of the hostel was good and safe at night. We had the collection and return to the airport and we were very happy with the service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony W
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

According to the hostel policies, I had to left my shoes outside and it disappeared after one night. Plus the room and toilet are very dirty and smell. Unfriendly staffs. Therefore, I stayed only 1 night and moved to a different hotel by the next day. Laundry is very expensive compared to outside. I had talked to staffs about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ninh N
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ninh N, Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback about our hostel on TripAdvisor. However, your opinion would be highly appreciated if you told the truth about your case. When we received your report about your lost shoes, we told you that we would check the camera records to find out where your shoes may...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 11 December 2016

I took this hostel, cause the other one had no more space. I felt invited from the first minute on, getting a drink while waiting for my check-in. The rooms are quite nice, enough space and of course you can store your personal belongings in a safe lock. The beds are a little hard (as in most hostels) and even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manonthemoon44

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
30.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#31 of 450 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,851 reviews
28.7 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#30 of 450 in Ho Chi Minh City
457 reviews
30.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 471 in Ho Chi Minh City
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#11 of 471 in Ho Chi Minh City
234 reviews
30.0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 471 in Ho Chi Minh City
675 reviews
30.1 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#4 of 471 in Ho Chi Minh City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Phan Anh Hostel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City and backpacking area. The Hostel located on the Pham Ngu lao Str. There are many tourists attractive nearby: Ben Thanh Market, Sai Gon River, Notre Dame, Post office, Reunification palace, War museum, Banks (ATM), Booking offices, bars and coffee shops and shopping centers. Phan Anh Hostel has cozy rooms, all the room has window with well and modern facilities such as: Elevator, Air condition, Hot water, Free Wifi in the room, Internet free, welcome drink including also have the common room with many games for you relax during the trip ... more   less 

Additional Information about Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 373/6 Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £10 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all dorm rooms were fine. they were upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles IanS440, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all room are good”
 of 5 bubbles patricke638, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet hostel, not drunk people in the rooms in the middle of the night!”
 of 5 bubbles 686karinam, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Double room is very big”
 of 5 bubbles 894aureliak, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The bunk beds are very solid, but if you dont want to climb up then make sure you request a bottom bunk.”
 of 5 bubbles donajay2015, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5