We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hue Backpackers\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Start your review of Hue Backpackers' Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome Hostel- Amazing, Friendly and Very Helpful Staff. I had a fantastic time staying at Vietnam Backpackers Hostel Hue. It's in a prime location that is very central and close to many attractions to see in Hue. The highlight of my time staying in VBH Hue was the amazing, friendly staff members which added to the experience. The Manager, Western...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaz G
Marseille, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely, a place to avoid for the traveller. This one only aims to make cash with drunk people. Beer pong, drinking games, loud music... you have them all here. Plus a lot of extra noise inside your room, when 8 people are in a 6-bunk bedroom. Not to mention, the bathroom is inside the room and does not ventilate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as possible. We aim to create a fun and social atmosphere for our guests to enjoy themselves and to meet fellow like-minded travelers. Sometimes the activities get a bit rowdy. Thank you...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel itself was exactly what you want, also very close to DMZ bar which is a must whilst you're there. Try and meet Locky and say Ash and Gia sent you. You may be lucky enough to be invited to a 'meeting'. The best thing for me though we're the two tour guides who took us from Hue to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ash H
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for leaving us a response and we are glad to hear you had such a great time, not only in the hostel but also in Hue itself. We will be sure to send your thanks and regards on to Locky, Gung and Nam. Thank you again and feel free to come by any time again. Cheers...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The location is good to arrange activities by yourself. The price for private room is decent. The staffs were quite friendly and spoke good english. The drinks and food are very cheap.However it's quite a busy and noisy stay here. If you want to have a quiet stay this is not for you. If you like to have more fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petlover90
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time. We strive to arrange a fun and social atmosphere for our guests and sometimes it can get a bit rowdy at night. However, we close our bar at 11pm so...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed in the all-female dorm where there were dirty linens, cockroaches and ants. The electricity also goes on and off all night (which I guess can be good so you don't see the ants all over the dining room tables and your food at that)! You can't rent a towel, you can only buy one for the same price as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MhLou
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always strive to improve and welcome all feedback, positive and negative. We will definitely be investigating linen and the bugs. We put down spray and traps and constantly clean the tables and kitchen as food attracts the critters but in Vietnam it is a problem. I...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms are quite small, especially for someone who is as tall as me. But the beds are good and the lockers are quite handy. The staff is very friendly. Besides the somewhat claustrophobic feeling a got, I was satisfied.. the breakfast is also good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teun P
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time with us and enjoyed your stay. If you are in the area again feel free to come in for a chat and a drink with us. Kind regards The Hue Team

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Went here for some food and a few drinks! Ended up doing a pub quiz it's a real cool place good music and the food was good too! They have quite a few different things going on ,on different days so always something interesting to do!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and drinks and took part in the pub quiz. Everybody is always welcome to come join us for a drink or two. If you are ever in the area feel free to pop in again for a...

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Centrally located in one of the busy streets filled with bars and hostels, the Hue Backpackers' Hostel and it's "sunglasses-wearing-red-bull-logo" is an easy to spot location. From the moment I arrived there was a bustling young'n'fun vibe in the downstairs bar that serves a mix of Vietnamese and western foods (who can resist a plate of nachos over a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip_Waanders
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for writing positive and in-depth review. We are very pleased to hear you had such a great stay with us. As you have noticed and mentioned we strive to create a fun and social environment for our guests to meet like-minded travelers to share a drink with and swap stories. We close our bar at 11pm...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Very good hostel. I went on a daily moto tour to discover Hue and that was awesome! The hostel is nice even with a broken shower and low wifi connexion ... (only bad point!) VBH are always a good idea ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are always glad to hear that our guests had a great time staying with us. We have already fixed the shower as well and am busy sorting out the wifi connection. If you are ever in the area again feel free to join us for another...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We had the worst experience ever!! Private rooms were not even in the hostel but across the street in a crapy hotel!!! The matress was covered with plastic for God's sake!! Shower was embaresing and imposible to use if you are not a 6 years old. Couldn't open the window, just felt old and dirty..bahhh. We were in Hoi An...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BubiBubinko
Jaco_Hue, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings traveler Thank you for sending us your feedback with regards to our private rooms. The hostel itself only houses the dorm rooms. All our private rooms are in the DMZ hotel opposite the hostel as we don't enough floor space for both. We are busy improving the quality of our private rooms and soon they will up to the...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.3 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#6 of 120 in Hue
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#7 of 120 in Hue
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#14 of 120 in Hue
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Happy Homestay
0.2 mi away
FA Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Price Range: £10 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hue Backpackers' Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hue Backpackers' Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best tip is to look for another place.”
 of 5 bubbles M9356NLmiguelc, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take a room on higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Petlover90, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best tip? Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Jayjiabao, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, good beds, nice showers”
 of 5 bubbles SietzeBe, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Dorms over private room”
 of 5 bubbles eggsontoastLondon, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5