We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016

This hotel was full of character, very friendly helpful staff and a brilliant location in the heart of Phnom Penh. We stayed 2 nights, which was the right amount for us. The hotel is a little tired looking and the bathroom could have done with some attention, but it is an old building. If you want modern, this hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry H
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for the review of the hotel and its facilities. It provides the hotel with an opportunity to observe areas of improvement. The hotel is happy that your stay was pleasant and that you would stay here again. The hotel will review your evaluation in more detail and work on ways to improve in the areas...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We didn't get off to a good start when they failed to collect us at the airport despite a confirming email 3 months previously and debiting my credit card with the fee 3 months in advance! Had to be chased by expensive UK mobile to come and get us and then the taxi dropped us off in the road outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJ62
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your invaluable feedback. Your feedback helps the hotel to better learn in which areas we can improve to provide better service to your guests. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the very near future.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 30 January 2016

This house is absolutely gorgeous with a dark wood, interesting art and photography and a beautiful garden. Unfortunately I found it to be very poorly managed. Internet was very poor. Breakfast does not start until 7a.m. When there is a house full of people who have excursions, work, or traveling to do, that is too late. Everyone was down right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanbkk
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for sharing your review of the hotel. Your feedback helps the hotel to learn where we can improve in our service and/or our quality. I am sorry that you had a frustrating breakfast and a mediocre impression of the hotel but, I'm happy that you liked my team. Everyone does not agree with our deluxe...

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

The building is amazing and full of character. We had 20 hours in town and the location was perfect being not far from the nightlife but an oasis of calm behind the gates. We arrived late in the evening and asked for a late checkout the next day so we could see the sights and have the room to shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff B
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, On behalf of the personnel at The Governor's House Boutique Hotel we would like to say thank you for choosing us to stay with while in Phnom Penh and we hope that you will choose us again on future stays. We are relieved to learn that you had both a pleasurable stay and an outstanding experience.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 January 2016

we decided to go back to the The Governors House. The house / building is still very impressive - lots of wood, colonial style, great furnitures and beautiful decoration. Unfortunately the service was not good anymore. The new management of the hotel (some westerners) runs this place with no passion for the business. The voice is demanding, pushing, complaining or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thomas-mueller-zrh
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your invaluable feedback. Your feedback helps the hotel to better learn in which areas we can improve to provide better service to your guests. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the very near future.

Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

The Governor's House is a stunning boutique hotel about 10 mins from the crazy of central Phnom Penh. It offers a peaceful sanctuary after a day of sightseeing (which is much needed) in stunning surroundings. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, the pool area was a wonderful surprise and breakfast very tasty. To top it all off the bar serves great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle F
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you so much for your review of the hotel and we are so thrilled to learn that you had an outstanding stay. We hope that you will visit with us again in the very near future. On behalf of the hotel, thank you for your stay-

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Not been on trip advisor before but felt pretty strongly about our stay here so had to share it. This hotel is not of 4 star quality. We were put in the attic rooms which were boiling hot. It was 34oC outside and not much cooler in the room. There was a cheap & very small air con unit in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlbaVJ
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, I'm sorry to learn of your stay here at the hotel. This was before my time and the hotel is now working on various ways that we can improve the hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we will give it sincere consideration as we build forward to the future in improving each guests stay experience.

Cambodia
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Nice place well decorate. Suitable for couple with children. Very near of everything. Service nice. Have been a few times and every time we have enjoy the staffs and owner precense. Nothing to say about room, always clean and the food is great! Will recommand to everyone about this boutique hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lily L
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you so much for your review of the hotel and we are so thrilled to learn that you had an outstanding stay. We hope that you will visit with us again in the very near future. On behalf of the hotel, thank you for your stay-

Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Together with my wife we were visiting Phnom Penh for a few days at the end of July and decided to stay at The Governor's House Boutique Hotel and we were really happy we did. We booked for 4 nights but extended for 1 more. The room was great, I really liked the dimmed lights, the decor and the bathtub!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Artur R
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you so much for your review of the hotel and we are so thrilled to learn that you had an outstanding stay. We hope that you will visit with us again in the very near future. On behalf of the hotel, thank you for your stay-

Carmel
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my two nights at the Governors House hotel. It is an old French villa which means it was architecturally very interesting and it was completed with magnificent antiques from the owners collection. When I arrived (which was very late and past midnight), the owner met me and the night manager welcomed me with a complimentary welcome drink....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donaldk184
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and sharing your comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you have discovered, our hotel is one of the most unique hotels in Phnom Penh, with its own rich and history reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
6:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
0.4 mi away
Anik Boutique Hotel
Anik Boutique Hotel
#79 of 274 in Phnom Penh
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#73 of 274 in Phnom Penh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
The Mekong Dragon Hotel
#77 of 274 in Phnom Penh
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#37 of 274 in Phnom Penh
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
Villa Sovanna Boutique Hotel
#56 of 274 in Phnom Penh
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the executive suite”
 of 5 bubbles theresap195, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel doesn't have an elevator, so don't take the top floor rooms if you aren't comfortable with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 738ekaterinac, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good base and makes you feel at home”
 of 5 bubbles andrewwK7123ZD, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Staff were friendly and helpful”
 of 5 bubbles Terrace04, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“room 3: view to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles thomas-mueller-zrh, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5