We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Expedia.comUS$15*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golden River Palace Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a room online only to arrive and find the door was made of clear glass and there was no curtain! The bathroom was really dirty as well so I asked for a refund but the manager wasn't interested as he already had my money. Terrible, and not what I needed after a 7 hour bus journey. Found a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cancelthemilk
Kasibona D, Owner at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review

Did not you stay in my dormitory room because of my room or Tuk Tuk driver? You cheated TUK TUK driver by not paying him any money. You stated that agoda advertising that our hotel offered free pick up. WHERE? Agoda and I myself clarify again and again that we don't provide free pick up. Dormitory bed costs you only...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The location, the staff and the space of the room are ok, but the rest...... The carpet in the room looks dirty, little carpets up on, to hide what? The 2 beds of room 201 were made up strange, the sheets looked like when you protect something from dust. So no decent made up beds. The shabby curtains hide a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TorretjedeCorse
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2013

i had a room with balcony which was great..i can watch the action on the street as it faces the market..lots of street food stalls in the area..and the main tourists sights are just a stone throw away no need for tuk tuk, just walk..clean rooms and the staff are very helpful..will definitely stay again when i go back to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ladyrc1115
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I would give 6 points if I could, but I can't. We ended up in Golden Palace by chance, because our hotel before was terrible. We wanted to stay for one night, but ended up staying almost a week...! Nice large rooms, great area and super friendly people!! What do you want more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anna a
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

An affordable and comfortable guesthouse with clean environment. Beddings are clean and room for 3 person is very well-kept. Stayed in room facing main road but not noisy at night. Staff is helpful. Communication in English is not a major problem, simple basic English is understood for night shift staff and morning shift staff speaks fluent English. Bathroom and water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serene L
Tolmie, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very happy with the room by SE Asian standards and good value for money. Aircon and shower good and cleanliness fine. What was more important to me were the staff. They were all very keen to please and went out of their way to help me with a couple of tricky situations. My luggage was lost in transit from Aussie...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gina H
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights, a friend of mine has been here before and she was right: next to a market and close to all touristic attractions, this sure is one of the best guesthouses in Phnom Penh. No bar, no restaurant, so of you want to meet backpackers you neef to go out. Especially the rooms at the back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan-Ynze v
Phnom Penh
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The manager was very helpful and his English was very good. The staff person that I met was eager to please, but his English was very limited. My room, 201, was very clean. I agree with the other posts about the carpet, but I wore socks for a period of time and they remained clean suggesting that the floor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBA101
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have booked this place with my boyfriend for 3 nights, but we checked out by first night, even though we arrived very late in night from Laos and have paid through hotels.com up front. First of all the room was very dirty, hair and dust everywhere and spider nets hanging from the ceiling, coffe cups were dirty. We got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ola182
Kasibona D, Manager at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You did not meet me on that night as you come so late at night time around 12-1am. My new staff provides you that room as other rooms are full. Normally, we clean and collect rubbish at the back of our hotel every morning whenever this room is available. Most of people at the back are...

Sydney
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The staff and very friendly and accommodating, especially taking your luggage up the flights of stairs (yes stairs, so if you're staying above the first or second floor - prepare yourself for a leg workout). We received a free upgrade for the first few nights and changed to our original booked room halfway through our stay (not annoying because our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kam S

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 269 in Phnom Penh
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#183 of 269 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#115 of 269 in Phnom Penh
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#75 of 269 in Phnom Penh
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic House
Nordic House
#110 of 317 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Plan your long weekends in advance...Plan your visiting Phnom Penh, Kindom of Wonder ahead to benefit from our great deals! We offer a wide range of discount rooms to accommodate you and your family at an affordable rate. The Royal Palace, National Museum, Riverside and the Night Market are just 3 minutes by foot. Nightlife, restaurants and entertainment are just around the corner on Sisowath Quay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range: £9 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden River Palace Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look for a different hotel. Spend a few dollars more and you will be better off.”
briancO1269JB, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you are on a budget I highly recommend the two-bed dorm.”
jakobj720, 30 Mar 2014 | Read review
“I had room 201 and was very happy with it.”
265ginah, 22 Nov 2013 | Read review
“not on the ground floor.”
  • doors in the room
  • dirty coffe cups
  • spider webs
  • tapes around windows
  • 'view' from room
ola182, 5 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Do not accept a referral to another hotel. If you do check that the aircon works, doors close, noisy bars across the road and if the hotel is used for "other" purposes.”
Kiwisinasia2013, 26 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$15* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$17
Orbitz.com
Hostelworld.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates