Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Novotel Ulaanbaatar

Baga Toiruu 6th Khoroo, Ulaanbaatar 14201 Mongolia
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (26)
All day dining (breakfast buffet)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#10 of 67 hotels in Ulaanbaatar
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
At Novotel Ulaanbaatar, everyone is free to live as they want. As a family or solo. On vacation or for work. In all our hotels, everything has been designed to help you find your way around. And our teams, known for their attention to details, are always at hand. Our unique approach to hospitality, one that is built on simplicity and elegance, is loved the world over.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Spa
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Trendy

Location

Baga Toiruu 6th Khoroo, Ulaanbaatar 14201 Mongolia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Buyant Uhaa Airport
54Reviews1Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 8
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JamesLWelch wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom131 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was quick, staff were friendly and good English was spoken. The room was large and on a high floor with a great view towards Sukhbaatar Square. The shower was great (rainfall and normal) and the TV had a huge selection of international TV channels. There was the AC system as well as a radiator and the window opened to allow outside air in.

Breakfast had a large selection of Western and Asian options and eggs and different coffee drinks made to order. The hot Western breakfast choices were very good. The bread was not so good.

The Biere House in the lobby seemed to be quite popular which gave it more atmosphere than most hotel bars. Prices were good (about $2 for a beer and $4-8 for food - portions were huge and the quality was good).

The hotel had a supermarket in a small shopping centre nearby and several restaurants in the are. Sukhbaatar Square was about a 5 minute walk away and the State Department Store was under a 20 minute walk so the location was good (given the traffic in Ulaanbaatar it was probably just as quick to walk).

Would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear JamesLWelch Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write such an encouraging detailed review in regards to your most recent stay here with us at Novotel Ulaanbaatar. Rest assured that your review will be shared within the team and be a motivation for all of us to remain focused on delivering a high level of quality of product and service to all our guest at any time. We all here look forward to welcome you back soonest. Kind Regards M. Schumacher / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russell T wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia167 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From check in, bags placed in our rooms, lunch at the at the ground floor Gourmet Bar on arrival,room servicing staff, buffet dinner and breakfast at the food exchange and the arrangement of taxis and a private car and driver to take us to the ski and toboggan slopes we cant thank the staff enough for their attention to detail and excellent service. We were there with family for a weekend "staycation". Next time we are in Mongolia we will most definitely be back with another family group. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: best views of the city and surrounding area is from the top floors - magnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMNovotelUB, General Manager at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear Russell T Thank you very much for leaving such a positive and for the team very motivating review in regards to your most recent stay here with us at Novotel Ulaanbaatar. To receive such great Feedback from our Guest is our motivation to stay focused on our guest' wishes and needs and to do everything possible to exceed our Guest's expectations during their stay. We all here on side look forward to welcome you and your family soon again here with us in Ulaanbaatar. Kind Regards M. Schumacher / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tamaletown wrote a review Jan 2020
Perth, Australia1,675 contribution295 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very happy with our two day stay here. We utilised an airport transfer as we were arriving after midnight. Cost was well worth it, as we walked out and immediately saw our driver with name board. The vehicle was new and made for a quick trip to the hotel. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast is large and well worth the price. We didn’t need lunch! Rooms were spacious and quiet. Quality toiletry items. From here you can walk to many things. Good coffee shops not far away, walk to museum, art gallery, numerous restaurants and the state department store. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMNovotelUB, General Manager at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear tamaletown Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay here with us at Novotel Ulaanbaatar. It is with great pleasure to learn that we could make your stay here in Mongolia a memorable one. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared within the team and be a further motivation for all of us to go the extra mile wherever possible to match or exceed the expectations of our guest. We look forward to welcome you back here with us soon. Kind Regards M. Schumacher General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tselmuun wrote a review Oct 2023
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had Lunch in 2nd floor Food Exchange Ulaanbaatar Buffet, the food were decent not bad, they refill the foods quiet fast. But I would address some of their tableware are dirty not properly washed. And service quiet slow and some kind of waiters are rude. We try to order coffee and soft drink they not bring beverages we have to ask again but somehow they were very slow. But once they bring the beverages they bring Credit Card payment reader so fast. The worst thing is the Cleaning lady were very rude and aggressive, the reason is our children were quiet loud some point the cleaning lady reach to them and started shout and reach children body! to say be quiet!. Its reasonable when she inform to adults to be sure keep them quiet in public but she didn't. When we saw that reach to her ask why did you reach our children body and she replied because they were noisy, we told them its only children and we were sorry to bother but you shouldn't personally reach young ones we asked her you should at least apologize, but she hesitates. We told the manager but sadly same attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Decent place decent food, bad service!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Delgermurun Gankhuyag, Other at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 17 Apr 2024
Dear Tsebug2023, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent dining experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and are grateful for your patronage. We're pleased to hear that you found our buffet offerings decent and that our food replenishment met your expectations. However, we are truly sorry to learn about the issues you encountered with the cleanliness of our tableware and the speed of our service. Providing a clean and efficient dining experience is paramount to us, and we apologize for falling short in these areas. Regarding the incident with our cleaning staff, we extend our sincerest apologies for any discomfort or distress caused to your family. Such behavior is unacceptable and does not align with the standards we uphold. We assure you that we take your concerns seriously, and we will address this matter with our team to ensure it does not happen again in the future. We value your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement, and we are committed to delivering a more seamless and enjoyable dining experience for all our guests. If you would be willing to provide further details or discuss your experience in more depth, please feel free to reach out to us directly at +976 90090731 Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the exceptional service and hospitality that we strive to deliver at Novotel Ulaanbaatar. Warm regards, Daisy.G Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael G wrote a review 11 Jun
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location and meets all the required standards. F&B however needs some serious work, Front of house is letting back of house down in an astounding manner.. i have 30 years of fine dining / hotel experience and i have never seen a front of house team so inept. The waiter didn't know what a Cabernet Sauvignon was even after i pointed it out on the wine list. Entree plates were not removed, empty glasses were not removed, no up sell on the empty glasses on the table. An empty restaurant and yet 3 staff sitting around / standing chatting amongst themselves. The waiter had no idea what Al dente meant. The food that was served was excellent, would be happy to eat it anywhere in the world.. if only it could get to the table hot.. apparently with three staff on serving the one and only table with clients is too challenging. Duvin could be and should be packed every night, someone needs to take charge, and sack whomever is currently in charge.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Eat somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander Mokretsov wrote a review Aug 2022
Chalong, Thailand2,173 contributions522 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful hotel in excellent location within walking distance from the main square. Spacious fully equipped rooms, wonderful service, great bar on the first floor. On the downside I would mention the lack of bidet shower in the bathroom. The pool looks great, but rather shallow and water there a few degrees too cold.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Galbadrakh Galch, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Dear Valued Guest Amk2f Thank you for your kind review. Please come again. Warmest regards. Novotel team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gaurav T wrote a review Jan 2020
8 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Novotel UB is a quite a modern facility and has all the services needed. Rooms are nice and comfortable, with all the amenities. The restaurants and coffee shops in the hotel are certainly better than most in the region. Facility is very neat and clean and staff is friendly and willing to help.

It has a great gym and swimming pool.

On the flip side, however, there could be more options of food for international travellers.

Overall though, i had a great experience at Novotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMNovotelUB, General Manager at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear 247gauravt Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay here at Novotel Ulaanbaatar. It is with great pleasure to learn about your overall positive experience in all areas used. In regards to your feedback on the food selection I can share with you that we are currently working on enhancements in all restaurant which will certainly also cover the demand of international travelers. We all here look forward to welcome you soon again to display our changes and improvements to you. Kind Regards M. Schumacher / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aie i wrote a review Aug 2021
Male6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
i stayed in the hotel in August 2019, for a bi regional meeting. at first I was a bit nervous about going to Mongolia, but the whole experience was wonderful.

the staff was amazing, and all of them spoke English well. they were good at providing directions and tips on where to go.

i especially wish to mention the Chinese restaurant at the hotel. the food was so amazing, that I ordered it for 2 nights dinner even for room service.

the entire hotel was beautiful and modern. and the location of the hotel was walking distance to all popular places such as the square and even the malls. excellent stay and would love to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: even though the hotel and city is non smoking, there are nice designated areas available for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Galbadrakh Galch, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Guest Aiei2016 Thank you for your kind review. Please come again. Warmest regards. Novotel team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanjakarta wrote a review Feb 2022
Jakarta39 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am staying at Novotel since 10 days, staff are quiet nice but just a few are speaking english.
Hotel rooms is confortable, landry service is good.
Some points make me unconfortable here is the quality and choice of the food at restaurants. The buffet on the 2d floor is really bad . The breakfast is poor and it is compulsory to have it in the room. Restaurants and food at not at the standard of Accor group especially for Novotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Galbadrakh Galch, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Guest Jeanjakarta Thank you for your kind review. Please come again. Warmest regards. Novotel team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Byambadelger E wrote a review Dec 2021
7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Receptionists were way too slow to take actions. When I call back again and ask the thing I asked earlier, there will be a different receptionist and I had explain again and wait more.

Surprisingly, I found an used face mask under the bed. After that called to the receptionist and he only said “ok” not even a sorry.
Food was okay.
The carpet had some issues, slippers were in a mess.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Galbadrakh Galch, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Guest Byambadelger Thank you for your kind review. On a behalf of Novotel Hotel Ulaanbaatar, we are very sorry that you had some bad experiences with us. However, we are happy to let you know our service is made improvements. Please come again Warmest regards. Novotel team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aie i asked a question Aug 2019
Male6 contributions1 helpful vote
Any chance of getting a smoking room or at least a room with a balcony?
Answer from M.Schumacher
Dear aiei2016 Greetings from Novotel Ulaanbaatar. Please be informed that our Hotel is a non smoking hotel (related to local laws) and we do not offer any rooms with balconies. We have indeed special assigned smoking areas both outside and inside the building. Kind Regards Michael Schumacher General Manager
Michael G wrote a tip 11 Jun
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat somewhere else "
Read full review
Tselmuun wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Decent place decent food, bad service!"
Read full review
aie i wrote a tip Aug 2021
Male6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"even though the hotel and city is non smoking, there are nice designated areas available for smokers if needed."
Read full review
Russell T wrote a tip Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia167 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"best views of the city and surrounding area is from the top floors - magnificent"
Read full review
Michael S wrote a tip Dec 2019
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even numbered rooms seem to have the best view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ulaanbaatar area.
PRICE RANGE
£118 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MongoliaUlaanbaatar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
192
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL ULAANBAATAR - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Nearby attractions include Migjid Janraisig Sum (0.1 miles), Dashchoilin Monastery (0.2 miles), and Czech Pub (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Modern Nomads, Asiana Central Restaurant, and MB Beer Plus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Novotel Ulaanbaatar have airport transportation?
Yes, Novotel Ulaanbaatar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Ulaanbaatar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gandantegchenling Monastery (1.1 miles) and The Project for Rehabilitation of Railway Facilities (1.5 miles).
Is Novotel Ulaanbaatar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ulaanbaatar HotelsUlaanbaatar Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UlaanbaatarHotels near Novotel Ulaanbaatar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire