Galle Face Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Galle Face Hotel

Traveller (3167)
Empress Suite
Room & Suite (381)
Pool & Beach (251)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£139
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£118
£90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#22 of 89 hotels in Colombo
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Since its beginnings in 1864 The Galle Face Hotel has been part of Colombo heritage, catering to world travellers, the property stands as one of the most storied hotels in Asia. Oozing history from every pore, timeless traditions and character abounds in each of our 156 guestrooms, restored to reflect the Galle Face Hotel’s rich past. Many rooms offer spectacular sea views, some with private balcony, and all furnished in elegant colonial style décor. Whether a sophisticated afternoon tea at The Verandah or dinner at 1864 Restaurant, a Pimms on the Chequerboard or a Cuban experience at King of the Mambo, dining experiences are a ‘must do’ whilst in Colombo. A wedding day at the Grand Ballroom or Jubilee Ballroom makes for a truly memorable and occasion. Come and experience the magic of The Galle Face Hotel on your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Beach
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel

Location

3,2 Galle Road, Colombo 00300 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
Bandaranayake Intl Airport
17.8 mi
See all flights
Diyawanna Oya Seaplane Base
3,379Reviews56Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,183
  • 794
  • 217
  • 101
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dani C wrote a review Feb 2020
Bequia162 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On our first day in Colombo, we came here for respite from too much sun and heat (we had walked far longer than anticipated and were beginning to suffer for it!). We were welcomed graciously by the hotel doormen and made our way to the lovely bar, where we reveled in the air conditioning and comfortable indoor couch seating. Treated beautifully despite being sweaty and disheveled, we enjoyed a curry lunch and some cold drinks in this delightfully historic hotel. The prices reflect the location and reputation as an old, classy colonial establishment, but for us, the experience was worth every rupee. Later in the week, we stopped by for a drink with a friend and sat outdoors in the shade, under fans, enjoying the late afternoon breeze and witnessed a local wedding, which was also lovely. I highly recommend a visit to the Galle Face Hotel, if only just for a drink and to soak in the ambience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DanielGrau1, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Dani Coleman, Thank you for dropping by at The Travellers' Bar! It was fantastic to read your review of the experience at our classic bar. We hope you didn't miss the pictures of the celebrities and Royalty who visited the property and stayed with us. We are delighted to know you had the opportunity to witness a traditional Sri Lankan wedding at the property too as it is an absolute treat to watch. We do hope to have the pleasure and privilege of having you stay at our property the next time you visit Colombo. With best regards, Daniel Grau General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelin' Pam wrote a review Feb 2020
Houston, Texas612 contributions268 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Following laid-back stays along the southern coast and Ella, the Galle Face Hotel was a bit of culture shock. This is a large hotel that can come off a bit stuffy at first. After we settled in, we found the hotel to have its own charm. Our guest room (#4017) was large, comfortable and well appointed. Good a/c and wifi. The huge buffet breakfast with omelet/hopper bar was excellent.

The waterfront veranda was our favorite part of the hotel. Watching the bagpiper and the lowering of the Sri Lankan flag at sunset was very special.

Least favorite aspects were the street noise and the fact that this grand old hotel is showing its age (perhaps contributing to its charm). The lack of wash cloths at a luxury hotel seemed a bit unusual.

That said, we would stay at the Galle Face Hotel again if we return to Colombo.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the busy road to avoid street noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DanielGrau1, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear Ms. Pam, We are glad you had the opportunity to witness the iconic flag lowering take place during sunset with the bagpipers as this is a daily but unique occurrence to Galle Face Hotel with the undisturbed view to top it all off. The experience at the property is peerless - which you may have noticed since you did travel to other areas of the island. It is encouraging to know the breakfast buffet and overall service met your expectations and we hope this is an opportunity for us to have you back with us during your next visit. Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. Best regards, Daniel Grau General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bisley75 wrote a review Feb 2020
44 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel that time forgot! This lovely hotel which was very grand in it day is a little tired but only because it’s been cleaned within and inch of its life. The brass numbers on the inside of the lift are so faint as they have been cleaned so often.
Here, your wish is their command, you will want for nothing as the staff really do look after you.

I would totally stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DanielGrau1, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Bisley, Thank you for your gracious comments on your experience at the property! We do strive to maintain and improve our standards to give our guests the best experience when they patronize us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! With best regards, Daniel Grau General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark C wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore64 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a night at the Galle Face Hotel and absolutely enjoyed it. The hotel is simply stately, historical (one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka with a storied history) and luxurious. It even has it's own museum! And I would recommend guest to visit the museum.

Location: Right at the heart of Colombo next to Galle Face Green. It doesn't really get much more convenient than that.

Accommodation: We were given a generous upgrade to a Premier Ocean View room on the third floor. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. It had all the amenities you would expect from a luxury hotel. The view of the Indian Ocean was delightful. Drinks and snacks in the mini-bar were complimentary. The only complaint we had was that the lock for the toilet didn't work very well.

Facilities: The hotel has an excellent salt water swimming pool right next to the beach. While there're stairs leading from the pool to the beach, swimming and bathing at the beach is prohibited ostensibly for safety reasons. There are many dining options within the hotel. Apart from the museum, the hotel also has a charming library and a well equipped gym. They also have a spa, though we didn't get the chance to try it.

Service: Service was generally excellent. Our requests were handled promptly and they were very forward leaning in granting us a late check-out. We were also invited to use the showers and other hotel facilities after check-out as our flight was after midnight.

Overall: Good value for money considering the luxurious and beautiful accommodation, and great service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room if you can spare the money. It's worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeet T wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A two week business trip for which the hotel was chosen for its location. Very attentive staff , Chaya made sure all our needs were met from our airport pick up to ensuring transport was available to to take us to the office every morning. We were treated like VIPs rather than stuffy business customers. The location was amazing on the seafront and the verandah is very special -especially for all the breakfast goodies!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Amazing location with unbeatable views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GFH_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Galle Face Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your stay during your business trip. We do look forward to having you back for a more leisurely trip next time! Do let us know when you are visiting Colombo again. Warm regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris2015jan wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver Island, Canada7 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My elderly mother & I were visiting Sri Lanka, in Early Feb 2020. We were very impressed by the Welcome staff at the Entrance to the Hotel. Our registration & welcome to the Hotel was Handled by a young lady Receptionist Ms Fazmeen. Who was courteous, well Spoken, & very poliet. We did see her through out our stay, & her customer Service skills were impeccable. The Dinning room Staff was wonderful. I must Commend Mr. Karanangoda, for his attention to detail, with organizing our B'fast, for our trip to Kandy. The serving staff was very attentive during all meals. Also I need to commend the services of Jarnaka ( Laundry Staff ) , who always was very prompt, & very attentive to my moms & My requests, with our lundery Items. It was a very Pleasant Stay at the Galle Face Hotel. We hope to return back someday again. I hope the Management of the depts, will commend the Excellent Service given to my mom & me , by the above staff whos names I have Mentioned, in my letter.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DanielGrau1, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Mr. Chris, It was our absolute pleasure to have your mother and yourself staying at our property. We have a long history where many families of various generations visit the property over the years and this makes it very personal to us as well. We are pleased to learn that our staff, especially the special mentions, were able to make your stay that much more memorable and comfortable. We will be sure to give them the deserved recognition! Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving your wonderful review. We do hope to welcome you and your mom back in the near future! With best regards, Daniel Grau General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anilpras wrote a review Mar 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka18 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our college (Sri Lanka College of Microbiologists) for the first time booked Grand Ballroom of GFH for our induction of the President and oration. This event was smoothly carried out with preplanning with Nimanthika. We got a nice area for photographs of the council, good table decor and excellent service. Our morning tea had savoury and sweet items fresh fruits, fruit juice, tea and coffee. Even the vegetarians had a good choice.
Lunch was buffet with good spread and a dessert table to satisfy sweet lovers.
quick replenishment of the items with helpful service attached praise from the members. Car parking is also not a problem since there is ample parking in the premises.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wend b wrote a review Jan 2022
Vergennes, Vermont17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The food and Beverage offerings at this hotel are excellent as is the service. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The bellman who checked us in at 2:30am could not have been nicer and our room cleaner was so accommodating. The seaside location with the views and soothing sounds of the waves was a welcome respite from a hot, busy city. When we left very early to catch a train, the hotel packed us a wonderful breakfast to go.
This is a special place where you feel the history and know that many people have passed before you to enjoy fine hospitality in a historic setting. Well done Galle Face Hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike S wrote a review Jan 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom346 contributions223 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here as part of our twelve day tour of Sri Lanka. Our room had been booked by our travel agent, who requested and paid for a sea view. On arrival, the reception staff were very unhelpful, aloof and pompous. Clearly there is a “pecking order” at this hotel - those paying the most get treated the best. Eventually, the staff agreed that our room had been allocated to another couple and no other was available. Furthermore the staff gave no information regarding facilities, options, meal times etc. Having had a drink at the bar I asked to sign for the cost which I duly did. My signature was not accepted as reception staff had failed to ask for a credit card on arrival. A truly embarrassing incident resulting in another complaint and faint apology. Needless to say our stay wasn’t ideal and we opted to eat elsewhere in the evening.
Our room on the third floor overlooked the tulip tower and was basic. However, the breakfast was very good. Needless to say, we won’t be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DanielGrau1, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear 386MikeS, Firstly, thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Colombo. Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the negative experience you had to endure. By no means can we be excused for under delivering the usually positive service we strive to give our guests. We will most certainly revise all standards and procedures to ensure that situations such as yours are not repeated. This has been brought to the attention of the entire team and we realize simple steps could have resolved or even allowed us to avoid this whole situation. While we do accept that we have to improve as a team, we thank you again again for the feedback. I am hopeful that despite this lapse in service, you will still want to give us another opportunity in the future. With best regards, Daniel Grau General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J S wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
They hotel is fantastic old colonial building on the coast. We stayed for 2 nights and when we had to leave trying to book trains or taxis was extremely confusing, however Emmanuel the concierge was a MASSIVE help. He called the train station and spoke to taxi drivers to get a great deal travelling to Kandy. Genuinely without his help we would have paid over the top and spent a lot of our precious holiday time trying to workout a plan. Also I txted him about the recipe for the kingfish curry at the hotel (which is one of the best curry I have ever had) he was so kind and got the chef to do an email with the recipe and the cooking instructions.

Really recommend this hotel and go speak to Emmanuel if you have any questions about your trip to Sri Lanka. Great addition to this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Galle Face Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Galle Face Hotel for your stay in Colombo. We thoroughly enjoyed your review on your stay and are delighted that we were able to make it an enjoyable one! We look forward to welcoming you back at the property soon! Warm regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Jane E
New York City, New York587 contributions437 helpful votes
Doesn’t surprise me at all. Terrible service and unbelievable noise from the outdoor bar until after 4am. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.
Answer from 2fromaus
Sydney, Australia166 contributions67 helpful votes
I'm sorry, I don't think we surveyed the hotel sufficiently to respond accurately. We were only there for about 36 hours. The wifi certainly worked well in the room. The restaurant food was fine. The setting is very nice and I think I recall a respectable wine list. There were lots of loungers at the pool. We didn't have time to use the executive lounge.
Answer from Udesh sasanka
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions
Hi, the all inclusive rate for high tea is LKR 1864/-. Please contact the hotel directly and we would love to make a reservation for you! Thank you
Answer from Frances LC
Dakar Region, Senegal47 contributions4 helpful votes
Sorry only just got this. Yes there are and I used them. I’m Sri Lanka all hotels seem to have tea making and provide nice tea gags. No surprise there, in the land of tea. There’s a little fridge too.
Answer from AnilPerera
Dallas, Texas2 contributions1 helpful vote
Call the hotel, refer the tour booking and ask them to reserve the same room for both stays. The possible reasons for rejecting this request could be due to high demand for rooms or security reasons. At least they should be able to store your belongings in a locker until your 2nd stay.
Nick Y wrote a tip Apr 2024
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recommend. This hotel for anyone seeking to find the true spirit of Sri Lanka. The grounds are impressive. Right on the beach. Staff"
Read full review
Nikita1959 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Australian Capital Territory, Australia7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is a salt water pool."
Read full review
Ilija M wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for Vishnu at Firebich for the best experience."
Read full review
MAC156_13 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Sydney, Australia41 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can be a bit noisy with music downstairs so pack earplugs."
Read full review
Wendy B wrote a tip Apr 2024
11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep your passport handy as they will require it at checkin"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Colombo area.
PRICE RANGE
£93 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceColombo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GALLE FACE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Galle Face Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Galle Face Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jewel Qudsi (0.1 miles), Galle Face Green (0.3 miles), and In on the Green (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Galle Face Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Galle Face Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Galle Face Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Galle Face Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include King of the Mambo, Golden Dragon, and Plates.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Galle Face Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Galle Face Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Galle Face Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Galle Face Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Galle Face Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Galle Face Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colombo Fort (1.2 miles), Wolvendaal Church (1.7 miles), and Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (2.2 miles).
Does Galle Face Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Colombo HotelsColombo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ColomboHotels near Galle Face Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire