Granbell Hotel Colombo
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Granbell Hotel Colombo

Best bar in town and grate DJs
Traveller (784)
Room & Suite (43)
In Room Dining
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

£53
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#20 of 89 hotels in Colombo
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The sensational hotel is located in the heart of Colombo, the fashionable part of the city. It is surrounded by trendy shopping malls, restaurants, and entertainment venues. For those who appreciate art, culture, heritage, and serenity, our hotel is the ideal place for relaxation, style, and solitude. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or business, you will find that comfort and ecstasy is what we stand for at Granbell Hotel Colombo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese, Sinhala, Tamil

Location

282/5 Kollupitiya Road, Colombo 00300 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Bandaranayake Intl Airport
18.5 mi
See all flights
Diyawanna Oya Seaplane Base
735Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 583
  • 74
  • 25
  • 16
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sabrinazp wrote a review Apr 2024
22 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great modern clean new hotel, that's also reasonably priced. We booked this hotel for quite a low rate so weren't sure what to expect, however we were really pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very modern and clean. We loved the rooftop bar which always had a great atmosphere and great cocktails. Pool always seemed busy but we weren't that bothered about going in. Japanese restaurant was also excellent with excellent service. Reception area on floor 1 is also nice. Views from the room were also amazing.
Only point to mention is that the first room they showed us to had a few ants in so we asked to move - they immediately allocated us a different room of the same category and made this very easy, so we can't complain about the service at all there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haamidh Uwais, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 7 Apr 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Colombo. Thank you, Regards, Granbell Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tania36777 wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I fell in love with this hotel the moment I was advised to book it as I needed somewhere to stay in Colombo. The price isn’t too bad if you’re travelling from the UK and I chose the higher spec rooms with the balcony.

However, I was a little disappointed when i arrived to find my room had not been cleaned from who had stayed in it previously, the door alarm kept going off every time you opened the balcony door, only some of the restaurants were open at different times of the day. Paying full price for the room compared to locals who were offered half price full board rooms did leave quite a bitter taste to the whole stay. The restaurants that were open served very small portions and only Japanese food was served for dinner, so in the end i had to order Uber Eats. Also, the sauna and steam rooms were not on unless you searched for a staff member to put them on and the indoor Jacuzzi was not working either.Also on one of the nights, the lights in my room would not switch off and an engineer didnt arrive to my room till 11pm!

Upon complaining to the manager I did feel the customer service was more on the ball and they did check up on me everyday. The hotel has a good set of staff, what it lacks is the capability of dealing with too many people in the hotel and with tourists. Not great to be advertising cheaper local rates on instagram when you can’t provide full services for full paying customers.

Visually this hotel is beautiful. The rooftop pool and the sea view rooms are absolutely stunning.

Until the hotel can run all its services at full capacity, I wouldn’t visit again, but if everything was running at this rate then it is definitely worth the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Best to choose the se view with balcony room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Customer, thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to review our property. We have addressed the issues you mentioned with our team and we will ensure such mistakes do not repeat in the future. Hope to see you again soon! Regards Granbell Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ZinamonKveen wrote a review Sept 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka778 contributions1,397 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I could rave about the pool for an entire paragraph. The view is great and if you're lucky and it doesn't get too crowded, you can have a nice relaxing swim. The bar is on the other side of the rooftop and they're happy to bring drinks to you poolside. The only drawback is that later in the day it gets pretty darn cold!

For half board occupancy, breakfast is a buffet and dinner is a la carte. The latter is not terribly creative though the food is very good. During our stay, the three options for mains were all chicken.

The room was comfortable and clean. Spacious enough for two, three may be a tight fit. This was a room with a terrace to which not a drop of wind flows, which was a shame as that was the sole reason for selecting the room.

Service good aside from the first night when we were sent from one restaurant to the other in spite of making it known that we were guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 29 Sept 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay with us. We are extremely happy that you had a good experience and enjoyed our infinity pool. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Granbell Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mumbai buddy wrote a review Aug 2023
Mumbai85 contributions41 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We landed at Granbell late evening, after a long road trip from Nuwara Eliya. The oddness strikes you from the time you step out of the vehicle. The area is dark, the staff there are hardly welcoming and appear very perfunctory. You have to take the lift to the depressing, low lit, somewhat small reception area for a hotel of this size, to face a burly guy in the reception with a don't care attitude.

After facing all the unwelcome reception (compared to the friendly treatment in most places across Sri Lanka), we reached the sea view room which was a bit of a shocker. The room is filled with 2 large beds and a smaller bed and a huge bath tub, bath area and toilet area occupying the parallel space.

The odd thing in the room is that there is hardly any space for anything else, including keeping 2 suitcases comfortably. There is no table or chair. The locker is at the bottom (so, you have to sit on the floor to operate it).

The quality of the furniture, fittings and upholstery are however top class. Seems like they engage Japanese architects and designers for their hotels outside Japan, who replicate hotels in Tokyo for the international Japanese traveler but not built with the thought of the location or the travellers to the area.

This theme seeps into the breakfast buffet area too. The place is narrow with hardly any space to navigate, very poor service standards (saw a staff berate a guest who probably was not aware that her package does not include breakfast and had started eating!) and is a real horror for vegetarians, with very less options and veggie dishes kept next to non-veg dishes and people mixing ladles.

On the last day, there was a kind Japanese staff who seemed like the floor manager. She listened to my litanies with empathy. Gave her suggestions also to spread the buffet to another floor where they have a Japanese style restaurant during rush time, but not sure if she had authority to change anything.

It can be a nice place with minimum tweaks and better trained staff but till that time choose this place if you are not a too fussy non-Japanese traveller. Else, wait till the management wakes up to the issues and train their staff to be friendly to guests and not treat them like they don't exist.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The buffet breakfast area is too crowded due to little space. Try to get in as early as possible...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review our property, we are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while you were staying at our property. we have informed the relevant departments regarding the issues you have mentioned above and we as a property will make sure that this will not happen for our future guests. Thank you, Regards, Granbell Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nas V wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and husband stayed there in the deluxe room with balcony (sea view). The front office assured us that the train could not be heard on the 19th floor. The train horns are perfectly audible even when everything is closed. All 5 days I couldn't sleep properly because at 5 in the morning you hear the train horns every 15-30 minutes.

The air conditioner was not working properly. We set the temperature to 25 degrees, after 3 hours it will be 21 degrees in the room. I regretted choosing this hotel.

We asked to bring an iron and a board, they brought it only after 40 minutes and the third call to the reception.

The menu at the Japanese restaurant is a bit strange. I would say that their chef did not study traditional Japanese cuisine.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I highly do not recommend choosing rooms with sea views, if you want to sleep peacefully because...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Thank you for taking your time to review our property, we are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while you were staying at our property. we have informed the relevant departments regarding the issues you have mentioned above and we as a property will make sure that this will not happen for our future guests. Thank you, Regards, Granbell Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Damian C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve made a reservation through Mr. Roshain De Silva and checked in with my Family to Granbell Hotel Colombo, on 8th March 2024 to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The Agent at the Reception gave us a warm welcome and provided us a room on the 24th floor with a Sea View. After we’ve checked in, a piece of Chocolate Cake was provided complementary for our anniversary. We’ve had some in room Dining and the Food was truly indulging. When ordering food, we’ve had some special requests for our Child, and it was honored by Mr. Supun Alutharachchi. The Infinity Pool and the Jacuzzi on the roof top was mesmerizing, especially overlooking the Sunset and The Port City. The Pool attendant, Mr. Nilantha Kumara was really helpful by providing towels and interacting with us. Especial thanks to Mr. Nishantha Silva, who assisted us going above and beyond to fulfill our needs throughout our stay.

Overall it was a Great Experience staying at Granbell Hotel Colombo and We would highly recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great Place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Colombo. Thank you, Regards, Granbell Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ghizili R wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my worst hotel experience . after 12 hours flight I’ve been waiting 2 hours in the line and after that at 4 pm they told us to wait for the second room lady in reception was not qualified and supervisors were rude I asked for manager and they say that they don’t answer. They don’t clean the room in two days and room services dose not answer when I personally go to the front desk and ask for dryer they say ok and didn’t bring it at all my daughter hair was wet and she get cold . The food in restaurants were awful first day we ordered fish and it was not fresh and all of the food was cold they bring our group orders separately and late ,the pool bar wasn’t different we ordered pizza and they bring us worst pizza ever dried frozen bread with no flavour and cheese wasn’t even melted
I can go on with it for more 😤😤😤😡😡😡🤬🤬🤬
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t go there Rude and inexperienced staff will destroy your mood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review our property, we are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while you were staying at our property. we have informed the relevant departments regarding the issues you have mentioned above and we as a property will make sure that this will not happen for our future guests. Thank you, Regards, Granbell Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randini G wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was pretty nice since it was a new hotel. But food is unfairly expensive it takes around 8000 LKR per a couple just for a extremely small fried rice and a drink. Sandaru from the reception was pretty friendly and was very helpful but other staff members looked so unfriendly and annoyed . If they can can develop these aspects they can become one of the best hotels in Colombo. Because their pool is one of the best pools. And the view is to die for.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Customer, thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to review our property. We deeply apologize for the experience you had during your stay. We have addressed the issue with our team and we will ensure such mistakes do not repeat in the future. Also, we are so glad to hear that you loved our pool and hotel. Hope to see you again soon! Regards Granbell Hotel Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caratravel2018 wrote a review Apr 2024
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates10 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is strategically located and offers well-maintained rooms, making it a popular choice among travelers. However, the quality of service provided during our stay was subpar. We reached out to the reception for help with the hot water in the shower, and we also informed the HK supervisor and the room attendant about the issue. Unfortunately, despite bringing it to their attention on multiple occasions during our four-day stay, no action was taken to resolve the problem. In the hospitality industry, service is crucial for ensuring guest satisfaction, but the staff failed to take our concerns seriously.

Moreover, we utilized the hotel's laundry services, but encountered a number of issues. When we inquired about the status of our laundry, the receptionist asked us to check back later. We were then informed that we needed to go to the first floor to pay for the laundry and collect it. Soon after, we received a call asking us how we wanted to pay, and eventually, two staff members delivered our laundry and collected cash. This level of guest service falls below acceptable standards. The hotel could have requested a deposit upon check-in if they were unable to provide such services. We felt that they were more focused on collecting payment rather than meeting guest service expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra B wrote a review Jun 2023
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom20 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is impressive on first arriving. The hotel looks nice, clean and modern. The room was lovely, with lovely sea view. But unfortunately it lacked in everything else. Buffet dinner on our first evening was poor. Staff in restaurant lacked interest and showed little attention to replenishing food options. We chose to eat outwith the hotel for our remaining nights. The breakfasts again were mediocre. And again restaurant staff showed little interest. No clean tables available and we resorted to clearing and cleaning our own table to enable us to sit down and eat. Rooms were not provided with any toiletries, ie shampoo, shower gel etc. having stayed in a variety of other hotels in Sri Lanka before spending the last few days of our trip at the Granbell, we had much nicer experiences in the other hotels, and at much cheaper rates too. We wouldn’t return to this hotel. On first impressions it looks lovely, but lacks in so much. Very disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Granbell Hotel Colombo, Marketing at Granbell Hotel Colombo
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Colombo. Thank you, Regards, Granbell Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kardykid wrote a tip 4 May
Perth, Australia92 contributions47 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don’t bother booking here opt for the more classy Galle Face hotel up the road. We wish we did!!"
Read full review
faznag wrote a tip Apr 2024
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please be attired in proper swimming attire."
Read full review
Anabelle T wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can rexommend this hotel"
Read full review
Kim J wrote a tip Apr 2024
31 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast and buffet"
Read full review
harsha m wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great Support given to Operator "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Colombo area.
PRICE RANGE
£54 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceColombo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
292
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRANBELL HOTEL COLOMBO - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Granbell Hotel Colombo
Which popular attractions are close to Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Nearby attractions include Salie's Fine Jewelry & Gem Stones (0.2 miles), Vistas Bar (0.2 miles), and Liberty by Scope Cinemas (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Minori Japanese Restaurant, Palmyrah Restaurant, and Robata Grill and Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Granbell Hotel Colombo have airport transportation?
Yes, Granbell Hotel Colombo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Granbell Hotel Colombo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Granbell Hotel Colombo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Granbell Hotel Colombo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, Tamil, and Sinhala.
All Colombo HotelsColombo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ColomboHotels near Granbell Hotel Colombo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire