The Steuart by Citrus
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Steuart by Citrus

45 Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo 01000 Sri Lanka
Traveller (387)
Room & Suite (81)
Lunch
Dining (69)

View prices for your travel dates

£42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#27 of 89 hotels in Colombo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Steuart by Citrus is the perfect oasis for travelers visiting Colombo, offering a charming environment and a host of convenient services and amenities designed to make your stay delightful. Inspired by the Scottish roots of George Steuarts, Sri Lanka's oldest mercantile establishment, The Steuart's interiors are a blend of old world Euro-Asian charm within the heritage building that once served as the headquarters of the conglomerate; the rooms are spacious and well appointed and reflect the grandeur of colonial Sri Lanka. Adding to The Steuarts' popularity is its bustling restaurant the &Co Pub and Kitchen , one of the most popular pubs in the City, renowned for its scrumptious menu and well-stocked bar which offers in-house guests extended happy hours from 11am to 11pm. Nestled in the heart of Colombo's financial district, The Steuart is minutes away from some of Colombo's most popular landmarks, sights, monuments and restaurants; the One Galle Face mall, Port City, and the Fort railway station will only take about five minutes on foot.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Car hire
Taxi service
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Doorperson
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Sinhala, Tamil

Location

45 Janadhipathi Mawatha, Colombo 01000 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Bandaranayake Intl Airport
16.9 mi
See all flights
Diyawanna Oya Seaplane Base
618Reviews17Q+A93Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 313
  • 177
  • 75
  • 33
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Growmore67 wrote a review Feb 2020
Roydon, United Kingdom116 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is tucked away just back from the main street, although it over looks somewhere that had live music playing' the music didn't go on too late and was a relatively quiet location, though not far to go if you wanted lively.

Greeted by friendly staff with a cool towel and refreshing welcome drink....always a good start.

We stayed in the Edinburgh suite given to us as a free upgrade.The suite comprises of a large room with sofa, table, dinning table and chairs....off which is a smaller room with work top space and refrigerator / mini bar. Also leading off the lounge area is the spacious bedroom then off which is the shower room with jacuzzi, toilet and basin.
Breakfast is served on the ground floor, and is buffet style. Tea and coffee are served and breakfast is self service so you can have as much or little as you like.The restaurant also does food in the evening served either inside or outside in the court yard terrace. Once again very nice food.

A great start in the heart of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chamal Y, Manager at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the community. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are humbled to read the positive review granted. Your review has been shared with the entire team at The Steuart by Citrus. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Muneesha K wrote a review Apr 2021
129 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was during the month of April 2021. We stayed for 5 nights at this beautiful and comfortable hotel. As soon as we entered, we were served chilled juice and were accommodated in a premium room. It was an air-conditioned room, very large room, very comfortable indeed, woolen carpet everywhere in the room and a big bathroom. We were served different dishes for Lunch and dinner. As for breakfast, we used to go to the restaurant, and as vegetarians we were served fruits, juice,toast, cheese, butter and jam along with baked beans, they asked us if we want something else, the roti and curry was excellent. Next time if we visit the hotel.. we would like to try masala dosa for breakfast. Lots of measures against Coronavirus were taken like taking temperatures and sanitizers were kept at every corner of the hotel. The manager, the receptionist and waiters were very friendly and were always present there whenever we needed them. It is not far from the city, one galle face mall and railway or bus station. They are at a walking distance.
I will highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Citrus Leisure Team Citrus Leisure Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the compliments and for your review. The team will be delighted by your feedback and for highlighting the experiences you have had with us. We are really happy to hear that, you have had a memorable stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back again. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mahes Salgado wrote a review May 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka112 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
During languid noon time our family was hungry for a Sri Lankan specialty lunch and we decided to try the exclusive Sri Lankan fusion cuisine lunch packets made by the Sri Lanka Curry Club by Citrus and perused their menu via the internet and were not disappointed by the wide selection. The culinary line - up included eight different kinds of Sri Lankan rice and we selected the Chicken and Fish from the e - brochure and placed the order via telephone and a courteous female voice took the call and noted our order and rerepeated it to ensure accuracy and even predicted the tentative time of delivery giving information of the delivery rider. By about 11.30 am we received a call from the delivery .guy that the meal was on the way and exactly by 12.30 pm the lunch was delivered home.

We are very satisfied with this meal. It came hygienically packed with a sticker for safety in a lunch sealed box with the packets further enclosed in a bag.
The meal was indeed delicious, The aromatic Fish Rice was mustard and lemon grass infused fish curry with capsicum and tomato and served with egg plant tahini savory rice and green tomato chutney,

The Chicken lunch comprised boneless chicken cubes in red curry with eggplant served with yellow peanut rice and puhul chutney, The serving size was adequate for an adult and the flavor and taste unbeatable an ligers on after partaking of the food. The bonanza of ordering the Ceylon Curry Club includes free delivery of a radius of 15 KM within Colombo and a choice of wonderful deserts too.

Furthermore, we have had the opportunity of staying at the Steuart too and find this a luxurious hotel with great service and clean rooms characterized by friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Indeed an oasis in the city with good value for money
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Citrus Leisure Team Citrus Leisure Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 2 Jun 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing Ceylon Curry Club by Citrus. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and the varieties we have. Also, we thank you for staying with us at The Steuart by Citrus. We operate as a business boutique hotel and are located in the central business district. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan S wrote a review Mar 2021
London, United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Scottish themed Hotel, Pub and restaurant is located in the very best location, close to all amenities . Above average sized clean rooms with a large modern bathroom
. Check in was fast and efficient thanks to Srimal and Dushanthi who made sure I got the room of my choice.
In fact a big shout out to all the staff throughout the hotel in all departments for looking after me so well during these testing Coronavirus times.
Restaurant's pub style food is awesome, breakfast plentiful and bar drinks are all reasonably priced, some great Happy Hour offers are available everyday. Great vibe in the restaurant/ bar area ideal to meet family and friends to watch live sport on the large screen. Fantastic live music on certain nights make this a great venue to visit whilst in Colombo.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Citrus Leisure Team Citrus Leisure Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the compliments and for your review. The team will be delighted by your feedback and for highlighting the experiences you have had with us. We are really happy to hear that, you have had a memorable stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back again. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randika G wrote a review Mar 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a fantastic stay here for a couple of nights. The service and quality of food were notably excellent. The room was thoughtfully well- equipped. It was also enormous which is particularly impressive when you consider the hotel's in the heart of the city. The price is such a great bargain for the level of quality you're getting here and it's unlikely you'll find a better place in the city for this kind of price. A special mention has to also go to the high water pressure in the shower which I always appreciate. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Citrus Leisure Team Citrus Leisure Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Citrus Hotels! We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences following your stay and delighted to know that you enjoyed. We are glad to hear that the experience with us met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. Rest assured that your kind complements will be shared with the entire team and we look forward to having you return for a more memorable stay Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick O wrote a review Feb 2020
Albury, Australia7 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our final dinner of our Intrepid tour of Sri Lanka was at the Steuart. Unfortunately it was a very disappointing experience. The ambiance and setting for our dinner was very good. Meals were expensive by Sri Lankan standards and lacked the flavour of many meals that we had enjoyed on our trip. In addition there was a 20% service surcharge, double of any other venue, which only entailed taking our orders and delivering meals. We received better service in small street restaurants which had no surcharge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chamal Y, Manager at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your experience with the community. Thank you very much for the positive endorsement granted. With regard to the service charge kindly note that we charge taxes and service charge as follows: Service charge - 10% VAT - 8% TDL - 1% Therefore we have charged according to the above. We have charged the same for you as well and any other guests who come to our restaurant. Smaller street restaurants do not charge according to the above. Restaurants that are registered with the relevant authorities, charge according to the above as it is a requirement by the law. We hope the above is clear. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha W wrote a review Jul 2020
Melbourne, Australia138 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely night with some friends. We had 2-1 pitchers of mojhito. Great value. We ordered some simple food nachos, chips and dips. Dip plate was a little small but dips were tasty. Many people were practicing social distancing and hygiene was good sanitizer on entry as well as temp checks and sanitizer to the garden. Staff were friendly and provided great service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Citrus Leisure, General Manager at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing & Co at The Steuart by Citrus following your recent visit. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and the service. We look forward to welcome you back, on a possible future visit. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goalloutPG wrote a review May 2020
Waterloo, Belgium4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a class but not snobbish hotel for a stay in Colombo, The Steuart by Citrus is the place. Coming out of a densely packed two-week trekking experience in very picturesque Sri Lanka, this hotel...good and clean room...great location and accessibility made our 2 day transit out of Colombo a great "haven" to stay at. But no matter the beauty and comfort we had access to, the whole experience turned into a "heavenly atmosphere"... thanks to the amazing level of amiability of all the Steuart people we encountered. Leading the way with professionalism, intelligence and warm caring we have to mention the name Shaini from the Reception Team ! Many thanks to her and her colleagues.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Citrus Leisure, General Manager at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with the community. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will visit us again and we await to welcome you to The Steuart by Citrus. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SOLO TRAVLER wrote a review May 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
one of the best city hotel in colombo, Great service with good location. From security to upper management ill give 10 stars for the service. when i arrived to the location i had a small problem with my booking but the receptionist was really quick and attend to that and solve it within 2 minutes. they are highly professionals.
Have to mention their breakfast, its not much but its enough for ur satisfaction. and of course their bar, they give buy one get one free offer from morning 11 to night 11 for all the inhouse guests.

Location is really good, but friday nights it little bit loud outside. if u preferring quite sleeping u have to select deluxe rooms for that.

rooms are big, king bed, but a bit dull lights, by the way u can play two side cricket match inside their rooms hahaha.

at last their service, from morning breakfast to night dinner they always give u warm welcome with a big smile, u can see that smile even when they wearing facemasks,

big thumbs to the reception team and restaurant team, they doing a great job there.

visit sri lanka feel this amazing hospitality. They will surely treat u like a KING.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: choose Deluxe room if u want to have a nice sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Citrus Leisure Team Citrus Leisure Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 5 Jun 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Citrus Hotels! We do appreciate you for taking time & sharing your experiences following your stay and delighted to know that you enjoyed. We are glad to hear that the experience with us met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. Rest assured that your kind complements will be shared with the entire team and we look forward to having you return for a more memorable stay Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela D wrote a review Feb 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom221 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The food was very good and it was brilliant music from the live group. Staff really nice. Would recommend for good fun evenings and lovely food. Sunday evening happy hour buy one get one free all evening but no live music. Still a great atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chamal Y, Manager at The Steuart by Citrus
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with the community. We are happy to note the positive endorsement that has been granted to us. We await to welcome you back soon. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sanjay S asked a question Apr 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Can I have your guest policy
Kenneth B asked a question Jan 2019
Karachi, Pakistan4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, Is this Girl Friendly hotel.?
Answer from Shehan M
7 contributions
Yes definitely
Tom P asked a question Jan 2019
Coventry, United Kingdom20 contributions16 helpful votes
Hi. How much do you charge for a trip to the airport early in the morning? Thank you
Answer from Alexander George
41 contributions6 helpful votes
Sorry, I am not sure. I took a package from a tour company that covered all transport in Sri Lanka, from Airport to Airport.
SunfromVenice asked a question Nov 2018
Trieste, Italy65 contributions45 helpful votes
I would arrive may be 9:30 am....tomorrow...can i have an early check in? Maurizio Paleologo
Answer from Chulan N
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Better to call and check
topsylancs asked a question Jan 2018
Hanoi, Vietnam67 contributions25 helpful votes
Do you have smoking rooms
Answer from Nelum H
Colombo, Sri Lanka167 contributions30 helpful votes
Most Sri Lankan hotels do and since this one is located in a pub/bar/nightlife area, it should. But it's best that you check with them directly.
Senerath wrote a tip Jan 2024
Colombo, Sri Lanka24 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A busy area parking is difficult"
Read full review
Varun Chitransh wrote a tip Feb 2023
Noida, India79 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy !"
Read full review
Venture289087 wrote a tip Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The loud music accross the road was a bit of a pain but not a big issue "
Read full review
SOLO TRAVLER wrote a tip May 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose Deluxe room if u want to have a nice sleep"
Read full review
Vesselin wrote a tip Jan 2022
Sofia, Bulgaria7 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good stuff . Good location"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Colombo area.
PRICE RANGE
£37 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceColombo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STEUART BY CITRUS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Steuart by Citrus
Which popular attractions are close to The Steuart by Citrus?
Nearby attractions include Sri Lanka Jason’s Private Drivers (0.2 miles), Dutch Hospital Shopping Precinct (0.05 miles), and Old Parliament Building (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Steuart by Citrus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Steuart by Citrus?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Steuart by Citrus?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Steuart by Citrus?
Yes, free private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Steuart by Citrus?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunsetblu, Emperor's Wok, and Yue Chuan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Steuart by Citrus?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Steuart by Citrus have airport transportation?
Yes, The Steuart by Citrus offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Steuart by Citrus located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Colombo.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Steuart by Citrus?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Steuart by Citrus?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Tamil, and Sinhala.
All Colombo HotelsColombo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ColomboHotels near The Steuart by Citrus
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire