We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sultan House

Binbirdirek Mahallesi Dizdariye Çeşmesi Sokak No:1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34126 Türkiye
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (189)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (98)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 23 boutique hotels in Istanbul
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Sultan House is a converted Ottoman House located in Sultanahmet, one of the oldest and most colourful quarters of Istanbul, It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, just at the corner of Hippodrome. The Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes by walking, This is a lovelyjust opened hotel end of 2010 for couples and families with it's 10 elegant rooms and 4 annex appartment equipped with modern amenities and a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby. All the rooms are quiet and comfortable; furnished and decorated. The Obelisk is in front of the hotel and the Blue Mosque is across the street. You are just a few step away from the history and beauty.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Azerbaijani, Turkish
742Reviews22Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 522
  • 131
  • 46
  • 20
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
mbw0508 wrote a review Dec 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom29 contributions11 helpful votes
Basic hotel , very dated , location excellent for historic sites particularly the blue mosque, breakfast ok . Walls and doors very thin therefore noise travels through hotel , also get noise from street . Part of our party given the room literally in reception therefore very noisy from the lift, arrivals and breakfast prep !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nedved wrote a review Dec 2023
Istanbul, Türkiye1 contribution
Amazing Hotel, everything about it was great especially the staff. Location is very ideal as it is near all the main places of istanbul for eg bazaars, mosques. Breakfast had really good variety and taste.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MrC wrote a review May 2023
Ashton Keynes, United Kingdom37 contributions16 helpful votes
I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are small and very basic, their was a distinct lack of hot water. The reception and dining area are very dated. On the positives, the location is very convenient for visiting the historical parts of Istanbul and the breakfast was reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
namita n wrote a review May 2023
5 contributions
Cosy Comfortable Neat n clean The place for a budget family travel Location is awesome Staff is friendly and helpful Major attractions and the metro stations are in vicinity I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nuzat M wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for families. It’s more suitable for friends or a group of lads. The rooms are tiny, we were placed in a room in the basement which was next to the kitchen. We could hear the kitchen sounds and even smell onions from our hotel room. This was not nice at all. The lift is extremely small would only fit maximum 2 average sized people. The rooms are very cramped and tiny. There is no housekeeping or anyone to clean. You have to do it all yourself. The pillows are very hard. The floor is quite dusty. There is only one bin and that was in the toilet… There is an extreme lack of space, that you feel claustrophobic. The breakfast is very limited and doesn’t change at all. It’s the same breakfast given everyday. 99% of the breakfast is just salad… like cucumbers and cheese. Not much in it. Only pro’s about this hotel is good wifi and close to everything in terms of sight seeing. But I wouldn’t visit again, especially with family.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Appel Kai wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Litte Hotel in the Old Town of Istanbul. We had a nice stay in this Hotel. After cheking in after Midnight,our Room wasent free so they gave us an Room in the Hotel next to Sultan house. That Room was tiny but ok for sleeping. At the next Morning we checked in and enjoyed Breakfast. A small but typical of the country Breakfast. The Hotel seems Familiy run. The Staff was helpfull and attentiv. We had the Room 103 wich is located in the middle of the "Lobby".If you leave the room and reacht right you can grab the dishess. Not ideal for People who want to sleep long because of the working noise during Breakfast Preparation.No Alarm Clock needed ;) But we had no Problem with that. Rooms are clean and Towels were replaced every Day. Minibar is cheap,10 Tl for one Coke. The Location is perfect, 5 Min. to Hagia Sofia. Thank for everything.Keep up the good work. And special thanks to Ayse for the Strawberry sweets :-)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Catalina S wrote a review Mar 2022
San Pedro de los Milagros, Colombia9 contributions1 helpful vote
It is a Clean Place, with a good breakfast! Close to everything. A nice place when you want to know all the historic places or to go shopping in the Grand Bazar. The staff was very friendly and kind and they help you with the booking for the transport. Is a good place and not expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No parking availability. And the interesting places are close to the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Samy E wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
The main building is really clean the staff nice as well and helpful especially the young manager The hotel is really well located close to everything However for breakfast they could make some effort maybe offering the traditional Turkish bretzels
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
noman25125 wrote a review Apr 2021
East Setauket, New York7 contributions3 helpful votes
I have booked this hotel with the expedia and wasn't told when we got there that the room would be in a separate building on the second floor without an elevator and since my wife was handicapped there was nothing the management could do about changing rooms. Cuz I had two kids and my in-laws and I was really difficult for us to move everything including luggage from the second floor down to the first floor. Management wouldn't compensate us anyway and we tried to look for us another hotel but everything else was booked. Never going to book at this hotel again and would recommend it for anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Zeynel BOZKURT, İşletme Sahibi at Sultan House
Responded 11 May 2021
Hello. As far as we understand, the reason for all your anger is that there is no elevator in the annex building. Did it say there is an elevator when I booked? Of course it wasn't writing. Because, as nature, we write the ones that are not in the hotel properties, but the ones. You could ask this with a short message before or after making a reservation. Or you could note in your reservation that you have an injured person with you. But you haven't done any of this and you have blamed us for all your vigilance and carelessness. This is not fair. If you use the word terrible and give 1 point, it is a major indicator of rudeness. However, we helped carry your luggage, which is quite large and heavy. While you were supposed to leave at 12:00 (noon) on the day of departure, you locked the room and left and returned at 15:30. For this, we could charge you an additional fee. But we didn't charge any additional fees and we were not rude to you. In return for all these, we refer people to the conscience of your interpretation and the score you give. Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo S wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions8 helpful votes
Very bad quality rooms, the hotel lobby becomes a social club for 21 year old boys who play loud music until the early morning and are very loud. Rooms smell like smoke, next to very busy school and loads of Syrian beggars every where make you feel very unsafe at night. The hotel staff cleaners comes in without knocking on the door to check minibar EVERY DAY. OVERPRICED AND BAD QUALITY OVERALL.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Istanbul area.
PRICE RANGE
£38 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TürkiyeIstanbulSultanahmet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SULTAN HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Istanbul, Turkiye)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sultan House
Which popular attractions are close to Sultan House?
Nearby attractions include Sultanahmet District (0.1 miles), Ruby Ceramics & Gift Shop (0.2 miles), and Zeki Ciftci - Istanbul Tour Guide (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sultan House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Sultan House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sultan House?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sultan House?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sultan House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Massa Bistro, Las Tapas Restaurant, and Three Partners Cafe & Restaurant.
Does Sultan House have airport transportation?
Yes, Sultan House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sultan House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Istanbul.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sultan House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Turkish, and Azerbaijani.
Are there any historical sites close to Sultan House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hagia Sophia Mosque (0.4 miles), Basilica Cistern (0.3 miles), and Historic Areas of Istanbul (0.4 miles).
Is Sultan House accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.