We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Masaya Hostel Bogota

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Start your review of Masaya Hostel Bogota
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and helped us with our questions, clean housing (although a bit musty in our room), good breakfast, safe and nice neighbourhood with many Restaurants and Cafés nearby and a small supermarket around the corner, beautiful community areas in the Hostel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benedikt S
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello Benedikt Thanks a lot for your comment, we are so glad to know you had such a good time at Masaya Bogotá. We really hope you can visit us again in the close future.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 8 December 2016

A very elegant cross between a hotel and a hostel. Reception is first class with bilingual persons available constantly; more concierge then clerk. As I understand it "masaya" means "the next level" so I take it the Masaya Hostel is trying to set new standards for the hostelling business. They seem to be doing it with their breakfast which although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
About Property's Favourite Review
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello Warren We are glad to read you had have such a good time at Masaya Bogota, we hope you can visit us again in the near future and of course we will try to improve everyday to give you one more time the best experience.

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel is great in almost every way. Included breakfast is good. It has a bar and activities like cooking classes and dance classes. They can arrange tours. BUT avoid rooms 17 and 18. They are right beside the lobby and common area. You will be awake until the bar closes at 11. And then wait for people to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello Fred Thanks for your comment, we are glad you liked our services. On the other hand we will keep in mind your comment to improve our offer.

Fremantle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would happily recommend people to stay at this hostel. It's lovely and clean, dorm rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. They offer various nightly activities to join in on too. Only one issue is with the gent working behind the front desk, he came across as rude from the initial meeting and throughout the stay wanted to charge me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegSchki
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello MegSchki Thanks a lot for your comment, we are sorry you had problems with the front desk staff, i recieve this inofrmation and it was a missunderstaning because of the recepcionist understood you were reporting you damage the locker, apologize about that. We hope you can visit us again at the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hostel. Super friendly, helpful and welcoming staff and perfect location. The hostel is pretty big but feels cozy and relaxed. The vibe and people in the hostel are great. Only my mattresses could use some improvement.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merel4321
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello Merel Thanks a lot for your comment, we will keep in mind your comment to improve our facilities.

Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

ideal location in candelaria, 10 minutes to important musea, very professional and nice staff, good breakfast, super rooms (we had a double with bath), nice clients. itsslso good for getting organised, and they help you! the only minus: it can get a bit loud when guests are nit disciplined.. all in all a very good place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LORIT123
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hi Lorit Thanks a lot for your comment, is always important for us to know about the experience our guests have had at Masaya.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Masaya is in a perfect location, in the beautiful suburb of La Candelaria. Great communal areas, and very nice rooms with lockers inside. Good atmosphere, and various activities organised by the hostel to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZLads
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello NZLads Thank you for your comment, we hope you visit us again in the future and can have again a great experience with Masaya

Reviewed 18 January 2017

We stayed in a 3 room private with my friends during our trip in Bogotà. This Hostel was in a good location, walking distance to Bolivar square. The building is very charming, the rooms have a nice ambience, the staff is very helpful and speak english! Overall it was clean and tidy. The breakfast was delicious and sumptous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belle R
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello Belle We are so glad to know you had a good time at Masaya, we really hope you visit us again to give you more good experiences in our hotel.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 25 December 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at Masaya Hostel for one night in a private en-suite room (no window). The room and the bathroom are simple and clean, and the staff and other travellers there were super friendly. We had breakfast there, which was yummy and very reasonably priced. It's centrally located; a 2-minute walk to the beginning of a GREAT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1stClassTravelling
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello We are sorry you had noise issues, we normally try to control it at night to let all our guest rest well, on the other hand we are glad you enjoy the rest of the experience with us, is always good to know that our guests feel confortable at out hotel. We hope to have you back at Masaya...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had a double private room for 2 nights in July and paid $70. Our room was right outside the women's bathroom and next to the stairs to men's. I am a light sleeper so I was able to hear whenever someone flushed or walked by. Bogota is a college town and hostel front desk were mostly college students (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
Nicolas P, Gerente at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review

Hello Priscilla We appreciate the time you have taken to let us this comment, we are sorry you were not confortable in your romm at all, we will take in mind your comment to improve our hotel. Thanks a lot, we hope to see you again at Masaya to give you the best experience.

274 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Antioquia Double Basic (15)
Viewed
Arauca Double Standard (14)
Viewed
Boyacá Bedroom X 4 (19)
Viewed
Cundinamarca Double Deluxe (24)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#15 of 268 in Bogota
710 reviews
Ibis Bogota Museo
#45 of 268 in Bogota
1,286 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#41 of 268 in Bogota
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#31 of 268 in Bogota
626 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#8 of 229 in Bogota
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a new generation Hostel, Masaya Hostel Bogota wisely mixes the spirit of a hostel with hotel comfort. In a national heritage listed Colonial house of 750 m2 and in the heart of la Candelaria, Masaya Hostel Bogota has superior comfort, a wide offering of services and a variety of planned events to soak you with Colombian culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Masaya Hostel Bogota

Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Price Range: £11 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Hostel Bogota 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Masaya Hostel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Masaya Hostel Bogota staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Masaya Hostel Bogota staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ensuite recommended, common shower is gym changing room style...”
 of 5 bubbles 74beller, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the reception/main house area. these are much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryanHussein, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dorm room on the very top floor is best”
 of 5 bubbles edwardo48, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The location is perfect”
 of 5 bubbles 944danielo, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles V815YAtoms, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5