WS Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

WS Hotel

15-6, Sinchon-ro 18-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04058 South Korea
Traveller (54)
Double Rooms
Room & Suite (42)
Bathroom (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#275 of 517 hotels in Seoul
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
WS Hotel is located in Shinchon where the most famous area of shopping, art and youth and you can enjoy transportation, tourism and leisure with an appropriate price. We will promise to offer comfortable service to customers. WS Hotel will serve for the essential service to the guest and give comfortable areas, brightest smiling, kind service and high speed WI-FI service to make more satisfied and we will upgrade the quality of business and tourists. WS Hotel will work hard for guests one by one as a comfortable house and tried to make good memories to them.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean

Location

15-6, Sinchon-ro 18-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04058 South Korea
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Gimpo Intl Airport
Incheon Intl Airport
27.6 mi
See all flights
Sinchon
2 minSeoul Metropolitan Subway
131Reviews2Q+A18Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 48
  • 26
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Simon E wrote a review Feb 2015
Boston, Massachusetts
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It has been about a year since I stayed, but I thought I would contribute as I'm using the site to plan my next adventure.

THE GOOD:

Great location. You are about 2 minute walk from Sinchon Station (on the green/6 line). I very easily got from Gimpo to the hotel, with one line change I believe, and should be the same from Incheon. Additionally this line will take you directly to Seoul center within a few stops. I read that that people were having issues finding the hotel, so I used google maps & streetview before arriving to have a general understanding, and I found it quite easy to find with that prep. I decided to do some screenshots with this review to aid. In the streetview there is a large complex in the alley, but now it is open with parking spaces; you'll figure it out.

Things to do in the general area - There is not too much touristic sights in the area. There were some artistic venues due to the surrounding universities. However, as this is within the Hongdae area with many large universities, there is a great deal of shopping and nightlife entertainment. Either a short walk or one stop from the hotel will bring you to street performers and artist. Just be prepared for a large crowd of the younger variety. I originally choose the hotel due being in Hongdae, but only ended up having the time and energy to visit once.

Hotel/Room - When you able to find it (use google maps; not hard). It is good when you accept it for what it is; a budget hotel. It is not too large, with about 6-7 rooms on ground and first floor (did not see the basement level). Although travelling solo, I booked the largest bed and room as the price difference was very small. I had a room right at the top of the stairs on the first floor, above the entrance. It was large enough to put my suitcase down at the end of bed, in front of the mini-fridge and TV. If you have two people, you will need to stack your bags. As there was no closets or drawers, I stacked some clothes along the wall next to the bed and had enough space to still move around the room, but just enough, but I did not feel cramped. I never had noise issues and only one or two time even noticed people going by on the stairs.

Staff - There were 3 main guys I saw over the week, all really helpful. I did not ask too many questions or advice on the area or Seoul in general, but I likely should have. My Korean was quite limited and on an occasion when an English version of a website had much less information than Korean version, they gave me a translation. When I arrived and left the guy at the desk each time tried to insist they carry my bag despite me being quite a bit bigger than them, and fully capable of doing it. Also when I was there they offered laundry service for free and delivered my clothes to my room while I was out. Only negative staff wise was they knocked on my door during the day when I was home one day, but then entered about 2 second later, but really a minor point as I didn't say anything or have note on the door.

THE BAD:
The bathroom - It is a wetroom style room, with the sink and shower head (hose attached to sink) at one end, with the toilet by the door. This provided enough room to prevent the entire room from being entirely soaked, but it general was all wet with each shower, so take note. I remember the bathroom was not insulated that well and I think I had a corner unit, so it was a bit cold at times. The height around the shower was really low, like 5 feet, so in addition to trying to hold the head I had to basically kneel. Not too sure on hygiene, but perhaps a stool would be a good addition. Also, I figured the smell deal people talk about would be overblown and I can hardly smell anyways. The smell was not exaggerated as a few days it was really powerful, others it was fine. I understand this is likely a systemic issue, but air freshers should be in the bathroom or more regular pipe cleaning.

The bed - This was more of a enhanced negative as I injured my shoulder badly playing rugby two weeks before arriving. The bed was really firm, even by Asian hotel standards. If I rolled anywhere on my right side the complete lack of give in the mattress my shoulder would really hurt my shoulder. I'm sure anyone who prefers a softer mattress would really need to adjust to sleep.

Summary:
You really need to accept what you are receiving for the price you pay with a budget hotel. If you are a traveler who wants a larger room to lay your things out and a big bathroom with a dedicated shower to feel at home, then WS is not likely what you are looking for, but you will need to pay 3x to even get something basic with a worse location. WS is a budget hotel with the attitude of a hostel. The staff is very friendly. They put the pictures of their guests on the wall when you leave. All that is missing is common areas, otherwise it has that hostel vibe. So if you are a budget traveler, or just someone who would prefer to use that extra money you would spend on a hotel enjoying the city you are visiting, and willing to accept some minor issues, WS is likely an option to consider. WS was a very cheap private room in a safe, central, fairly comfortable location that I used as a base to explore Seoul. I left in the morning and returned at night mostly, with minimal time in the room. WS was great for this purpose.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Purchase the most expensive room. For me it was only about $8 a night more and wore it for a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nelson S wrote a review Jul 2014
Drumheller, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When I booked the hotel, I did so because it was cheap, had good reviews, and was located close to the subway.

I made the foolish decision of not bothering to print out a map or save anything on my phone, figuring if I got lost I could just ask for directions or find wifi and look it up on my phone. That was before I got to Seoul. That city is a bit of an adjustment for this small-town Canadian.

So I ended up spending an hour lost, trying to find the place. Eventually I gave in and asked for help, and eventually found it after asking two different people.

(Directions are as follows: Exit Sinchon [green line] subway stop #8. Walk two blocks and turn left at the convenience store, it should almost look like a parking lot. Take the second left up the alley, and it's right there on your right.)

I think the hotel should do a better job giving people directions, especially clueless Canadians like me. It wouldn't be hard to add to the profile given to the big booking sites it's on.

But other than that, a very delightful stay. Other reviewers have complained about the smell, but I couldn't detect anything. I splurged for a deluxe room, which set me back all of 45,000 Won per night. It was basic, but it had everything I needed, including ample towels, a nice TV (with a few english channels) and the bed felt great after walking around the city all day. A/C is provided, which cooled down the room nicely.

Everyone I dealt with was quite nice, and wifi was good. It's a small hotel, but it's obvious they take pride in what they do, and it shows. I'd certainly stay again, especially now that I know my way around.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: It's a cheap enough hotel I'd splurge for the deluxe room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WSHOTEL, 매니저 at WS Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2014
Thanks for the nice and practical review. We're sorry for the difficulty you had. Even though we really want to inform how to get here, we cannot, because some booking sites just use their own map and we can't get the guest's e-mail. So, only if guests ask us by e-mail, we can send the specific map to make it easy. That's what we can do. We will do our best for guests. Thanks again and have a good day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen S wrote a review Dec 2012
Singapore, Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at WS Sinchon for 5 nights this December and were very pleasantly surprised by the good service we received. The staff emailed us maps and directions to the hotel from the subway/Incheon airport way before we were due to arrive which made it really easy for us to find the hotel, given that we arrived late at night. The hotel itself is very near to Sinchon station's exit 8 yet far enough from the main road to ensure a quiet night's sleep.

Sinchon itself is a really nice area to walk around in, located in the middle of the Hongdae and E-dae areas, and it's very convenient as a starting point for travelling around the main tourist spots of Seoul by subway. If you're arriving from Incheon airport you can take the airport limousine bus to the stop outside Hyundai Department Store [roughly an hour's ride and only 10 000 won per person], which is just across the road from the hotel.

The staff all spoke good English and were really helpful and friendly, lending us an adapter for the duration of our stay because we hadn't anticipated the kind of electrical plugs Korea has. We had two suitcases and the staff helped us carry them to our room [note for those coming with a lot of luggage or really big suitcases - the hotel has no lifts so you might have to lug them up the stairs and they will take up quite a lot of space in the room]. The rooms were quite small but not cramped, and more than sufficient given that we were out and about the whole day and only came back to sleep. The staff cleaned the rooms and gave us fresh towels every day and the rooms had a hairdryer, free bottles of water, shampoo and soap, coffee and tea and a wall-mounted LED TV with cable. The bed was very comfortable with a warm blanket, but the only reason I gave the hotel 4 stars out of 5 was that the rooms were a bit cold with no real heater. We made the best of it by turning up the air conditioner to 30deg C but it was still cold, especially if you sleep close to the outer wall. It wasn't unbearable though! We checked out for 2 nights in between to stay at a traditional hanok and we got a basement room when we came back - even though the staff were a bit embarrassed to give us that room [not sure why] it was much warmer than the first room we had on the second floor that we got the first few nights we stayed, so that's a tip for people who might be going in winter.

I would definitely stay at WS Sinchon again :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel
Responded 31 Dec 2012
Thank you for your very much long and detail review. We always try to help our guests to feel comfortable and have wonderful moments in Seoul. but we are very sad to hear you was feeling cold in room. If you told us about that problem, we could give extra heater to you. We know that We don't have an excellent service yet. but We will always try to give better sevice to our guests. I hope I can see you again in Seoul and then that time, Give a chance to show you developed service of our hotel. Please visit us again and thank you so much. Have a great day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allison C wrote a review Nov 2017
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This has to be the worst hotel i've ever stayed in. Definitely not recommending this place to anyone. It's worth to pay a little more to get a better accomodation somewhere else. Look at the photos and judge for yourself!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pinkishelephant wrote a review Dec 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room is soooo dirty ! Hair everywhere dust everywhere i cant touch anything!!

Plus stuff is unkind.

I Never stay again this hotel...
めっちゃ最悪なホテルです。
ベッドは髪の毛にほこりだらけ。
床も髪の毛だらけ(と言うか部屋代にあるもの全てほこりだらけ。)
おまけにコンセントは1つしかつかえない、オンドルもきかない。
2日宿泊予定ですが明日出ます
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monica C wrote a review Jul 2016
Busan, South Korea
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have traveled to many countries and stayed in all types of places on a tight budget. But this is by far one of the worst places we've ever booked. It was last minute booking so I had no time to read reviews, BIG MISTAKE. We checked in and out in less than an hour. The smell of mold was so strong that our chests hurt in that short of time. We've stayed in cheaper, sketchier places and have never been forced to check out until this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matilda T wrote a review Dec 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
WS Hotel is not true to the pictures provided. The room was unexpectedly small, with malfunctioning TV and fridge. The toilet and fridge has a horrible smell that sets people off. The mutliple power trip (4 in the course of one night) has caused severe inconvenience for me and my friend as she has to wake up to switch the heater back on.

The hygience of the hotel is seriously questionable and serving a clean room would be the utmost importance of a decent hotel.

The only consolation of this hotel would be that the power came back a while (a couple of minutes) after it went off and one of the many service members, Helen, was very helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Considering that it has a "tripadvisor excellence" rating on its door, at the very least, we expected minimal cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nycgirl499 wrote a review Nov 2014
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at WS Hotel for 5 days in October 2014. The location is excellent, very close to the subway and near Honggik University. However, the hotel itself is terrible. Sure it's a cheap hotel and I shouldn't expect much. And for the price and location, I would not have complained about its tiny smelly bathroom and the fact my room is in the basement with no window and you have to watch your head when you walk down stairs because that space is only designed for a child and there's never a manager onsite, etc.

Now for the reason I would never stay at WS again. One night my bathroom door locked itself (mind you their bathroom door has no locks), or I should say the door is jammed. Either way the bathroom door would not open. I called the receptionist, she investigated, said she will call for help. Came back down 20+ minutes later, said that sorry, please wait till tomorrow afternoon when a person will come in to fix the door. I said that's unacceptable, and she said would call again. Another 20-30 minutes pass, I went to front desk and she said she tried to call. The person can come in tomorrow morning before I leave and "what time do you leave". There was no manager or other staff on site. She seemed exasperated, but I was more frustrated as I can't access the toilet or shower or my toiletry. She just was not able to helped it seems. Until I called the travel agent and tried to cancel the remainder of my reservation with WS Hotel, then 20 minutes later she called my room and told me the person is coming. And my bathroom was finally open another hour later. So the entire event took about 2 hours and all I wanted was for the bathroom door to open like a normal door.

This was more than an unpleasant experience. It was unnecessary anxiety for the traveler. Even for an affordable hotel, things should work. And when something goes wrong, I don't think telling the guest "sorry, wait till tomorrow" is an acceptable response. After this incident, the hotel never apologized, never acknowledged it, nothing. No attempt at goodwill. I guess they knew they lost my future business.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Minna wrote a review Sept 2015
Tampere, Finland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked one night in a standard double room. It was really cheap due to reserving it after the check-in time. The hotel is really close to the Sinchon station. The hallways of the hotel are quite narrow and the ceiling is low. The man at the reception was friendly and helpful.
The room itself was in the basement floor, which may be the reason it had a moldy smell. You couldn't see out of the window (surprise). Corners of the room, AC and the fridge were quite dirty. The bed was clean and good. The room was small but it was okay for us - if you have a lot of luggage, then it may be problematic. The bathroom was separated from the other area by glass walls and glass door with metallic frames. The door was noisy to close, and it was quite awkward since you could kind of see through the glass. Also I'd like to point out that while the room door info sheet said that the door "locks automatically", it doesn't! You have to move a switch.
TV was good, but the wi-fi wasn't working and it was to be repaired after we checked out. Sleeping was difficult because the noise of toilet flushing from other rooms was quite loud. I could hear someone snoring, so the walls are thin. We couldn't keep the AC on since the air was blowing right onto us. Some small flies and a couple of mosquitos inhabited the room with us.
A bad experience for me, but maybe it's a lot better on the 1st or 2nd floor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne C wrote a review Aug 2013
Seoul, South Korea
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was perfect for me. I needed to stay the night before I could move in to my dorm at Yonsei, so the location was great. I suppose the room would have been a bit small for multiple people with lots of luggage, but for me it was very comfortable. The room was clean and I slept really well. The best part is that the staff is SO nice and friendly, and they speak english which honestly made everything so much easier. The guy at the front desk even helped me carry my luggage and get a taxi to my dorm! I really recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm very happy you satisfied our hotel. We alway try to do best our guest. If you visit WS Hotel again. we will give you best service like before. Thanks again and have a nice day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
StefanMayak wrote a tip Dec 2016
Ingolstadt, Germany274 contributions82 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid this place"
Read full review
Simon E wrote a tip Feb 2015
Boston, Massachusetts440 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Purchase the most expensive room. For me it was only about $8 a night more and wore it for a slightly larger bed and room. When coming from the station with luggage, use exit 7 as it has an escalator, rather then carrying you bags up the stairs at exit 8."
Read full review
Nelson S wrote a tip Jul 2014
Drumheller, Canada34 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's a cheap enough hotel I'd splurge for the deluxe room."
Read full review
Ifa_J wrote a tip May 2014
Ampang, Malaysia6 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose deluxe double instead standard double"
Read full review
SMR8 wrote a tip Apr 2014
Yorba Linda, California34 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I paid a few dollars more for the double deluxe. The bed is a little bigger and the room is significantly bigger. If they are available for rent, go for that one!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seoul area.
PRICE RANGE
£53 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South KoreaSeoulSinchon / Ewha / Nogosan-dong / Mapo-gu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about WS Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to WS Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sinchon (0.2 miles), Seesaw Optical Shop Sinchon (0.3 miles), and Seoul International Women's Film Festival (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at WS Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at WS Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to WS Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jyoti Indian Restaurant, Yeonnamseo Sikdang, and Yu Chicken Story.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at WS Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to WS Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gyeongbokgung Palace (2.9 miles), Changdeokgung Palace (3.5 miles), and Seoul City Wall (4.3 miles).
All Seoul HotelsSeoul Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SeoulHotels near WS Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire