New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo

1 Talaat Harb Square Downtown, Cairo 11121 Egypt
Traveller (220)
Supposed "renovation"
Room & Suite (135)
BREAKFAST
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#46 of 201 hotels in Cairo
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Grand Royal is located in Cairo City Centre. Rooms are decorated with white colours and wooden furniture. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. The rooms are air-conditioned with wooden flooring. Facilities include TV and bathroom with a bathtub. Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the city. Fresh flowers are sent to the rooms every day. Guests can enjoy the wide variety of restaurants located outside the hotel. Choice of food ranges from Egyptian to western dishes. The restaurant at Grand Royal is also open to guests, and room service is available as well. Guests can take a walk by the Nile River or visit the Egyptian Museum, all within 15 minutes' walking distance. The hotel is within 20 minutes' drive to Pyramids of Giza. Cairo International Airport is located within 35 minutes' driving distance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Currency exchange
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more

Location

1 Talaat Harb Square Downtown, Cairo 11121 Egypt
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cairo Intl Airport
11.9 mi
See all flights
Sadat
5 minCairo Metro
Mohamed Naguib
8 minCairo Metro
384Reviews4Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 200
  • 69
  • 33
  • 17
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
EgyptianGoddess wrote a review Mar 2020
Alexandria, Egypt1,015 contribution132 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this room due to it having two interconnecting rooms. We booked over the phone which was quick and easy. We were worried that the photos wouldn't match the rooms, but due to its location right on Talaat Harb Square we took a chance.
The rooms turned out to look exactly like the photos. The rooms were clean and bright. The beds were comfy. The pillows could have been better but were ok. The bathroom only lacked some kind of curtain as water went all over the floor from the shower. Any problems we had were dealt with immediately and efficiently by Madeline on the front desk.
Basically if what you're looking for is a clean, reasonably priced hotel in central Cairo then this is the place for you. You just have to accept that this hotel is located on the 6th floor of a lovely old building. The elevators aren't the newest, but they work. The breakfast is limited but we had gone prepared with cornflakes for the kids just in case they didn't like anything on offer. Breakfast was buffet style with hard boiled eggs, fuul, white cheese and cucumbers and tomatoes. Omelettes were available to order and tea and coffee was help yourself.

Tea and coffee were also available to order in rooms for a very reasonable charge.

We will definitely be staying again on future weekend trips to Cairo.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Egert Tischler wrote a review Jan 2020
Tallinn, Estonia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel room has clean sheets, clean bathroom with shampoo, TV and closet. My room had nice aroma after cleaning. WIFI works well, if there is any problem, just ask help.
Breakfast includes material for sandwiches (tomato, cucumber, cheese, cream cheese etc.) also some sweets like strawberry jam, halva etc. They also served boiled eggs and falafel. There was also water, tea and coffee.
Location of this hotel is superb, you can walk to the Egyptian museum in 5 minutes and Nile river is also near.
Hotel reception is very helpful and lovely and they are 24 H at the desk.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Thank you!
Egert Tischler from Estonia, Tallinn
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Priscilla G wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would highly recommend this place, amongst a few I have viewed.
I have spent about two weeks at the hotel, and all I can say is that they are lovely and really helpful people. It felt like a family, because they made sure that I stayed safe and go where I meant to go.
I took most of my private tours through them and it completely changed my experience way much better than I expected.
I am so pleased how kind the staff was to me, so a big thanks to all of them. I just regret not being able to say anything more than “shukran”, because they deserve more than that.
Rooms were meticulously clean every day, which I haven’t seen that in the three other hotels I stayed in the area.
As I stayed until the very beginning of the pandemic, I could even experience the measures they were already taking place during breakfast in order that each person could have a clean and safe food.
Location was the best to have access to any touristic place and also to the several shops around.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hans-Christian wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is the worst s**thole in all of Cairo, and that says a lot. Everything in the room is dirty, bed sheet were older than the pyramids, there were one towel in the bathroom the size of piece of toiletpaper. And speaking of toiletpapir, no refill of that or just something that slightly looks like cleaning from day to day. I had to ask in the reception for a new role of toiletpaper, I think i were told to wait 5 minutes in my room I waitet 15 and went back to the reception after 5 more minutes they managed to find a single role (No clean towel as I also asked for) and everywhere smells like cigarets, there were three men hanging out in the reception just siting there all day and smokes, none of whom had the capacity to get up and find a role of toiletpaper or towel, they just blast arabic music from their phones and chainsmoke.The staff do NOT speak English, most of them are rude and unhelpfull.
The bit about WiFi, well lets just say I had a dial-up modem back in the 90's that had a faster connection, and the range of the WiFi is only in the lobby, Its Noproberply slow like that because of the three random dudes watching stuff on the phone for their own intertainment.

if possible -1/10
I left after three nighs, it was unbearable. Wount recomend this place to my worst enemy. Dont go there!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Weeda Subhani, General Manager at New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo
Responded 2 Jan 2021
Dear valued Guest . Thanks for your review But we think that you had submitted that review to our page by mistake and you meant different hotel ! As the photos you have uploaded Not related to our hotel , As well we have checked your name in our guest list during March 2020 and you did not stay at Our hotel Grand Royal Cairo We hope that you can remove that review from our page as that is not fair Thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Izzet A wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The entrance of the building is dilapidated. Filth and debris on the ground floor, lights flicker if they aren’t blocked by grime, the elevator is like one that goes down a mine shaft, and the buttons don’t have actual buttons but holes with tape on the side with arabic numerals. If you look up there’s threads of dust draping from the elevator car. The lobby smells like smoke since people just rip cigs right in front of the elevator. The rooms are nothing like the pictures. Once you’re within a meter of the sheets and pillows, you can see old stains, bits of dust, and holes. Don’t look close to any one area of the room since you begin to see how dirty it is. The “private” bathroom is across the hall and accessible by key, they don’t even have soap, just a toilet and a grimy bathtub. No safe, the AC is weak, and all the drawers and floor are dusty. The “TV” was maaaybe 14 inches and cracked. The carpets in the hallways are visibly yellow with dust and who knows what. The curtains are poorly fitted In the room and barely block out the light and the balcony door doesn’t close properly. Looking out the windows you get wafts of the smell of trash from the alley below, and the balconies have dystopian scenes of rubble in the view. The WiFi is weak, often disconnects, or randomly stops loading, just have to pray that even short YouTube clips load. Although it is cheap, we paid 30$ a night for a room with two beds and you can easily get something MUCH nicer for just a bit more. We ended up leaving after a single day, didn’t even stay the night. Burned 90$ but went to an actual Novotel for only slightly more. As we checked out early, the concierge person didn’t even look surprised: “change of plans?”
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samantha Y wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom76 contributions44 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 2 nights and had paid extra for a room with a balcony and private bathroom specifically.
On checking in my room did not have a balcony, and on asking for a change they said they didn't have any left and they could change me the next day. Not great for a 2 night stay.
When I did get changed the next evening, the private bathroom was actually across the hall, accessible by key and super inconvenient.
The rooms themselves are huge, but have no personality or character, just all white walls, white bedding, bright overhead lights.
Staff were friendly enough until they realised I didn't want to book any tours or private drivers with them, then they lost interest.
It's a budget hotel, so I didn't expect the Ritz, but there are better out there.

The location is the best thing about this hotel, right in the centre of downtown and very convenient for most things to do.
Sadly I would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nazurah B wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Saya sungguh bahagia untuk menginap di hotel ini. Pekerja semua sungguh baik dan amat prihatin kepada semua pelanggan nya.

I would recommend you to stay here and it’s a good spot for tourists to go around without having to use taxis or Uber.

Lots of love from,
Brunei
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paola G wrote a review Mar 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The positive thing about the hotel is its location, everything else ... HORRIBLE.
The "breakfast" is unfortunate, there wasn't bread only fruit and vegetables!! and the worst of all is the cleanliness, they gave us wet towels despite telling the receptionist, they told us they didn't have dry towels at that time.
I do not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elika Ansari wrote a review Feb 2023
London, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Grand Royal hotel is very centrally located and close to most touristic locations, among them the Egyptian museum. Staff was super friendly and the day tour they offered to Giza, Saqqara and Memphis was amazing and a great value for money! The only thing I would say is the building itself could should be refurbished and the rooms are a bit dark and basic. Don’t get me wrong, you have everything you need in the room and considering you spend most of the day outdoors, it is more than enough. But I did find the rooms a bit dark and in need of a paint job. Overall, highly recommended for short stays and good value for money, especially as it includes a hot breakfast of eggs every morning!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sylvia w wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean. The location was great and walkable to nearby attractions. Breakfast consisted of an omelet, bread, jam, cheese, honey, and fruit. In addition to tea, coffee, juice.
The hotel is on the 6 th floor of the building.
Overall it was a great value and I'd Highly recommend visiting this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Taroub
Dont go to this hotel i stay in this hotel very very bad experience Espacilly when the fool you for trips and they take big commission on you
Answer from Weeda S
Cairo, Egypt6 contributions
Dear Mr.Azim Thank you very much for your message . we will be looking forward to welcome you at Grand Royal Hotel Cairo yes of course there is negative reviews but still there are many positive reviews from real customer had a great experience at our hotel . so if you are looking for a Cozy hotel with central location to Cairo Downtown with clean rooms , so we guarantee to you " you will love our hotel " thanks see you in Cairo soon best regards Madeline Grand Royal Hotel Management
Jemma P asked a question Dec 2016
1 contribution6 helpful votes
Hello, do you accept non married muslom couples? Thank you
Answer from Weeda S
Cairo, Egypt6 contributions
Hello thank you very much for your question . The only nationality need to have official marriage certification is Egyptians citizens . for all other nationalities and Passports no need for the marriage certification . Thanks Looking forward to welcome you at Hotel Grand Royal . regards Hotel Grand Royal
Answer from analima2018
Mengibar, Spain1 contribution
Está abierto las 24 horas del día.Hablando inglés pero os entenderéis.Hay bañera sin cristal y la puerta a la entrada del baño es de vidrio. Mi habitación estaba limpia.
mohamed nabil wrote a tip Feb 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"trips offer "
Read full review
Asterix101 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Comacchio, Italy51 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t choose this place"
Read full review
Tushar Deshpande wrote a tip Jan 2023
Nagpur District, India6 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Carry own Tea/ Coffee maker and sachets. Water available across the road at 1/10,th the hotel price"
Read full review
Peter H wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom931 contributions144 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good location"
Read full review
Jun K wrote a tip Oct 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are beautiful located, rooms overlooking the square to enjoy interacting streets movement or a quite room overlooking a side lane ."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairo area.
PRICE RANGE
£20 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EgyptCairo GovernorateCairo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NEW GRAND ROYAL HOTEL CAIRO - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo
What are some of the property amenities at New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
Does New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo have airport transportation?
Yes, New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Arabic.
All Cairo HotelsCairo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CairoHotels near New Grand Royal Hotel Cairo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire