Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor

Se iene una vista espectacular del Nilo
Traveller (2369)
部屋
Room & Suite (871)
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 70 hotels in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Arabic
Property amenities
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Electric kettle
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available

Location

Corniche El Nile Street, Luxor 81765 Egypt
Name/address in local language
2,970Reviews44Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,961
  • 667
  • 216
  • 77
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Susan C wrote a review Apr 2024
Melbourne, Australia1,491 contribution683 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time I have stayed at the Sonesta St George in Luxor and this time I stayed four nights. Both times I stayed in a Front Nile Room because the view from the balcony over the pool and the Nile to the West Bank is beautiful. Sunsets are spectacular, watching the feluccas sail past in the afternoon is entertaining and in the morning you can see the balloons when they fly.

Staff at check-in were friendly and we had a guest relations manager explain the layout and direct us to our rooms. Freshly re-carpeted (I think) the hotel has a clean look with other areas finished in polished stone, gleaming metal and decoration based on ancient Egypt. The lobby has enormous light features and ample seating for waiting. On the entry level there is a café with live singers in the evening, on the level above a bar and the breakfast buffet is on the lower floor. The buffet breakfast, starting officially at 6 am but seeming to be available even earlier, is extensive. It has an omelette stand (which we could also get poached eggs from), as well as eggs, hot meat dishes and Egyptian specialities from the bain-maries, dips and fresh vegetables cut for dipping, cold meats and nice fresh cheese, sliced fruit, fresh cucumber, tomatoes and olives, falafels, cereals, lots of pastries and bread with fresh juices and tea and coffee served at the table. It was my first taste of fresh honeycomb.

Our room was quiet with two comfortable chairs, good luggage storage with wardrobe hanging space, a large desk with chair and TV above and a comfortable bed. We had a mini-fridge that worked well. The balcony has two seats and a table and that great view. The bathroom is standard Egyptian shower over bath with good water pressure. The bath has spa jets in it but I didn’t try them out. The bathroom sink has ample space on both sides to put bathroom supplies. Wifi was pretty good for Egypt - OK for standard internet searching and calls and I even managed to upload quite a few of my photos.

Even in winter, the Luxor weather makes the pool a wonderful place to cool off and there are a number of outdoor areas to relax in. We had an evening flight on our departure day and Sonesta St George was able to give us a very generous late checkout. Even if that had not been possible, the hotel will hold your bags and you are able to access the sitting and eating areas as well as the pool, toilets and showers.

The hotel is in downtown Luxor about two to three kilometers from the Luxor Temple and Luxor Museum. We did a number of walks, one to the Museum and some other explorations of surrounding areas. We even found a small supermarket nearby with fixed prices to stock up on a few things. I recommend, on leaving the hotel, to cross the street and walk away from the Nile to the shopping streets about a block up. This will take you to the Luxor Market and after that you head back down to the wide Korniche on the Nile for the rest of the walk. Taking this way reduces being accosted by the felucca, horse cab and taxi touts and there are also some sections of the Korniche not directly on the road which were surprising free of it too and have some good restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Nile Front View Rooms give beautiful views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sameh El Ganzoury, Owner at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 18 Apr 2024
Thank you, SusanC4948, for your detailed review and for choosing to stay with us at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor for the second time! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Front Nile Room and balcony view beautiful. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel and the variety and quality of our buffet breakfast. We're glad you found your room comfortable and equipped with all the amenities you needed, and that you were able to relax by the pool and enjoy our outdoor areas. Your recommendation for exploring the surrounding areas of Luxor is greatly appreciated, and we're glad to hear that you found nearby amenities convenient. We always strive to provide a peaceful and comfortable environment for our guests to enjoy, and we're delighted that you had a positive experience with us. Thank you again for your kind words and detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor for another memorable stay in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
malleegirl wrote a review Feb 2020
Swan Hill, Australia894 contributions399 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked our stay for three nights many months before arriving in Luxor. On arrival there were no double beds available so we had to take single beds. On the second day they moved us to a double room which we were more than happy with. Rooms were not large but clean and comfortable. The bathroom had plenty of bench space for toiletries etc and toiletries were supplied. We had a shower above the bath. Internet was not free in rooms but you could organise to pay for Cable through the business centre. There was however, free internet in the lobby. There were a number of shops within the hotel which included jewellery, papyrus and a souvenir type shop with a large range of items. There was also an ATM which came in handy and I think, three restaurants. We ate at the buffet one night and had Italian the next. We enjoyed both but the Italian was excellent. Breakfast very also very good with a huge range on offer and the egg chef did a marvellous job feeding us all. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShenoudaMontaser, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear malleegirl, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor through Tripadvisor website. We're all more than happy to hear that your recent stay with us was very pleasant and most importantly our level of service have met with your expectations. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you in the near future at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor. Kind Regards, Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager SONESTA ST GEORGE HOTEL
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Izibee wrote a review Feb 2020
Jedburgh, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here twice before and it doesn't disappoint. Lovely hotel in a great situation, right on the beautiful Nile. It is built to allow all rooms a side balcony with a Nile view. We paid an upgrade on arrival to have a front facing room. A lovely room, very well serviced with comfortable bed, clean sheets every day, clean towels twice a day if needed, tea/coffee tray and bottled water replaced daily. There's also a safe, a fridge and air conditioning.
We had booked half board. Breakfast is very good, freshly squeezed juices, lovely fresh fruit and bread, a wide variety of hot and cold food, only excluding pork and pork products. The made to order omlettes are especially good.
There are 3 separate restaurants in the hotel, in addition to the buffet. Half board includes the buffet, but also allows you an allowance towards eating in any of the restaurants. The Italian is excellent, the Japanese is very good and the Egyptian is fantastic. I would recommend trying them all, but particularly the tepanyaki.
The pool is lovely with loads of comfortable sunbeds and plenty of room and the service down there is excellent - particularly Nagha! There's a pontoon area right on the Nile, a lovely area to sit and have a drink and watch the sunsets over the river towards the Valley of the Kings. So much to see in the whole area. Felucca rides are available direct from the hotel too.
The hassle factor seems to have improved, mostly coming from taxis and kaleshes (horse drawn carriages) who do now seem to understand that we sometimes do need to walk for exercise! Kalesh rides are inexpensive but please do pick those with well cared for horses. You can easily get an hour or more tour for £10 or less, where one arranged through a tour operator would cost more like £25.
The overall service in the hotel was excellent too, reception and also the customer relations manager were great, helping us sort out complicated pick up arrangements for returning.
We will return!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShenoudaMontaser, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Izibee, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor through Tripadvisor website. We're all more than happy to hear that your recent stay with us was very pleasant and we feel great that you like facilities and most importantly our level of service have met with your expectations. Your review is quite valuable for us; we pay genuine attention to all our guest comments and reviews that will positively enhance our performance towards our guests. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you in the near future for another pleasant stay at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor. Kind Regards, Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager SONESTA ST GEORGE HOTEL
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Airportaddict wrote a review Dec 2021
DC,USA49 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed overnight, traditional elaborate decor, very clean. The beds were super-firm, not to my liking. No room service menu, you have to call the service desk and ask what's available, but first you have to figure out which phone works. My rooom had 2, only 1 with a dial tone. Free wifi only in the lobby, if you want in-room wifi, I was quoted 200 pounds a day, which seemed excessive; there was free service at the other hotels
The shower was super-modern with 8 or 9 showerheads and control panel, that was a nice touch. Very limited cable channels compared to the other places we stayed.
Most employees would put on a mask if they saw you approaching with your own mask in place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The street side overlooks a water treatment facility, best hope for a river view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shenouda Montaser, Guest Services / Front Office at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 2 Jan 2022
Dear Airportaddict, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor. we are glad to hear that you like our beds and cleanliness, while we apologies for the unpleasant experience you have had during your stay with us, your review is quite valuable for us and I assure you that an action will be taken to correct the things that you highlighted in your review. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you for another stay at our hotel. Kind Regards Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ahmed Mostafa wrote a review Nov 2020
Cairo, Egypt1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second stay at Sonesta Luxor.
The hotel place is amazing with marvelous Nile view, friendly staff & delicious food.
The hotel has all precautions to prevent COVID spread sanitizer at the reception, the room has the full instructions to make the person safe & you will find sterile masks at room to help you get a beautiful & safe stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shenouda Montaser, Guest Services / Front Office at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Dear Ahmed Mostafa , Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor through Tripadvisor website. We're all more than happy to hear that your recent stay with us was pretty much enjoyable and most importantly our level of service have met with your expectations. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you in the near future at Sonesta St. George Hotel-Luxor to provide you the fine service & facilities for which the Sonesta name is known. Kind Regards, Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager SONESTA ST GEORGE HOTEL LUXOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kaf1sh wrote a review Jul 2022
South Wales36 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Saga package. We received a warm welcome on arrival and our party were all given a complementary hibiscus drink whilst rooms were allocated.

Our package included all meals, which were served in the buffet restaurant, although I believe some of the group opted to use the Japanese restaurant one evening. The buffet was varied and we always managed to find something to eat. The staff were friendly and obliging. One evening there was a pianist in the restaurant. We also received two free drinks with our meals as part of the package.

The rooms were spacious and clean, and we were lucky to get a side view of the Nile. The room was serviced twice a day, and our attendant would tip up toiletries, tea, coffee and also decorate with flowers!

The public areas were comfortable, with a pleasant bar/cafe area which was open 24 hours a day. Drinks and water were reasonably priced. The waiter staff were friendly and welcoming.

There is a lovely pool area, which large gardens to explore. The pool attendant was always on hand to provide towels and would obligingly move the parasols to give us plenty of shade!

There are a few gift shops on site, but we did not visit these.

All in all, this is a good base to start a Nile cruise.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shenouda Montaser, Guest Services / Front Office at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Dear Kaflsh, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor. We're all more than happy to hear that your recent stay with us was beautiful and most importantly our level of service has met your expectation. Ideally, your review is quite valuable for us; we pay genuine attention to all our guest's comments and reviews. Once again we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you for another pleasant stay at our hotel to provide you with the fine service and facilities for which the SONESTA name is known. Kind Regards, Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarkT25_UK wrote a review Mar 2020
Crawley, United Kingdom63 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Return visit to hotel. Had WiFi in my room this time which made a massive difference (thank you very much Shenouda!) but the lack of free WiFi in the rooms will still be an issue when considering where to stay in future. Although the speed of the WiFi in the room is much better than that in Reception, the connection still keeps dropping out so you are constantly having to log in again which is not viable if you're working. The credentials also still expire every 3 days so you have to get a new card every 3 days (just when I've memorised the username and password!) - it would be so much more convenient to have a single pass for the duration of your stay.

Otherwise, the hotel is very good. The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help. Particular thanks to Merna who couldn't have provided better service and to Tony on Reception, but there are so many others who made my stay special, i really can't name them all.

I have stayed 4 times now and never had a bad room (Nile side view). They are large with plenty of places to sit and put things and all have a lovely view, wonderful early morning views of hot air balloons floating over the Nile and Theban hills on one side, stunning sunsets across the Nile on the other, so take your pick!

The breakfast service still struggles when the hotel is busy which is a shame, I need my coffee in the morning (thanks Christine!) and shouldn't have to wait half an hour for a cup...and I mean a cup, let alone anything in it!

I will be back to Luxor I'm sure and would look to stay here again but whether I do or not really depends on the WiFi situation, for the price paid at a high end hotel I expect fast WiFi included for free in all rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShenoudaMontaser, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 12 Apr 2020
Dear MarkT25_UK, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor through Tripadvisor website. We're all more than happy to hear that your recent stay with us was very pleasant and most importantly our level of service have met with your expectations, indeed we feel great that you are one of our regular guests, please note that all your comments have been taken into consideration to correct any unwitting mistake. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you at Sonesta St George Hotel for another pleasant stay. Kind Regards, Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager SONESTA ST GEORGE HOTEL LUXOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard W wrote a review Oct 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom49 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
No hotel is perfect, and the Sonesta does have a few weak areas, but the overall standard is very good.

Let's start with the not so good. The Wifi is a bit patchy and struggles a lot in the early evening. It can also randomly die a death on your phone, requiring a few additional expeditions to reception to grab a new password and username. But, despite its limitations, it is generally adequate to the task.

The Sonesta is also an adopter of the infernal room keycard technology that loses the ability to open your door when held within throwing distance of a mobile phone. Sadly this seems to be true of most hotels these days.

Everything else, however, ranges from good to excellent.

The beds are comfy and the rooms are served with a genuinely good air-conditioning system. Cleaning is well done, with Sabrey doing a fine job and generally being extremely helpful and cheerful whenever we met him.

The breakfast is well worth it, with omelettes cooked freshly as requested, an impressive fruit salad, and plenty of pancakes, cakes, cereals, and juices.

The swimming pool is of a decent size, and once again is well attended by a good company of very pleasant and genuinely helpful staff.

The bathroom is a good size, clean, and contains an impressive shower.

Overall, a very good hotel in a good location with great staff, and at a very reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merna Salib, Guest Services / Front Office at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor. We're all more than happy to hear that your recent stay with us was pleasant and most importantly our level of service has met your expectation, your review is quite valuable for us; we pay genuine attention to all our guest's comments and reviews. Once again we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you for another pleasant stay at our hotel to provide you with the fine service and facilities for which the SONESTA name is known. Kind Regards Merna Salib Guest Relations Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NI C wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sure this is a "nice" hotel - the rooms themselves are nice. But for the price that you are paying, this hotel has had the worst service I have seen during my entire week at Egypt (and we stayed at many hotels that are less fancy).

This hotel will nickel and dime you for every little thing. For example, this was our first hotel in Egypt that didn't offer free wifi. Instead, they charged a huge price for wifi that I'm better off buying an Egyptian phone and paying for a month of service.

The staff was extremely dismissive and refused to help me make a dinner reservation. From the business center meager who asked me for money to the front desk receptionist, sitting 3 feet away from a phone, who said they do not have a phone. I have never been to any hotel in the world that refuses to help a customer out with making a restaurant reservation.

If you do stay here, I can only recommend eating down the street where there are a lot of cheap, local, and authentic restaurants that actually have great service.

Overall, this hotel will scam you for services beyond the room you book, and even the hawkers at tourist spots are nicer than the dismissive folks here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShenoudaMontaser, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear NI C, Thank you for choosing Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor and submitting your feedback during your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you have had in your recent stay with us and that our service did not met with your expectations, while we strongly reject what you had mentioned about our hotel regarding scamming our guest's for services that we used always to provide it to all our guest's. We take all issues very serious and your valuable comments has been elevated to the top management and corrective measurements has been already enforced, We shall keep our options open for you and that it will be more glad to welcome you once again at our property whenever is convenient for you. Kind Regards, Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager SONESTA ST GEORGE HOTEL LUXOR
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aaron C wrote a review Sept 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I decided to stay at the Sonesta because its quality far exceeded the pricing. I wanted a place to relax and feel comfortable, and this was the spot. The staff is incredible, they go the extra mile to ensure you feel welcome and accommodate beyond expectations. The rooms are all very nice, love the old school feel of the place. The breakfast buffet was very good. The laundry service was also very good, and are able to turn around requests quickly.

The team in the shops located in the lobby were great for information and shopping, even outside their own shops. They would advise me on prices and quality, and were very honest. I ended up purchasing very high quality gemstones from them.

The gym was disappointing when I first arrived, with new machines not fully assembled. That all changed when Mustafa started working as the trainer. He rearranged the rooms, brought in sanitation spray, fixed machines, and even brought in free weights to use. This changed my entire experience, as I worked out everyday. I suspect as long as Mustafa is around, the gym will continue to get better. I also appreciate the spa team, who were great when I needed to use the sauna and steam room.

The Pool area has a great staff, they are attentive and ensure you are taken care of (to include a constant rotation of umbrellas. Nagha is the best!!! She takes care of you and works very hard.

The bar and restaurant staff were also very professional. Usama has a great personality, and the guest really enjoy the teams company.

The two recommendations I would make is, 1) find a way to play a longer song, or songs, on the speakers in the lobby and bar. The 20 second loop of one music verse is a little repetitive to say the least; 2) the wifi situation is pretty rough. Constantly needing to get new vouchers because the system cannot log out old sessions and considers new ones simultaneous is a slight annoyance.

I would return, with my family and enjoy the entire stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shenouda Montaser, Guest Services / Front Office at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Responded 16 Sept 2022
Dear aaronch, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor. We're all more than happy to hear that your recent stay with us was pleasant and most importantly our level of service has met your expectation, your review is quite valuable for us; we pay genuine attention to all our guest's comments and reviews. Once again we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you for another pleasant stay at our hotel to provide you with the fine service and facilities for which the SONESTA name is known. Kind Regards Shenouda Montaser Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wende asked a question Aug 2023
St Helens, United Kingdom28 contributions79 helpful votes
I am hoping to visit this October, will buffet be available for evening meals for total 2 weeks stay ?????
Wende asked a question Aug 2023
St Helens, United Kingdom28 contributions79 helpful votes
What FRESH Juice is served at breakfast ? Can i get smoothies ? Fruit & veg blended drinks ?
Answer from Manxmike
Isle of Man, United Kingdom31 contributions13 helpful votes
I've never asked for smoothies, but I'm sure if you explain what one is they would do their best. Fresh fruit juices are served every day, and they really are fresh.
jcaulum asked a question Mar 2023
Minneapolis, Minnesota225 contributions234 helpful votes
Are the restaurants and lounge open during Ramadan?
Answer from Manxmike
Isle of Man, United Kingdom31 contributions13 helpful votes
Yes, the hotel stays open all year round. Some of the staff are Moslem, some are Christians, all are dedicated to looking after the guests.
Answer from Merna Salib
Luxor, Egypt
Hi- Yes we can provide you by extra bed. Looking forward to welcome you in the near future to provide you the fine service and facilities for which the SONESTA name is known. Kind Regards
El_Chilaquil_43 asked a question Oct 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello, what rooms offer a balcony or terrace? Thank you.
Answer from Merna Salib
Luxor, Egypt
Dear El_Chilaquil_43, We have a balcony in all our rooms categories
Daydream35576679092 wrote a tip 11 Jun
Cairo, Egypt1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You will be happy there."
Read full review
Monica S wrote a tip 8 Jun
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re going in the summer, make sure to take fans with mist to see the temples and try to book them at 6am and 6pm to avoid the heat"
Read full review
Jeane007 wrote a tip 4 Jun
11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool amazing make sure you book as soon as you can "
Read full review
Rahul S wrote a tip May 2024
Mumbai18 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Vegetarians don’t have much options here in Sonesta for food…."
Read full review
Yannina G wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel services are more expensive than street, we suggest to mix to compare also service level experience"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Luxor area.
PRICE RANGE
£61 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sonesta st george hotel luxor, sonesta luxor, sonesta st george luxor, luxor sonesta
LOCATION
EgyptNile River ValleyLuxor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
322
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SONESTA ST. GEORGE HOTEL - LUXOR - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Which popular attractions are close to Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Nearby attractions include Bait El Ainy (0.1 miles), Aboudy Book Shop (0.2 miles), and Zotes Bazaar (0.00 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Tarboush, Aisha Restaurant Luxor, and Snobs.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Temple of Karnak (2.6 miles), Valley of the Artisans (Deir el-Medina) (3.3 miles), and Howard Carter House (4.0 miles).
Does Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Luxor HotelsLuxor Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LuxorHotels near Sonesta St. George Hotel - Luxor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire