We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Tribe Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tribe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 720: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I just love coming here. The interiors, service and food is really great. I really like the Greek Wrap here, i specially go there to just have that, every time it tastes superb without disappointing me. Staff is really well trained and polite. Prices are worth and overall great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Vasco Da G
Koror Island, Palau
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To get the bad out of the way first. The water pressure fluctuates during showers. My window never fully closed, a large gap even when locked. And a ever running toilet. The up side for and foremost was the restaurant had nothing bad of the menu. Some of the best tasting chocolate was left free on my pillow. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig T
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig T, thank you so very much for sharing your experience. My sincere apologies for the maintenance hiccups you had to face. I have communicated them accordingly so they can be resolved asap. I am happy though to read you were pleased with our service and the team! We would be delighted to see you back very soon. Stephan... More 

Leipzig
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had great time at The Tribe Hotel. The rooms as spacious with a modern chic African influenced interior. The whole hotel is decorated beautifully with African art and modern design elements. The staff was always friendly, helpful and attentive. We were lucky enough to meet the General Manager Stephan. He sometimes mingles with guests and makes everyone feel at... More 

Helpful?
Thank innamoramento
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear innamoramento, many thanks for your review! I hope we will be able to host you again very soon here in Nairobi! Sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food, good service. Spent sometime in both you main dining area and The Nest. The Nest had good ambience however, its a bit small in size cannot accommodate too many parties. The food service was good delicious and promptly served. I will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Angie G
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angie G, thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are thrilled you a had a great time with us and do look forward to welcome you again soon. Sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The checking in was very quick and the room felt good after a long journey. The bar was well served though I had a beer to simply sit down and relax. The bathroom was clean and felt modern. The is a large mall within a walking distance. Though the room furnishing was stylish and adequate, the size of the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raju2115
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raju2115, thank you so much for your review. We highly appreciate your feedback. Perhaps try a Deluxe Room or a Business Loft next time as they are more spacious than the Superior Rooms. Until hopefully very soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed several times in this hotel, I like the rooms, though there could be a bit more light inside. I preferred upstairs, as I once had a bad experience due to a party at the pool. But - the staff is excellent and if you need help, they are there, listen and do whatever they can to satisfy your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Akima0707
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Akima0707, many thanks for your review! We highly appreciate your feedback and are happy to read that you always have a great time with us. We are looking forward to see you again soon! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went here on a business trip. It was the best hotel I got to stay in whlie on my work tour in Kenya. The cultural decor was beautiful. We received a complimentary bottle of wine on our first night. The room was comfortable and I got to relax in their soaker tub (if you don't get a room with... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelhoneyBL
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travelhoneyBL, thank you very much for your extensive review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the tranquil surroundings including the Village Market Shopping Complex. We look forward to welcome you back again soon! Sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. Food was tasty and they were happy to accommodate requests for no sauce or spices. Easy to arrange excursions through Benjamin who was always very helpful. I would recommend and will happily stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank rosie-teds
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rosie-teds, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to learn that we met your expectations. We extended your compliments to Benjamin and we hope to see you soon again! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
285 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group as we were beginning our safari. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained and lovely. The rooms are spacious and modern with decent WiFi. The bar was open late and food was not bad, although not exceptional either. Lots of local families celebrating events. All in all, a lovely jumping off point... More 

Helpful?
Thank bblumberg
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bblumberg, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback and trust we will see you again for the mentioned vacation very soon! With best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Tribe is a modern hotel with all the facilities you're looking for. Safe area where to stay, close to the Village Market. The restaurant serves excellent food and the personnel is very kind. 100% recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Francesca M, thank you so much for your recommendation! We highly appreciate! Until hopefully very soon again! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe More 

330 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (321)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
878 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
332 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Jiko
Jiko
Cuisines: European, International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Price Range: £136 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tribe Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Tribe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The double bed room seemed more spacious than the twin room which my sons occupied. No proper space to rest your suitcases,”
 of 5 bubbles Raju2115, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room with a soaker tub, don't be afraid to request a complemnetary bottle of wine”
 of 5 bubbles travelhoneyBL, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you're at the far end of the hallway (i.e. away from the atrium) for any modicum of quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles SusannaB173, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms very good, no excess noise, good wi fi and privacy. Good amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles KENTTRAVELLERAA, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room away from pool area”
 of 5 bubbles Tinaish, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay