We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hemingways Nairobi

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hemingways Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a great way to top and tale a 2 week safari trip. The only drawback was that we only stayed 1 night each end. Lovely rooms with garden views, very peaceful and a nice stroll around the gardens. Bistro dining reasonably priced for the standard of hotel, staff vey attentive and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Essex
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We planned to spend two nights here en route to the Mara and were slightly disappointed that we had not planned more. The hotel is an oasis of tranquility and calm and is staffed by the most attentive and delightful of staff - we wanted for nothing and our executive suite was both well appointed and comfortable Dinner in The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GREENSEssex
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's a nice quiet place to have lunch on a nice sunny day with the fountain in the back. It's a posh lunch place in Karen so prices tend to be higher. Food was alright and while my friend enjoyed the quiet ambiance it reminded me of a Florida retirement community. So not my type of place but the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel0wl
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The tranquility is fabulous, the water falls in the hotel are fantastic. The Maasai decor in the room is just awesome. Staff are good and very helpful.The walkway is fantastically done. The place is so quiet and the security check at the gate and the whole premises is comendable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiarie W
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here the first night of a ten night trip to Kenya. We arrived late in the evening around 11:30pm. Everything was great. They did a lovely cake in the room for my birthday. The only word of caution is be careful when ordering drinks at the restaurant. I ordered two drinks and my mom ordered two drinks and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amw58ca
Broseley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an extremely luxurious hotel located in the suburb of Karen. The rooms are fantastic, all with great views of the gardens, enormous bathrooms and wonderfully comfortable beds. Have only eaten breakfast there but it was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately on our second visit, the hotel did not have our booking which had been confirmed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolFourie
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear CarolFourie Thank you for your feedback and appreciation of all Hemingways Nairobi has to offer. With regard to your second stay, we regret that your check-in experience was not as it should have been. We have looked into the matter and taken corrective action to prevent a future recurrence. I trust that the Presidential suite upgrade you were given...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What was supposed to be a brief stop for afternoon tea evolved into something else.Had a hard timeleaving several hours later. The staff are very attentive ..served by an excellent waiter called Gushe. The tea was perfection (I am very picky about my tea)lovely experience ambience very relaxing surroundings serene. Coming again for a long overdue weekend getaway.Love the exteriors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz M
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear liz M Thank you for the great feedback and we are so glad your afternoon tea experience was delightful. Best regards from the team; we look forward to your next visit. Regards Simon H

Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fantastic hotel. Our only disappointment is that we got in just before midnight and had to leave the next morning at 8:30. Our room was a wonderful suite with just about any amenity that one could want. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneAddictedTraveler
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear OneAddictedTraveler We are glad that your stay was delightful albeit too short. Hopefully next time you will have two nights with us to allow you to enjoy all the property has to offer. Best regards Simon H

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think our suite was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. It was spacious, romantic and very comfortable. The food on the restaurant was fantastic and the staff were brilliant. They really made us feel at home. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katherine L
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Katherine L Thank you for your recommendation of Hemingways Nairobi. We are delighted you enjoyed the stay. Regards Simon H

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a really stunning and special place, a lush oasis of tranquillity awaits you on a really quiet street with enormous gardens to wander around. Great service, a stunning pool and setting and very impressive large suites which have loads of space and loads of luxury. This is a perfect option to start of end your Kenya adventures -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simon_beck75
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear simon_beck75 I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hemingways Nairobi. We do indeed have a very special property and to compliment that go to great lengths to ensure the service we offer is also exceptional. Thank you for your feedback and kind sentiments. We hope to see you again at Hemingways Nairobi. Regards Simon H

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (301)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 163 in Nairobi
907 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 163 in Nairobi
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 163 in Nairobi
838 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 163 in Nairobi
1,217 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 163 in Nairobi
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Mbagathi Ridge | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: £371 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hemingways Nairobi staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hemingways Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All seem well situated.”
 of 5 bubbles 920PaulM, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Those furthest from the hotel are the quiter”
 of 5 bubbles GREENSEssex, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a sight of the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles kiariew, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have trouble walking, ask for a room at the top of the hill near the reception area. Some rooms are way down the bottom of the hill.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolFourie, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher floors are lees prone to noise from the city.”
 of 5 bubbles ericks625, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5