Angama Mara
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Angama Mara

Traveller (826)
Tented suites
Room & Suite (95)
A Bush Barbecue under the African night skye
Dining (68)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 10 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Welcome to Angama, inspired by the Swahili word for ‘suspended in mid-air’. Located high above the floor of Africa’s Great Rift Valley, Angama Mara is a remarkable owner-run safari lodge overlooking Kenya’s Maasai Mara, considered by many as the loveliest game reserve on the continent. Here guests will find a lodge where everything is as it ought to be: two intimate camps of just fifteen tented suites each, a private airfield and access to the Mara below, tailor-made safari days and a famously warm Kenyan welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Walking tours
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Conference facilities
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Mara Triangle, Maasai Mara National Reserve Kenya
Getting there
Mara Lodges Airport
Kichwa Tembo Airstrip
345Reviews17Q+A94Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 322
  • 15
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lana L wrote a review Feb 2024
Dublin, Ireland18 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 5 nights at Angama Mara and we were so sad to leave.
Apart from the wonderful wildlife including predators , the ambience of the camp was remarkable .
Most important the staff here couldn’t have been more attentive .
Our butler Caroline was a real sweetheart and couldn’t do enough for us .
Our guide Jackson showed great skill in discovering elusive predators .
I am writing this sitting on our elevated balcony looking out across the Massai Mara as a sun sets on our final evening in Kenya .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate Fitzgerald Boyd, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Thank you @313lanal for this wonderful review, written from the Edge of the Great Rift Valley - we so appreciate this glowing report! Thank you too for mentioning the team who looked after you by name (many of our TA reviews do) - as they are the magic ingredient of Angama Mara... and you absolutely saw this. We hope to welcome you back to Magical Kenya one day in the not too distant future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie H. wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Words cannot adequately describe how magical this place is. Angama is, hands down, the best safari lodge experience I have ever had. For context, this was my third safari trip to Kenya (fourth overall) and I've been blessed to be able to stay at some pretty amazing lodges, including a lodge earlier on this trip that had just been named the top luxury resort in the world by Conde Nast readers.

Lodging: The lodge's location on the escarpment makes for amazing views (sunrise and sunsets are stunning) and the guest rooms and dining areas are laid out to take full advantage of the view. While this the largest safari lodge I that have ever stayed at, was one of the bigger lodges I have stayed at, but it actually did not feel that as the lodge is set up as two separate camps, each with separate (but equally lovely) dining facilities. Bed was very comfortable!

Food and Drink: Delicious. More than enough variety for me.

Service: While the food and lodging at Angama were stellar, it was the service (from beginning to end, and reflected in things big and small) that made Angama so memorable. I interacted with too many wonderful people at Angama to name them all, so I thought I'd just mention two who were particularly impactful to my experience. Tasmin in reservations helped set the tone for the service I could expect at Angama. She promptly responded to my email inquiry regarding the lodge and to the many, many questions that followed and deftly dealt with the actual reservations and some last-minute changes that were caused by some self-imposed travel snafus. She is a big part of why I decided to stay at Angama and I will forever be grateful to her for that. Tito, my guide, was kind, engaging, funny, an excellent driver and extremely knowledgeable. He consulted with me each day about my preferences for the next ride and made recommendations based on my input. I always went with his recommendations and was glad that I did. Tito was everything that I could have hoped for in a safari guide and he, more than any other person, made this trip for me. So, if you have the opportunity to request a guide, I'd highly recommend him.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NickyFitzKenya, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 8 Jan 2020
I just love the way that your reviewer name echoes that of the lovely title you chose for your post. If home is where your heart is and you left it at Angama then Angama surely must be your home? That thought makes us all so happy. Our home is absolutely your home. Firstly thank you so much for choosing to come time and again to Kenya. We are totally unbiased of course but the Angama family firmly believes there is no other African safari destination quite like it. And as for Kenyan hospitality that surely has to be in a league of its own? Your wonderful review lifted our hearts and Tamsin is sitting across from me with a smile stretched from ear to ear. And I know Tito feels exactly the same delight at hearing your kind words about him. Thank you too for raising the point that Angama on one level could be regarded as a lodge somewhat on a larger scale than most of the other camps in Kenya but as you so rightly noted, it is spilt into two completely separate camps of just 15 tents each. Over and above that our team is trained to regard every booking as the only guests in camp and to personalise and tailor make their stay to the highest possible standard. From us all wishing you a joyous and adventure-filled 2020 and sending our heartfelt thanks for coming to stay with us Warm regards Nicky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adria711 wrote a review Jan 2020
Atlanta, Georgia5 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights at Angama Mara, after visiting Tsavo West and Finch Hattons camp. We had very high expectations that Angama Mara would be similar to Finch Hattons, but were dissapointed. In a few words, I will explain why:
1. After landing at the air strip, I think we were greeted the last ones among all the passengers that arrived for other camps.
2. When we arrived at Angama Mara, we met some of the staff, but no towels or welcome drinks.
3. Our tent had basic amenities, but no safari decor. The furniture looked in need for some care and the flip flops were worn by a previous guest. We called the manager and had them replaced. The tent had whiskey and tequila decanters, but since we did not know who drank from them before and how, we asked to have unopened bottles.
4. On our first day, we were at lunch in the restaurant and met the director of the camp. She came to our table with her daughter in her arms (a beautiful little girl). However, we thought that was thoroughly unprofessional and felt that she just checked a box in her list for that afternoon by greeting us. She did not seem to care too much about us, since we never saw her again.
5. It would have been great if every time we came back from a game drive, we would have been treated with towels and some refreshments.
Although the views from our tent were extraordinary and the animals that we saw in our game drives were amazing (many thanks to Wilson for his great skills and professionalism), we felt like we came back to a Marriott hotel. There was no trace of the luxury safari feel that Finch Hattons gave us. Out of respect for Wilson and our butler Adlight that made us have a pleasant stay by the end, I wrote some nice statements in the camp journal. A special mention also to the gardener that made the best salad for us.
I hope that these statements will not be taken as an offense by the camp owner, but as constructive criticism brought by people that pay a lot of money to visit and expect the highest standards and personalized service. I hope that when I will return, the things we mentioned were improved.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NickyFitzKenya, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Adria Absolutely no offence taken at all - as disappointed as I am to receive your detailed feedback I absolutely know that without it we will not achieve the high standards to which we constantly strive. Thank you not only for coming to stay with us but for making the time to send us your impressions. There is always valuable learning in all guest feedback and it goes without saying we have learnt from yours. Wilson and Adlight asked me to forward their thanks for your kind comments about the way in which they took care of you. And I was also happy to read that you had great game viewing and enjoyed your lunch in our Shamba. And best of all you mentioned that you might return to Angama one day. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest thanks Nicky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cristiano V wrote a review Jan 2020
Ripalta Cremasca, Italy44 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This lodge is located in an ubelivable position where you can dominate the Masai Mara triangle, Everithing in the lodge is curated and vary well organized.
The manager is totally dedicated to the guests and during a day appears ebverytime you need him. The tends are large with many amenities and offer a splendid view of the park. In the restaurant, the dedicate butler ensures that all needs are met; the menu offers many choices and all the dishes are delicious.
If you are looking for an uforgettable experience in the heart of Masai Mara Park with a personalized and luxory Treatment, Angana Mara is the place for you.
Cristiano Villa
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NickyFitzKenya, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Cristiano Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and for posting this delightful review. The team at the lodge - especially the manager and the chefs - is most grateful for your kind words. Wishing you a joyous 2020 and we very much hope to welcome you back to the lovely Mara one day. Warmest thanks Nicky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan B wrote a review Sept 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom85 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was fortunate enough to stay here last year and never thought that coming back my experience would have been bettered - well it was! The location of Angama is breathtaking. Every inch of it has been designed to maximise the amazing view of the Mara triangle and beyond. A view you can never get bored of.

The property isn’t a traditional colonial camp and that’s also what’s so refreshing about Angama. It’s beautifully designed, with luxurious tented suites and communal areas that have great atmosphere when you arrive.

The wonderful warmth of the staff is another huge beacon of success at Angama. They are so welcoming and warm. As a return visitor you almost feel like you are coming home. They are a great team and so very friendly and efficient.

Now to the game we saw! Three very large river crossings, 2 lion kills, so many elephants and a leopard to name but a few!! Epic doesn’t even begin to describe it.

Our guide Sophie was exceptional and a huge asset to Angama. Talking to her about her journey from living in a traditional Maasai family to becoming a guide was also fascinating and inspiring.

Now to covid. During this hugely problematic and worrying time it’s worth mentioning their protocols for keeping you and their staff safe are exceptional. Temperature checks before entering, sanitising stations, all staff wear masks etc. I felt completely comfortable and any concern I may have had for travelling disappeared in seconds.

We stayed here for four nights and I can’t recommend it enough. Our only sadness again was leaving.

Team Angama thank you so much again for such a wonderful stay and adventure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicky Fitzgerald, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Dear Jonathan Thank you so much for pioneering travel back to Kenya during these crazy times. I am delighted that you found all our Covid protocols to be of the standard you expected and that any anxiety you might have had before your arrival was soon set aside. Guest safety is always our first priority as we operate in a wild and wonderful corner of Kenya and adding Covid safety measures to the long list of others was simply just another set of protocols. And thank you too for returning to the lovely Mara. Did we not tell you that Africa comes with a warning addiction? I know the team was delighted to welcome you back. Sophie asked me to add her thanks for the gracious comments you made about her guiding skills - some guests have called her an animal whisperer. And to have the drama of the Migration - crossings, lion kills, croc attacks - all to yourself must have been an incredible experience. It was Africa's way of thanking you for jumping on a plane and coming to stay with us. Warmest thanks from the Angama family Nicky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon wrote a review Oct 2022
Yeovil, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In the last week have returned from a fantastic safari holiday staying at this beautiful location with its stunning views. We were first met by the lovely John, who collected us from our overnight accommodation in Nairobi & then escorted us to Wilson for our departure to the Mara.
At Angama our accommodation was excellent, very clean & well appointed.
George, the Manager, was very welcoming & had a great sense of humour. We were very well looked after by another George, our butler. Truly a lovely chap who always greeted us with such a warm welcome whatever the time of day & nothing was too much trouble.
Our excellent guide & driver, Elly, was just so keen & full of enthusiasm to make sure we got the best experience possible & this enabled us seeing the fantastic wildlife, including the Big 5, within the 5 days we were with him, plus finding beautiful locations for an outdoor breakfast & coffee stops.
Saying that, all the staff we came into contact with, whether being escorted to & from our 'tent' during the hours of darkness or those we just casually met, were so polite & welcoming.
We experienced some lovely food at all meals & Evans, the chef, was only too pleased to share his recipes if asked. A tour around the kitchen garden followed by lunch there was a real treat too. Head gardener, Jeremy, showed us around & then freshly picked various items that he then prepared to accompany our lunch.
My wife took advantage of a couple of massages & she was very professionally looked after by Celine, receiving the treatments with the back drop of the Mara from our tent, unbelievable !
A real blessing was the inclusive laundry service, as for when travelling lightly this is a real plus👍🏻
So if you're looking for somewhere special to be looked after & get the full safari experience then look no further, you'll not be disappointed !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Embrace the nighttime wildlife noises. Lots of layers is the key for the temp changes plus easier...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Mitchell, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 21 Nov 2022
Dear aesica, On behalf of the Angama team, thank you for sharing your experience here - which some interested folks have already found helpful. We were particularly pleased to see that you appreciated the attitude of our team of askaris - the security men & women who accompany guests at night - as even those who are learning English take pride in ensuring that guests feel welcome, and cared for. James, Japhet, Sammy and the team in the laundry also joining me in thanking you for appreciating their work, so our warmest thanks from the whole team for coming to stay, Kind regards, Steve
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ajcompass17 wrote a review Jun 2021
California210 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second camp on our amazing trip celebrating my birthday. The views were more than we even imagined. Truly stunning. The tents and main area were also gorgeous and so unique. However, the views and structure of the camp provide a luxury feel that the staff and dining don't quite live up to. We didn't have a single meal here that we loved, and the service felt... distant. Part of what makes Africa special is the connection to those who work at the camps, and we felt as if they were somewhat held at arm's length, which was a bit sad for us. While I recognize and admire their effort to come off as very polished, it doesn't show through in implementation. For example, the phone system presented to us for us to let them know when we needed someone to walk us at night did not work. I would have much rather used the simple shine the flashlight or call for assistance like at other camps, and been able to make it to meals and game drives on time. Also, there is no comparing the value between this and luxury camps with Great Plains (Mara Plains, Mara Nyika). Great Plains includes excellent camera equipment and lenses in their rate for guests (and it is a lower rate). They also transfer all photos to a brand new USB free of charge, whereas Angama charges for the USB. In general, there were more upcharges at Angama than other luxury properties we have enjoyed. But, it is hard not to give this place 5 stars. Not only because of the views and beautiful rooms, but the GUIDING. This surprised me. I honestly thought this place would have brilliant accommodations, service, and food, and then would rest on those laurels for the game drives. NOT SO! Our guide Tito (Titus), was the BEST of the trip. He was passionate, well spoken, and had a clear plan each game drive. He was efficient and great at picking up on what we were interested in, had already seen, and wanted to see. In 2 short nights, we had incredible lion and leopard sightings AND saw black rhino! With a calf! He did a great job negotiating around other vehicles and lined us up nicely for photos. I would highly recommend him as a guide. Truly, Tito made this property shine, above all the bells and whistles.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicky Fitzgerald, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 11 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us on your recent Kenyan safari and for the lovely feedback on Titus. He was thrilled to hear how highly you regarded his guiding skills. I was saddened to hear that you felt the service and food at Angama were not up to par and would like to extend my apologies for not delighting you on both counts. I was somewhat bewildered on reading your review as in over 90% of the reviews we have had on TripAdvisor have been focused almost entirely on how much our guests love our staff. I have shared your feedback with the whole team and they asked me to thank you for raising these issues as we head into our busy season after a year of Covid challenges. With thanks Nicky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Safari Souls wrote a review Mar 2022
Barcelona, Spain58 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Safari in the Mara is always special particularly when there is an occasion to celebrate. So with friends we decided to splash out a bit more than usual and stay at Angama. The view from 1900 feet above sea level is really stunning. The facilties including the tents are modern and not in keeping with the African Bush feel of other luxury camps. Very attentive staff who are always smiling and ready to assist. Check out the map room which is wonderful. The photo shop on site is very helpful for budding photographers. The selection of wines and spirits are excellent for an all inclusive package. However, the one biggest disappointment is the food. Plenty of it but apart from breakfast was really not consistent. At the rates charged you should not expect anything less than splendid for a place like this. Another dampner was the Bush dinner set out under a small foresty area that felt like a school outing and sundowners where all guests are herded together. These sorts of experiences should be exclusive to each party. If they can work on improving quality of the food and tailor the experiences without herding guests together, this would be a must visit location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Mitchell, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 7 Mar 2022
Dear Safarisouls, I was sorry to hear that you felt the lunch and dinner at Angama Mara was inconsistent, and that this warranted a 3 star review. Our 100% Kenyan team in the kitchen works exceptionally hard every day to deliver a variety of meals for all nationalities and dietary requirements, and we know that we are only judged on the plates that go out each and every day. We will take your feedback to heart, and look at how we can improve our consistency during the next training session which is in a couple of weeks. Regarding Angama's signature bush dinner in the forest, I'm sorry if we misread your desire to share experience with others, because while we appreciate that some guests prefer privacy and exclusivity, this meal is the single 'family-style' experience that we offer and is often an occasion when new relationships are formed amongst guests, reflecting on their safari days and finding common points of interest. Nevertheless, thank you for taking the time to share your experience - and if you are to return, I could recommend a stay at our new little Angama Safari Camp, an exclusive-use light-footprint tented camp located in the Triangle that sleeps just eight and which you would have all to yourself - with every meal cooked on the fire in front of you. Regards, Steve
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ANOUL wrote a review Jul 2022
Westminster, Maryland207 contributions94 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’d like to segment this review in terms of impact that Angama Mara had upon my wife and I. We expected great views, great food, great accommodations and great service, all of which we got in abundance. But our greatest discovery was how well Angama Mara supports the reality of maintaining a perfect ecosystem within the Triangle. They exert great influence in guaranteeing that a perfect natural balance exists where there is virtually no human influence or interference. Humans are there only as observers and ownership takes leadership in assuring that this happens in a pure and sustainable fashion.
Next, the success of any safari experience rests with the quality of your guide. Tito was our guide. Yes, he drove, but he was a botanist, biologist, photographer, tracker, avian expert, host and good friend. Those things coupled with his self confidence, intelligence and charismatic nature would stand him well in any corporate office in Manhattan. It seems that all of their guides were much like Tito.
Finally, the accommodations themselves. If you’re reading this you’ve already read many of the reviews posted next to mine. “Over the top” and “top drawer times two” is enough said. Add to that the perfect cocktail, the perfect wine, the perfect meal, all overseen by your butler and backed up by your tent manager, crosses every “t” and dots every “I”.
We’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Have no expectations. Relax. Enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steve Mitchell, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Dear Anoul, Thank you for sharing your experience at the lodge here, and allowing us to spoil you so. Tito is the consummate professional, and we are proud to have him on our team - but yes you are right, and we get just as many requests from repeat or referral guests to be guided by Douggy, or Sammy, or Moses, or Fred, or Jackson, or Alice, or Sophie, or Daniel, or Wilson or or or... In fact it's an absolute delight for us when reviews here are littered with names, as the team is unquestionably at the heart of great service, and one's experience as a guest. No doubt Tito will be pleased with your feedback, and I look forward to sharing it with him and the rest of the team. And we look forward to welcoming you back. Best, Steve
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sundancer47 wrote a review Jan 2022
Hampshire, United Kingdom153 contributions95 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights here in December and loved every minute of it!

First and most importantly, the view out over the Masai Mara just takes your breath away. Perched about 500ft above the plain, and right on the very edge of the escarpment, you can see for miles over the grassland of the Masai Mara, the Mara River and all the activity that's going on out there - elephants, giraffes, eagles etc. I don't believe that I would ever tire of that view.

In our room, which was also perched on the edge of the escarpment, the picture windows that formed one complete wall also provided the same view - whether you're in bed, showering, in the lovely great big bath or just sitting on the private deck enjoying the tranquility of this beautiful spot.

The staff and the service at the hotel are flawless; warm, helpful, friendly and engaging. Our guide went out of his way to look after us, and everything seemed to be personalised to make our stay as easy, as enjoyable and as memorable as possible.

And finally, the food was totally memorable. It was far better than we have ever had on a safari holiday before. The dishes were beautifully prepared and invariably served with a smile. What makes it even better is that most meals can be taken out on the decking with the Masai Mara right there in front of you. As a breakfast spot, it's hard to beat!

I don't normally write a review as starry-eyed as this, but this hotel would be hard to fault. It's not cheap, but as a place to experience the amazing wildlife of the Masai Mara, and Africa at its most beautiful, it would be hard to beat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicky Fitzgerald, Owner at Angama Mara
Responded 11 Jan 2022
The Angama family couldn't be more delighted that you described your wonderful review as 'starry-eyed'. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I noticed that you are a prolific reviewer and this makes the one you wrote on us all the more special. The chefs in particular were tickled pink by your comments about the food you enjoyed during your stay. I am so proud of this fully Kenyan team in our kitchens - they love feeding our guests and I believe that is the magic ingredient. Our heartfelt thanks and wishing you a year ahead filled with many travel adventures Warm regards Nicky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Kate Boyd
Johannesburg, South Africa6 contributions
Dear Kristi. I'm so sorry for the delay in answering this question, as I hadn't seen it. Angama caters for many different dietary requirements, and yes, there are plenty of gluten-free options available which Evans and his team are adept and experienced in producing. Hope you have what you need to finalize your trip, if in any further doubt please write to us at the email address listed. Best, Steve (CEO & Co-Founder)
Answer from Helen A
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom37 contributions7 helpful votes
It’s free to all guests staying at Angama Mara
Tyler L asked a question Jan 2022
4 contributions
Is the lobby open air or enclosed?
Answer from Sundancer47
Hampshire, United Kingdom153 contributions95 helpful votes
There really isn't a lobby as such. As we arrived, we met the manager at one end of the dining room, which is pretty much open anyway, except in the rain, and from there we moved out onto the large decked sitting and dining area where all the introductions and briefings were conducted in the fresh air. The only problem is that the view from here over the Masai Mara is so fabulous that it's really not that easy to concentrate!
Answer from NickyFitzKenya
Johannesburg, South Africa46 contributions58 helpful votes
Hello from Angama We are delighted you are coming to stay with us next and so look forward to welcoming you to the beautiful Mara. The response above from Charlie is pitch perfect - who needs a marketing team when your guests do it for you? Thanks so much for coming to stay with us Charlie and for jumping in with an answer. There certainly is a good chance you may see a crossing in October but those pesky migrating animals have a program all of their own - most unpredictable. But of what I can assure you is that you will not be disappointed by your game viewing experience - the Mara never fails to deliver. We will do all we can (cookies, marshmallows) to keep the wildebeest in Kenya in time for your arrival. So looking forward to hosting you here at Angama Warm regards Nicky Fitzgerald Owner
Answer from NickyFitzKenya
Johannesburg, South Africa46 contributions58 helpful votes
Hi dear Ezekiel Please could you be so kind as to send your request via the Enquiry page on our website. Many thanks
WVULaw2004 wrote a tip May 2024
Morgantown, West Virginia6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even when full, I don't think this lodge would feel crowded, and you would still receive personalized attention. "
Read full review
Caroline Bolivar wrote a tip Apr 2024
Dominical, Costa Rica179 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Start early to see some rare sights without crowds - you can sleep at home! Buy the best binoculars !!! Stay 5-6 days ... its never enough!"
Read full review
Jbex wrote a tip Dec 2023
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dress for the weather and the bugs. We brought bug jackets from Amazon and hats with mosquitoe netting. Pack lights. They do laundry!"
Read full review
akirschner wrote a tip Nov 2023
San Francisco, California28 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t overpack; there’s (free) laundry services. Stop by the shop early in your stay; the Maasai women can make you a custom piece."
Read full review
Carolyn M wrote a tip Oct 2023
Waltham, Massachusetts9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are so many options of things to do, make sure you talk with your butler so you don’t miss out or run out of time! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maasai Mara National Reserve area.
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceMaasai Mara National Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ANGAMA MARA - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Angama Mara
What are some of the property amenities at Angama Mara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Angama Mara?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a desk, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Angama Mara?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Angama Mara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Angama Mara have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Angama Mara offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Angama Mara have airport transportation?
Yes, Angama Mara offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Angama Mara?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Is Angama Mara accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Maasai Mara National Reserve HotelsMaasai Mara National Reserve Hotel DealsHotels near Angama Mara
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire