We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel)

Show Prices
#60 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel)
See the most recent reviews
Showing 322: English reviews
Denmark
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is newly renovated and is now part of shangri-la, even though the shangri la name doesn't appear anywhere at the hotel, but the reception claims it is Hotel Jen Shangri-La which is sane name on the website. My family and I stayed fir two nights, we got an upgrade upon check in and a extra bed which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_travel
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear JOhn_travel Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you appreciate the easy access from hotel to downtown locations and airport. Yes, there are more than 20 restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the hotel and we also provide daily shuttle bus which brings you to the main city centre during different times of the day. We...

UK
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Hotel room on the smallish side - but was clean and modern. Using hotel key card to operate lift had varying levels of success to get it to work. Restaurant upstairs was fabulous - definitely recommend. Noisy building work on site next to hotel wasn't great late at night. Reasonably close to airport, but not great location to explore sights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jelly77
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear jelly77 Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback following your recent stay. We apologies for the inconvenience created while operating the lift and will most certainly get it resolved. However it come as a surprise to us about the noisy work you had highlighted as no construction work are allowed in the late night, therefore any...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed 3 nights and I had no complaints. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very helpful. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choices and food was very fresh as much of it was being made right in front of you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithandhelen3
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear keithandhelen3 Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing. We are delighted to know that you are satisfied with the stay in general. Sincerely appreciate you spending time making comments for us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards Alan

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We arrived at midnight and very heavy desk person, without courtesy. In 2 consecutive days did not clean the room, we had to call when we got tired to clean up and staff bothered. In the hotel restaurant at dinner came a fly on the food ... the hotel is far from everything ... generally lousy service, not recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noris01
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Noris01 Thank you very much for taking time to share your stay experience, however I was concerned to read of the problems you experienced whilst here. We will review the incident with the team so to understand what happened and ensure that suitable training for our team takes place to prevent a repeat. This must have been most inconvenient...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

i stayed there 4 days. i enjoyed my time in the hotel. the restaurant for breaksfast is very good with a lot of different options for different tastes, the hotel is very clean, organized and new. i stayed in the 21th floor and it has a great view the only thing that i didnt like much is that is far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jabs2013
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Jabs2013 Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay. It is so encouraging for our team to hear such positive comments like yours. The hotel do provide complimentary daily shuttle services to Beijing's major shopping centre and city interests; furthermore, the subway is located within 20 minutes walking distance from the hotel. All...

pune
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed for 2 nights as a part of group..this hotel is generally ok with comfortable rooms and amenities. The access to the elevators with room keys often posed problems and did not work many times. Buffet breakfast was good but as a large group was staying there was rush at all counters and replenishment was not in time. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shankyt
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear shankyt Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with the TripAdvisor community following your recent stay. We had worked on your comments pertaining to the lift access. Our apologies for the inconvenience this may had caused during your stay with us. Hope this experience will not deter you from giving us another chance on a...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 22 September 2016

As a preface I stayed here because my flight was cancelled and this is the airline the hotel chose. I'm not sure if the bad customer service was representative of the hotel normally, or if it was just due to the large number of sudden guests. So it's close to the airport, but a bit isolated. There's not really any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cstravel2016
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear cstravel2016 Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your last stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback although we were concerned to read about your experiences with our in room dining. I have asked our Food and Beverage Manager to investigate the events you describe to understand exactly what took place and how...

Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Nice Big rooms, very comfy bed. Evening buffet in Restaurant very good. 20 mins walk to nearest metro station, very safe to use. Wifi is good too - for local shopping bargains, i recommend Pearl Market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JesperFRB
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear JesperFRB Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have a good time in our cafe. We had specially arranged the daily shuttle service to cover the Pearl Market as it gives our guests the best shopping bargains there. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to...

Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I like this hotel. Tall entrance hall and reception. Warm welcome from all staff . Friendly and sincere. Restaurant upstairs Super but buffet dinner was good value and a good selection. Gym has all you needed and poll looked clean. Only downside a little out of town. About a hour drive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deryl G
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Deryl G Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Jen Upper East, Beijing. We are delighted you had an excellent stay with us and very much enjoyed our restaurants. To get to town, we do provide complimentary shuttle services to Beijing's major shopping centre and city interests; also the subway is located about 15 minutes walking...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Clean and easy to get to. Rooms are great. Clean and modern Restaurant and Buffet was great. Staff were friendly. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day. Gym and pool were well maintained. Not your usual basic hotel gym. This has the full kit. Sauna included!! Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William Z
Alan_Ang_Ng, General Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel), responded to this review

Dear William Z Thank you for your kind note on tripadvisor.com We are very much honored to have you staying with us. We are much flattered also to know about all your praises in regards to our facilities and services. We do indeed invest a lot of time and effort to ensure our facilities are well maintained for all our...

322 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Jiuxianqiao
Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
#134 of 6,442 in Beijing
441 reviews
Jiuxianqiao
East Beijing
East Beijing
#16 of 6,442 in Beijing
463 reviews
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#53 of 6,442 in Beijing
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wangjing
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
#93 of 6,442 in Beijing
330 reviews
Yansha
Beijing Marriott Hotel Northeast
Jiuxianqiao
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Beijing
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Beijing
#490 of 6,442 in Beijing
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel) staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing(A Shangri-La Hotel) staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably no bad rooms, as it's located back from the street. So no traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles dwdawg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“View at rear.”
 of 5 bubbles 141derylg, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room as high as possible (24th floor) in the East Tower facing the canal/park.”
 of 5 bubbles WolframKo87, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 11th floor - no outside noise...very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles pam28, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“try to get on the 27th floor”
 of 5 bubbles kcaldwell91, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5