We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Presidente

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Presidente
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Welland, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I can't for the life of me understand the negativity expressed by the writers included here, maybe they were born with a silver spoon somewhere .....This is a return visit and I know others who feel as I...... Fabulous, See you in April for Easter,\....Gracias

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 377josephas
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Very centrally located, you could walk to the whole centre. This is a pretty nice hotel; in an old building. The internet is shaky though, on and off. But all in all, for a mid range prize hotel I can recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuRut
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Shamelessly promotes itself as a 4-star hotel with 5-star service. More like a 2-star hotel by U.S. standards. May have had its heyday in the 1970s. No "colonial" charm here, just poorly kept up. Room was dirty in places, some furniture & carpet worn out, bathroom ceiling buckling and smells of tobacco, and the "grand hotel" entrance was not inviting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leticia L
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The suites are excellent and roomy! We had one room for four people and one room for three! They were both exactly the same type of room in the main bedroom smaller bedroom with two bathrooms! They seem to cater to him larger family! The restaurant bar and breakfast area is large and well staffed! Overall it was a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rocky S
Roeselare, Belgium
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The hotel is a nine storey building very impressive. During our visit Cuenca is working on their tram lines around the city, the street of these hotel is affected by road construction (is a pity) but there were two entrance one at the back. The main entrance is facing to the road where the work of tram lines, but still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We had room 702 quite good for the view on the 7th floor PRO : - located in the center - breakfast good, buffet - WiFi works good - reasonable price To CONSIDER: - Old hotel, especially the bathroom - room 702 close to the elevator, bit noisy Conclusion: Considerig price and location if you don't expect too much about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Passstill
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Nice hotel and very nice services...old, renovated lobby and some of the rooms. . but the hotel must be made of paper mache. The noise inside and outside vibrates throughout the hotel. The elevators ( which we are not even close to) are the worst... all night or maybe its a compressor, but you hear it all night long. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovliladi
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

You can tell the hotel was recently renovated but only partially and mainly on the reception area. Rooms, restrooms, doors and floors are old. The hot water is not hot at all. Breakfast just so so and you can hear in the rooms a lot of noise from outside. Besides the hotel appareance, the front desk personnel was very kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
Daniel R, Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review

Dear Juan, Thank you for the review. We will do our best to improve and actually we have in mind a renovation of some of our rooms during this year. The noise from outside you mentioned is due to the construction of the tranvia which will be finished during the next few weeks. We are looking forward to see you...

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during Holy Week. The hotel is very old...the floors are covered in old rugs and the lift takes very long between each floor. When we wanted to take a shower there was no hot water...however service was very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana C H
Daniel R, Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review

Dear Ana Thank you for the review. We will do our best to improve and actually we have in mind a renovation of some of our rooms during this year. Nice to hear that you had a good experience with our staff. Best regards.

PATERSON
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

It looks better in pictures, good location but the Hotel staff is not customer friendly, we had a girl knocked on our door and offered us some desserts but she stated "only 1 per person" they were so good I asked for more she said no. Old keyhole locks, no safe in the rooms, loud street construction, and a loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FABRICIO S
Daniel R, Manager at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review

Dear Fabricio Thank you for the review. Actually half of our rooms are recently renovated with new bed linen, carpets or wooden floor. It might be that you got a room which will be refreshed this year and it wasn't in the same conditions as the pictures show. Anyway we hope that you had a pleasant stay and hope to...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel El Conquistador
Hotel El Conquistador
#27 of 57 in Cuenca
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#20 of 57 in Cuenca
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 57 in Cuenca
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 57 in Cuenca
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#3 of 57 in Cuenca
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal La Posada Cuencana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the bustling colonial center of Cuenca, Ecuador - minutes from the airport and within walking distance of restaurants, museums, and shops, the 70-room Hotel Presidente is the place to stay. Whether you want to tour around the city and its surroundings or have an important business meeting to attend or host, Hotel Presidente is the ideal base of operations. If service, comfort, and convenience are important to you, look no further than Hotel Presidente. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Gran Colombia 6-59 Btwn Presidente Borrero & Hno. Miguel, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Price Range: £38 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Presidente staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Presidente staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Helpful staff, Quiet, Central Location, New City Transportation medium just outside door.....”
 of 5 bubbles 377josephas, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Backside room has beautiful views”
  • Hotel Presidente
  • Hotel Presidente
  • Hotel Presidente
  • Hotel Presidente
 of 5 bubbles 629belindab, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you need your sleep, this is not the place to come to. AND ask for a room away from the school !”
 of 5 bubbles lovliladi, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“My quiet room was on 7th floor along Gran Columbia. School yard on the opposite side of the hotel. Great views in rooms; windows open up.”
  • Bed & Windows (which open up)
 of 5 bubbles euniceindallas, 19 Dec 2015 | Read review
“High floors help you enjoy Cuenca's skyline, sunsets, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 305donaldc, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay