We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wild Rover Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Wild Rover Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
san jose
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked two nights in a private room about a month before my stay, only to arrive and find out they gave away my reservation! At first reception said I did not reconfirm my reservation. This was not true; about a month before my reservation Wild Rover sent me an email confirming my reservation and requesting I reconfirm. I immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank josh c
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Josh, We would like to thank you for your review and take a moment to respond. Firstly we would like to apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. It is never our intentions to upset our guests however at times our strict confirmation policy, which we must all abide by, can cause some frustrations. Due to the fact so... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms where comfortable and Clean. The bathrooms where always Clean. Especially our bartender Mario made a very good job! We didn't even need to go to the travel agency because every Information and contact we needed we recieved at the bar while having a drink ;) Good place to arrive and relocate!

Helpful?
Thank JKjun
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jkjun, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel Arequipa and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic place! Very clean, good wifi and hot water. The bar is so much fun too! The staff is very friendly too. Mario, one of the staff up front, showed us around and gave us tons of great tips about the city. Would definately stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Corey D
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Corey, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel Arequipa and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Wild Rover and it was fun; decided to extend our stay because we loved it that much. The staff was really helpful , especially Mario; he was great, he gave us tips on where to go out etc and the parties were the best. Definitely can recommend staying here!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Lucy, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel Arequipa and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as... More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

After traveling South America for 3 months, this hostel was by far the best I have stayed at. From the amazing staff and management at reception and the bar, to the incredible food made in the kitchen, this place has it all. The facilities were on point and sitting by the pool during the day just made for a perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian K
Management response:

Dear Seb, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel Arequipa and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

One of the best party hostels i`ve ever been , good music and great bar staff and the food its amazing, ask for Pipa its the bar manager, bar closes at one but you can always go after party with the staff

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel Arequipa and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Definitely a party hostel, with a good vibe. Although if you need an early start for the Colca Canyon take ear plugs as the music plays to the early hours. They have a "make up room" with hair driers and straighteners ..... with a large mirror. Friendly staff to help with local info.

Helpful?
Thank Rocky R
Management response:

Dear Rocky, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel Arequipa and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The firs day I arrived at the hostel I thougth it seemed super cool as there is a swimming pool, young people, party area... but every day got worst & worst!!! There are too many rules and that doesn't make you to be relax & comfortable! It's not nice to be in a place where it seems you are in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrychica
Management response:

Dear Patrychica, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hostel. Your input, and the feedback from all our guest is important to us as we always want guest expectations to be met during their stay. Per your comments, we are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and have seriously taken all your feedback... More 

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights for Arequipa's day and I'm very proud to say that it was the best weekend of the year so far!! No regrets at all, amazing food, day and night bar, the parties that the hostel throws are just incredible. 1000% recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank ChristianO993
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I was nervous to stay here as I'd heard it's a party hostel, but decided to book it due to the good location and the fact that you could 'upgrade' to a female dorm. I arrived at 5 am and was allowed to go straight to the room (the reason it's earned a star along with the fact the wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky C

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.3 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 92 in Arequipa
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
#6 of 160 in Arequipa
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 160 in Arequipa
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel
Le Foyer Hostel
#7 of 160 in Arequipa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Wild Rover Backpackers

Address: Calle Ugarte 111, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wild Rover Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wild Rover Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wild Rover Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Skip the 22 bed dorm if you seriously want to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Seikkailija-Hemuli, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The big dorm over the bar is really noisy at night”
 of 5 bubbles marieevej2014, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“think about how many persons you want in your room!”
 of 5 bubbles D1254ZGannaf, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“doesn't have good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 627diogot, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Dorm rooms can be quite noisy with people constantly coming and going. If you like your privacy, I wouldn't recommend them.”
 of 5 bubbles klemmon10, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay