We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Viajero Downtown Montevideo

Save
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (38)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good37%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
46
33
27
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
33
27
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet policya great place to meetearly nightnice pationoisy at nightprivate roomcool placedowntown montevideosouth americaclean roomsair conditioninga great staywould stay here againold buildinglockerssheetscomputers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. WiFi wasn’t great but there are two computers which work well enough. Bit of a trek from the main bus station but with maps you can do it in half an hour or so. Very good location close to the old...More

Thank travellingjacko
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location. Nice place to meet people. Staff is great and always willing to help... Facilities not so good. Free breakfast good. Internet working only in the meeting room (not working in the rooms)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tânia A
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days. Really cool hostel with lots of space in the lobby, bar and patio. There are bikes to rent. Live music at the weekend. They organize tours etc But the best is the staff. It's like staying with friends...More

Thank Simon C
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

I loved my stay here - the staff and other guests were friendly and laidback. It's a beautiful building with a great bar/hangout area. I didn't have any issues with noise as I was staying upstairs, but I can see how people downstairs might have...More

Thank Lucy S
Response from El Viajero H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Viajero Downtown MontevideoResponded 2 March 2018

Thanks a lot for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at El Viajero, and we hope to have you again at our Hostels.

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

If you enter the Hostel you have everywhere light and a nice patio. The 4 bed room was very dark and small.The room was in front of the reception and I couldn't sleep as long as I wanted because of music and talking. Also there...More

Thank el-blanco-loco
Response from El Viajero H, Public Relations Manager at El Viajero Downtown MontevideoResponded 4 December 2017

Hi, thank you for your comments, we will improve about that to be better.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Montevideo
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (38)
Family and Play Areas (33)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from El Viajero Downtown Montevideo staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Door number 11 ;-)"
Read review
"Private room"
Read review
"Private rooms"
Read review
"Rooms upstairs have windows/skylights vs. downstairs rooms with no windows"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing