We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tryp Montevideo Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tryp Montevideo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Start your review of Tryp Montevideo Hotel
 Click to rate
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night before boarding the ferry back to Buenos Aires and pleased we did. A great welcome, early check in and very comfortable room with a nice view over the golf course. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and the surrounding area was pleasant to walk around. Easy taxi ride to get to downtown if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good experience. I...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Can't sleep. There's a party at the hotel, very loud. I booked this hotel on business, I really can't believe it. The response from the concierge was lousy. They do nothing. The shower doesn't keep the temperature. And the room is full of mosquitos. The minibar is terrible. The view is horrific. Can't see anything good really!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pachengue
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations and I am also very surprised with some of your comments. Since I can't see...

Nootdorp, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I have been visiting this hotel since 2000. Very well located near the ramblas and the shopping centre After all these I must say that despite of the nice location the hotel needs urgent renovation. Furniture is outdated and especially the shower and sanitary need to be changed. Everything is old and not really working as it should be. Maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddyjager
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your visits to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve. I am sorry to hear that you found some things updated. We have just...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Used to be the Melia Hotel. Located two blocks from the Mall, in the Punta Carretas area of Montevideo. it's open lobby is updated and modernly appointed with a large inviting sitting area to the left and a small bar to the right with plenty of seating for a morning coffee or a drink before bed. the staff is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penta-Seattle
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good experience. I...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 22 June 2016

This is my favorite hotel in MVD adjoining the golf course. I have stayed here earlier and every time it gets better. Its very close to the shopping mall. the rooms are cosy and quite. I am sure the next time I stay here as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Globe-Trotter-Sach
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel once again during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good...

St Louis, MO
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Staff is quite attentive and friendly. Welcome drink is media/media which was a nice surprise. Bed - very comfortable, room is spacious and good lighting for work. Wifi perfect. Desk chair - arm is weak and wobbly and this is where attention and maintenance is needed. Bath - all worked but a few leaks of shower door; few dark spots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JES006
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good experience. In...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Room was nice and large, with comfy bed and plenty of silence. Great to relax after a day of sightseeing in the city. Only downside in my opinion was the tired (and relatively small) bathroom. Breakfast was good but not spectacular. Situated in Punta Carretas, it's hard to beat this hotel's location. There are some bars and restaurants nearby and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elderc
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elder, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good experience. I...

Reviewed 22 January 2016

Located right near Punta Carretas shopping and the Golf Club I was within easy walking distance to everything including the Rambla. My large room had a view of the golf course. Upstairs I could lounge with a view of the river and surrounding city. I learned what a media-media was when offered a free drink at the bar as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K G
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good experience. I...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Came here 2½ years ago on business and found it to be an excellent choice. Just spent 3 nights here again and it didn't disappoint. Bedroom was comfortable and clean, the bar is well stocked and open to a good hour, the staff are very pleasant, and the location is great for local restaurants and not too far by taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickeyModule
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Module, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good experience....

Reviewed 15 December 2015

A new hotel , small with all the facilities according to the standars , very neat and clean, and excellent location, close to the shopping mal, great service , excellent breakfast. Many restaurants around to choose from, shops, stores and cafes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo W
TrypMontevideo, Director General at Tryp Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Montevideo Hotel during your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other visitors. Our guests comments are our most valuable tool in order to achieve the excellence you deserve and I am glad to hear that you had a good experience. I...

375 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Lujo 906 (55)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard 1004 (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala di Volpe Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bit Design Hotel
Bit Design Hotel
#4 of 85 in Montevideo
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Suites
My Suites
#5 of 85 in Montevideo
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Montevideo Punta Carretas
0.3 mi away
Own Montevideo
Own Montevideo
#10 of 85 in Montevideo
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Golf Hotel
Regency Golf Hotel
#26 of 85 in Montevideo
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the residential and commercial centre of Punta Carretas, either for pleasure or business tourism, Tryp Montevideo is strategically close to downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tryp Montevideo Hotel

Address: Dr.Hector Miranda 2361 | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11308, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Price Range: £81 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Montevideo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tryp Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
Sol Melia Montevideo
Montevideo Sol Melia
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#14 Business Hotel in Montevideo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tryp Montevideo Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tryp Montevideo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I liked being on the 8th floor”
 of 5 bubbles 826kg, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors offer view of the water”
 of 5 bubbles Rootie429, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I was on the 7th floor and have no complaints at all.”
 of 5 bubbles EricA186, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for rooms on the upper floor, overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles 339cristobalv, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“we stayed on 704, great view, very quality bed, calm and quiet (has a noise of water running from other apartments once in a while, but not annoying at all and this must be in all the rooms). Very good space to accommodate clothes and everything.”
 of 5 bubbles paulosW6600EE, 19 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5