We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Islander Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$144*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$149*
US$144*
US$149*
US$149*
US$144*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Islander Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Islander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Abbotsford
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We were taken to the restaurant by some local friends. The food was pretty authentic to the island...I think we went on a Friday night. We had cheap drinks at the hoola bar and ate the buffet dinner in the restaurant. We were all stuffed! Then, they had a dance, drum and fire show around the pool. These dancers were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sony72
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals, cheap drinks at the Hula Bar and the cultural show around the pool. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Reviewed 22 October 2015

We went to Islander for dinner last week Thursday and they were hosting the Woman of the Month that night. It was a busy night - but the staffs were very attentive. We got to be a part of this celebration and it was lovely. Our meal was top notch. Best steak I've had in a long time. The atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chardanay1
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to host the monthly Woman of the Month program to recognise Cook Islands women who make outstanding contributions to our country. It is only fitting that we offer a great value meal deal for the families that support this worthy cause. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We went here for a birthday dinner on a Thursday evening. As so often happens with groups, there were only 8 of us, you simply receive poorer service overall. The meals came out all at different times, most of them barely warm as they seemed not to be able to manage cooking times at all well. Some of us had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevinfrancis65
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. A table of 8 is quite manageable, however, if the restaurant is full, then service timing would be stretched and delayed. Regardless, our wait staff should have kept you in the loop about potential kitchen delays. We continue our service training programs to ensure issues like...

Cronulla, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We stopped in at The Islander Hotel for lunch one day, it's a great spot on the beach and we were really surprised with how good the food was. We had the Ika Mata and the grilled prawn salad and both were great, highly recommend. Drinks at the happy hour bar are also $3.50. Good afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bellesd2015
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. Kia Manuia.

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Within walking distance (literally 5 minutes) of Rarotonga International Airport. Clean, neat, Island-laid-back style. Instant relaxation after long flights. On-beach bar and poolside dining. Roomy, spaceous 'family' bedroom suitable for two business travellers, with ocean view. Wifi and phone, fridge, electric jug and comfortable beds. Clean but needing a refurb. Staff very friendly and knowledeable. Rental agents for motor scooters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slamdunk0810
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We will be upgrading & refurbishing early 2017. The new look rooms and hotel will be fantastic. We hope to see you and your friends again. Kia Manuia.

Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

I really should have read more reviews about this property it wasn't suitable for our infant, the Hula bar was always full Mostly of what seemed liked locals kind of made us feel uncomfortable and the swimming pool being right in the middle Of the dining are made us too shy to swim In front of diners. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harmonyandavahntay
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant. Our local patrons are very friendly and engaging and will share many fascinating stories about their islands. We hope you return to holiday in the beautiful Cook Islands and stay at one of...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We chose this hotel’s dinner and cultural show because they advertised it on a voucher for $49 each which is much cheaper than most of the other cultural shows around the island. There is another hotel that does a show and meal inexpensively but their reviews are terrible. We thoroughly enjoyed this evening. It was well organised, the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank journeyexpressions
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your Tuesday Island Night Buffet & Dynamic Cultural Show for $49 adults & $20 children under 12yrs. Kia Manuia.

Reviewed 9 September 2015

Our hosts dropped us off here prior to our flight to Aitutaki and our flight home. The restaurant food is okay, the pizza is decent but not fantastic. The fish was good. The happy hour they advertise is good only at the bar area which includes a few seats at the bar, picnic tables as well as lounge chairs. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen441985
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We will continue to improve our pizzas by giving patrons more options on the amount of cheese topping provided; as well as fillings etc. We are pleased to read that your enjoyed your fish meal option. We hope you return to holiday in the beautiful Cook...

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 September 2015

This place is directly across the road from the airport - it is literally a two minute walk so no need to buy into the $30 'airport transfer' service. It seems like a converted backpackers - the rooms are basic and amenities somewhat sporadic (the first day the wifi network was down, the next day no running water...). All the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna S
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Return airport transfers are $15pp. Wifi ocassionally drops out - we have a monopoly supplier. Water shortages have been commonplace this year - Rarotonga is suffering a drought. We truck in water when the water mains run dry. We hope you return to holiday in the...

San Diego, CA
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I discovered this hotel actually on the Rarotonga Airport website and learned that they had day use rooms. We had 8 hours to kill between flights, and after our 10-hour flight from LAX, needed to rest, eat, and grab a shower. We walked over from the airport with our bags (about a 5 minute walk). They were full, but managed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HI_bOund_SD
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We will be removing all louvered windows and installing sound proof glass - the result should be peace and quiet in all our guest rooms. We will also upgrade and refurbish our rooms early 2017. Kia Manuia.

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
201 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: £104 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Islander Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Islander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here”
carolyno458, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Furthest room may be better for noise levels”
joshandphoebe, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are close to the pool and dining areas.”
Gralove78, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“our room was right near the hula bar and we didnt have any problem with the noise.”
judychittawaybay, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1-5 are quite close to the entrance where the public toilets are.”
876ramonam, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$144* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$149
Orbitz.comUS$144
TravelocityUS$144
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates