We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
Mircea Vulcanescu 114 Corp A, Bucharest 10818 Romania
eDreams
Priceline
StayForLong
Booking.com
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (14)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#12 of 370 Speciality lodging in Bucharest
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With a 24hr reception, centrally located and only a 7 minute walk from Gara de Nord train station, we at Friends Hostel are here to ensure that you get the most out of our lovely city. We make it our mission to provide our guest with the all the tools necessary to discover the hidden gem that is our home, with free maps, directions and insightful advice on anything and everything Bucharest and Romania. As we are located close to the student area and provide some of the best rates in town, keeping to that all important budget should be easy as you discover the nearby cheap bars (€1.20 Beers), restaurants (€2.20 Lunch menu with traditional food), clubs and the city's coolest attractions all within walking distance. Come see and feel the charm of our friendly house, recently renovated to ensure you feel right at home. Chill in our lounge and interact with other travelers, play games or even put a movie on the cinema projector and relax. We also boast a spacious kitchen with everything you need to whip up something delicious, hot showers, free WIFI, towels, air-conditioned rooms, computers, lockers in the rooms, coffee and tea all day. Please note, very important: *Payment accepted in cash & local currency (lei= ron =Romanian currency) *check-in 1:00 p.M. *Check-out 11:00 a.M
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Darts
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Ironing service
Street parking
Wifi
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Romanian

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
108Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
31Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
115Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 36
  • 10
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Janthe wrote a review Oct 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions
This was one of the most crappiest hostels I've been. Showers were dirty, the bed was old and there is not much of an atmosphere going on. The staff who works there are all in a "work-away" kind of system, they're nice but no one really has a responsibility for the hostel. I was traveling by myself as a female and there were almost only old man staying in the dorms which made it not a comfortable vibe. Nonetheless 100 euro in cash was stolen from me while I was going to the toilet quickly just before I left and left my bag on my bed. Literally the men were already staring at me weirdly and after I found out money was stolen from me I would not say it was a comfortable or safe environment. Also it is quite far from the old town in a bit of sketchy area. I only chose it because it was close to the train station but that was literally the one and only positive thing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera Dragoi, Owner at Friends Hostel
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you for your feedback! According to law, we cannot and neither consider to place cameras in the rooms, the only way to protect your money or other valuables inside the rooms in shared facilities is to place them in the lockers provided in the room or to keep them with you. The people that were in the room were not reported by anybody else, male or female and they didn't disturb us either in some way. We generally don't allow in the hostel people that created problems in our hostel or elsewhere when we have this information. But also, we don't discriminate people based on age, as long as they look and smell decent and don't show signs of obvious weirdness (as everybody else), although is true, we cannot have in mind everyone's definition of weirdness. :) We are very sorry for the situation you reported, it is however impossible for us to suspect anyone in that room, but it is a good occasion to underline that the rule of a dorm is to take care of your valuables at all times. Especially if you feel someone is weird.. although, most of the times the nicest people could be the suspects. Regarding the showers, we do clean them every day, sometimes however is enough to have just one person showering before you and leaving the shower quite unpleasant and we may not have the chance to see it before someone else is going to use it again. Also, our beds are in good condition and all the pillows and sheets will be replaced shortly.
Read more
Sageyboy1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom114 contributions41 helpful votes
A few of us stayed in the hostel. Small and basic, does the job. The man and woman at reception were very friendly and helpful, we had a friend who was injured and needed a bed for the day after we checked out, they were happy to let us use the bed without charge. Our room was clean and tidy. Nice chill out area. Bathrooms were fine. Good kitchen area. Really cheap so couldn’t knock it really. I’d stay again. Location is a little out the way from the centre but we just hired the line scooters so it wasn’t an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera Dragoi, Owner at Friends Hostel
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you!
Read more
Annie Ann wrote a review Sept 2019
1 contribution
If your idea of fun is staying far out of the city in a dingy hostel that is basically a “workaway” scheme then go for it. The utter look of delight on the 15 men’s faces when a female walked in genuinely made me gag, as did their attempts at hounding her like starving chickens fighting over the past piece of corn. The hostel doesn’t have a bad atmosphere, it has absolutely no atmosphere as everyone there looks, acts and feels like escaped convicts. Only saving grace is the one English dude working there that actually bothers to engage in a conversation and not stare bleakly into their phones. I think staying here gave me depression. A park bench would have been more fun.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
bani4ka wrote a review Sept 2019
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates8 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in this hostel as I arrived very early morning from the airport and it was one of the few that offered check in at this hour. The host was really nice and helpful and the location was good as it's near the train station and not so far from airport. It was clean and comfortable and not over crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera D, Manager at Friends Hostel
Responded 7 Sept 2019
Thank you! See you next time!
Read more
Adam P wrote a review Jul 2019
11 contributions
The staff were helpful but it didn't have much of an atmosphere. Our room was quite cramped and dark, and although there were 8 people in our room, no-one really talked to each other very much so not really a friendly vibe. But it did the job as a place to stay for a couple of nights so not too bad.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RomaniaBucharest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Friends Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Friends Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Opera Națională București (Bucharest National Opera House) (0.5 miles), National Military Museum Bucharest (Muzeul Militar Național) (0.2 miles), and Grădina Botanică Dimitrie Brândza (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Friends Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Friends Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Friends Hostel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Friends Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include ALIOLI, Old Kitchen, and Grivita Pub & Grill.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Friends Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Friends Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stavropoleos Monastery (1.4 miles), Piața Revoluției (1.2 miles), and Manuc's Inn (Hanul lui Manuc) (1.6 miles).