We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Friends Hostel

Mircea Vulcanescu 114 Corp A, Bucharest 10818 Romania
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 45 hostels in Bucharest
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With a 24hr reception, centrally located and only a 7 minute walk from Gara de Nord train station, we at Friends Hostel are here to ensure that you get the most out of our lovely city. We make it our mission to provide our guest with the all the tools necessary to discover the hidden gem that is our home, with free maps, directions and insightful advice on anything and everything Bucharest and Romania. As we are located close to the student area and provide some of the best rates in town, keeping to that all important budget should be easy as you discover the nearby cheap bars (€1.20 Beers), restaurants (€2.20 Lunch menu with traditional food), clubs and the city's coolest attractions all within walking distance. Come see and feel the charm of our friendly house, recently renovated to ensure you feel right at home. Chill in our lounge and interact with other travelers, play games or even put a movie on the cinema projector and relax. We also boast a spacious kitchen with everything you need to whip up something delicious, hot showers, free WIFI, towels, air-conditioned rooms, computers, lockers in the rooms, coffee and tea all day. Please note, very important: *Payment accepted in cash & local currency (lei= ron =Romanian currency) *check-in 1:00 p.M. *Check-out 11:00 a.M
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Darts
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Ironing service
Street parking
Wifi
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Romanian

Location

Mircea Vulcanescu 114 Corp A, Bucharest 10818 Romania
Friends Hostel
118Reviews0Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 36
  • 12
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Grizinator wrote a review Sept 2023
Montreal, Canada251 contributions171 helpful votes
I stayed here for one night recently when I was travelling solo in Romania. I selected this hostel because of its proximity to the train station (15 minute walk). A fairly standard hostel, nothing to get overly excited about, though to be fair, I only used this place to sleep, shower and store my bag. A few pros and cons regarding my visit: Pros: Room and bathrooms were clean. Plenty of plugs by each bunk. Staff was friendly and informative. Four friendly cats live here (but are banned from the rooms for those of us who are allergic). Con: Quite loud, had trouble sleeping even with earplugs. Despite downstairs bathroom being spacious, it seems I always waited for the toilet/shower. Bottom line, if I were passing through, I would stay here again, but it’s not something I’d go out of my way to do.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John W wrote a review May 2023
Jindabyne, Australia492 contributions135 helpful votes
Arriving in Bucharest by train around midnight, I chose this hostel for its proximity to Gara de Nord, and because the management kindly allowed me to check in after the midnight limit (for a small fee). I stayed two nights in a dormitory and each night I got woken by an alarm belonging to someone not in the room. No fault of the hostel, just inconsiderate guests, so please don't leave your phone with the alarm set. I didn't explore upstairs, but the common area in the basement has no comfortable seating and poor wifi reception. Three friendly cats live at the hostel, a blessing for deprived cat lovers, or a curse for those allergic to cats. Access to the hostel is by keypad code.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Janthe wrote a review Oct 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands3 contributions
This was one of the most crappiest hostels I've been. Showers were dirty, the bed was old and there is not much of an atmosphere going on. The staff who works there are all in a "work-away" kind of system, they're nice but no one really has a responsibility for the hostel. I was traveling by myself as a female and there were almost only old man staying in the dorms which made it not a comfortable vibe. Nonetheless 100 euro in cash was stolen from me while I was going to the toilet quickly just before I left and left my bag on my bed. Literally the men were already staring at me weirdly and after I found out money was stolen from me I would not say it was a comfortable or safe environment. Also it is quite far from the old town in a bit of sketchy area. I only chose it because it was close to the train station but that was literally the one and only positive thing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera Dragoi, Owner at Friends Hostel
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you for your feedback! According to law, we cannot and neither consider to place cameras in the rooms, the only way to protect your money or other valuables inside the rooms in shared facilities is to place them in the lockers provided in the room or to keep them with you. The people that were in the room were not reported by anybody else, male or female and they didn't disturb us either in some way. We generally don't allow in the hostel people that created problems in our hostel or elsewhere when we have this information. But also, we don't discriminate people based on age, as long as they look and smell decent and don't show signs of obvious weirdness (as everybody else), although is true, we cannot have in mind everyone's definition of weirdness. :) We are very sorry for the situation you reported, it is however impossible for us to suspect anyone in that room, but it is a good occasion to underline that the rule of a dorm is to take care of your valuables at all times. Especially if you feel someone is weird.. although, most of the times the nicest people could be the suspects. Regarding the showers, we do clean them every day, sometimes however is enough to have just one person showering before you and leaving the shower quite unpleasant and we may not have the chance to see it before someone else is going to use it again. Also, our beds are in good condition and all the pillows and sheets will be replaced shortly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sageyboy1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom114 contributions41 helpful votes
A few of us stayed in the hostel. Small and basic, does the job. The man and woman at reception were very friendly and helpful, we had a friend who was injured and needed a bed for the day after we checked out, they were happy to let us use the bed without charge. Our room was clean and tidy. Nice chill out area. Bathrooms were fine. Good kitchen area. Really cheap so couldn’t knock it really. I’d stay again. Location is a little out the way from the centre but we just hired the line scooters so it wasn’t an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera Dragoi, Owner at Friends Hostel
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Annie Ann wrote a review Sept 2019
1 contribution
If your idea of fun is staying far out of the city in a dingy hostel that is basically a “workaway” scheme then go for it. The utter look of delight on the 15 men’s faces when a female walked in genuinely made me gag, as did their attempts at hounding her like starving chickens fighting over the past piece of corn. The hostel doesn’t have a bad atmosphere, it has absolutely no atmosphere as everyone there looks, acts and feels like escaped convicts. Only saving grace is the one English dude working there that actually bothers to engage in a conversation and not stare bleakly into their phones. I think staying here gave me depression. A park bench would have been more fun.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
bani4ka wrote a review Sept 2019
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates8 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in this hostel as I arrived very early morning from the airport and it was one of the few that offered check in at this hour. The host was really nice and helpful and the location was good as it's near the train station and not so far from airport. It was clean and comfortable and not over crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera D, Manager at Friends Hostel
Responded 7 Sept 2019
Thank you! See you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adam P wrote a review Jul 2019
11 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff were helpful but it didn't have much of an atmosphere. Our room was quite cramped and dark, and although there were 8 people in our room, no-one really talked to each other very much so not really a friendly vibe. But it did the job as a place to stay for a couple of nights so not too bad.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
oliviaraski wrote a review Sept 2018
5 contributions
I stayed 5 nights at Friends Hostel. I was disappointed. It was not very clean hostel and there should be more bathrooms. The receptionist played music very loudly and that was annoying and disturbing. When we asked our money back after returning the keys (50 ron deposit) they didnt have it. They had only 100 ron bills. Other guests had smaller bills so they helped us. Without other guests help we wouldn’t get our money back. The location was okay and our room was spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera D, Manager at Friends Hostel
Responded 22 Oct 2018
We are sorry for any inconvenience, our receptionists are supposed to play some music, but for sure not during quiet hours. About the key deposit, I am sure it was just a situation of the moment, in any case it would not happen that our guests don't receive their money back for the key deposit. There are always solutions to change bigger bills, although, in general, we try to keep the key deposit money the way they were received from the guests. Also, most of our guests consider the hostel as being clean, we are sorry you had a different experience. Of course, there can be moments when it gets dirty, we always try to fix the situation as fast as we can.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MVM V wrote a review Sept 2018
Toronto, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
The Hostel cover the basics but is kept clean, staffs / volunteers friendly and is close to the train station, has Wi Fi connection and a kitchen, located in the basement. I used this hostel like a home base, left my suitcase and traveled with my backpack.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: rooms facing inside are quiter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jaryn N wrote a review Sept 2018
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I found an hostel for one night. Receptionist was very fine. Clean bathroom and toilets. Free wifi etc. Only my room was near the street so a lot of noise. I suggest to choose rooms on reception side if possible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Rooms on the reception side are quieter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bucharest area.
PRICE RANGE
£11 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RomaniaBucharest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FRIENDS HOSTEL - Updated 2024 Prices (Bucharest, Romania)

Frequently Asked Questions about Friends Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Friends Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Opera Națională București (0.5 miles), National Military Museum Bucharest (Muzeul Militar Național) (0.2 miles), and Grădina Botanică Dimitrie Brândza (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Friends Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Friends Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Friends Hostel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Friends Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burgeria Stirbei, Old Kitchen, and Grivita Pub & Grill.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Friends Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Friends Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stavropoleos Monastery (1.4 miles), Piața Revoluției (1.2 miles), and Manuc's Inn (Hanul lui Manuc) (1.6 miles).