We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jared Coffin House

Hotels.comUS$246*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Jared Coffin House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Jared Coffin House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here over a weekend and it was very relaxing. The staff was kind and our room was a bit small but still very clean and charming. We really enjoyed the history of the building yet still felt the comforts of home. We were able to rent bikes nearby and spent an entire day riding around the beautiful island....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank britt_m1234
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I came to Nantucket for the Daffodil Festival. We booked the Jared Coffin House w/out much knowledge re. what to expect. It was, to our surprise, just perfect. The location, right on the edge of downtown, could not have been more convenient. The front desk staff were among the most expert and accomodating I have encountered in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daisywho
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear Daisywho - we are glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Peabody, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

My friend and I decided to go to the daffodil festival and she recommended this hotel. The location was so perfect from the ferry to the shopping and finally to view the festival! Yes the hotel is on the older side but it still felt updated. I think for us the best part is the amazing service the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy P
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear Kathy P - I will be sure to pass along your comment regarding Desmond and I must agree, he is a gem. Desmond has been with our company for over 15 years and he is a true professional. Also thank you your coments regarding the front desk, we do have an amazing team in place there. Thank you Kathy,...

Brownsville, Vermont
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Jared Coffin House is a nice place. It is an older building; by this I mean historic, not run down. The rooms are simple, but comfortable. They have a small-ish breakfast snack table set up in the communal living space downstairs in the morning; juice, muffins, cereal, coffee, etc. We didn't really want to eat breakfast there anyway since...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gulloj
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear gulloj - thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing this review. On bealf of the entire team here at the Jared Coffin House, we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back one day. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Westwood, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed at Jared Coffin House for Daffodil weekend and my stay was great. The location is perfect, hotel is beautiful, staff is extremely welcoming, rooms and especially beds are fantastic and continental breakfast was a nice surprise! Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul L
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear Paul L - glad you enjoyed Daffodil weekend and your stay at the Jared Coffin House. I also appreciate your kind commments and hope you return to the island and the Jared Coffin House soon. Regards, Jim Storey, GM

Wilton, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at Jared Coffin. Every time we come it just gets better. I am now sitting in my 4th floor room w/10' ceilings looking out the window at the rooftops and have also have a harbor view...enchanting. The living room is lovely...so easy to meet people and have a cocktail. I realize that all rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally R
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear Sally R. - thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on a return visit. Regards, Jim Storey - GM

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I booked three nights at the Jared Coffin House to get some much needed r&r during my final trimester of pregnancy. Unfortunately they stuck us in a room right behind the reception area and literally every time anyone had a conversation or walked in the door we could hear it. The noise from other guests was also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerda P
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear Gerda P - Thank you for providing this feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry you were disturbed by noise and I wish we knew you were. This time of year we operate out of the Daniel Webster building and the main Jared Coffin house building will re-open next week for the 2013 season. Again,...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in the Daniel Webster section for a couple of nights recently. Room was eh. Very middle-brow 80s NE inn decor. As has been noted the walls are thin, and we had quite a coughing cantata next door. The breakfast arrangement is subpar: too many people squeezed into a weird dining room with processed cereals and a k-cup machine. Maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FlyingOwl
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear Flying Owl - thank you for the feedback regard your stay at the Daniel Webster House. Well I have great news for you - we just installed new furniture in the Daniel Webster House and the Jared Coffin House main building and it looks great! The Jared Coffin House main building has been closed for the winter but we...

Des Moines, IA
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Wanted to stay here as a Coffin descendent but were almost scarred off by the price. We were able to get a room for not much more than a motel. There seems to quite a price range among rooms. Mid week in off season helped I'm sure. We had a front nice corner in the main part. Staff was top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GGDesMoines
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear GGDesMoines - thank you for staying with us and I am certainly glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff, we truly take pride in the service levels we provide. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Nantucket. Regards, Jim Storey GM

Amherst, New Hampshire
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We went to the Nantucket Christmas Stroll and had a wonderful time staying at the Jared Coffin House. This inn was at the heart of it all---which is where you want to be for Stroll weekend. It even hosted the Santa Claus area for the kiddies. We booked what the Jared Coffin House called a "small" room on 3rd floor....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LadybugNH
Jim1845, Manager at Jared Coffin House, responded to this review

Dear LadybugHN - we are looking forward to seeing you over Daffodil weekend. Can't wait for you to see all the new furniture! And thank you for taking the time to write this review. Regards, Jim Storey GM

429 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Full Bed Room #304 (59)
Viewed
Queen Bed Room #301 (65)
Viewed
Queen Bed Room #302 (66)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room #106 (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
270 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Main House of this historic hotel dates back to 1845 and was the home of an affluent whaling captain. Today, this historic hotel welcomes guests to the Main House and directly next door, to the Daniel Webster House. Guests will find modern amenities with the newly refurbished library/parlor--where complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air-conditioned. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Guest rooms have been updated with stunning traditional-style furniture. With the hotel's superb location, just steps from boutiques and excellent restaurants, guests enjoy wandering the cobblestone streets or visiting the many nearby museums and beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jared Coffin House

Address: 29 Broad St, Nantucket, MA 02554-6116
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: £162 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jared Coffin House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jared Coffin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jared Coffin House Hotel Nantucket
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jared Coffin House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Cranford, New Jersey
over a year ago
Marlborough, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Jared Coffin House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would not recommend 304 if you want a quiet space”
935marien, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed our stay on the first floor.”
_kb1chu, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for room in the 300's in the main building. the A/C does make noise but you get used to it.”
yoga4fun16, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the 4th floor are very quiet.”
Racmos, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“choose the 1st floor. There are no elevators”
740me, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$246* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$279
Orbitz.comUS$246
TravelocityUS$246
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates