We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vanessa Noel Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vanessa Noel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Hamilton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Hats off to Vanessa Noel. Easy to get to and very friendly staff. Although the room was very small, it was well maintained, clean and comfortable for what we needed. We had an unexpected delay. The ferries had stopped running due to high winds. The hotel staff was more than accommodating keeping the room we had for one more night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele P
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel in Nantucket village. Rooms are in an old house - so do not expect modern amenities, pictures online can be deceiving. With that said, it is a clean and charming place to stay. Basic amenities and environmentally friendly - use all organic products - wonderful if you want to be right in the old village.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cait C
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I recently booked a room at VNH for a few days and couldn't be happier. The room was airy, the bathroom updated, the place is charming - and the location literally can't be beat. I didn't bring a car and rented a bike from Young's - no issues. Ride out to Westmoor Club for croquet. Happy, happy with my experience.

Helpful?
Thank prestonstuart
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I was booking a room at 76 Main in Nantucket and after I confirmed the reservation, I saw that the Hotel was Vanessa Noel. I hadn't even looked at that hotel and as an experienced TripAdvisor user, I would never book there with as many poor reviews as it has. As others said, booking.com states there is a 10% charge... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sophieSanJose

Travellers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

So disappointing. I booked a room in the VNH for over $1000 for 2 nights which is pretty expensive so you expect a little bit of service and a clean and well appointed room. We arrived and no one was there to check us in. After 30 minutes wait, we were escorted to the Hotel Green, a much older version... More 

Helpful?
Thank justinebarry
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justine, You reviewed the WRONG hotel. You booked your reservation for HOTEL GREEN through Booking.com. You did not make a reservation at the VANESSA NOEL HOTEL, which is a completely separate building and separate hotel next door to HOTEL GREEN. HOTEL GREEN is located in the center of the Nantucket historic district. Built in 1847, many buildings in Nantucket... More 

Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This hotel provides a room that is in an old building, with a shared bathroom, no desk, a 120 decibel A/C unit, flimsy curtains, a tired old mattress, thin walls and no insulation. Reception is often unattended and it is difficult to find anyone who works there. This makes checking in hard. The location is OK, and central to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JAOXON
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaoxon, First let me point out that you actually stayed in HOTEL GREEN, located next door to the VANESSA NOEL HOTEL. HOTEL GREEN is located in the center of the Nantucket historic district. Built in 1847, many buildings in Nantucket town are from this period, if not older. Vanessa Noel carefully restored the property updating plumbing and electric while... More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Our stay at the VNH was great! The hotel called us the day we were checking in to confirm what ferry we would arrive on. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Well maintained property in the heart of town, will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Great location and it looks great from the facade but the interior is dirty and old. Our room was falling apart literally. Paint chips hang from the ceiling, the walls are filthy, the trim is falling apart and even the sheets are old! A total rip off. They could clean the carpets, repair the trim, scrape the ceiling and paint... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kimhermitcrab
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly, First let me point out that you actually stayed in HOTEL GREEN, located next door to the VANESSA NOEL HOTEL. HOTEL GREEN is located in the center of the Nantucket historic district. Built in 1847, many buildings in Nantucket town are from this period, if not older. Vanessa Noel carefully restored the property updating plumbing and electric while... More 

Bethesda, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I booked a hotel on the hotel's website. When I finished my booking there was a message on the confirmation page that says "no children under 12 years of age". I had booked the room with the child and then I see a term and condition that says "no children under 12 years of age". I called the hotels phone... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Steve R
Vanessa N, Owner at Vanessa Noel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven, We are so greatly disappointed when people use Trip Advisor to misguide other users about their experience. You booked the two-bedroom Ginger Suite on our website, which is described as "Located on the 1st floor of Hotel Green this two-bedroom suite shares a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi and a large living area..." On the same web page... More 

Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here since 2008. The decor is understated boutique elegance with a soft beige on creme color palette--and signature baby blue sky ceilings like a porch ceiling. The greatest part of all of our stats has been the caring welcomes and assistance from inn keeper Maydene. Want to know the local secrets? Maydene will steer you straight, with hints... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leighton C

575 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (561)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room 1 (71)
Viewed
Room 2 (69)
Viewed
Room 3 (48)
Viewed
Room 4 (60)
Viewed
Room 5 (57)
Viewed
Room 6 (58)
Viewed
Room 7 (53)
Viewed
Room 8 (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.0 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Vanessa Noel Hotel

Address: 5 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3506
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: £155 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vanessa Noel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanessa Noel Hotel Vnh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vanessa Noel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles justinebarry, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a room here.”
 of 5 bubbles stever251, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Check out other hotels and B&B for better value. This is more like a youth hostel with a 5 star price.”
 of 5 bubbles NolaBola2008, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Call and tell them why you're traveling, what your plans are, how much time you'll be in the room - the staff is excellent and helped me exactly what I needed.”
 of 5 bubbles 590cadyc, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The rooms are tiny so I am not sure if there are really any "good" rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles milads84, 15 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay