Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Vestibul Palace

Iza Vestibula 4a, Split 21000 Croatia
Traveller (207)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (161)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£94
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#18 of 85 hotels in Split
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Small luxury boutique hotel in the heart of 1700 year old Diocletian's palace. 11 Unique rooms will give you a one of a kind experience of sleeping in the emperor's chambers! City Center, City Hotel, Luxury Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Luxury Boutique Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Car hire
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian, German, Italian
530Reviews13Q+A96Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 368
  • 107
  • 34
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dingo_6152 wrote a review Jul 2023
Fremantle, Australia2,040 contributions1,353 helpful vote
This was simply an amazing luxury boutique hotel. It is located in the heart of Diocletian's Palace and is centrally located to all the major attractions within the old town.

It can be difficult to locate (no thanks to Google Maps) if it is your first time in Split. The Diocletian's Palace precinct or the old part of Split is not accessible by vehicles so you will need to walk to the hotel. In hindsight we probably should have contacted the hotel before we arrived and had someone assist with our luggage. They did help us with our luggage when we left.

The hotel is located immediately adjacent to the ancient roman vestibule, a circular stone hall, and opposite the Ethnographic Museum. The internal lobby is light and airy with a glass roof - the area also doubles as the hotel's dining area. In there is an outdoor dining area on a cobbled courtyard at the hotel entrance.

Each of the eleven rooms are unique as they have had to fit them within the heritage listed Roman and Medieval walls of the buildings. I just loved the historic character of the hotel and how they had managed to fit it out with modern furnishings without compromising the building's heritage. We were lucky in that we had a standard double room on the lower floor so wasn't much of a staircase to climb but I would probably splurge next time and get the junior suite. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was well laid out. We even overlooked the vestibule and could listen to the singers performing there.

The staff were extremely helpful, providing us with great recommendations on where to eat, a pre-packed breakfast for when we were heading off on an early morning boat cruise, assisting us with dealing with a parking infringement we incurred earlier in our travels. The service the hotel provided was outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded 20 Jul 2023
Dear Sir, Thank You for Your kind and detailed review! We are thrilled to see that Your stay was satisfying and memorable. It is nice to see that people recognize our concept and hard work. We can only confirm that all You have mentioned is correct and hope to meet You again as our dear guest. Have a wonderful day and best regards!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom S wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom98 contributions53 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights with another couple and really enjoyed it. The location is incredible - right in the middle of Diocletian's palace - which makes strolling to take in all the sights very easy. But tucked slightly out of the way so you feel like you have some quiet. Only two things to be aware of (i) clock bells at about 6 and 7am - and (ii) the rooms are tight, although very nice. All the staff were really friendly and helpful, especially at checkin and checkout when you need help getting from the edge of the pedestrian zone to the actual hotel. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan Y wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
We booked the hotel for one night. Staff exceeded our expectations. We requested a private transfer from the airport. The scheduled person met us at the airport in a nice Mercedes and dropped us off at the Diocletian’s Palace entrance where two hotel porters met us to carry our bags through the crowd to check-in. They offered us a free upgrade to the superior villa, which is double level, larger bathroom, and more floor space. Breakfast was on par with other European hotels at a 3-4 star level. They recommended a great local restaurant and made a reservation for us. Finally, a golf cart transport (with porters) to the ferry dock is included in the hotel rate. It was an excellent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark M wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel Vestibule Palace charged me for a room when the hotel was closed.

After a 30-hour flight delay, I arrived at Hotel Vestibul at 11:00 PM on a rainy night in the off-season to find the hotel locked, with no one inside to let me in. I called both phone numbers (and even sent a text) provided to me with my reservation confirmation. No one answered. I was forced to drag my luggage up and down the streets of the old city of Split at near midnight, in the rain, until I found a hotel (Heritage Hotel Santa Lucia) in the main square that would take me that night. The next morning I received a message from the hotel manager of Hotel Vestibul explaining that as I was the only guest that night, and no one knew when I would be arriving, all staff had been sent home at 10:00 PM and instructed to leave their portable business phones behind the desk. Essentially, the manager had shut the hotel down without informing me. I cancelled the remainder of my stay there, opting to continue with the Santa Lucia, whose staff had treated me with exceptional warmth and kindness.

Hotel Vestibul Palace actually charged me for the night the hotel was closed (in addition to the first night that I missed due to flight delays). This hotel advertises as a "small luxury hotel" with prices triple that of a typical hotel (such as the lovely Santa Lucia) yet shuts down at will and refuses to refund its guests for a stay and service that was not provided.

In 30 years of international travel, I have NEVER seen anything like this.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear Mark D, thank you for your review and the time to write it. Unfortunately, we have to say that this review contains incorrect information and that we have emails that support all of our claims below, that are not in accordance with your review. Your reservation was from November 13 to November 18. You sent us an email on Sunday, November 13 at 9:45 pm where you informed us that you will not come to Split that day, we quote: " Arrival time at the Split airport is now 10:00pm Tuesday.", because of the inconvenience you experienced. The day you arrived and unfortunately found the hotel closed was Monday, November 14 (quoted from your agent's email: "He finally arrived at the property today, November 14 at 22:30 hours..."). This means that you arrived a day earlier, on November 14, than the scheduled day of arrival, i.e. the day you officially informed us that you would come (Tuesday -15th of November). The policy of our hotel is that if we have no guests or arrivals for that day, the hotel is open until 10:00 pm (regarding to hotel's size). Regardless of that, and the fact that you informed us about the wrong day of arrival, we are very sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced, as we wrote you in the apology email and offered you to return to our hotel as soon as we saw the problem in early morning. Unfortunately, you rejected us. Regarding billing, the standard cancellation policy is 7 days prior to arrival with a full refund. Within 7 days and in case of no-show, 100% of the reservation is charged. The customer service of the channel trough which you booked got insight into all our emails and agreed that we should make a decision of the payment. Which means that they also approved a 100% payment considering that it was your fault, if we decide so. Considering that the mistakes happen and that we are aware of the inconvenience you experienced, and that you also paid for the other accommodation, we decided to meet you and charge only the first two days for which you informed us that you would not be on time (you informed us on Sunday, which is not included in uncollectible ), even though we as a hotel have to pay a commission for your entire reservation in our hotel (5 nights). As we stated above, we have emails to back up all our claims. We didn't publish the screenshoot to protect your data, but with your permission we can publish it. Correct us if we are wrong. Or support Your claims with our conversation emails. Once again, we are sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced on your trip, but considering your review, we had to tell our side of the story. Thank you for your time to potentially read this answer and have a nice day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I9192GHraquelr wrote a review Aug 2022
Boston, Massachusetts52 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed in the Villa outside of the palace walls. It’s quietly tucked away from the throng. The Villa only has 4 rooms and has a staff member during the day on weekdays to help with any needs. It also has a nice common seating area. Upon arrival the staff met us outside the palace walls, brought us to the main hotel for check-in and then escorted us to the Villa. It was definitely necessary as the palace is big and has many winding pathways. Breakfast every morning was quiet and very good. Made to order omelets were a treat. The coffee was also very good. At check out, a staff me ever met us at the Villa, took our luggage outside the palace and drove us in a golf cart to our ferry. I felt very pampered. It’s an excellent place to sneak away from the masses and enjoy some quiet time while still being very close to food, drinks, views, and all the city has to offer. Will definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be sure to call 10 min before arrival so staff can help you navigate into the palace. They will...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
drpvfx wrote a review Oct 2022
Los Angeles, California32 contributions12 helpful votes
This hotel might be a little tough to find, like *everything* in downtown Split,
but my oh my, is this ever a gem worth discovering!

Let’s start with the staff, who were undoubtedly the friendliest, most helpful proprietors we dealt with on our entire three week trip. Ivan, in particular, went well above and beyond to make sure every single need of ours was met with a smile.
He gave us umbrellas when it started raining, and he let us stay in the hotel common area for hours after checkout as we waited for our overnight ferry to Venice.
He helped me navigate an annoying situation with my rental car company,
and he even gave us a free upgrade to a better room with a tub, what a Chad!

Moving on to the hotel itself— it is small but GORGEOUS.
I could maybe see someone with a TON of luggage having problems here,
but my wife and I both had a respectable amount and still fit into the room very comfortably.

The rooms, while small, are incredibly stylish, with top-notch layout and decoration.
The views from the windows were a wonderful way to experience the city, even in the rain,
which was unfortunately a constant presence on our visit to Split.

The bed was intensely comfortable and this room gave me the best sleep of any room on our entire three week jaunt across Europe!

I seriously can’t recommend this place enough;
It may not be the cheapest, but it’s still well worth the price.
Even better if you have Hyatt points, which they happen to accept ;)

Of all the hotels I’ve stayed in all over the world (24 countries and counting!),
this is quite possibly the one I’d most like to revisit
(I dunno, Park Hyatt Tokyo Plaza *probably* wins that,
but even being mentioned in the same breath as that place is the pinnacle of praise!)

This one wins Europe though, not even close!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The suites look INCREDIBLE if you can fit that in your budget!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
45202 wrote a review Oct 2022
Cincinnati, Ohio28 contributions34 helpful votes
This is such a wonderful hotel. Small and very confirmable with a great breakfast including made to order eggs. The location is the old city is in the heart of sightseeing and restaurants , yet the walls are so thick it is quiet. As nice as the hotel is, the staff is even better. They are the most accommodating we have experienced. They can’t do enough to help. Our flight is very early in the morning and they are packing us a breakfast. I gave the hotel 5 stars….they would get even more if it was possible.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Discover103891 wrote a review Jul 2023
24 contributions21 helpful votes
Stay away from the "Villa" rooms. The main hotel may be nice with decent rooms, but their "villa" location is worse than a studio apartment. The location is fantastic (for both the hotel and the villa rooms), but in the Villa, the air conditioner barely works, the wifi is terrible, and the bathrooms are small and cheap. We felt like we were in a college dormitory. As to the service, when I mentioned our issues, I got a perfunctory 'sorry' but that's all. Very disappointed, and will look for another hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the villa rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mija Medić, General Manager at Hotel Vestibul Palace
Responded 8 Jul 2023
Dear guest, Thank You for Your review. We are happy to see that You were satisfied with location of both Villa Dobrić and hotel Vestibul Palace. We are sorry that Villa Dobrić did not meet Your expectations. Your whole feedback is greatly appreciated, although mainteance is done regularly, we will recheck everything You mentioned at Villa Dobrić and make sure everything works in order. We have to disagree on the comment about ''college dormitory'', rooms have modern design with antique touch, respecting the building and its history. We hope You will give us a chance to meet Your expectations, we understand Your situation, but in case You would like to try to stay at our main building, hotel Vestibul Palace, You are welcome to contact us, we believe that You have our e-mail. Have a nice day and best regards!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danno185 wrote a review Jul 2021
vermont12 contributions14 helpful votes
From the second we stepped off the ferry, we were met by, not one, but two of nicest staff who insisted on carrying our bags to this 7 room hotel. Think top level Swiss hoteling, and that's what you'll see here. The location was insane - literally in the courtyard of Diocletian's palace. Lovely room, coffee brought to us within minutes and the sweetest, loveliest staff ever. While not inexpensive, one of our best hotel stays anywhere we've been in the world.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincentw123 wrote a review Aug 2020
Chislehurst, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
I have had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for a couple of nights whilst visiting the Dalmation Coast.
The staff were amazing, on the first night I stayed I checked in at 2am after a long drive across Europe. Ivan met me at the parking and escorted me to the hotel before moving my car to secure parking.
Due to this wonderful service, I booked a night on our return journey so that my wife and children could enjoy the luxury that I had without them.
The hotel is fantastic and in a prime location and I cannot recommend it more highly
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Len Watkins wrote a tip Jan 2024
Usa River, Tanzania6 contributions
"Call the hotel for directions to it. The gps takes you close, but Roman palaces can be tricky to navigate."
Read full review
Discover103891 wrote a tip Jul 2023
24 contributions21 helpful votes
"Do NOT stay in the villa rooms"
Read full review
Mark M wrote a tip Dec 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
"Avoid this hotel"
Read full review
CoYogaMaster wrote a tip Nov 2022
Winter Park, Colorado24 contributions12 helpful votes
"We were able to get a great rate last minute on hotel website."
Read full review
drpvfx wrote a tip Oct 2022
Los Angeles, California32 contributions12 helpful votes
"The suites look INCREDIBLE if you can fit that in your budget!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Split area.
PRICE RANGE
£82 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vestibul palace hotel, vestibul palace split
LOCATION
CroatiaDalmatiaSplit-Dalmatia CountySplit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL VESTIBUL PALACE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Split, Croatia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Vestibul Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Nearby attractions include Diocletians Dream (0.2 miles), Jaman Art (0.1 miles), and Charlie's Bar Split (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laganini, Adriatic Sushi & Oyster Bar Split, and FANTAŽIJA kitchen & wine.
Does Hotel Vestibul Palace have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Vestibul Palace offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Vestibul Palace located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Split.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Vestibul Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Vestibul Palace?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo di Diocleziano (0.06 miles), Old Split (0.1 miles), and Cathedral of Saint Domnius (0.03 miles).