Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Traveller (926)
Panorama at the Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
360
Panoramas (44)
Room & Suite (241)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£834
Breakfast included
£630
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#11 of 78 hotels in Dubrovnik
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
With its prestigious location, just steps from the UNESCO Old City of Dubrovnik, Hotel Excelsior is ready to show its revamped grandeur as one of the most lavish hotels on the Adriatic. Housed in a former 1913 royal villa and built to take full advantage of a west-facing view of the glorious Old Town, Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik enjoys the most enviable location of any hotel in the city – just a five-minute walk from the medieval fortress walls. It has been welcoming famous guests from the start, including Queen Elizabeth II and Elizabeth Taylor. It’s only when you go there that you fully appreciate the magnificence of the setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll, a beautiful beach and three restaurants, all offering cinematic views of the Adriatic. For added luxury, there is also an indoor swimming pool, plus a glamorous spa and fitness centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian, German

Location

Ul. Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000 Croatia
750Reviews58Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 561
  • 118
  • 52
  • 13
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Super traveller wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom236 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Held our wedding at this hotel last August inviting 140 of our nearest and dearest to celebrate with us.

The hotel is very well located right next to the old town (5 min walk to Ploce Gate). The hotel has also undergone from fairly recent and extensive renovation. The reason for the 4 stars is because some of the staff at the hotel were rude during our trip - it seemed that customer service was not necessary as the hotel design / location would be enough to command the price. The hotel is very popular so yes, they can charge almost what they like however you'll need to provide a good service for customers to return!

We had spent in excess of 30,000 EUR during at trip at this single hotel and unfortunately the service was not worth that.

Tip - ask for a room with views of the sea / old town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea view room, old town views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matea Brnin, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear supertravellersuk I would like to thank you for staying at our Hotel during your recent visit to Dubrovnik and also for your valued feedback. I am saddened to read that your overall experience in relation to the service provided did not meet your expectations. These are definitely not the standards we are promoting, and, in the majority of cases – delivering. We will work more on customer service training with our staff. Thank you again for taking the time and trouble of providing your feedback. I appreciate your comments and I hope to be able to welcome you back should the opportunity arise. Kind regards Matea Brnin, hotel director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meryll83 wrote a review Aug 2020
Skipton, United Kingdom995 contributions368 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful location, just on the edge of the old town, with an unbeatable view of the city, but only a short walk to the centre.

Our luggage was spray cleaned and our temperatures checked on arrival, with staff wearing masks.

Our sea view room was probably what I’d describe as a bit more of a side sea view, but it was a good size and we could see the island of Lokrum and received a complimentary bottle of fizz to help celebrate our anniversary.

Breakfast was included, and served a la carte but had all the choice you would expect from a buffet style offering.
The Abakus piano bar (whilst we never saw the piano actually played) has a beautiful terrace, happy hour deals and staff were very friendly and helpful.
Both venues have the same beautiful view across to the old town.
We had thought to visit the restaurant Prora, however as they were not serving dinner and only lunch, we instead enjoyed some bar food at Abakus.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Dubrovnik.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matea Brnin, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Meryll83, thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again. Kind regards, Matea Brnin Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WestofIre2013 wrote a review Oct 2021
County Galway, Ireland113 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a top class hotel in a stunning waterfront location, only 5 minutes walk from the entrance to Dubrovnik Old Town. We never tired of the view of The Old Town from the balcony of our bedroom and the terrace of the breakfast restaurant. The facilities are of a high standard and extras such as complimentary face masks, bottled water and fruit bowl on arrival, and the chocolates on the pillows each evening, were appreciated. Guests using the outdoor swimming area could avail of sun loungers, umbrellas and towels from the Spa. There were plenty of hand sanitising stations and covid protocols signs around the hotel. Mask compliance was exemplary throughout the hotel. We ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and the choice of hot and cold food and beverages was excellent. Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful at all times. We had originally booked to stay in a sister hotel and were switched to the Excelsior. It exceeded our expectations and we would love to return again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 2 Nov 2021
Dear WestofIre2013, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our hotel. I'm glad that you liked our location. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future. Kind regards Ivor Vlasic Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luxury lover of all things 5* wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom238 contributions88 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying how can this hotel even be classed as a 5* it is no where near up to the standards. Let me explain why:
The food is TERRIBLE, the quality of food and options at breakfast and lunch are merely a 3* standards. The options are minimal, the food tastes crappy and old for example the prawn salad at the beach is a bowl of mayonnaise dressing with a few leaves and 4 tiny prawns, all bread has resemblance of a brick and most things seem frozen and not fresh. The breakfast looks like something you’d find a low grade hotel with no refinement and class.
The sunbeds are not padded and are so uncomfortable.
Waiting staff are generally rude and not helpful, and at the beach you will be lucky to get a drink EVER! There is not one waiter going around offering drinks and refreshments to guests. This hotel could double their beverage profit if they had a polite waiter going round offering people drinks or just being on hand if someone wants one! There is never anyone in site to order from! Every time I wanted a drink I had to walk from my sunbed near the rocks all the way to the Restuarant where I found a waitress on her phone and not being vigilant to guests at all!

We stayed in the Villa Odak Suite Sea View French Balcony costing € 6,580 for 5 days… it was clear we had the most superior room at the hotel and it did have sensational views but for this amount at a not very good hotel why is there no perks for VIPs? It should be recognised that some people pay a lot more than others to be there and there should be some sort of luxurious option for them - happy hour, reserved beach beds, complimentary spa treatment. I’m only suggesting this because the hotel is so NOT worth a 6,000 spend! We hardly got 1 bottle of water from the housekeeper for 2 people each day. The mini bar needs more selection, more snacks, more water and a lot more worth needed to be added for paying that price.

Similarly the wifi did not work once whilst I stayed here… that’s not very 5*!

The Room is all grey, the best part is the amazing view and many large windows previewing the surrounding area however the room is very basic needs more colour, modernised amenities such as the safe and better tv options such as chrome cast/streaming from your own devices.

The gym is also very HOT it needs better ventilation and air conditioning and a larger space would be nice. Having a gym on top of an indoor pool means that it is going to be inevitably hot. The gym should be moved location in my opinion.

The only good things about this hotel is that the reception staff, Renata in the Concierge and bell man are very friendly, helpful and good at their jobs. We enjoyed their service a lot compared to the waters. The hotel has fantastic views but is not up to 5* standards whatsoever. I hope that improving all of the food here and the service by the sea is a priority on the manager/owners list of changes needed to be made at the hotel!!

In general, if you are a foodie then Dubrovnik is not the place for you. It seems all the food here is very poor and of a low standard, sadly, there is not one meal I had here that I can say I thoroughly enjoyed/tasted fresh or was worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t waste your money on an expensive room here just get the cheapest one and dont have high...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Dear Li55y, Thank you for the time you spent to give us a feedback on your stay. We are truly sorry that we did not deliver the service and the experience every guest should have stepping in Hotel Excelsior. It seems that I personally missed you although almost every morning during breakfast and in the afternoon on the Abakus bar I pass by, talk to all of our clients and ask how they feel about the hotel and if there is something we can do to make it better. If you are still in the hotel I would like to meet you and see if there is a chance for us to make it better. If you have already left we, once again, apologize for not delivering the service and experience you were expecting. Please accept our best regards, Ivor Vlasic General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara D wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom31 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel Excelsior with a transfer organised by the hotel which was easy and efficient in a spacious car. The lobby is lovely and has panoramic views over the beach and across to Dubrovnik old towns, which make a great first impression.

We booked a room with a terrace in Villa Odak, which we were worried would be too small after reading some other reviews, but on arrival we were given one of the larger double rooms at the end of the corridor which made a week with a 5 month old baby much easier. There was a cot already waiting for us in there which was comfortable and the hotel were very accommodating about any additional things we needed for the baby. The terraces in the rooms are nice but depending on which end you are, can be very close to the breakfast restaurant so don’t offer much privacy.

Breakfast was a little basic. The a la carte menu had quite a few options but anything beyond standard items like toast and eggs tended to be lacking in flavour and/or stale. The service was very friendly though and the views from the restaurant very nice.

The indoor pool and beach area are nice, with good service and food and drink options outside. The indoor pool was generally quieter when we were there and provides a welcome break from the sun. The spa is reasonably priced and the massage was good but not amazing.

One of the best things about this hotel is the location - 10 minutes walk into the old town which makes eating out in the evenings very easy. There are shops and supermarkets close by with plenty of options including good quality baby food if you need it.

Overall a good stay, we would visit this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matea Brnin, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 27 Oct 2020
Dear sdescapes, thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind regards, Matea Brnin Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LanCReviews wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California107 contributions113 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was here with my daughter. Reception check in was excellent.
Booked through Agoda because they had a sale and as it turned out, Agoda’s description of the room we chose as having a balcony was wrong. Luckily I had screen shot the description and Agoda booking.
Showed it to hotel and although they were surprised, they honored it and moved us to a room overlooking the sea with a beautiful balcony. The lounging area with lounging chairs and umbrellas is very beautiful. It’s paved over with beautiful stone slabs. No sand on your toes! Water in the Adriatic Sea is clear, blue and cool (cold at first dip) and is very refreshing in the July heat. The food available by the sea is delicious. Lots of salads and grilled food as well. Margaritas and daiquiris were great. Common areas for sitting are spotless and exuded a calm and classy vibe. Breakfast which was included for us was varied, offering something for everyone. Lots of fresh fruits and yogurt and for those who like a heartier fare, that’s available as well. I didn’t realize until the last day that cappuccinos and lattes were also available as part of the deal.

The location is incomparable. About 5 minute leisurely walk to the amazing fort that is a walled compound from the 1300s, now filled with live music, cafes, restaurants, bars, retail shops, ice cream shops. Lots of stray cats in the are. We see the same few ones each time we visit. I think they are fed by locals and they are adorable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Dear LanCao, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our hotel. I'm glad that you liked our location. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future. Kind regards Matea Brnin Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna M wrote a review Jun 2020
New York City, New York70 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dubrovnik was our last stop on our two week Croatian vacation last September/October. A phenomenal hotel located right on the Adriatic with spectacular views of Adriatic, Lokrum island and of the Old City from the balconies. We originally just booked a regular garden view room but decided to upgrade to a sea view a few months before and so happy we did. It was amazing.

Where to begin - we received a very warm welcome on arrival and were given all necessary hotel information (breakfast, dining, spa facilities, etc.). As mentioned our room had spectacular views of the Adriatic and the room was bright, airy, and spacious. We stayed in the old Villa Odak which was recently renovated and we loved it. It truly was fantastic. We took advantage of the balconies everyday & never tired from the truly breathtaking views or sunsets. Like others we slept with the balcony doors open in the big & comfortable bed. The hotel was spotlessly clean & well maintained.

The best part about the hotel was its staff. The staff of the hotel was simply amazing, each and every one of them. They always had smiles on their faces and were eager to help. We started our nights off with drinks and food at the bar and got to know the team there before heading off for dinner. They were all terrific. They remembered each afternoon/evening what wine we liked and had it for us when we sat down. The concierge was wonderful and she made a few terrific dinner reservations for us. She also knew that we were celebrating an anniversary and when she called the restaurant to tell them they sat us up above on the balcony which was amazing. Every one of the team had a smile on their face, went out of their way to help & were extremely friendly. Thank you so much team for making our stay at your incredible hotel a fantastic one.

The hotel has elegant sitting areas in and out side to take advantage of the spectacular views. We thoroughly loved our stay at the Excelsior & wouldn't stay anywhere else now in Dubrovnik. This truly is a wonderful 5* luxury hotel, with lots of nice touches & in the most perfect location. But most importantly an INCREDIBLE TEAM OF PEOPLE. We look forward to going back to this amazing hotel and we highly recommend it. Thank you again Hotel Excelsior for an incredible stay. Best, Donna & George (NYC)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matea Brnin, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Dear Donna M I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Excelsior. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our facilites and that you had a pleasant stay. Compliments for a job well done are the best reward for our personnel’s hard work in trying to keep every guest feel special. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future. Kind regards Matea Brnin Hotel director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
noodle60 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom21 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel as a surprise Valentines trip away for my husband.
We were allocated a wonderful room with a balcony and sea view on the fifth floor. The room had everything you could possibly need including robes and slippers which we used to visit the spa area which again was amazing. Our bed was turned down at night and chocolates left too which was such a lovely touch.
Breakfast was top notch with a huge variety, fruit, cereals, pastries, different breads, cooked breakfasts, juices, tea/coffee and even Prosecco!!
The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dubrovnik who would like to experience a luxury setting and only 5 minutes walk from the Old Town
Thank you Hotel Excelsior for making our visit a truly memorable one!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matea Brnin, Other at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear noodle60, Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are glad that you liked our breakfast offer. Also, it is nice to hear that you were satisfied with your room as well as with our location and facilities. In the end I would like to thank you for mentioning our staff and for sharing that they were very friendly and attentive. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again. Kind regards Matea Brnin Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Belle23 wrote a review Nov 2022
Leicestershire, United Kingdom41 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Six days too long in a mediocre, impersonal hotel which was not compensated by the view of Dubrovnik old town. It does have a pretty view but this did not compensate for being in a stuffy bedroom below street level where the walls seemed to close in on you and the air conditioning was circulating stale air. Public areas were empty and actual seating uncomfortable. It may look stylish, and that’s debatable, but it was not comfortable or welcoming. Not a place to want to spend time in.

I cannot be sure the room was cleaned well, it never had that fragrant clean smell when returning after a day out. Bins were not emptied daily as the remains of a packed breakfast were still in a bin a day later. After a long day trip I found no shower gel mid shower and no bath sheet. We had started with 4 bath sheets when we arrived.

I lost interest using the indoor pool after seeing a discarded plaster poolside 2 days running. Sunbeds were not available one sunny morning as no one there to set them out - this was after 10 am. We normally used this area later in the day.

Some staff understood the concept of hospitality, and were happy to be there but others seem to view their role as an inferior job. Particularly evident at breakfast time where it was a challenge to get a cup of coffee some days.

We were left wondering whether a 5 star hotel provides good service to a select few staying in a suite. We’ve stayed in hotels around the world, the Far East, Europe, Caribbean, Africa and Rovinj in Croatia and have generally found welcoming happy staff who treat guests equally, clean bedrooms, comfortable public areas people are happy to be in, and fresh air. My worst holiday since staying in a primitive caravan in Wales.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 9 Nov 2022
Dear Belle23, Thank you for your review and feedback about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We undarstand that you booked your travel package and hotel with Jet2 trael agency. Upon arrival you were not happy with the 5* hotel you booked (Grand Villa Argentina) and insisted to change the hotel. Your Jet2 representative informed us and you were shown the room at the hotel Excelsior before you checked-in. Complaining about the room you saw ahead and agreed to stay in does not seem fair to us. Anyway on your last day, as soon as we had it available, you were upgradad to a suite! Anyways, we do apologize and are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Based on 668 Tripadvisor reviews, hotel Excelsior is rated as EXCELLENT having a4.5 out of 5 rating. It is one of the best hotels in Croatia, famous for its history (110 years since it was opened), distinguished clients (Queen Elizabeth among others). Hoping we will come back and have the opportunity to convince you that we are a truly magnificent hotel, Please accept our best regards Ivor Vlasic Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scott p wrote a review Sept 2021
13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned home after a glorious 8 nights at Excelsior. First off, location, location, location. The views from the hotel are breathtaking. Amazing sunsets over the walled city each night. A terrace with loungers, umbrellas, and bar service next to the sea wall allowing guests to jump in the Adriatic without getting sandy. An easy 10 minute walk to the old town.

Customer service. First time visitor to Croatia and found the people to be the friendliest in Europe. Everyone, in and out of the hotel, was extremely nice and helpful. Ivan, the general mgr, took the time to greet guests at breakfast. Ivan has an exceptional staff. Again, everyone from the front desk to the house keepers to the beach boys did a great job. And a special shout out to executive chef, Petar Obad. The food at all the various venues was great. Chef takes great pride in both the food and managing his staff and it shows. Morning breakfasts are greeted with smiles from all the staff. Chef is on hand at breakfast to also greet and serve guests at the buffet. He is more than willing to help with any needs. I can’t say enough about our stay at this gem of a property and look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Responded 22 Sept 2021
Dear Scott, Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again. Kind regards Ivor Vlasic Hotel Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret O asked a question Mar 2024
Gourock, United Kingdom398 contributions176 helpful votes
What is a twin tower room. Does it have a sea view?
Answer from Bernard S
Chicago, Illinois73 contributions88 helpful votes
If it’s the larger high-rise, then I guess that would be the twin tower. Some rooms potentially look out at the street rather than the sea. I would confirm that with the hotel. We had a great stay there.
Julie W asked a question Jan 2024
Do the rooms have a hairdryer?
Answer from Nina B
Raleigh, North Carolina55 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes!
Caroline LP asked a question Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom1,310 contribution115 helpful votes
Is it worth taking my snorkelling gear?
Answer from Caroline LP
London, United Kingdom1,310 contribution115 helpful votes
I’m here but didn’t get any response on the snorkelling gear question, I didn’t bring it and don’t think I would have gotten much use out of it if I did. Hopefully that helps someone else.
Answer from 5un533k3r
Greater London, United Kingdom13 contributions8 helpful votes
There was a small pool enclosure but during our stay it was being filled in with loose stone.
lmsiegel asked a question Feb 2023
New York City, New York95 contributions41 helpful votes
Can anyone tell me what the beach is like?
Quito, Ecuador11 contributions
The beach is really nice; however, you could also travel to near locations if your looking for more. The hotel will ensure that your time with them is more than amazing!
M D R wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lisbon, Portugal40 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Less than 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. Someone may say it is expensive. Dubrovnik is VERY expensive, but quality is priceless."
Read full review
dananlagan wrote a tip Apr 2024
Dublin, Ireland16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sit outside to watch sunset over old town"
Read full review
Angela E wrote a tip Apr 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The sunset from the piano bar is worth seeing "
Read full review
DebM wrote a tip Dec 2023
Greater London, United Kingdom46 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a sea view room"
Read full review
Jennifer Murray wrote a tip Oct 2023
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy every minute "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dubrovnik area.
PRICE RANGE
£383 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel excelsior and spa, excelsior hotel dubrovnik, hotel excelsior dubrovnik
LOCATION
CroatiaDalmatiaDubrovnik-Neretva CountyDubrovnik
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL EXCELSIOR DUBROVNIK - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Nearby attractions include Old Town (0.5 miles), Walls of Dubrovnik (0.6 miles), and FARAC Filigree & Fine Jewelry (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soul Kitchen, Ezza Steak & Cocktail Bar, and Gradska Kavana Arsenal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Croatian.
All Dubrovnik HotelsDubrovnik Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DubrovnikHotels near Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire