Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Schuster Boarding House

Strada Penes Curcanul Nr 5, Brasov 500015 Romania
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (71)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
£127
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#19 of 60 hotels in Brasov
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
There’s A New Name for Comfort !! In our rush to achieve daily objectives we often forget to enjoy the things around us. Schuster Boarding House is our reminder to you. Savor the fine things we have prepared especially for you. You’ll thank us. And yourself. Whatever the reason, leisure or corporate, you will always find the perfect version of what you’re looking for in our hotel. Our elegant rooms, as well as the matching services provided by our personnel, from standard to custom, surpass the level of quality guests are usually accustomed to.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Hebrew, Romanian
49Reviews1Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kieron B wrote a review Mar 2021
Brasov, Romania35 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel that touches your senses and envelopes luxury, look no further. This modern luxury hotel is going to be a game changer. Unparalleled touches, outstanding design and the friendly staff is a winner. This new hotel in the heart of historical Brasov is a hit. As soon as you walk through the doors you feel you have been transported to another world. Stripped back brickwork, eloquent tiled floors, perfectly manicured plants are just a few of the wow factors in the lobby reception area. The rooms are designed to the highest spec with wooden beams, generous windows, a fully stocked (and perfectly chilled) mini bar. The shower facilities is a new one for me. A simple choice of the fixed rain shower or handheld shower function is your decision at the press of a button and instantly you have hot water. Brilliant. The Lobby Bar compromises of elegant, modern and comfortable furniture, the perfect place to read a book, meet friends or reflect on the memories of the day. Bed was super comfortable and the the bed linen, soft, great quality and second to none. As I said, this hotel is a game changer, there is simply nothing like it in Brasov. The rooftop terrace offers incredible views of the historic neighbourhood, the mountain and the Black Church etc. Schuster Boarding House stands alone in its eliteness. Be happy Brasov, there's a new kid in town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fern wrote a review May 2021
Brasov County, Romania2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Schuster Boarding House - a great place to stay brand NEW with great smell and brand NEW furniture/ linen ( which is hard to find .. especially in the famous Hotels all over the World) Schuster has a great refined ambience for my family reunions and not only
Chic and modern, the location in the Old Town of Brasov, perfect spot for all my reunions.
Excellent/ affordable prices; if you are cheap, better stay home.. just kiddin´:) Highly recommended if you are looking for quality.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Cleanliness and disinfection at high standards. Check out the story behind the Schuster Boarding...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriela V wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I returned to Schuster Boarding House for 2 weeks of work. The location and layout of the residencies continue to amaze me, each room is unique, each room has its own unmistakable "flair". The Spa Menu is robust, while those who provide the in-house service, Maya and Roxy, are outstanding professionals. The Reception/Reservations/Senior Management team is absolutely ON POINT and operate on the belief that a problem, no matter how complex it may be, has a solution. The environment that the Schuster team created around me considerably dissolved the stress of being away from San Francisco, my home, therefore, directing my entire focus on achieving my business trip goals unencumbered by "travel logistics". Schuster Team, thank you so much! ...for the million time :)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oana A wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointing Stay at Schuster Guesthouse, Brasov

My experience at Schuster Guesthouse in Brasov was incredibly disappointing. Despite being assured that the issues would be resolved, I was left waiting multiple times without any resolution. The air conditioning unit in the room was broken, resulting in unbearable heat for both myself and my child. The staff member with short blonde hair dismissed the problem, stating that we should "suffer a little longer."

After no one came to fix the air conditioning, I eventually had to seek refuge in my sister's room. Her husband went to reception and was falsely told that the issue had been resolved, even though my room remained unbearably hot. Finally, I was relocated to another room, but encountered another problem as the balcony was locked. The same unhelpful staff member answered my call to reception with a curt "yes" and failed to return with the keys, leaving me waiting for an hour.

Fortunately, a friendly individual named Tudor, who had also assisted my sister with the reservation, came to the rescue the next day and unlocked the balcony without any trouble. It is baffling how some staff members can promise to fix a problem and then act as if nothing happened.

The mattresses in the rooms were of poor quality, with uncomfortable springs, leading to a restless night's sleep for everyone except my father, who opted to sleep on the couch.

When we expressed our dissatisfaction, the manager completely dismissed our complaint and insinuated that our preference for softer beds was the issue. They even claimed that no other guests had complained. I emphasized that the absence of complaints does not equate to excellent beds and questioned the purpose of seeking feedback if it will be disregarded.

Additionally, breakfast had a strict deadline at 10:30 AM, after which guests were not served and the dining area had to be vacated. I appreciated the assistance of one of the breakfast staff members who kindly helped me bring a cup of tea to my room.

Furthermore, the toilet in the room had a splashback issue, which was unpleasant. Despite the beautiful decor of the hotel, the parking situation was incredibly difficult, and the unwelcoming atmosphere made it clear that we would not be returning. It would have been a simple gesture for the hotel to offer a complimentary water from the minibar or any form of compensation, but instead, they shared a sad story about online expectations. Apparently, it was my fault for not seeing a baby changing station listed online. As a result, I had to change my child's diaper in the hallway, having been denied a suitable location despite leaving the room, and the inconvenience of climbing several floors made it even more unacceptable.

To add insult to injury, they had the audacity to bring up complaints from other guests about my baby crying. It is disappointing that the hotel lacks soundproof rooms or does not cater to families.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnaMaria Ciosa, Owner at Schuster Boarding House
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Hello dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Schuster Boarding House. We did our best to solve on the spot all your demands. We assisted you and your family during your stay and asked you how we can make your stay more comfortable every day. The air conditioning in your room was functioning perfectly, because we verify each and every room before check in, every single day. However, you decided to take the matter into your own hands and somehow, not knowing how to use it properly, the air conditioning stopped working. Then you called reception and started complaining. You did not let the staff from reception to enter the room and check the situation with the air conditioning because your toddler was sleeping, therefore we had to wait for your approval to enter the room which delayed the solving of the issue you caused. When we were allowed to enter the room, we understood what happened, why the air conditioning was not working, and we offered you right away an upgraded room for your own comfort. We had to replace the digital device that was damaged the next day. The cost of the device was 100 Euro, an amount that we did not charge to your bill, even though the damage happened during the night you spent in the room. The upgraded room has a balcony which was open when you were accommodated, and probably by mistake you blocked it by pressing on the handle button. When you called the reception and asked for the key of the balcony door, the manager on duty decided, for the safety and security of your toddler, not to unblock the balcony door (the door of this balcony is always open for our guests). We tried to be cautious and careful to avoid an unpredictable situation with a toddler left alone on the balcony. We did receive several complaints from our guests because your toddler was screaming, not crying, and it disturbed them. Therefore, we considered it necessary to inform and kindly asked you to pay attention to this, and comfort your own child. The mattresses are of excellent quality, but you decided to include everybody in your dissatisfaction for the simple reason that you are an ill intended person and liked to complain in the name of your entire family. If the mattresses in the rooms were not according to your expectations, you could have left the hotel the very next day, and still, you decided to stay until the end of your booking. We do not have a specific place in the public areas of the hotel to be able to change a baby, and we did not advertise that we have one. Therefore, we do not understand the motif of your complaint. If the changing table was of paramount importance for you, you could have asked prior to your arrival about this specific facility. And more than this, nobody from our staff denied you the privilege of changing the dipper of your own child or stopped you from doing a normal mother-child situation. Breakfast is served between 7:30 and 10:30 in the morning, and this is displayed in our hotel at the entrance of the breakfast room. Even though you arrived late for breakfast you were served accordingly, and nobody from our staff asked you to leave the restaurant. Unfortunately, our hotel does not own private parking spots, being situated in the old city center of Brasov, and we do not advertise that we have them. There are plenty public parking spots available around the hotel with an extra fee. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your high expectations even though we did our best in doing so. Your opinion and perception are subjective and do not reflect the reality of this hotel and of the staff. Sincerely, Schuster Boarding House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin St wrote a review Aug 2023
Boblingen, Germany48 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s hard to review such a beautiful place. On our travel through Romania, we had 8 hotels. None of them came close to this gem in the centre of Brasovs pedestrian area. The warm design, the welcoming staff, the attention to detail, the relaxing rooftop terrace and a small but outstanding breakfast menu made us feel at home. If anything, the location directly on the street is not ideal, but the street is not busy and the windows keep away the noise. But coming home after a day of exploration and the music in your suite awaits you to relax with a nice glass of wine. And later on, a large comfortable bed with thick curtains that keep out the street lights. Needless to say, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask them for parking spots before your trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John M wrote a review Oct 2022
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in the old town this hotel is described as a boarding house but is really a boutique hotel. We stayed there just for one night. The hotel is new and extremely well fitted out with a rooftop terrace with views over the old city. Great service from the staff who spoke english.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robert s wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York7 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely hotel in Brasov. The highlight was interacting with Adriana, the manager. She and the whole staff were superb! The room was very interesting, which included a fold-out mini-balcony and an amazing view of the foliage on the mountains surrounding the city
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pat Richardson wrote a review Jul 2022
San Rafael, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very modern and very comfortable accommodation in Brasov. The staff was very attentive and helpful in all aspects. Very hi-tech controls for all the lighting and room climate - you can even control the mood music that you can have in the background. Definitely check it out!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K. Bloudoff wrote a review Sept 2022
50 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
These rooms are well designed with chic decor. It was cold outside in Brasov, but this room was cozy. One note: do not steam up the room with the shower--it will set off the fire alarm!
The beds are wonderful, the sheets are clean, there are plenty of pillows.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
If you can get parking on the street just outside, keep it and don't move your car! It is very hard to park near this hotel. Fortunately most things are within walking distance including the main square, the Biserica Neagra, great options for food and the shopping mall.
We would definitely stay here again for our next trip to Brasov.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duncan H wrote a review Sept 2021
Tabouk, Saudi Arabia53 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the junior suite. We were impressed with the room layout and the renovation, however the whole night time experience was horrible.
The room we had was in the roof, therefore it was really stuffy and hot. We had the air conditioner to help, but it kept stopping and starting all night, and was extremely loud. Every time it did this it woke us up, but without it the room was hot to the point when we were sweaty (it was 10 deg c outside).
In addition, the bed was rock hard. We have been in Europe now for two weeks, this bed is by far the worst we’ve had.
Finally there is a church in close proximity. Instead of most other places like we have experienced in Europe that silence their bells at night, these bells ring every 1/4 hour, and for 3mins straight at 7am. They are definitely loud enough to be easily heard through the roof, as they have not double glazed or used thick roofing.
In the hotels defence, we did not ask for a room change-by the time we realized most of these things it was late and our stuff was everywhere. I’d say they should be able to fix one of these (noise issue with a room on the ground floor?), but because of the other two, I wouldn’t let looks in pictures fool you. We had no sleep and spent a ruined following day because of it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The junior suite was extremely noisy all night
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andra Ionescu wrote a tip Feb 2024
Brussels, Belgium3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nightmare with parking, no food in the evening, no view of the mountains as it's mentioned in the room description. You might pay extra fees for the room "
Read full review
Martin St wrote a tip Aug 2023
Boblingen, Germany48 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask them for parking spots before your trip"
Read full review
Indra Diaconu wrote a tip Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are absolutely perfect"
Read full review
Michaela Fragkiadaki wrote a tip Nov 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything is close to the hotel! You go everywhere on foot! Very easy access to all sights of Brasov!"
Read full review
andreea_kamelya wrote a tip Jun 2022
Bucharest, Romania87 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No dedicated parking but you can find plenty of places around to park. On Sunday, the parking is for free, the rest is 24 lei / 24h"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brasov area.
PRICE RANGE
£91 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RomaniaTransylvaniaCentral RomaniaBrasov CountyBrasov
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCHUSTER BOARDING HOUSE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Schuster Boarding House
Which popular attractions are close to Schuster Boarding House?
Nearby attractions include Brasov Historical Center (0.2 miles), Piața Sfatului (0.2 miles), and Catherine's Gate (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Schuster Boarding House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Schuster Boarding House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Schuster Boarding House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Schuster Boarding House?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Schuster Boarding House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ograda, La Ceaun - Piata Sfatului, and Cucinino Pasta & Pizza.
Is Schuster Boarding House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Brasov.
Are pets allowed at Schuster Boarding House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Schuster Boarding House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Romanian, and Hebrew.
Are there any historical sites close to Schuster Boarding House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Prima Scoala Romaneasca (0.4 miles), Catherine's Gate (0.2 miles), and Turnul Alb (0.3 miles).
Does Schuster Boarding House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Brasov HotelsBrasov Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrasovHotels near Schuster Boarding House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire