Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

My Dream Boutique Resort

Ban Meung Nga Village, Meung Nga Street, Luang Prabang 0600 Laos
Traveller (1145)
Atardecer desde la terraza de mi cuarto
Room & Suite (389)
Outdoor Pool
Pool & Beach (122)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 67 small hotels in Luang Prabang
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled in a peaceful garden, leading down to an uninterrupted view of the Nam Khan river, My Dream is an oasis of tranquility, just minutes from Luang Prabang's bustling town centre. Rooms and furnishings of natural woods and woven Lao fabrics blend seamlessly into lush surroundings. Sunshine streams through floor-to-ceiling glass doors, which open out to private balconies. You may choose a room in Sala, Chandara, or Latsana, or select your own bungalow – or bungalow suite. All are light, airy, and a reflection of Lao culture and design.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Free airport transportation
Head massage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
1,404Review13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,058
  • 275
  • 51
  • 15
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
OldChap33 wrote a review Jan 2020
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom206 contributions261 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pluses:
Nice grounds.
Our room, 301, was above the dining room and had lovely view of pool and river beyond.
Friendly staff.
Owner, Stephane, circulates at breakfast.
Wi-Fi speed about 7 mbps, occasionally drops.
We didn’t hear noise from Utopia Cafe across the river but I was told it can still be a problem. We heard music from local celebratory events, but not after 10pm.
Minuses:
15-20 minute walk to town across bamboo bridge (£1 crossing fee), bridge available dry season only. It costs £4 to take a tuktuk back from town, no tuktuks normally parked outside hotel to go into town. After a bit we quite enjoyed the walk to town, but usually got a tuktuk back. A hotel in the centre would probably not have the grounds/views.
Air conditioning noisy and could not hold a selected temperature.
Coffee at breakfast not to my liking, filter coffee often stewed, machine coffee over-strong.
The entrance from the road is just a passageway, I thought “what have we booked?” when first dropped off, i.e. not imposing or charming.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy wrote a review Mar 2020
9 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a really great stay here. The hotel is so serene, and the staff is so polite and helpful. We really enjoyed that the hotel was outside of the main city area, but very easily accessible across the bamboo bridge. We had some really lovely mornings enjoying breakfast on the deck overlooking the pool, and we took advantage of the on-site masseuse too. They have reasonable bike and motorbike rentals at the hotel that made getting around really easy. They also have free shuttle drop off and pick ups in town at certain hours, which was really helpful for going to the night market. We had a late flight on the day of check out, and the staff held our luggage for us, allowed us to hang around the hotel as we liked, and still provided us free airport drop off. Overall, it was a really awesome stay for us!

The only downside was the hotel was having internet issues while we were there. I saw another review that mentioned the internet issue, so I'm not sure how frequently this happens. It didn't really affect our trip too much, but it was a bit of an inconvenience to go to the lobby for internet use on the first day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
You Li in Asia wrote a review Apr 2021
Vientiane, Laos245 contributions109 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights in a pool villa. The villa itself was beautifully and tastefully decorated. The high ceilings and trees made the rooms relatively cool and shaded during the peak of the hot month. Our villa was huge with a separate eating area and a beautiful large bathroom and a fantastic bath tub with a view of our private pool. The bed was very comfortable and wifi was easy to connect and fast. Our pool was beautifully set in the garden and remained mostly shaded even during the middle of the day. The only issue we had with the pool was that it was cloudy (perhaps it was due to the rains) but during the new year holidays, no one came to clean it... Maybe understandable. We were only able to jump in on our last day though the water was still pretty cloudy.

Other than the rooms, the setting is great... Lots of fresh air in a more local area. The breakfast could be better but given the price we paid for the rooms, anything additional is simply a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SuzeNorthumberland wrote a review Feb 2020
Warkworth, United Kingdom107 contributions77 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the pick up at the airport to the fond farewell, this place was ace.
We’d booked several different rooms for our 8 night stay as this was all that was possible at the time on Agoda. On arrival, one of the managers (San) had managed to streamline our booking & showed us to our garden room, which was delightful.
We stayed in 3 different types of room. All good, with all the elements you need for a great stay. Really spacious & beautifully designed rooms, good bathroom & shower & huge, comfortable beds.
We got the opportunity to upgrade to the Pool Villa. This is simply the best hotel suite we have ever stayed in. It’s absolutely stunning! Beautifully designed.
This hotel runs like clockwork. it’s down to the hard work of all of the staff & to the eagle eye of Stefan, the manager. It is the attention to detail (including flowers in your room, scented oil burners in the bathrooms) that make this place so good. But it is the efficient, but absolutely charming team that make it excel.
I haven’t even mentioned the beautiful, tropical garden leading down to the river, the great pool & wonderful, huge choice at breakfast!
We loved the location. A 10 minute walk into the town over the charming bamboo bridge, but also free shuttle bus if you require.
You can hear loud music some evenings from a venue over the river, but it finishes at a reasonable time & we got used to it.
It does not detract from the peace of the place the rest of the time.
This place is very, very special. Thanks Stefan, San & the team.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire B wrote a review Jan 2020
southampton68 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights and loved every minute. As a family of 4 we had 2 adjoining rooms, a twin and a double, which was great. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. They all have balconies. The swimming pool was great for cooling off at the end of the day. The buffet breakfast was really tasty and the dining tables were a mixture of inside and outside, so you can sit with your croissant and coffee overlooking the gorgeous gardens. Just a short walk to the "bamboo bridge" which leads straight into town. Or take the free minibus from the hotel which goes a few times a day. Had a massage in the outdoor massage room which I loved - very firm! The staff and manager are really attentive and will do anything to help. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
R2020 wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had initially booked 2 nights but decided to extend our stay for another 2 nights. The staff were really helpful at arranging this at the best price and also when organising our train tickets back to Luang Prabang. The complimentary bicycles were excellent and we ended up using them everyday when eating out. The pool is nice and there is a lot of beautifully landscaped garden. Don't expect to eat at the hotel, except for the buffet breakfast that is included, but we enjoyed going out and trying the local cafes and restaurants as a better option.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette H wrote a review Jan 2023
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My Dream is a beautiful place, run by the most professional team of kind, hardworking staff.

My family of 4 stayed 4 nights and from the moment we arrived with the magical lantern lit entrance to the moment we left all was impeccable.

Many hotels would do well to learn from the quality of hospitality provided here, especially from the generous and dignified Khamsaen (Sam) who help arrange our tours (pottery village, green jungle, mandalao elephant sanctuary, train tickets to Vang Vieng) and personally offered to drive us to the alms giving ceremony at 5:30am even though by then we would be staying at another hotel. The staff showed a level of care and help that is exemplary.

I was also preferring to stay somewhere where we wouldn’t get woken by 4am monastery bells. It was hard to know this in advance as monasteries are everywhere, but I we couldn’t hear bells from My Dream. So good sleeps!

From my daughters “ everyone was so friendly, we love the cats, the pool, mango sticky rice, banana muffins.”
I’ll add that the coffee was heavenly (strong) and the chicken fried rice (dinner) delicious.

This hotel is lucky to have Khamsaen.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LondonViaggiatore wrote a review Feb 2023
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia64 contributions68 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A very disappointing experience. We chose this hotel after looking at all the overwhelmingly positive reviews. I feel this place is comparatively overpriced for the quality it offers.

Firstly, the positives. I liked it’s location on the quieter side of Luang Prabang and the staff were wonderfully helpful.

Now for the negatives. The Wi-Fi is atrocious. I was attempting to remote work from Luang Prabang but the Wi-Fi was so bad that it was basically impossible. I had to go to places in town to get better connection.

The hotel is also tired and in need of updating. The pool was closed for one day of our stay and even when it reopened it had weirdly cloudy water. Not enticing! The bathrooms are charmless and my door didn’t close properly to my room. We also kept having to remind them to clean our rooms as they seemed to get skipped.

I honestly just don’t get the hype from other reviewers - this wouldn’t even rank in my top 50 hotels in SE Asia. I’ve stayed in other much better places in Luang Prabang and would not return here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Somnuek Bounsa, Owner at My Dream Boutique Resort
Responded 8 Feb 2023
Dear London Viaggiatore, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property, we very much appreciate your praising of our friendly, helpful staff and indeed the location of our hotel. We are however, very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay regarding the Wi-Fi and housekeeping of your room, I would like to assure you that we will investigate and make improvements where possible to the WIFI and provide further training for staff. Unfortunately, our main swimming pool suffered an issue with the water supply system causing the pump to fail which meant we had to close the pool for 2 hours whilst maintenance carried out repairs. During this time, a sign was placed at the main pool inviting guests to use our second pool as a temporary measure. We welcome all comments and reviews and value your constructive feedback, may we assure you, we will use it to improve our service for the satisfaction of all guests. We hope you change your mind and decide to stay with us again in the future, you are most welcome. Mr Khamsaen Chankham General Manager MY DREAM BOUTIQUE RESORT
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin R wrote a review Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington37 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I landed in Laos and checked into the hotel. They greeted me and were very friendly. My hotel room wasn’t ready so they said they would hold my bags and put them in the room when the room was ready. I got back 4 hours later and they showed me to my room. No bags. I asked where they were and they had no idea. After running around they realized they put them in someone else’s room. SERIOUSLY?! Strike 1. They didn’t even think it was that big of a deal. It was it’s my personal stuff and they people whose room it was in had been in the room and in and around my bags. In addition, they let me into that other room to get my bags so they let me into someone else’s room. Strike 2.

I very quickly realized the toilet was broken in my room. I went down and told them and they came up and fixed it right away. Next morning it was broken again. I let the manager know and they came and looked at it and said they would get the parts and have an engineer come fix it while I was gone. I came back and it wasn’t fixed. They never fixed it. Strike 3.

Other than my crappy experience I have to say that the hotel outdoor space and pool are nice and the breakfast buffet was quite good. However, their coffee is terrible which is weird considering Laos is a coffee region.

Anyway...I wouldn’t stay again. They lost my trust repeatedly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SomnuekLuangPrabang, Manager at My Dream Boutique Resort
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear Estimated Guest, First of all many thanks for your comment and sharing with us your experience. What happened as far as the luggage are concerned is just unacceptable and we still do not know how this could happen, but it happened, unfortunately. So apologies from our side, we are very sorry and we completely understand your concern. Sometimes the cover of the toilets is not exactly at its right place, it has moved a little bit so this is why water was leaking. So nothing broken at all just had to be replace properly. Anyway we understand this can be annoying and we fixed it already in between. At least about the coffee itself, "terrible", sorry we have to pass on that one as this is completely subjective. Some like it very much, others such as you don't. But the far far majority likes it so we will stand to our supplier for the time being. Again any thanks for your review which will certainly help us to continue improving. The Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah_W_1357 wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts70 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved staying at this upscale ‘resort’. From the welcoming drink to the free ride to the airport (and everything in between), our expectations were exceeded. The property’s location is on the other side of the river from the historic area. We found that to be a total positive but it does mean that you take either the free shuttle or walk via the seasonal bamboo bridge to town. The real challenge is getting motivated to leave the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gheeyea N asked a question Aug 2018
49 contributions10 helpful votes
How long the hotel to old town by walking distance?
Answer from brendafaye
Newtown, Connecticut98 contributions29 helpful votes
ML's answer is spot on. Both of our visits to "My Dream" have been during the dry season. Walking over the river on the bamboo bridge to main LP is unique and our favorite path to the main part of Luang Prabang, This walk is about 15 minutes for two 67+ adults. My Dream also has a free shuttle into downtown LP. We have used the evening shuttle for special restaurant visits. The shuttle drops you near the night market and returns to the same spot for pickup later. I don't recall the timing. The manager and staff are true professionals. They may be able to provide more insight to your questions.
Answer from natalie c
Warrington, United Kingdom45 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed in a private bungalow and it was great - lovely view of the gardens and quiet! I think the bungalows are actually better situated than the villas - nearer co the pool
Answer from Karlh
Garbsen, Germany292 contributions85 helpful votes
Sorry for late response, as far, as I recall, they do offer this service.
Answer from WFBTraveler3
Milwaukee, Wisconsin203 contributions82 helpful votes
There is a free airport pickup and drop off. If the shuttle is busy the hotel will pick you up in a double cab pickup truck (that is how we were picked up.) Contact the hotel with your flight information.
Answer from Chantal B
London, United Kingdom22 contributions12 helpful votes
Sorry to answer so late but My Dream hotel organisé a free airport pickup from and to the airport. Just email them . Hope your stay there will be as enjoyable as ours was
fiona c wrote a tip Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia56 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The safe was painful! Temperamental, opening when it felt like it but the staff were happy to help. It needs to be replaced."
Read full review
paulshelp wrote a tip Jul 2023
Amsterdam, The Netherlands38 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Explore the town over the bridge. Don't be afraid of eating at the Riverside area the food was delicious and very cheap. "
Read full review
Christian A wrote a tip Jun 2023
Zurich, Switzerland27 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"In town there are better options for dinner."
Read full review
Julie H wrote a tip Apr 2023
Larnaca, Cyprus5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You won’t regret booking "
Read full review
RoamingOrient wrote a tip Oct 2022
Bangkok, Thailand11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is a few minutes out of town, but the hotel provides free scheduled transfers and also free bikes. The location is beautiful. You are surrounded by nature. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Luang Prabang area.
PRICE RANGE
£40 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
LaosLuang Prabang ProvinceLuang Prabang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MY DREAM BOUTIQUE RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about My Dream Boutique Resort
Which popular attractions are close to My Dream Boutique Resort?
Nearby attractions include Vat Visounarath (0.3 miles), Wat Aham (0.3 miles), and Wat Aphay (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at My Dream Boutique Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at My Dream Boutique Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at My Dream Boutique Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to My Dream Boutique Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bamboo Garden Restaurant, Pizza Phan Luang, and La Silapa Italian & Lao Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at My Dream Boutique Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does My Dream Boutique Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, My Dream Boutique Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does My Dream Boutique Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, My Dream Boutique Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is My Dream Boutique Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the centre of Luang Prabang.
Are any cleaning services offered at My Dream Boutique Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at My Dream Boutique Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
All Luang Prabang HotelsLuang Prabang Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Luang PrabangHotels near My Dream Boutique Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire