We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bell Tower Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 624: English reviews
Grand Rapids
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed the nights of January 12, 13, and 14 and had an absolutely delightful time there. The staff was courteous and helpful, the location is amazing, the parking very convenient, the rooms warm and inviting and freshly remodeled, and the location is amazing!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank parentr2017
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We really enjoy your group! What a great group of kids! Have a great year and we look forward to your return! Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager

Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Missing turndown service. Room was fairly plain, but the lobby was excellent. Love the chess set in the window. Decent continental breakfast. Would be helpful if the desk people knew more about the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L196254
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt the desk staff could have known a little more about the city. I am surprised because all of our desk staff are students and know quite a bit about the University and the city. I am eager to get the breakfast back up in the restaurant where there is more room and it feels...

Cambridge
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful place, very close to university departments/buildings/eateries. The staff were incredibly nice and willing to work with my relatively inconvenient schedule. Despite being so close to the university, the rooms were very quiet!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williambC7237ZV
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share your stay and the benefits you found with our amenities, location and staff. Thank you again! DeWayne Grann General Manager

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you enjoy traditional hotels this would be a great place to stay. Stayed just for a day, found staff to be very friendly and our stay was comfortable. The only issue we had was that the sofa was so soft when I sat on it that I nearly hurt my back! Location perfect if you were visiting UMich.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECWorld
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that the couch was too soft. The good news is that we are going through a redecoration project as we speak. We will have all new sofas and guest rooms. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We look forward to your return visit and sharing what you think of the new rooms....

Hillsdale
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good job. Could hear people in the hallway and the breakfast seating was small, but wonderful facility and good service. Clean, orderly, not too busy. Funny having graduating students taking pictures in the lobby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewv738
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you were able to experience some university culture with the graduating students spending time in the lobby. We are located right on campus but also downtown Ann Arbor. Perfect for the U of M family member or the corporate traveler! Thank you for the review and we look forward to your return to the Bell Tower....

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in the Center of Ann Arbor, but in a fairly quiet Location. You can reach a lot of restaunts in the vicinity. Also, the major university buildings are close by. The breakfast is not very big, but it is very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. You are correct, we are centrally located downtown and on the University of Michigan's campus. We also can't wait for the breakfast to be moved back upstairs. It will be the same great breakfast but in a more spacious area. We look forward to your return visits to the Bell...

Toledo
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Combination of old world charm with upgrades; great location; staff all very personable and professional One of our family members needs assistance with wheelchair and he staff were very accommodating in securing a storage place and making it available when necessary. Very impressive by the staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrymR3609FK
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am glad to see that we are meeting our goals when it comes to accommodating all of our guests! We look forward to a return visit! Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The Bell Tower combines old-world charm with modern conveniences. It is convenient to great restaurants and landmarks in Ann Arbor. The staff is very attentive, and the valet will park your car, so you don't have to worry about finding a parking spot. We hope to stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Bell Tower. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities while visiting. You are correct, it is nice to utilize our complimentary valet service. Actually, we are the only hotel downtown to offer free parking. Thanks again for the review. We look forward to your next stay...

Delray Beach
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Restaurant closed--staff nice, but not enough staff--bathrooms were updated, but rooms need an update--rooms face walls or parking lot and are dark with not enough lighting. Elevator extremely slow--noises ice machines.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305deenaf
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

The good news is that some rooms are being redecorated starting next week. The rooms will be very elegant and our guests will be extremely happy. Please return and give us another review of what you think of the new rooms. Unfortunately, we are not able to help with the views of the parking lot or elevator. Thank you for...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I registered late on a football game weekend. I chose between a "standard Queen" and a "small queen" as that was all that was left. I chose the standard Queen for over $400 per night. When we got to the room, I was sure that the had mistakenly put us in the small queen. I called the desk and was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edmcg2016
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I understand your issue with the sizes of some of our rooms. We usually have plenty of rooms to choose the best fit. Unfortunately, during some high demand football weekends we don't have much availability. Again, I am sorry for your disappointment. Please give us a try in the future so you have the ability to experience another room type...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
2 Queen (27)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Queen Atrium Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard Queen (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.6 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#20 of 34 in Ann Arbor
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.8 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#14 of 34 in Ann Arbor
341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Address: 300 S Thayer St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1699
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range: £168 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor
Bell Tower Hotel Ann Arbor, Michigan
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#4 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bell Tower Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Nunya
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bell Tower Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You may want to avoid a room next to the stairwell or elevator”
 of 5 bubbles TCWII, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a picture. Don't get a room facing the parking lot/wall”
  • Anybody have binoculars?
  • Only thing missing is the bars
  • turn sideways to enter. What is the opposite of COMMODious?
  • In lieu of chest of drawers.....
 of 5 bubbles 344BarbaraM344, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Arrive early and try to get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles RichardD384, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“facing the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 801AlanB, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“front of the hotel is crucial”
 of 5 bubbles Avidtraveller525, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay