We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

This seems to be the holiday inn that corporate forgot about. Entire hotel needs remodeled and updated to get out of the 80s. Paid $129 night which seems eat over priced for what you get. My room was damp feeling and the air barely worked. I would not recommend this hotel unless they make quite a few improvements. Bathroom is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane D
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Diane I am disappointed that you did not love your stay with us. I would like very much to visit with you on the room that you stayed in, so that I can look into this. If you have time please contact the hotel and ask for Chris, it is important to me that if we have issues with guest... More 

Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed for the third time in three years. check in was great they let us check in early as we had a meeting later on. Room was clean and the place was all done with remodeling. Restaurant had a good happy hour and the bar tender was right on the ball with getting the food and drinks. The pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank papadew_10
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for allowing us to host your events and you trips to Beautiful Alexandria!! I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return, travel safe. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

my husband & I stayed here for two nights in July & loved it. we travel all over the world & stay in many different hotels in different cities & we thought this would be a mediocre stay. It turned out to be terrific. What is cool about this place is that it's truly a classic holiday inn but it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie klukken C
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us Jeannie. Your feedback helps us maintain our commitment to excellence. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care.... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2016

The room was fine. Smelled a bit musty but I always travel with a scented candle for this reason. The pool area was nice and big. The rooms were alright but the bathroom wasn't cleaned well. Someone else's hair in the tub. The beds were comfortable. Included breakfast would have been nice.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am sorry that you experienced some difficulties during your stay with us. We maintain very high standards and are disappointed that your stay did not meet these expectations. I would like to investigate this further and ensure that any issues are resolved. If you have the time to contact me further at gm@rudysredeyegrill.com so that I can get the... More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

The desk staff were nice! I like to start with a positive. I was told I was upgraded to my room. It was on the court side. Not outside window so a very dark room unless you open your blinds to the courtside. I sounds like the window side of the hotel is noisy from the freeway traffic so not... More 

Helpful?
Thank mustangsali
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am disappointed that the room selection was not your favorite, I would like to get you into a different room type if you get a chance to stay with us again. I would love to visit with you further on some of the renovation ideas that you had for us if you have time to contact me at gm@rudysredeyegrill.com.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff and housekeepers are sweet. Disappointed that they don't have continual breakfast. But swimming pool is nice. Our room was clean. If using a gps there is a holiday gas station right when you exit and that is what the gps reads. The hotel is across from country inn. There is a lot of construction in are so entrance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Tracy thank you for taking the time to review our property. I hope that you didn't miss out on our full service breakfast menu options that we offer in our attached restaurant, Rudy's Redeye Grill. We are happy that we were able to provide a wonderful place for you to relax on your adventures. I look forward to your next... More 

Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Surprised to read so many bad reviews on this property. It is the old design Holiday Inn. Kind of cool to see it still functioning. I would think families would love this property with all there is to do inside. If you like quiet seek a room near the restaurant and not by the pool area. Our room was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryModesto
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff works really hard to provide everyone with wonderful stay. We hope that you come see us again soon. More 

Frost, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2016

I agree with the other reviewers saying this hotel is in need of renovations. My bigger frustration is the rec center in the middle of the facility that's basically right outside all the rooms. There's the swimming pool, hot tub, foosball, arcade, etc. There's also basketball hoops and a volleyball net. The windows in my room (and most others) overlook... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VikingJake
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Wow I could certainly understand how frustrating this could be. I apologize that this room type did work out for you, approximately one third of our guest rooms do over look the pool and recreation areas. I sure hope that you give us another try, if we get you into a room that is not near the pool and rec... More 

Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

This property is large, with a pool, two hot tubs, restaurant/bar, fitness center, sauna, pool tables, ping pong, foosball, video games, and indoor volleyball area. They have meeting rooms as well. The restaurant was good. Fitness room is small, cramped, and has far too few machines for a hotel this size. Rooms are OK, but in serious need of maintenance.... More 

Helpful?
Thank scodougle
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I sure appreciate your feedback on your stay at our property. We are currently undergoing renovations here throughout our property, new carpeting, remodeling rooms and public areas along with the exterior of the building as well. I do hope the next time that you are in our area that you take the opportunity to come in and check out our... More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

From the outside and from the lobby this place looks fine. The rooms were smelly, old and poorly lit. The highway is very loud and so was the old heater. There was a strong smell of smoke in the hallways. The part that bothers me about this the most is that they are charging $130 a night, making it over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravelalot79
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am disappointed that you did not have a good experience at our property. We are currently undergoing renovations to update our hotel inside and out. We are looking forward to the completion of this project so that we can impress our guests on all aspects of the Holiday in and Rudy's Red Eye Grill. We are very proud of... More 

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
222 reviews
13.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome!The Holiday Inn Alexandria offers a casual resort like atmosphere and is conveniently located at the intersection of I-94 and Hwy 29 South. Our unique setting makes us the ideal destination for the business traveler as well as those looking for a relaxing getaway. We also offer meeting accommodations for up to 400 people.The beautiful community of Alexandria, MN features a landscape lavish with lakes and offers a variety of outdoor activities. The Holiday Inn Alexandria is near several local attractions, golf courses and a stroll through our beautiful downtown is always a treat. Attractions near the hotel include: Carlos Creek Winery, Casey's Amusement Park, Viking Speedway, Runestone Museum, Maritime Museum, Andes Tower Hill with skiing and tubing, 500 miles of snowmobile trails, and a variety of unique Antique Shops. Brought the kids? We offer a large indoor recreation area which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, wading pool, sauna, fitness center, game room, volleyball court, basketball hoop, hockey nets, pool table, and ping pong.Hard day at work or play? After you ve had a chance to settle into your newly renovated room, join us in Rudy s Redeye Grill; conveniently located inside the hotel, for classic American fare in an Old Chicago style setting. Rudy s has the best steaks in town as well as fabulous sandwiches and pizza.We look forward to your stay here at the Holiday Inn Alexandria where it is always our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria

Address: 5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range: £78 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Alexandria staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are traveling without kids, the best room would be at a different property.”
 of 5 bubbles VikingJake, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the first floor due to the lack of an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 253bretta, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Stay Somewhere Else”
 of 5 bubbles MomRocco, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“To be near the activities center, you need to choose a room location, or it is a bit of a walk from the hotel wings.”
 of 5 bubbles FrankR_42133, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“To have a quiet room ask for one away from the pool, but if you are there for the amenities, choose a pool facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles JCJake, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay