Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias

Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias

Anillo Vial Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130002 Colombia
pools and beach
Traveller (1804)
Panorama at the Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
360
Panoramas (54)
Habitación Presidencial
Room & Suite (339)

About

4.5
#1 of 246 hotels in Cartagena
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
It offers 5 swimming pools, 3 bars: Aqua Lounge, Sports and Infinity; a Spa and wellness, fitness and business center. There are clothing and coffee stores, plus free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar has a minibar, flat-screen TV and a balcony overlooking the sea, the city or the Cienaga de la Virgen. The Columbus Al Forno restaurant is a gourmet dining area where you can take a number of international dishes. The gourmet "ERRE" restaurant by renowned chef Ramon Freixa, awarded 2 Michelin stars at his restaurant in Madrid, it offers spectacular views of the ocean on the 10th floor of the tower. It features stylish decor and is ideal for business lunches or romantic dinners. Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar is a 5-minute drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the Wall City of Cartagena. 24-hour front desk and free parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Children's playground
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Mini golf
Tennis court
Aerobics
Aerobics offsite
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Facial treatments
Hammam
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Anillo Vial Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130002 Colombia
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Rafael Nunez Airport
5,372Reviews60Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3,754
  • 986
  • 385
  • 145
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Claudia G wrote a review Mar 2020
Houston, Texas5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel was beautiful and clean. however if you have any special needs or requests. BE AWARE.
I had booked this Hotel 5 months prior to our Family vacation traveling with special needs adult. One week prior to our Family arriving in Cartagena I called to confirm that ONE of the rooms needed to be wheel chair accessible, and I was told (in Spanish) that the request was noted and they were ready for us. Upon our arrival (Family of 8) we were told that all wheelchair accessible rooms were taken and I could wait until the next day to see if a room could be available. I was extremely disappointed and upset that my adult son could not have all his needs met. The worst part was that after I am told that there is not an accessible room, the concierge asked me if I wanted to move to a floor that was more expensive that included all drinks and better accommodations. Trying to upsell and can't deliver a reservation that was made months prior and paid for. I will give a 5 Star to the food and dining room. I will give a 2 to front Desk.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Claudiacgia, In advance, we thank and value the time you have spent sharing with us your impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar through TripAdvisor. It is satisfying to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities designed for pleasant and memorable family moments. On the other hand know honestly that we regret the discontent that we manifest. Day by day we are working tirelessly with the objective of achieving a higher level of satisfaction for each of our valuable guests and clients, for this reason, we will take into account your important comments to implement the necessary corrective actions in line with the process of continuous improvement. We will be waiting for you with the greatest of pleasure in the next opportunity, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially, General Management. Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaime B wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mother in law , wife and I had the opportunity to go to this very famous hotel in Colombia.

The plan was to stay for 4 nights. But we ended up staying only 1

They offered us a welcome Pina colada which was very tasty and refreshing.

Also the waiters and the guys at reception were very attentive and helpful.

When going into the room the first thing we notice is that the ac was not working properly. They changed the room for us and for my mother in law ( her room was having the same issue).

We ordered some food for dinner and it was ok.

After coming back to the room and going to sleep we notice the ac was not working as expected but since they changed the room for us and said they were working on it we decide to give it a go and go to sleep.

During the night my wife woke up several times.

Rooms are: old, they have thin walls. I could her the other rooms phone ring at night.
The bathrooms have a very word design where they combine a shower and bathtub in the same place. And are too small.

So I decided to go to the reception and they changed us into another room.

In the morning we went to have breakfast at the buffet and it was average.

My mother in laws room shower cap went off and it landed on her head.

So during breakfast we decided to stay at another hotel and to be honest that was the smartest idea.

At reception they offered to give us 2 suites but we rejected it and asked for a refund which they agreed.

We got the help from rocio FloreZ to get the money refunded and she was super helpful, attentive and offered an amazing customer service.

The only reason I'm not substracting a star is because of the amazing staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 9 May 2022
Dear Jaime B, Thank you very much for sharing your valuable rating and comments of your experience in our Hotel through Tripadvisor. On the one hand, we are glad to know that you were able to appreciate and enjoy the warm and cheerful service that characterizes our friendly staff. On the other hand, we regret the negative notion you had regarding the condition of the rooms, let us inform you that Hotel Las Americas strives to provide excellent service that seeks to meet and exceed the expectations of our visitors. That is why we have a highly trained maintenance team with whom we continue to work for your well-being and comfort according to our corrective and preventive maintenance plans and schedules. In this way, thanks to your valuable comments we will reinforce our continuous improvement with the corresponding department in order to execute the pertinent actions to transform your perception in a next stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially yours, General Management Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventure578030 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been coming to Las Americas, Cartagena for many, many years. It has ben always an extremely satisfying stay. Thanks primarely to the staff attention and care.

Special thanks to NINALI PAOLA ROJAS who for many years provided security at the beach. She has been very attentive to ecerything we required and made our stay much easier. We miss her this year. It seems she is no-longuer working at the hotel. We hope to see her again in her old position during our next visit.

Antoun Moussa & family.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Adventure578030, In advance, we thank and value the time you have spent sharing with us the impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar through TripAdvisor. It is very satisfying and exciting to know that you visit us regularly and that you have always been able to enjoy the comfort of our facilities, recreational spaces and services ready to provide you with pleasant and memorable moments. On the other hand, it is also gratifying to know that you have been able to appreciate and enjoy the security scheme that we manage for the care and tranquility of our guests and clients in addition to the exceptional attention and service that characterizes the staff, as Nini used to do, who unfortunately no longer works with us but know that your kind comments and suggestions will be transmitted to the relevant areas who will surely appreciate and take them into account. We will be waiting for you with the greatest of pleasure in a next opportunity, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially, General Management. Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stan s wrote a review Apr 2020
Bronx, New York31 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a reservation for 2 rooms from April 8-17, 2020. The hotel closed for the entire month of April yet refused to provide any refund at all.
We attempted to contact the hotel but since they are closed no one responded. In March,2020 we did speak with the reservations agent who said he would provide confirmation that they were indeed closed so we could make a claim with our insurance company but we received no documentation. To obtain some proof that they were closed we repeatedly went to their hotel website to try to make a reservation and the screen said the hotel was "sold out" regardless of what dates we requested for any time in April, 2020. We have no recourse but to sue the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not pay until you arrive at the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillermo M wrote a review Mar 2020
Boca Ratón, Florida4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The reason why we keep having our annual family gathering in Cartagena at Las Americas Torre del Mar, year after year is because we haven't yet found a hotel where the staff in all the areas of customer interface is so nice, smily, proper, prompt, amiable and warm. One example: our room had the clock system working regularly getting into our room from the elevators area we saw an electrician named James working on top of a ladder in a corridor flash light, we addressed him, explained our need to have the clock fixed. Immediately came down from the ladder, went to us to our room, fixed the clock all done smoothly and with a smiling face! WoW. Round of applause. You don't find that kind of service with such a good will easy. This kind of attitude is with all the hotel's staff. Excellent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The bathtub area need to be refreshed and up date the caulking. Additional table night will be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Guillermo M, In advance, we thank and value the time you have spent sharing with us your impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar through TripAdvisor. It fills us with satisfaction and happiness to know that you enjoyed the pleasant and memorable moments that our Five Star service offers accompanied by the warm and cheerful attention that characterizes our friendly staff. Know that your comments encourage us to continue working to provide an excellent service to those who generously choose us as their hotel of preference. We hope to have the honor of receiving you again, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially, General Management. Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven Alvarado wrote a review Aug 2021
New Jersey1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent staff, facilities and very family oriented. Also, great environment for adults. We had an excellent experience at the hotel. Will definitely return and recommend to friends. I would like to give a special thanks to Andres Cuna in the front desk, he provided A class service. Andres was kind and beyond helpful. The staff is constantly checking in to fulfill the guests needs. Housekeeping does a great job by keeping the rooms spotless.

I would recommend doing the all inclusive package, since it covers all meals and drinks throughout the day. It will provide you with a variety of restaurants to enjoy your meals that included authentic Colombian food as well as international food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear stevenaK7490PW, We thank you in advance and appreciate the time you took to share with us your impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar through Tripadvisor. It fills us with satisfaction to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities designed to spend memorable and pleasant moments with your family, the warm attention that characterizes the friendly staff, such as our helpful colleague Andres Luna, to whom we will gladly convey your special recognition and the multiple facilities that make you experience rest, relaxation and fun in one place, encourages us to continue working to provide a service up to your expectations. We will be waiting for you on your next visit, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially yours, General Management. Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob wrote a review Aug 2021
Tarrytown, New York1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel in general was beautiful and well maintained. Our main reason for going there was for the beachfront location. We wanted to enjoy the beach and be tranquil and relaxed. However, they did not have enough umbrellas or chairs and you needed to make a reservation far in advance. We were directed to the area adjacent the hotel where they had plenty of beach umbrellas and chairs but we had to pay and pay. That was very disconcerting after spending all kinds of money to be in a beautiful hotel then having to pay for the beach umbrella. When we were able to get a beach chair and umbrella set up in front of the hotel. The vendors were completely annoying and ruined my tranquility. Especially the ladies selling massages came over and touched me despite my objections to being touched. It was a scam that was sanctioned by the hotel. Made for an all around terrible experience by the beach which was our main reason for going there. The vendors were annoying, intrusive and insistent. They had security there that was just for show and it seemed that there was some kind of commission deal going on amongst them. Despite my continuous please to be left alone they continued to bother me and my family. I complained to security numerous times but they told me they had no control over beach vendors and that my fellow travelers is a bunch of lies. I've been to beautiful beaches in Jamaica where vendors are only allowed to talk to the tourists when they're invited over. This was not the case at Las Americas. I chose this 5-star hotel hoping to enjoy the beach and to have good security but this was not my experience. I warn you if you're going there to enjoy the beach and to be tranquil do not go to this hotel. The beach experience was disappointing, irritating, disruptive, intrusive, and all around a bad experience. I've written to the hotel management to complain but they have not bothered to reply. One beach massages in particular insisted on touching me despite my pleas to stop she continued to be rude and aggressive her name was Ava. It was only after getting angry and standing up and screaming at the top of my lungs in my best New York City English every single f-bomb you could imagine to get their attention to leave me alone. The next day it was if they had amnesia and continued to disrupt my tranquility and relaxation. I repeat if you're looking for a beach experience do not go to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you're looking to relax at your family on the beach.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Dear drbob914, In advance, we thank you and appreciate the time you took to share with us your impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar through Tripadvisor. We are very sorry for your discomfort with the comments you made about the vendors on the beach. We kindly inform you that the beach is public, which allows access to this type of people who see in this space the opportunity to offer their products and services to our guests. From our hotel we work to create awareness in these people, outside our internal staff, to provide a warm and respectful service so that your experience on the beach is pleasant. Likewise, we have made the management of the umbrellas on the beach but the provisions of the legal control entities offer the number that is currently in place. Please know that we will continue to work tirelessly on improvement actions that will allow us to exceed the expectations of you, our valued customers. We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially yours, General Management. Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob F wrote a review Jan 2023
Hastings on Hudson, New York36 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time, full stop. By the looks of the hotel, it appears that the experience will be similar to what a stay in Cancun, Aruba or Punta Cana might be.

On the positive side, the staff is beyond nice. They are not as hungry for tips as much as they are eager to to their jobs well. The weather is perfect, whether on the beach or at the rooftop pool, there is a breeze to make 88 degrees feel perfect. The ocean temperature is very comfortable, the warmest I’ve felt. The scene on the beach is unique. There are vendors selling cocktails, beers, ceviche, seafood, fresh mango, plantain chips and other stuff. All very inexpensive and good. You are among a lot of local people, who could not be nicer. The rooftop pool is a very different place. Young and hip, but I’m 62 and felt fine up there.

On the negative side, there is a lot less English spoken in Cartagena than even in Medellín, never mind Mexican resorts and others. I can express myself in Spanish, which helped a lot. But if you had to question a bill or reservation in English, it would be frustrating. The beach is very different in a few ways. When you enter the beach, you’re on your own. If you ask a security guard, he’ll put you with an independent hustler who will set you up with one of the umbrellas set up to the right of the hotel branded umbrellas for about $9. You will get set up in an old white resin chaise with no pads. I don’t know who gets to sit in the hotel branded area, but the chairs are no better. The sand on the beach is a darker gray and extremely fine. It can stick to your legs a little bit, but no biggie.

The buffet for breakfast was nice and the lunch and dinner buffets always had great ingredients for a salad. That was great. We generally ate dinner out in the walled city. The servers in the restaurants were fantastic. The remembered us with genuinely great attitudes. We loved our people
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 17 Jan 2023
Dear Bobkatonah, In advance, we thank you for your loyalty and the time invested in sharing with us your impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar through Tripadvisor. People interested in enjoying a magical experience of happiness will know, by reading your review, which is the ideal choice for an exceptional vacation. We are very happy to read such pleasant and stimulating comments about our service, attention and Five Star facilities designed for the satisfaction of you, our valued guests and clients. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially yours, General Management Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James P wrote a review Oct 2023
Fort Lauderdale, Florida20 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a luxury hotel right on the beach without having to cross the street. The rooms were clean, modern and everything worked well. The staff was remarkably nice; everyone said hello and was extremely polite. That said there were some drawbacks the first is there meal plan they offer only two meals per day while you are there. Your day of arrival you get either lunch or dinner. The second day you get breakfast and lunch or dinner. Your day of departure you get only breakfast which is confusing; they should eliminate this and offer all inclusive and give everybody a wristband. The food we had was not very good. I ordered churrasco and received instead what appeared to be a piece of sirloin that was butterflied and had the hell cooked out of it; dry and tough as shoe leather or horse meat. Then some small pieces of fish at another buffet were so dry that I couldn’t chew them. Some of the other food was OK but nothing was outstanding. The pool by the lobby was really nice and they had a Jacuzzi beside that. There was also a smaller pool on the 10th floor with a bar alongside it. The view of the beach from the room was really stunning. However, if you go out on the beach the locals are selling all kinds of things, including raw oysters, clothing, trinkets, even some lady hustlers who were trying to sell massages. One main drawback to this place: it was very expensive. To book it for two nights was $544. When I arrived I paid $200,000 Colombian pesos ($50) for an ocean view. Then after that we accumulated probably $200 worth of miscellaneous charges for drinks and mini bar. The bill was unintelligible. It had numerous columns on it, and it was not understandable at all. Each of the included meals was listed on the bill which was very confusing because you couldn’t really tell whether they were being charged or not. You would have to have a degree in accounting to be able to decipher this three page bill for a 2 night stay. As nice as this place was and as lovely as the staff is, I can’t recommend it because it it just too damn expensive for what you receive.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Dear traveler, We appreciate the time you took to share with us your impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar through Tripadvisor. Very kindly know that we regret that the price-quality ratio that you perceived during your stay did not meet your expectations, however, we appreciate your comments as these are the meter that allows us to review where we can improve for the satisfaction of you our valued guests and customers. We look forward to welcoming you again, so that you can give us the opportunity to provide you with a pleasant stay and positive experiences.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brenda B. wrote a review Sept 2021
Huntersville, North Carolina48 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel on August 2021 with my dad. The hotel is great. The spa phenomenal. Breakfast was good. LOVED the pools and the room was nice. The staff was very nice, specially Jorge, Castaño, González, Hellen, Andrés, Marcos. The HR recruiting team did a good job. They all greeted me and it was lovely to chat with them. Just be careful with beach vendors. unfortunately, I wasn’t properly debrief on my first day at the beach. Sadly, I realized I was ripped off with extremely high prices by the beach vendors (to do water activities) and ladies that offer massages. The prices I paid were ridiculously high. And they even had the audacity to ask me for tips. Is a shame because I wasn’t aware of what a fair price should be so I paid high prices + tips to those heartless vendors ! I feel like they laughed at my face. The hotel management team should have warned me. I don’t bargain so I paid whatever they told me as I thought prices for water activities at the beach were regulated by the hotel. I even cried days later because is just wrong that vendors take advantage of tourists like that.

I couldn’t even read my book in peace because the vendors are constantly harassing. Nonetheless, I recommend this hotel because the amenities (except beach) are worth it. Just don’t purchase anything outside the hotel (my mistake). Inside the hotel it was very safe and cleaned and staff were polite. I recommend it.

My recommendation: management MUST do a better job at informing us (tourists) about the high/unfair prices charged by vendors at the beach and the constant harassment that one will encounter.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Las Américas Hotel, Director General at Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Dear Brenda_u8a, In advance, we thank you and appreciate the time you took to share your impressions of your stay at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar through Tripadvisor. On the one hand, we are very pleased to read that you were able to appreciate and enjoy the comfort of the service, attention and Five Star facilities that have always characterized us. On the other hand, we are deeply sorry for your discomfort and discomfort with the comments you have made about the vendors on the beach. We kindly inform you that the beach is public, which allows access to this type of people who see in this space the opportunity to offer their products and services to our guests. However, from our hotel we work with love and care seeking to create awareness in these people, outside our internal staff, to offer a warm, gentle and respectful service so that your experience on the beach is pleasant. Do not doubt that your comments will be taken into account, they encourage us to provide a service up to your expectations. We hope to have the honor of receiving you again, we assure you that you will live a unique and unforgettable experience in this your home in Cartagena de Indias, because #LasAméricasIsMore Cordially yours, General Management. Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Bob
Tarrytown, New York1 contribution
Call the hotel directly. Popular package was breakfast included and your choice of four restaurants on the property and then you can take a cab to hundreds of great places in the walled city of Cartagena. Make sure you book the beach in advance or they won't have any open spots for umbrella and chairs.
Answer from Neil Ballesteros
Bogota, Colombia188 contributions7 helpful votes
The thing is the hotel is right in front of the beach but some rooms have views of the back and this is why in some Pics you see the road but all its ok
Chris G asked a question Sept 2019
New York City, New York
Is the food free?
Answer from Neil Ballesteros
Bogota, Colombia188 contributions7 helpful votes
If you pay for all inclusive ofcourse otherwise no
Answer from Neil Ballesteros
Bogota, Colombia188 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel offer this service but personally recommended to take a cab in the airport please verify the official Service, is god and chipper!!
Jhoan S wrote a tip Sept 2023
Baja California, Mexico1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"the service has to be more pleasant"
Read full review
Billy L wrote a tip Aug 2023
New York City, New York52 contributions106 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a seaside room."
Read full review
Edwcm wrote a tip Aug 2023
Miami, Florida12 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t prepaid dinner nor lunch. Order from the menu."
Read full review
martin e wrote a tip May 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suggest a hotel downtown."
Read full review
Timothy J wrote a tip Nov 2022
13 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"They add Propina (a tip) without your knowledge. We may have been targeted becaaue we are Americans. It was so bad we will never go back."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cartagena area.
PRICE RANGE
£110 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
las americas torre del mar hotel cartagena
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar
LOCATION
ColombiaBolivar DepartmentCartagena DistrictCartagena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
270
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL LAS AMÉRICAS TORRE DEL MAR CARTAGENA DE INDIAS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Nearby attractions include Maremagnum Cartagena (0.6 miles) and Palma Beach (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Conveniently located restaurants include Erre de Ramón Freixa, Tesoros Del Mar, and Zona Norte Restaurante Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Cartagena HotelsCartagena Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CartagenaHotels near Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar Cartagena de Indias
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire