We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Mamallena

Hostelworld.comUS$28*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hostel Mamallena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Mamallena
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Despite the owner being helpful and friendly, this hostel did very much disappoint. We may have just visited on an unlucky week however, on one of our nights a stranger from the street strolled in and went into every room on the top floor of the hostel stealing two phones. Seeing as there are no wristbands the man easily strolled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tash A
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Its a shame to get a review like this. These girls stayed with us for 5 days, and I thought we had a pretty good rapport. We spoke quite a few times and they had a great stay, as evidenced by the very late nights and later afternoons they had! There was an unfortunate incident where someone did enter the...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This place is not for light sleepers due mostly to the nearby bars. If you get the dorm next to the street, prepare for one of the louder nights you'll experience in a hostel. On the other hand, I was so tired at the end of the day that I somehow managed to sleep OK. Overall, the place is fine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExtraUnderwear
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived here after getting in on the boat from Panama, and despite having very little space left the owner shuffled things around for us and gave us dorm prices for sharing a private room. The aircon was excellent and very needed in Cartagena, and the courtyard is always full of people to talk to. Good free breakfast with extras...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyQA
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Hostel was pretty loud until late at night, even with the quiet hours after a certain point. Pretty well located (10-15 min walk to old town). Wifi was decent. A super simple breakfast (a pancake and coffee was included)...could have been a little better. I didn't find the front desk staff particularly kind of helpful unfortunately...most of my interactions with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you felt that way about the staff, we dont aim for our guests that feel that way. that said we are quite a busy hostel and it does get difficult to deal with so many people at the same time. We must have been reasonably helpful though, as you found it easy to book shuttle...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel is located in a great spot. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are cleaned daily, areas are kept clean, air con is standard in the rooms. You can organise all the main tours from the hostel and any transport required. Hostel is safe with security at nighttime and has cool bars nearby. Only reason for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie R
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We organised our your from cartagena to Panama city with this hostel. We chose la gitanita. This tour was fantastic. No problems. The captain and crew were professional and helpful and communicated the daily plan well. The good was simple but hearty. We caught 2 big fish on the first night so we had fresh raw tuna every day. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlybowers
Palm Beach Gardens
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at a lot of party hostels. But this place brought a whole new meaning to party. I felt like a nightclub was in my room. I was in dorm upstairs above the bar and across the street was a bar. However, it didn't bother me and I have a sound machine app on my phone to block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gia H
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This is a party hostel with a lot of young people -- no doubt about that. As long as you come prepared with that expectation, you'll be fine! The staff was super helpful and all spoke English. Only cold water in showers but like others have said, you don't need hot water since outside, it's so... hot... all the time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omika J
Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I really liked Mamallenas in Cartagena! It is located just across the big Media Luna Hostel where you can go to the rooftop party on Wednesdays. Mamallenas itself is not a party hostel, but is has a very good vibe and you can always find nice people to start your night with in the courtyard when night has fallen which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffman
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We booked to stay 4 nights but left after 1, unfortunately it was just too loud for us to sleep. We were in the bar until 2am (which was good fun) but could still hear noise from it in our room after that time. We were in room 18 which is closest to the bar, so avoid that one. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ajs245
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

And this is the reason that we put on our website that if you might be affected by the noise then it might be a good idea to look else where. We do everything possible to inform people of this risk before booking, so its a little bit rough to then complain about the same things that you knew about...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
15.8 mi away
Mucura Club Hotel
Mucura Club Hotel
#2 of 2 in Isla Mucura
58 reviews
44.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#110 of 151 in Cartagena
126 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Linda
Hotel Costa Linda
#1 of 5 in Santiago de Tolu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
390 reviews
49.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#34 of 151 in Cartagena
676 reviews
15.7 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: £10 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Mamallena staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Mamallena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Number 5 was good for internet connection but noisy.”
Kaykay, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is the loudest”
amandaanders, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There may be fewer customers on weekdays than at weekends.”
TrangPea, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back of courtyard”
RebeccaW286, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Air-Condition needed!”
Steffman, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$28* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$49
Agoda.com
Booking.comUS$33
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates