Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande

Traveller (473)
Panorama of the King Superior at the Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
360
Panoramas (16)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (300)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£102
£87
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#70 of 246 hotels in Cartagena
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Cartagena is distinguished by its warmth, hospitality and service; Holiday Inn Express Bocagrande adopts Colombian traditions achieving our guests feel at home. We offer a delicious breakfast buffet to start your day full of energy, whether the purpose of your business or leisure trip, find everything you need around the hotel for your convenience and you will end your day in the privacy and distinction of our spacious rooms and suites. Cartagena is warm radiates its own light, comes to life and transforms. Guests love Holiday Inn Express Bocagrande and prefer to stay in our hotel for its modernity, comfort, care and unique location with direct access to the beach, only one block. We are surrounded by a great variety of restaurants where you can go or ask delivery service, a typical and international food.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Solarium
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

Avenida San Martin Cra 2 N° 9-54, Cartagena 13001 Colombia
Name/address in local language
842Reviews27Q+A34Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 420
  • 285
  • 80
  • 25
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jmscarvalho wrote a review Mar 2023
Porto, Portugal204 contributions96 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I believe it delivers what you can expect from a Holiday Inn Express.
It's a functional hotel.
Staff is the plus side on it, being quite good and helpful.

Rooms are average, with quite beaten beds.
Location is good, with good access to city center and beaches.
Pool is quite ok and food is average at best...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaime L wrote a review Feb 2020
North Carolina225 contributions203 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed to several Holiday Inn Express in the US and have not experience this hot huge breakfast and plenty of different fresh fruits. The staff were great and several speak English. The cleaned the room everyday. There are several restaurants nearby, as well as a Cerrula Express supermarket across the straight. The drinks and snacks in the mini refrigerator were expensive. It has good location in Bocagrande.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIEXcartagena, Manager On Duty at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Jaime L Thank you for your comment and for choosing our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit. We want to receive you again, when you decide to return we will be waiting for you to offer you a great experience. Cordially Jean Carrascal Manager On Duty
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Markko T wrote a review Dec 2022
252 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is an average hotel. It is clean. Good location. Friendly staff. It has safe in the room. Reasonably priced. It is strange that one day we had to ask twice for them to make up our room allthough we were away for many hours and it was not made. Breakfast is very poor and from 9AM very crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norman P wrote a review Oct 2022
14 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are staying at this hotel now, and are extremely disappointed. The rooftop pool area is under major renovation and is not pleasant at all to use due to construction noise and dust. The rooftop pool was a major factor in deciding to stay here, and so we are extremely disappointed Holiday Inn did not inform us of this renovation work beforehand. We were initially placed in a 12th floor room, but we had to move due to the construction noise on the rooftop. We were moved to the eighth floor, but could not stay there due to the floors being warped because of humidity. We were placed in a sixth floor room, which has an extremely loud air conditioner that is preventing us from sleeping, but we have to run it due to Cartagena's heat and humidity. We are extremely disappointed and recommend avoiding this hotel at least until the rooftop pool renovation work is completed. The only bright spot of our stay thus far has been Victor at the front desk, who has been extremely helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We are staying at this hotel now, and are extremely disappointed. The rooftop pool area is under...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello normanp657, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cristina E wrote a review Jun 2022
Bogota, Colombia14 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
AVOID!!!!!!! it’s Dirty. As in cockroaches in the lobby and stained sheets on the bed. Also the receptionist tried to give us a cheaper room than we had paid for and then proceeded to try to convince us that “queen” beds in this hotel actually meant single beds.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Responded 31 Aug 2022
Hi 521cristinae, Thank you for leaving us feedback. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and doing business with IHG. We are determined to provide our guests with a pleasant time. I am sorry for what happened during your visit. I've shared your feedback with the hotel management to help improve our guests' satisfaction. To discuss this further, send an e-mail to IHGService@ihg.com with your reservation details. Until your next stop in the area, we look forward to hosting you again to redeem your confidence in us. I look forward to your response. Until your next stop in the area, we'll look forward to redeeming your confidence in us. Sincerely, Roshelle D. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin G wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom128 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are very friendly and helpful at this hotel, I think because the breakfast is free with your booking, they don’t make that much effort as they are feeding the mass. There’s nothing they can do when you have this volume of people going to have breakfast, it’s warm. I decided to go outside of the hotel for my breakfast.

Would I stay here again there are certainly a number of hotels around here, I’m not sure I would, but I’m not putting the hotel down. It’s missing something.

Out of 5 a 2/3
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HelenPana wrote a review Jan 2024
25 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For a Holiday Inn Express this was excellent. The room was modern, very spacious, and clean. The roof top pool was small but pleasant. I really liked the “cool” vibe they had with the music and day beds. They did make an effort here to make the place more “boutique” like with a nice pool side bar. Of course I would have liked a larger deck area for individual lounge chairs for suntanning, but they made the best use of the space they had. The gym was not air conditioned so it was hard to use the aerobic equipment it had. I did get a weight session in though. Breakfast was better than the typical holiday inn breakfast in N. America. Not fantastic like a resort.

The location was great near shops and restaurants. The beach was close. Do not expect a great beach in Cartagena. The water is brown. The beach here was infested with people harassing you. It was so bad that we chose to sit by the pool despite being beach people. We couldn’t even enjoy a nice walk without hassles. Running along the other canal side was easier and quieter with an actual paved path.

The hotel is close to the old city. It was a 20 min walk or short cab ride. Old city was great for food and entertainment. We also did a 5 island tour booked just outside of the hotel which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefaninv wrote a review Aug 2022
Quito, Ecuador7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible , awful, dirty, old , …… just don’t go there, everything it’s dirty , there’s no customer service what so ever …….
Just keep scrolling down and look for more options …..
Not family friendly… front desk guys just don’t help.
Old flooring , dirty room, there was some kind of oil on the floor and the bed
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go there old and dirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ari Bialikamien wrote a review Aug 2021
11 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time I stayed at this hotel and never disappoint, the room is impeccable clean and service is phenomenal, from the moment you enter the lobby you are well taking care of. Breakfast is well presented and the pool is great. The location is a plus as you can find many restaurants and the beach just blocks away. Kudos to Mr. Bernal the GM.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tricia V wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good location.and spscious rooms.. Needs cleaniness improvement specially on floors. Food is very average Cartagena 's attraction is mainly the walled city it's about It.. surrounding áreas are unattractive .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nissatima asked a question Nov 2020
New York City, New York
Is this hotel guest friendly ?
Answer from Alan
20 contributions1 helpful vote
Elevator is back left corner, 2 of them very efficient. Place is really nice, you wont be disappointed really. If you are going there to meet women then not the place, very clean and family oriented
Answer from TRAVELdglobenow
Tampa, Florida5,023 contributions421 helpful votes
I did not get charged for extra fee- no resort fee or anything similar. I am sorry for answering late. I have been sick.
Kim wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Already explained in previous text"
Read full review
Earl J wrote a tip Jul 2023
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are 3 different Holiday inn express locations. So make sure you have the correct location for cab."
Read full review
Norman P wrote a tip Oct 2022
14 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"We are staying at this hotel now, and are extremely disappointed. The rooftop pool area is under major renovation and is not pleasant at all"
Read full review
Stefaninv wrote a tip Aug 2022
Quito, Ecuador7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go there old and dirty"
Read full review
Jeremy W wrote a tip Sept 2019
Toronto, Canada23 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher the floor the better the view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cartagena area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ColombiaBolivar DepartmentCartagena DistrictCartagena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS CARTAGENA BOCAGRANDE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Nearby attractions include Barrio Getsemani (0.3 miles), Monumento a la Palanquera (0.1 miles), and Centro Comercial La Mansion (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Conveniently located restaurants include 7 Cielos Rooftop, Persepolis Gastrobar, and Pizzeria Aguanile.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Walled City of Cartagena (1.7 miles), Centro Historico (1.3 miles), and Sanctuary of Saint Peter Claver (1.1 miles).
All Cartagena HotelsCartagena Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CartagenaHotels near Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire