We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande

Avenida San Martin Cra 2 N° 9-54, Cartagena 13001 Colombia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (473)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (300)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#71 of 245 hotels in Cartagena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Cartagena is distinguished by its warmth, hospitality and service; Holiday Inn Express Bocagrande adopts Colombian traditions achieving our guests feel at home. We offer a delicious breakfast buffet to start your day full of energy, whether the purpose of your business or leisure trip, find everything you need around the hotel for your convenience and you will end your day in the privacy and distinction of our spacious rooms and suites. Cartagena is warm radiates its own light, comes to life and transforms. Guests love Holiday Inn Express Bocagrande and prefer to stay in our hotel for its modernity, comfort, care and unique location with direct access to the beach, only one block. We are surrounded by a great variety of restaurants where you can go or ask delivery service, a typical and international food.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
842Reviews27Q+A34Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 420
  • 285
  • 80
  • 25
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kay J wrote a review 14 Feb
West Columbia, Texas108 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
We traveled from Texas on business and play. Ms. Imperio and Ms. LaoniI was absolutely wonderful. We do not speak Columbian. Their English was fantastic and they were a great pleasure to be around. The hotel was very clean and peaceful. The staff in restaurant didn’t understand English very well but they tried to understand and got our orders right every time. David and I highly recommend this hotel. Be sure to see Ms. Imperio and Ms. Laoni , they will make you feel like being home.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jmscarvalho wrote a review Mar 2023
Porto, Portugal202 contributions96 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I believe it delivers what you can expect from a Holiday Inn Express. It's a functional hotel. Staff is the plus side on it, being quite good and helpful. Rooms are average, with quite beaten beds. Location is good, with good access to city center and beaches. Pool is quite ok and food is average at best...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Martin G wrote a review 13 Feb
London, United Kingdom125 contributions23 helpful votes
The staff are very friendly and helpful at this hotel, I think because the breakfast is free with your booking, they don’t make that much effort as they are feeding the mass. There’s nothing they can do when you have this volume of people going to have breakfast, it’s warm. I decided to go outside of the hotel for my breakfast. Would I stay here again there are certainly a number of hotels around here, I’m not sure I would, but I’m not putting the hotel down. It’s missing something. Out of 5 a 2/3
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kim wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
The facilities are Ok, but the staff smiling but everything is Super slow action. 2 days before we left the hotel, we went down for breakfast around 08:30 and when we returned about 1 hours and a bit later, they had cleaned our room and my wife checked right away and a usd100 bill was missing from her wallet, no doubts. Went down and talked to the Manager who had me fill out a format (clearly an internal one but was easier having me fill it out) but Ok. 2 days later when we left had cero feedback from the Manager and still today another 2 days later, still nothing. Aware there is not much they can / will do, but really annoy me when they on top tell you BS that they will put lie detector on the staff and similar etc.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Already explained in previous text
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
HelenPana wrote a review Jan 2024
23 contributions20 helpful votes
For a Holiday Inn Express this was excellent. The room was modern, very spacious, and clean. The roof top pool was small but pleasant. I really liked the “cool” vibe they had with the music and day beds. They did make an effort here to make the place more “boutique” like with a nice pool side bar. Of course I would have liked a larger deck area for individual lounge chairs for suntanning, but they made the best use of the space they had. The gym was not air conditioned so it was hard to use the aerobic equipment it had. I did get a weight session in though. Breakfast was better than the typical holiday inn breakfast in N. America. Not fantastic like a resort. The location was great near shops and restaurants. The beach was close. Do not expect a great beach in Cartagena. The water is brown. The beach here was infested with people harassing you. It was so bad that we chose to sit by the pool despite being beach people. We couldn’t even enjoy a nice walk without hassles. Running along the other canal side was easier and quieter with an actual paved path. The hotel is close to the old city. It was a 20 min walk or short cab ride. Old city was great for food and entertainment. We also did a 5 island tour booked just outside of the hotel which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jmscarvalho wrote a review Oct 2023
Porto, Portugal202 contributions96 helpful votes
It's an holiday inn express. Not much to expect apart from the regular service and normal rooms. It's not an amazing hotel, but it is what it is... Location wise is good, next to the beach. Has a nice parking in the city which is quite helpful in that location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Earl J wrote a review Jul 2023
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
Manger Michele and desk personnel were very helpful. I could not complete and confirm reservations because I lost internet at Cartagena airport. They helped me with my limited Spanish to confirm my reservation and helped me add a day. Breakfast was good and very easy to navigate.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There are 3 different Holiday inn express locations. So make sure you have the correct location...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jesse_50 wrote a review Jun 2023
Tallahassee, Florida116 contributions41 helpful votes
I want to like this place but.. phone in the room gives a dial tone but you can’t reach the front desk because the phone actually Doesn’t work. You’ll need to call the front desk because you’ll be gone from 8 am to 2 pm and your room won’t be touched Maids play a game of bumping their carts into the walls. No idea why this happens but from 2 pm to 5 pm you can count on a loud bang every 45 seconds. Rooftop bartender had to look up how to make a margarita. But didn’t put salt or lime. Charged $32000 pesos. His replacement at 6pm Carlos knew how but come on.. A/C has one speed.. slow.. forget about adjusting
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Hi Jesse B, We appreciate you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande for this trip and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you choosing us and doing business with IHG Hotels and Resorts. We aim to give our guests an efficient stay in a place that feels fresh and focused only on the features and services you need; I am sorry we did not deliver this time. I shared your sentiments with our hotel management and trust that proper actions will be taken to avoid this from happening again. Until your next stop in the area, we look forward to hosting you again to redeem your confidence. Sincerely, Grace L. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Markko T wrote a review Dec 2022
14 helpful votes
It is an average hotel. It is clean. Good location. Friendly staff. It has safe in the room. Reasonably priced. It is strange that one day we had to ask twice for them to make up our room allthough we were away for many hours and it was not made. Breakfast is very poor and from 9AM very crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Norman P wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
We are staying at this hotel now, and are extremely disappointed. The rooftop pool area is under major renovation and is not pleasant at all to use due to construction noise and dust. The rooftop pool was a major factor in deciding to stay here, and so we are extremely disappointed Holiday Inn did not inform us of this renovation work beforehand. We were initially placed in a 12th floor room, but we had to move due to the construction noise on the rooftop. We were moved to the eighth floor, but could not stay there due to the floors being warped because of humidity. We were placed in a sixth floor room, which has an extremely loud air conditioner that is preventing us from sleeping, but we have to run it due to Cartagena's heat and humidity. We are extremely disappointed and recommend avoiding this hotel at least until the rooftop pool renovation work is completed. The only bright spot of our stay thus far has been Victor at the front desk, who has been extremely helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We are staying at this hotel now, and are extremely disappointed. The rooftop pool area is under...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello normanp657, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cartagena area.
PRICE RANGE
£72 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ColombiaBolivar DepartmentCartagena DistrictCartagena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS CARTAGENA BOCAGRANDE - Updated 2024 (Colombia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.