We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Waypoint Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Waypoint Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The double bed room was clean, a little small, and too much noise from other guests during the night, mainly because the roof of the room was not completely sealed to the aisle. The hostel was good though, very nice, and the staff very simphathetic. The front door is open 24 hours, wich is good.

Helpful?
Thank Tainor T
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is clean, good staff. The rooms are clean and confortable, but the double room doesn't have much space, but is ok. The place has swimming pool, different areas out and inside the building. There is three bathrooms. I strongly recommend this place to stay if you are looking for good value and good place.

Helpful?
Thank ananda129
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

I have been to many hostels in Colombia, and Waypoint Hostel was the best experience for me and my friends. I wanted to stay at a nice, quiet hostel but near poblado area and I think I was in the perfect place, because Lleras park is noisy. We enjoyed the pool inside the hostel. The room was so clean, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Egidio C
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This has truly been one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It wasn't too big but you were able to get to know new people. It was safe and the people working at the hostel were always open for a chat, kind and knew who you were. It's located close to university EAFIT, to supermarkets, shopping malls,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stef K
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

I had decided to come back to stay at Waypoint Hostel since it was a comfortable place right next to the university where I took Spanish courses at back 3 years ago. However, although I had originally planned to stay at this hostel for 3 nights, I could no longer stay after getting bitten by bedbugs (there could have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank jassophone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Only had one night at this hostel, but was a very pleasant stay. We had a private double. Nice clean rooms, clean bathroom hot shower and good wifi. Owner was very welcoming and has great knowledge of the city and offered us some great tips for the remainder of our stay. Would recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

I was in waypoint hostel during 2 weeks in the big dorms. The dorms is very cool, you have your own place with light and plugin and lockers. The hostel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. I recommend you this hostel if you want a quite area even it's near the metro station. The manager Diego... More 

Helpful?
Thank Val D
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Waypoint is definitely one of the greatest hostels I have ever been to. My staying was so delightful, that I fell compelled to write a proper evaluation here: 1) Location: walking distance from Aguacatala Metro Station. The neighbourhood is safe, clean and within 5 minutes walk from restaurants, shops, supermarkets and cinemas. Poblado is definitely the place to be in... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaioAugustoBraga
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Waypoint in the large dorm room for 6 nights while in Medellin. It's located right around the corner from Aquacatala metro station. So, it made getting around Medellin really easy. The staff was super friendly and super helpful! The washrooms were always very clean and so was the full size kitchen. This place also has a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alfonso F
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Payment is required on entry. When I decided to leave early. Informing them the day before, they only returned 80%, leaving COP 27,000 in effect stolen. The receptionist was then rude and hostile calling me a gringo in a sneering tone. I was told to be careful as a gringo has not the same rights in Colombia as a Colombian.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay S
WaypointHostel, Gerente at Waypoint Hostel, responded to this review

Mr Lindsay, First of all we would like to thank you for visiting us. Second, we were surprised how your personality changed suddenly. The first day you were really friendly talking about how good would be for you to buy an old Volskwagen Bettle because they´re really cheap in Colombia. Remember when you Cheked In at the hostel that you... More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
4.4 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#5 of 101 in Medellin
207 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#46 of 101 in Medellin
45 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#7 of 101 in Medellin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
#22 of 101 in Medellin
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#21 of 172 in Medellin
75 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Ram
Hostal Casa Ram
#45 of 114 in Medellin
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in El Poblado neighborhood, one block from Aguacatala Metro Stop and 50 mts from EAFIT University Campus. The hostel has a nice swimming pool, bbq area and hammocks. Facilities as fully equiped kitchen, free parking, free internet access and 24 hour coffe. The staff will give you travel information about Medellin and Colombia. Surrounded by big trees on a quiet zone that will allow you to sleep far from the noise of main avenues and party places, but close to everything that you need as ATM's, shopping malls, party zone, metro stop, supermarkets, hospitals, drugstores, street shops, bus stop, bars and liquor stores.Waypoint Hostel is the perfect choice for those who want to relax and share experiences with other travelers, as we say, is your home on the way! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waypoint Hostel

Address: Carrera 48B 10 Sur - 08, Medellin ., Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range: £10 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waypoint Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waypoint Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waypoint Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely not the dorm type with 12 people”
 of 5 bubbles jassophone, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“dont book this hostel for cry out loud!”
 of 5 bubbles Glochelos, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Say "NO" to room #4.”
 of 5 bubbles thiskentuckygirl, 10 Nov 2013 | Read review
“for couples or people who are looking for some privacy, there are also private rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles BenPluss, 8 Oct 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay