We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Tower House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Tower House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
Grenoble, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's a character place, in a great area, at a really good price. You can find smarter hotels nearby - at 'smarter' prices. However they can't really better the position and definitely can't better the service or the price ! The cheapest room is 5,500 Which we took - then got upgraded to a really spacious sea facing room, at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cookingcleric
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property is beautiful in its design and furnishing. It's location opposite the Chinese fishing nets and the 'you buy, we cook' outlets by the water is an additional plus point. The problem is that this property is not maintained very well: it's dusty, the plumbing poor, the air conditioners are in bad condition. I am ok with ignoring the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 658adwaitk
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The tower house is a lovely property that has tried to maintain the look of an old Kerala home. It's pretty, peaceful and has lovely rooms and very courteous staff. Mr. Ranjit Kumar and Ms. Sarita were very cordial and attentive. The hotel is close to the Chinese fishing nets and old churches and cafes, that made walking around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KL132L
Paris, France
Reviewed 22 October 2016

the most beautiful place i have ever been to.Not only the rooms are elegantly furnished with special care, this place is unique .You will feel like a prince or princess living one century ago .Time stopped here though this "non hotel" is located right in the corner on the beach in the middle of every thing .In the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayoun Z
Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The Tower House was orginally built by the Portugese for the purpose of being a lighthouse. Later on it was taken over by the Dutch who extended the building by the side. Now taken over by the Neemrana group, the hotel has lived upto the trust that travellers have for Neemrana properties all over India. You enter into a cobblestoned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parvati61
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The room was impeccable, the staff and people around spectacular, friendly and catered to our every whim. The service and hospitality in Kerala is as memorable as our experience on this entire journey. People constitute the most enhancing part of any travel and here this is the highlight, not to mention the rooms are huge and spacious and very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilanit690
Thiruvalla, India
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This property will take you back in time, to a colonial era when the Dutch, Portuguese, French and English ruled Fort Kochi. There are plenty of common areas adorned with portraits of its former owners, and relics from its regal past. The neemrana group has refurbished the place to perfection, and the guests are offered a pleasant stay with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pilimat
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for only a night but was extremely satisfied with the stay. The room, or should I say a mini-condominium type of house was amazingly fantastic ! It was huge. Room was clean, and they allowed the A/C to be switched on while your away during the day to 'cool' the room, something not many hotels in India...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nithiyaraj R
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Excellent Location and period property. It is a very good budget hotel, neat clean, excellent staff .True value for money. Was personnaly attended by the manager and the newly appointed front desk lady. it is was real Home-Stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kishorepasari
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Dear Friends, i have always been a fan of Neemrana properties but i must say that this property sucks.The upkeep is so bad.the moist stench in the rooms n the dismal service made it a terrible experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaibhav S
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Tower House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your patronage and for taking time out to write to us! It is deeply disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your experience and your visit did not turn out as expected. We have investigated the matter and hereby wish to apologize and offer an explanation. Since the city witnessed unprecedented rainfall this monsoon,...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Other (55)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Colonial
Le Colonial
#40 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#41 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#65 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#29 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#28 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house and hence the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. The scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship. And indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us.The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate, large tubs and windows that have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. It’s been restored to be compatible with present day needs while maintaining its structural integrity. It reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly.The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and it is adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism.Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tower House

Address: 1/320 Neemrana's - Tower House Tower Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Neemrana's Tower House)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £57 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tower House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hay0unz, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Must go state is KERALA ...”
 of 5 bubbles ilanit690, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room facing the Chinese fishing nets”
 of 5 bubbles Arunzpn, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Mossel is a very good choice”
 of 5 bubbles NeeladriC, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check the status of the bathrooms, some are ensuite and some are "in-room"..”
 of 5 bubbles garkilleen, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay