We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Ambadi

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Ambadi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room service is as very bad ,they even don't serve drinking water on time . Customer support at reception wasn't there (we were forced to carry our heavy bags ) . Unhygienic rooms ,overall no value for customer ,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank harishojha
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a school get together in Ambadi and the stay was really nice. The rooms and toilets are really clean and well maintained. They have ample parking space and the location is very close to Thekkadi and Periyar tiger reserve. The restaurant is worth mentioning and is one of the best in Idukki district. The pork dishes are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Febin V
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback of Hotel Ambadi in Trip Advisor. It is our endeavour to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality. We are glad to receive such a positive feedback which keeps us motivated throughout and also feel encouraged by your kind words of appreciation. Also glad to know that...

Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this restuarant for lunch during our Thekkady visit. We had to wait for at least 15 minutes for the waiter to take the order and again more than that for the food to be served. Most items in the menu were not available. The food was also not good. The Paneer Butter Masala was a horrible experience and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun-Revathy
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. Firstly, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and the delay you had to experience in the restaurant. The main cause of the delay in restaurant was due to the huge customer flow and the high demand for dishes. Your concerns have been informed to the team members and we assure you...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel looks good from outside, wooden building, lots of greenary, nice balcony. But no television in the room or anywhere in the lobby! Travelled with kids and they were bored at night. Paid for extra bed but we were only given extra mattress, not comfortable at all. They dont have extra bed. Front desk staff not friendly at all. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanajah G
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable time in writing the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had to go through during your stay in our property especially with the service provided by our staff. The factors has been duly noted and taken care of with an assurance that such shortcomings do not occur again We, once again, apologize for...

Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went on an unplanned trip but were fortunate to get one room in Ambadi they have very good wooden interiors. The location of the hotel is good and you can shop around easily. Thekkady is better place than munnar for me and this hotel makes it more pleasant . their food is one of the best in Thekkady specially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kavish B
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We thank you for taking time to post your feedback following your stay at Hotel Ambadi. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the various amenities and the facilities were to your liking. We highly appreciate and are grateful for your encouraging and kind words of praise on our hotel and the food been served. Please do accept our...

Kolhapur, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful,comfortable,well designed with full wooden touch... go for super deluxe room where bedroom in upper deck n living in lower and ll get bath tub in bathroom ..enjoy one day stay and have good food too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noop1986
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your valuable feedback in Trip Advisor following your stay at Hotel Ambadi. It’s a place which gives you all the comforts with touch of legacy and it is designed and maintained in a way to deliver the culture of Kerala in its own traditional manner to the customers. We are always giving our best to maintain...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice stay. Old but nice hotel with lot of greenary and traditional rooms. Nice location close to all visiting places in Thekkady. A nice place to stay for tourists. As rooms are like individual cottages, privacy is maintained

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anil Kumar P
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We appreciate you for spending your valuable time in writing such a wonderful review of Hotel Ambadi. It is our endeavour to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and services. We are pleased to receive your positive feedback and feel encouraged by your kind words of appreciation. We are happy to know that you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on 20th Dec 2016 for one night with my family. The aesthetics of the cottage I booked through agoda.com was good minus TV. But room service was pathetic. Even for a cup of tea we called twice but couldn't get. It appeared as if because of discounted booking they disliked us as a guest. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkamles
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thankyou for your valuable time in writing the review. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you had to go through during your stay in our property especially with the service provided by our staff. The factors causing the inconvenience has been duly noted and taken care of. We assure you that all necessary measures has been taken to ensure that...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found this place in trip advisor and got one of the best deals also. For 2300 Rs per night, this is a value for money hotel. No extravagant facilities or luxuries. No Room Service. But spacious rooms, decent restaurant, suitable for staying overnight enroute to any destination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Preethy H
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback further to your recent stay with us. We are really obliged to you for providing an opportunity to serve you and we are happy to hear from you that you enjoyed each bit. Your feedback encourages us to continue to strive towards the perfect satisfaction of our guests. We once again thank you and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself provides a good, minimum standard of service. The room was clean, tidy and spacious and the best feature of our time in the hotel. The bathroom was a bit dirty when we arrived but very good shower. The hotel is located centrally in Kumily which is good, but the main attraction is the wildlife reserve, and after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle384
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We thank you for taking time to post your feedback following your stay at Hotel Ambadi. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the various amenities and the facilities were to your liking. The Wildlife sanctuary is 925 sq.km. Sometimes it happens that inspite of covering the whole area, won’t be able to see any wildlife there. We believe,...

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (64)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#13 of 41 in Thekkady
260 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#24 of 41 in Thekkady
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.2 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kumily Gate
Hotel Kumily Gate
#33 of 41 in Thekkady
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Price Range: £28 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ambadi 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Ambadi Thekkady, Kerala, India
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ambadi staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ambadi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't choose back side room as there is parking and you might hare drivers talks.”
 of 5 bubbles 526kavishb, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“it is located at the center of the city. the main market is walkable from the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 526bilals, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“best food at thekkady”
 of 5 bubbles nibu123456, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The whole place is quiet, try to get cottages with verandah”
 of 5 bubbles 114deepar, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor Rooms are good. Other rooms are a hike from the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles sgthampi, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay