We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

At first glance this looked a good hotel, the reception at check-in the guy should try and smile as he had a face like fizz, the rooms were spacious and clean but the air con was very noisey, my biggest complaint was the service in the restaurant having ordered two starters, two mains, my wife had her starter and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaphosGerry
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean and spacious rooms with good breakfast. Staff were very friendly and the location is good. It is a luxury hotel for a very reasonable price. Hotel is close to Taj Mahal and added advantage for those staying in this hotel is they can access Taj Mahal through the VIP entrance gate which is very less crowded. It has a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stardust_005
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel the Retreat Agra! We are truly thankful to you for writing this wonderful review. We are glad you were able to enjoy our services. It is a pleasure to read such a positive comment and to know we were able to showcase the true standards of hospitality. It has been my pleasure to convey your...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights. This hotel is located not far from the main attractions in Agra. The standard room was spacious, air-conditioned, clean and tidy. The staff was friendly. There was free wifi, though a bit slow. The breakfast was good, with various choices of food available (including boiled egg, fried egg, sausage, cereals, bread and butter, orange juice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas L
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra! It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Retreat, Agra recently. Your feedback is very valuable for us; it always helps us serve you better. We are glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our product, staff, location and services. Your generous comments will encourage...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location close to the Taj Mahal! We arrived late in the evening so upon arriving we arranged with the tour guide for a car to take us to the Taj in the morning and then after breakfast and checkout they also took us to Agra Fort and then on to Jaipur. Price was very reasonable. We ate breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeppo1986
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! Kindly accept our apology for the restaurant staff, they could not stand as per your expectation. We are glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our product in terms of location, food, cleanliness, travel desk, pricing and rooming. Your generous comments will encourage us to do...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's clean and has all adequate services. The way they dealt with arrival and departure is very good. The night party music was off putting as were traveling with kids. The pool was clean and cool. We did not stay in the room too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat, Agra! Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere appology for the music... At the same time we thank you for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for the Services, Staff and Cleanliness. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of...

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff were eager to help and friendly. The hotel was a good size. We did not want to stay in any western hotels, and preferred smaller hotels (and did NOT want or need 4-5 star hotels). We wanted to experience the Indian culture, but wanted something clean and quiet after the busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bstaples29
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel the Retreat Agra! We are truly thankful to you for writing this wonderful review. We are glad you were able to enjoy our services. It is a pleasure to read such a positive comment and to know we were able to showcase the true standards of hospitality. Such feedback serves as a great motivation for...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Our room was comfortable, bathroom and shower ok, WiFi was rubbish. If you eat in the restaurant order something hot, it's a bit dicey using the buffet, food only lukewarm. Staff helpful and friendly. Not a bad place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jp592
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra! It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Retreat, Agra recently. Your feedback is very valuable for us; it always helps us serve you better. We are glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our product and staff. We will surely make amendments in the...

Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We had a nice stay in the hotel. They want to be luxury, which seems to be on the first look, but especially our room was not in best condition... everything was made to look good, but the quality of the furniture got lost. So we could not close our bathroom door or looked expired. Staff is nice. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank misteristravelling
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! Kindly accept our apology for the dissatisfaction and inconvenience caused to you. We regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. We are glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our product in terms of staff. We would certainly...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Once a month I use to stay in this hotel. Very cooperative staff. Restaurant is good, but don't have much options. Breakfast is good. They don't have a fitness centre which was a drawback for me. But then I came to know that a wonderful park, (taj nature walk) was near by, which really compensated the hotel not having gym...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anilbnair
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra! Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. At the outset, please accept our sincere thanks for taking time & writing your valuable feedback for the staff. I am glad that they were able to create memories to cherish during your stay at the hotel. We look...

Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed at this wonderful hotel as part of our Northern India Spice Route tour by Encounters Travel. Upon arrival we were greeted with cool moist towels, a Bindi ceremonial blessing and a glass of mango juice by the staff. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The WiFi is a bit spotty, but we managed. We skipped the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
TheRetreatAgra, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra!! Our endeavour is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and my team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing Such a positive review. It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the entire team. They are delighted to know that their contribution...

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 142 in Agra
521 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
3.3 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#25 of 142 in Agra
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#18 of 142 in Agra
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#13 of 142 in Agra
1,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#21 of 142 in Agra
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Price Range: £31 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Agra
#11 Business Hotel in Agra
#17 Spa Hotel in Agra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have said it all”
 of 5 bubbles PaphosGerry, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The location is fairly quiet at night”
 of 5 bubbles Z1196DTthomasl, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No tip that I can think of”
 of 5 bubbles bstaples29, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“very large and clean room”
 of 5 bubbles mohdshanu786, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not near the Spa”
 of 5 bubbles katieNelly, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay