We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Homestay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 373: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Homestay was a very good experience for us. We were travelling on a whim and booking last minute locations and were excited to see there was a room available at the homestay. We spent the first night in one of the rooms in the main house and it is was an amazing room. (The best we stayed in on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wren S
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were a family of 5 - 2 adults, 16yr, 14yr and a 6yr old. We really loved our stay here and everything everyone is writing about the food is true - Delicious! Harish and his wife were charming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We booked a walking tour and morning boat cruise through them and loved both....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelFNQ
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent two nights at Homestay in Varanasi and I must say that I really enjoyed the welcoming from Haris and his family, always there to help you get the most of your stay in Varanasi. The home made vegetarian food is just amazing! Nice large room conformable. Thanks again Harish!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DorianXY
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

thanks a lot Dear guest, For taking time to write about the hospitality of Homestay and thanks for coming to stay with us. Best Regards Harish

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the best stays we have enjoyed in India. The room was great - spacious, clean and very comfortable. I loved the hot showers and the fluffy white bed covers. The decoration added a little something extra. The included breakfast was tasty and plentiful with a choice of fruit, homemade jams, toast, and delicious parathas. We also enjoyed Malika's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avesuran
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Dear Guest, For describing the over all services of Homestay in a genuine review. Thanks a lot for being so kind,generous and plentiful with words. Best Regards Harish

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This accommodation is priced about right for what it offers. Clean rooms, some spacious though cold in winter season. Wifi not available in all areas and frequently not for best reception/speed. Frequent power outages probably beyond local control. About a 30 minute walk to the main ghat so reasonable location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Dear garry, Thanks a lot for coming and staying with us and even extending your stay with us for 2 additional days, so we feel you had a good time here. as explained in my earlier review of another guest, this winter has been terribly cold and foggy and hence some problems related with weather, beyond our control anyway. Regardinig...

Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

I initially booked a single stay of 4 nights (12-28 - 12-31-2016) through email with Harish, and I’m sad to say that the stay was terrible that I ended up staying one night and leaving (Harish still asked to charge for 2 nights and I agreed, knowing that his small short-term gain will only drive my overall feedback and overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brasieliro0
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Dear Mohammed, Thanks a lot for writting about your experience of Homestay. In short, you have blamed the Homestay for your early departure from Varanasi, where as i kept requesting you humbly to tell me the reason to depart so abruptuly, but you only told me it was too cold in Varanasi and you will change your Itinerary to go...

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

This experience started before we even arrived in Varanasi. Harish was so helpful throughout all of our contacts prior to my arriving, and even when we experienced a flight delay and arrived a day late he was so helpful and accommodating. We could not have asked for a more warm and inviting atmosphere that Harish and his lovely wife Maleka...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarek H
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to write about the unfortunate delay you had in arriving in to Varanasi due to bad weather. This year its been a terrible winter here in North India and due to heavy Fog, all flights and trains are delayed, canceled and many other problems. I think, it was not your mistake and beyond...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we came in total of 12packs (two family) for the 1st time to Varanasi. Mr.Harish was great guy. Here I would like to share my best partner. yes the drive. he was great guy and much more than that very well responsible person. it was such a lovely trip we had in Varanasi and our whole family was very happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nandakumarayyavu72
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Dear Nand Kumar, thanks a lot for writting, so many Malaysians stay with us but few write a review so we Team Homestay are grateful for your coming to stay with us, and trusting us with all your travel arrangements and we are happy that we have lived up to your expectations. Hope to see you, your friends and family...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having travelled in India for 3.5 months, I can honestly say that this was the best place to stay. My partner and I stayed with Harish and Malika for 10 days. Everything from initial communication and arrangements to leaving the home stay was effortless. Harish is well knowledgable, well travelled and a great conversationalist. His wife Malika cooks the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank namodev
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks Dear Guest, For your kindness with words in explaining true hospitality of Homestay and recommeding us highly to other guest. You both are welcome back any day...... Best Regards Harish

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay with Harish and Malika, it is perfect and great for a family, the food is wonderful. We had duvets instead of blankets and the quality and we were so snuggly. Also have a look at Harish's boat tour in the morning along the Ganges, its well worth it. He also has a textile boutique spoil yourself to a pashmina...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailbj
Hasselfree, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks Dear Guest, For writting your review. Best Regards Harish

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#7 of 74 in Varanasi
1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
1,952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 74 in Varanasi
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
1.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 74 in Varanasi
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#11 of 74 in Varanasi
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Homestay is managed by an Indian family and those who like to stay with a family and share the culture and taste freshly made home cooked vegetarian food would like it here very much.A traditional Indian house built in 1936, with complete teakwood work and antique hand carving workmanship on the doors, windows, decorations and furniture. Lots of open space for natural sunlight and air. Beautiful seat in garden in the front. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Homestay

Address: D - 61/16, Varanasi 221010, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Price Range: £30 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best rooms are the main rooms at the Homestay”
 of 5 bubbles wrens2017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the Rooftop!!”
 of 5 bubbles Brasieliro0, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Clean with great food”
 of 5 bubbles gailbj, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a run floor room which was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles sharretr, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All of the room are spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles HPG324, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5