Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Traveller (945)
Panorama at the Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
360
Panoramas (15)
Desk really dirty
Room & Suite (336)

View prices for your travel dates

£40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#78 of 274 hotels in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior with Balcony, Superior Deluxe, Grand Deluxe, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Bar, Ayodya Pool Bar and Warunk Cuci Mata. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian

Location

Jl. Pantai, Kuta 80361 Indonesia
1,472Review51Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 402
  • 631
  • 267
  • 91
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Blake b wrote a review Sept 2022
Perth, Australia136 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For the Price cannot complain- Location close enough to most places in kuta just on busy road so def use bike or walk. Clean rooms, Pool with swim up Bar, best air con I’ve had in 30 years of coming to bali❄️❄️👍, beautiful staff and gardens , nice authentic bali vibes ,behind street straight across from beach, live band, karaoke, dj every night- only thing faulted from my opinion was the food very substandard - mainly try modern served ,authentic balinese like your hotel and you’ll just get better. 100% be back Christmas and New Years and hopefully before. Thanks again for great stay…. Oh and best mango Sisha in 69 bar in kuta 🙏🙏
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 15 Sept 2022
Dear Blake b, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! First of all, we would like to appreciatively thank you for your trust to stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali during your vacation in Bali. We are glad that you are satisfied with our awesome location which is located exacly in front Kuta Beach and the nice touch by our stunning services delivered by our friendly staffs. We are not only glad to know how much you admire our great traditional Balinese ambience that come with clean room and lushful garden, but also how nice of you to praise our amazing swimming pool that equipped with poolbar and live music at the evening time in our restaurant. Your feedback for the food is already well noted and we appreciated these as one of the tool for our improvement and development. We also shared this information to our restaurant to avoid the same problem in the future and we would maintain our excellent service to exceed very high level of guest satisfaction. Once again we thank you for your wonderful review about us and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali. Best regards, Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TampaBayTiger wrote a review Feb 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom305 contributions111 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Grand Istana Rama Hotel for 11 nights from the 19th January.
The hotel is in a very prominent position opposite the ocean and next door to the Boardwalk shopping centre.
The hotel grounds are impressive and very well kept.

The hotel room was comfortable with a decent sized bathroom.

The bed was also very comfortable and the air conditioning was adequate.

There’s a minibar/fridge with soft drinks and lager (at a reasonable price) You’re also given a couple of bottles of water every day.

The pool area and bar are very nice for relaxing

The restaurant is overlooking both the road/ocean and the swimming pool. The food is a good mix of Indonesian/Asian and western style food.
Breakfast is buffet style which is also a mix of Asian and western classic food.

The hotel offers a great choice of tours/trips via its own tourist office.
You can also hire one of their vehicles and driver for your own use
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adi S, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear TampaBayTiger, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali would like to gratefully thank you for sharing your precious holiday experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you have a great experience with our fantastically service, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home. As the charming hotel with traditional Balinese design, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy to have our awesome location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali. We are also very happy to know that you enjoy our beautiful tropical garden, spacious room with many amenities that you could enjoy in the room, fantastically swimming pool which equipped with pool bar that will make you feel relaxed, tasteful breakfast in our restaurant while you may enjoy your dining time with the view of Kuta Beach, and great service from our friendly staff. Once again we thank you for your wonderful and sincere review about us and we will be eager in welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitchell-Family-01 wrote a review Sept 2022
Australia1,434 contribution215 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently returned from spending 10 nights at the Grand Istama Rama Hotel in Kuta with my youngest daughter (23yo).

Last time we came to Bali was eight years ago and it wasn't until I searched for another hotel in Kuta that I came across the Grand Istama, yet I reckon I've walked past it at least a dozen times on previous trips. It is hidden behind restaurants which front the hotel. It is located directly across the road from Kuta Beach.

After an initial issue with our ground floor superior room, the hotel manager - Sewa, really looked after our accommodation needs and for that we are very grateful. The main hotel lobby and conference centre is currently under renovation but that in no way impacted on our stay.

The pool is large and very well maintained. It also contains a pool bar which is very handy.

For the price you cannot complain about the standard of rooms which are cleaned daily and in your typical Balinese style.

Breakfasts are served in the restaurant and if you require bacon just ask the staff as it's not found in the bain maries. Although there is western food available there is a Balinese/Asian influence, but plentiful.

For the kids (and adults) there is daily fish feeding and even a squirrel feeding area.

Grounds are beautifully maintained.

Staff are awesome, friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay very pleasurable. A big thank you to Aria who made us feel like family and his assistance was invaluable.

Overall we found this to be in a excellent location and were very impressed with the facilities. We will return!

I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Cheers, Paul (and Alana).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for ground access rooms - no elevators
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 15 Sept 2022
Dear Paul and Alana Mitchell, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your great experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are gladly happy to welcoming you back in our hotel and acknowledge that you enjoy your moments when stay with us until your departure date. We are appreciatively thankful for your admirable praise for our awesome location which is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, our fantastic swimming pool with pool bar to give you the relaxing feeling, great Balinese traditional ambience with lushful garden and fish pond which many squirrel love to hanging around, and our food outlet that you can enjoy your breakfast and various Western and Asian menu that we serve in our restaurant. We also very contented with your experience with our friendly and helpful staff, especially with Dewa and Arya, as they giving you amazing service delivery and make you feel pleasant during your stay. We will share your great review with them as they will be delighted to know that they have enhanced your stay experience which is this is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home. Related with the renovation on lobby area, we glad to inform you that Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on refurbishment especially in our reception and lobby area. Surely we hope this progress could be to increase the very high level of guest satisfaction during their stay in the future. Once again we are very thankful to your great review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali to create another perfect holiday for you. Best regards, Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Benn W wrote a review Feb 2020
Gold Coast, Australia10 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first time back to Bali after 11 years. I have to say the hotel has got some character in it. Yes its a old resort but the customer service that the staff have is amazing they will bend over and do anything they can no mater how the weather is. The number one bar attender in the resort is Endra had a time with him and he was so polite and well mannered. If I had my own business I would be looking for him to work a Bar for me. Not enough could be said for him. And I will be going back and staying there again in 7 months time.

The food was affordable and very tasty and all the drinks in the resort was very affordable.

All in all I will be back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adi S, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear BennW_12, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! First of all, we would like to appreciatively thank you for your trust to stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali during your vacation in Bali. We are glad that you are satisfied with the services from our front office staffs. As the charming hotel with traditional Balinese design, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is blessed awesome location which is in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali. It is our pleasure to know that you have a great experience in our restaurant and we value your compliments with regards to the treatment you had at our Ayodya Poolbar, including the service delivery extended by our amazing staff Endra. We will share this review with him as he will be delighted to know that he has enhanced your stay experience. We are pleased to know that you will come back to stay again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitchell-Family-01 wrote a review Aug 2023
Australia1,434 contribution215 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the third time that I have stayed at the Grand Istana Rama in Kuta with my daughter. I also brought along two friends with me this time, their first time at the hotel.

I organised the airport to hotel transfer through the Grand Istana and was pleasantly surprised to see Aria from the hotel pick us up to the sound of ‘welcome back Mr Paul’. When we arrived at the hotel I was further greeted by the concierge - Danny, who also addressed me by my name as he remembered me too. It felt like I had returned to my second home.

Last year the hotel was undergoing renovations and I was rapt to see that the reception area was beautifully restored. We were again looked after by management, and a special thank you to Mr Dewa (Duty Manager) and Miss Dewi (Reservation Manager) for upgrading us to ground level deluxe rooms.

Breakfast had also improved with more selection of hot and cold food, and more variety in fruit juices. This time I was fortunate to meet Miss Dewi (Food & Beverage Manager) and told her how impressed I was with the selection available at breakfast.

The pool area was still a favourite of ours with the pool bar operating from 10am. The pool was cleaned each morning and the water quality and pool surrounds very clean.

A big thank you to the the staff at Bar 69 located at the front of the hotel overlooking Kuta beach. A special thank you to Andi who always gave us a smile and greeted us each time along with the all the other staff bar staff.

The grounds are still beautifully maintained and great to see that the squirrels are still being looked after with coconuts placed in feeding area - the large Banyan tree. They are obviously getting use to us humans as they weren’t as timid as we got closer to take photos of them.

The Grand Istana Rama is in a great location location and positioned directly across from Kuta Beach and extremely close to the Beachwalk Shopping Mall.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Grand Istana and will definitely be returning to our ‘second home’ to see our Bali family (staff) at this hotel.

Cheers from Paul & Alana.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Dear Paul and Alana, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! We are delighted to have had the privilege of hosting you for the third time, along with your daughter and friends. Your continued loyalty warms our hearts, and we are thrilled to know that our hotel has become a second home for you. It's wonderful to hear that your airport-to-hotel transfer organized by us started your stay on a positive note, and the personalized welcome from Aria truly made you feel valued. We are glad that Danny's warm greeting at the concierge further enhanced your arrival experience. We truly appreciate your understanding during last year's renovations, and we are overjoyed that you found the restored reception area. Your kind words about our team's efforts, especially Mr. Dewa and Miss Dewi, have been passed on to them. It's our goal to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. The improvements in our breakfast selection and the enhanced variety of hot and cold food, as well as fruit juices, are ensuring your dining experience is delightful. Miss Agung Dewi is thrilled to hear about your positive feedback. Your appreciation for our pool area and the efforts put into maintaining its cleanliness and water quality mean a lot to us. And we are thrilled to hear that Bar 69 and Andi, in particular, left a positive impression on you. The squirrels in our beautiful grounds are indeed a delightful sight, and we are glad you enjoyed their presence. Our prime location, just across from Kuta Beach and close to the Beachwalk Shopping Mall, was designed with your convenience in mind. We are try our efforts to provide the best possible experience are being appreciated. Paul and Alana, your heartfelt words remind us why we love what we do. Our entire team is already looking forward to welcoming you back to your Bali family at Grand Istana Rama. Best regards, Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nipper WA wrote a review Jan 2020
Mandurah, Australia69 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in many hotels in Bali over the last 20 yrs but i must say i will be staying here from now on

The rooms are sensational very clean , the staff are amazing & friendly this hotel is so quite we stayed there between the dates of 20th Dec to the 27th Dec 2019 then returned to stay again in the 5th Jan till the 10th Jan 2020 .in room 613

The grounds are beautiful easy access to pools location of this hotel is the best straight across the rd from beach you go left you head to kuta you go right you head to Legian ,Semiyak etc

Getting transport out the front is so easy for both taxis & motor bikes the oly down side to this Hotel is the Breakfast we paid for it with our booking but only attened 1 morning then went out for breakfast reason being very very ordinary probaly 1 of the worst i have encountered out of all the Hotels we have stayed in .Bali but its not a major problem as eating out is better anyway.

Must say the Bali Ladies behind the reception Desk every day were fantastic so friendly & polite especialy 1 of them who i Nicknamed J Lo so to everyone looking for a Family Hotel ,Couple Hotel or just a Quite Relaxing Hotel that is Priced Perfectly & Located close to everything then this place is it

All they have to do is improve their Breakfast then it would get a 100 out of 100 but at the moment its sitting around the 95 Mark at the moment Nipper
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I would suggest any room would be fantastic like I said its so Quite you will get a good nite...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adi S, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Dear nipper h, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your fantastic experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests As the charming hotel with traditional Balinese design, we are pleased to acknowledge that you like our spacious and clean room, precious location where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali, and our friendly and helpful staff. We value your compliments regard to our service that delivered from our receptionist and we will share the same with them as they will delighted to know that they enhanced your stay experience. Furthermore, we are thankful for your feedback regarding our breakfast in our restaurant and we already shared the information to our restaurant to ensure that they will learn from your feedback and avoid doing the same case in order that we will maintain our excellent service to exceed very high level of guest satisfaction. However we would like to inform you that we have various food outlets in our hotel which will give you difference taste and sensation that will more enhance your stay experience. We are delighted to hear that you will come back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali, and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali to create another perfect holiday for you. Best regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George C wrote a review Feb 2020
Indonesia2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel is about 30years old but very nice place to stay, I stayed 12 days and the staff really make you feel special morning and night.
One of the reception staff was Ratu she is very helpful greeting me with a big smile morning and night, The Grand Istana Rama Hotel is very lucky to have a valuable staff member like yourself Ratu.
When I come back to Bali I'll be returning to the Grand Istana Rama Hotel for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adi S, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear George C Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali would like to gratefully thank you for sharing your precious holiday experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you have a great experience with our fantastically friendly staffs, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home. We are very happy to acknowledge that our friendly and amazing staff, especially Ratu, had enhance your holiday experience while staying with us and we will share your compliment with Ratu as she will be delighted to know that she have enhanced your holiday experience. We are delighted to hear that you will come back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali, and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali to create another perfect holiday for you. Best regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janeen C wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the best time here
The rooms were great. We had 2 rooms next to each other on the ground floor right outside the squirrel feeding area
One for us one for our teenagers.
We loved swimming in the pool of an evening listening to the live band and DJ playing in 69 Bar.
The buffet breakfast was so nice overlooking the pool or the Main Street in Kuta
The staff were absolutely amazing. The pool guy would come and out and put recliner cushions for us even though he was finished work.
The restaurant on the premises had great food and the cafe next door on the premises too was so lovely and cheap priced. Had a little playground too of you have small children.
We all loved staying here and can’t wait to come back.
We loved feeding the koi fish as we walked over the bridge
Again it was just a great overall stay thankyou to all at Grand Instana Rama
10/10
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 7 Sept 2022
Dear 329janeenc Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your lovely experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that our services and facilities enhance your fantastic holiday when in Bali. As the charming hotel with traditional Balinese design, we are very delightful to know that you have great experiences with our spacious room, green lush garden with fish pond, friendly and helpful staff that give stunning services, and amazing breakfast and food in our restaurant. Also it’s an honor that you have a great time at our beautiful swimming pool which you may feel relaxed and take pleasure there and enjoy live music playing in our 69 Bar. Once again we thank you for your wonderful review about us and we will be eager in welcoming you again to create another perfect holiday for you in the near future. Best regards, Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mac D wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
WARNING! If after reading this you still decide to stay at Istana Rama hotel, make sure that you check your floor, under-cabinet space and surfaces in your room extremely carefully.

I’ve got to say that we’re quite tolerant travellers and can put up with untidy bathrooms, not properly working AC and other minor stuff. But not a health hazard, which our stay did turn into.

When we just arrived we did not pay much attention to some dirt on the floor. Until the same dirt appeared in other places (including the table) and looked very much like… mice feces. After that we inspected the room more carefully and discovered A LOT of mice feces and a dead gecko under the table, the cabinet and our bed. To make matters worse, on the same night we heard strange scratching noise under the bed and to our horror and utter disgust found a convulsing mouse there, lying next to POISON pellets. We also found more poison hidden under the furniture. The thing is, they simply put it there without even notifying us about the poison. Atrocious is it to think that poison could’ve got into our suitcases, clothes, food… To say that it’s unacceptable - is to say nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Dear Mr. Maxim Dikun, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! First of all, we would like to appreciatively thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write some feedback. We are really sorry that you had bad experiences which seen like horror or horrible. As a matter of fact, it was our pest control mistake and we have dismissed him. And the fact is 1 mouse only, no cockroach nor nothing else. The dead mouse was brought and put by other guest in second floor veranda, and would be cleared up by outside outsource pest control. Unfortunately, he did not do well till another guest check in. And you have asked whether the glue not dangerous. Already answered by housekeeping that it is not. Seemed if is bite trap for mouse like many people applied at home but during cleared it up not properly done. It is the first and last bad treatment we hope in our hotel. Your feedback is a valuable tool for us to assess our performance and make necessary changes. We assure you that your comments have been shared with our team. Once again, we thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, allowing us the opportunity to provide you with an improved and memorable experience. Best regards, Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graeme B wrote a review Jun 2022
60 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are large and very clean, excellent Bathrooms. Pool area is clean but lack of Pool beds and condition of these beds very poor. Breakfast is for locals only with a poor selection of Western Foods. Any hot food is alway cold. The biggest problem with this Hotel is the Bar and the local Bands and DJ who performed every night until 11.00pm. I meet with the General Manager twice and asked if they could turn down the music after 10.00pm. Nothing was done. The Music from the DJ can be heard in every room, its boom, boom, boom with duff duff duff from the Bass. In my opinion the Management care more about the Bar area then the many clients staying in the Hotel. I asked him to come back at 10.00pm to hear for himself but again nothing. I also asked him if this Hotel is wanting to be a family hotel or a party hotel, his answer was a family hotel but not prepared to do anything about the music levels. So to sum up if you want to get no sleep up to 11.00pm or maybe later now , well this hotel is the place for you. If you want peace and quiet, I would suggest looking elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: As far away from the front to avoid music.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adi Soenarno, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Dear GraemeB670, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely grateful that you love your stay with us during your holiday in Bali. We are appreciatively thankful for your admirable praise for our large and clean room, as well as our bathroom. We also very appreciate that you enjoy our pool and take note with the pool beds conditions. Related with our foods, we are very appreciate of your review related with breakfast and food, and this would be our concern to improve our quality due to we were in transition after limited service level to suddenly international tourist in Bali. We have made correction and improvement directly to maintain our excellent service to exceed very high level of guest satisfaction. Pertaining with live music in our bar, we do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel. We do understand with your concern to have better rest with peace and quiet room, and this is will be our valued feedback to enhance our service and quality. As a matter of fact, we have informed you that more than 200 guests stay in the hotel, although only one room complaint about the band sound. However, we remain to respect to you by offering to move to other convenient room which was farther from the bar, but you refuse. We have more than 25 in-house guests who need to sing together. If we stopped this music immediately, they will also complain. Please realize probably that was the beginning of open border in Bali, so this is happiness of guests come together in Bali. Once again, your feedback is valuable to us and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel. Best regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manabdb asked a question Mar 2023
Guwahati, Assam1 contribution
Hi, Is it currently required to have a COVID Negative report to check-in?
Answer from Mitchell-Family-01
Australia1,434 contribution215 helpful votes
No, haven’t required to provide proof from March 2022 😃
Answer from Mitchell-Family-01
Australia1,434 contribution215 helpful votes
I agree, book a Deluxe Ground floor room. The pool is more or less at the front of the hotel so you need to walk to the pool from accommodation. It’s an awesome hotel and I’m going back in August 🙏
Mitchell-Family-01 asked a question May 2022
Australia1,434 contribution215 helpful votes
Hi, what are the breakfasts like here? Thanks, Paul
Answer from Hotel Management
8 contributions
Dear Mr. Brian K, We are sorry that you experienced that unpleasant feeling during your stay with us 25 years ago. Grand Istana Rama Hotel has Balinese traditional concept, but during these years we have gradually refreshed our building, garden, and all of rooms. As result of these finished refreshments & renovations, our guests will have more pleasant and comfortable feeling during their stay with us and so far there's no complaint related to spiritual encounter. We hope that this information answers your question and we look forward to welcome you again and experience better stay with us. Best regards, General Manager
Answer from Hotel Management
8 contributions
Dear Shanewillo1, Warmest Greetings from Endlessly Happening Hotel! Thank you for contacting Grand Istana Rama Hotel. We are pleased to inform you that our restaurants provide various selections of salads and for any vegetarian food will be available on request. Thank you for your kind attention and please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any further questions.
Ozzie N wrote a tip Mar 2024
Queensland, Australia18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to the pool, and watch our wannabe TomCruise work his magic. You will have to fine out watch shifts he works but a cocktail and enjoy t "
Read full review
Jeff S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Perth, Australia1,589 contribution220 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I prefer a room on ground floor as they have a bigger verandah than the balcony rooms"
Read full review
Joe wrote a tip Mar 2024
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia27 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is located at the heart of kuta. Can expect traffic congestion at peak hours"
Read full review
CoffeeGuyz wrote a tip Feb 2024
Playa Coronado, Panama260 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful pool with swim up bar"
Read full review
Venture53876432209 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t eat breakfast there and make sure you check the bed "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuta area.
PRICE RANGE
£32 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand istana rama kuta
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliKuta DistrictKuta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND ISTANA RAMA HOTEL BALI - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Nearby attractions include Beachwalk Shopping Center (0.07 miles), Kuta Beach - Bali (0.1 miles), and Pande N Lily Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kuta Social Club, Daily Social Bali, and Street 32 Cocktail Bar & Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
All Kuta HotelsKuta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KutaHotels near Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire