We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nihiwatu

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Nihiwatu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 288: English reviews
Start your review of Nihiwatu
 Click to rate
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Travel with friends, stay in the villa, it became one of my best memory. Fishing and surfing, I never be relax and happy like this. For me, i can't say it something you won't miss in Indonesia, but something I can't miss in the life. time is flying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoolSeven
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear CoolSeven, thank you very much for your kind words, we're so glad you managed to get some rest amidst all the fishing and surfing etc! It was wonderful to host you on Sumba Island, and cannot wait for your return! All the best from Sumba!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My family and i decided to go to Nihiwatu because we heard so many nice comments...and we were not disappointed at all All was simply perfect The place; the activities; the beautiful decoration... we were welcome like King and Queen! My kids had great holidays... The GM and James made sure that everyday was a Wonderful day; all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathalie z
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear Nathalie z, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I'm so glad you had a great stay with us, i'll be sharing your feedback with our phenomenal Sumbanese Team! We cannot wait to have you come back, your children have left a void in our Sumba hearts, we miss them already! All the best Sumba wishes to you...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Please respect local tourist, first you guys don't pay attention to our booking packages second i think you guys very discrimination and after all it happens we never get a sorry from GM or someone called James..when we check out our great GM just pass me by and say nothing at all, maybe she is sleep walking

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jurista M
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear Jurista & Ciprian, I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention. Allow me to apologize on behalf of Nihiwatu for our complete lack of communication and understanding regarding the events that occurred over your stay. We believed, incorrectly, that we were making the best decisions to improve your stay, but this was badly communicated and i...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Nihiwatu for 11 evenings and we can not wait to go back. The staff are absolutely beautiful, nothing was ever too much trouble and they were very accommodating. The room was spacious, the home made chocolate to die for and all the little touches everywhere are what make this place NO1! The resorts involvement with the SUMBA...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Hi Sara, thank you so much for this wonderful feedback, it truly was wonderful to have you stay with us, we thoroughly enjoyed having you here! I will pass on this terrific feedback to our team as well!! So glad you enjoyed the Chris & Charly's Chocolate Factory chocolate, we love it too, especially since all its profits are poured...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Words cannot described our experience in Nihiwatu. You'll have to come and experience it yourself to believe it. The location itself make you feel that you are indeed at the edge of wilderness in a secluded part of P Sumba, however the villa, the facilities, the view and most importantly the staffs and peoples in Nihiwatu are a class of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeW2013
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear Mike, thank you so much for the extremely generous feedback, we truly appreciate it. I'll be sure to share this with Asna and the rest of the Nihi team right away! Glad you enjoyed the Marangga's, they are firm favorites with many repeat guests! They really embody the romance that is Sumba Island! Also good tips on the Spa...

Ubud, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djembetycoon
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

denpasar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayan J
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYCBOS
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A C
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

528 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (441)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (228)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumba
0.0 mi away
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
#7 of 11 in Gili Meno
154 reviews
29.2 mi away
Oro Beach Houses and Restaurant
55.0 mi away
Pondok Wisata Pantai Cemara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#10 of 35 in Raja Ampat
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 44 in Manado
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nihiwatu staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Nihiwatu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 bedroom Villa with a View of the ocean high up or half way up the clip for great bay Views.”
  • sunset from our Villa Porch
 of 5 bubbles djembetycoon, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We recommend the Lamba Room. Very spacious, private and terrific sunset views from your private pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Travusso, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Loved the Kanatar villa.”
 of 5 bubbles Boskk69, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All have beautiful sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles dangrace2015, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the honeymoon Maranga 2 - it was stunning and had its own sunset cabana with an amazing view right along the coast from bed.”
 of 5 bubbles EscapeHaven, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5