We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Blue Horizon Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blue Horizon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights before heading home from Sri Lanka. Close to the beach, the owners were incredibly welcoming and friendly. Room was clean and had everything we needed - great wifi and nice view. Maybe the mosquito nets need replacing but everything else was fine. Breakfast was nice too. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Georgina G
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Modern ensuite room of decent size. Tasteful communal areas with nice back garden. Great service. A couple of small maintenance issues, but this didn't detract from the experience too much. 5 mins walk from beach. 5 mins walk from a charming little tourist strip of a few great restaurants huddled together. Popular with Europeans. Reminds me of Cyprus.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Jetset497
zhaoqing
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016

i just stayed one night with a few friends, the staff is very friendly and help, it is very rare that by the side of the reception the boiling water and tea and coffee are available all time for the guest and free of charge that is very good and convenient. the room is clean and neat, but my friends... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rantuswamy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Large room with balcony, fridge, hot shower, great a/c and wifi. Close to beach and places to eat. Staff are very very friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee on tap in reception. Breakfast fresh fruit, toast and eggs cooked to order. Great value.

Helpful?
2 Thank Law2833
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is a very basic guesthouse. The Manager is very nice and helpful and the breakfast was excellent with lovely fresh fruit to finish. However if you can afford a few extra dollars stay somewhere else. The room was very basic with items that were broken. The toilet was filthy and smelt awful. The holes in the mozzie nets were... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlanGJ53
anuranga, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your time for writing a review about us even after few months. We are sorry to note that you were not satisfied. How ever we are pleased to inform you that all shortcomings you have mentioned on your review now has been fixed. we do it regularly in November each year before the season starts. More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

A/c, good wifi, walking distance to all the food and whatnot by the hotels. Could prob do those little things like make sure the window screens by the shower were securely closed to keep the Mosquitos out of the bathroom, but I had no qualms really. I'd come back here and stay again for sure

Helpful?
1 Thank Dingo2464
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We arrived at about 21:30 (9:30pm) to the guest house and stayed only for few hours in the room. A person welcomed us gave us the keys to the rooms on the ground floor and left and was not reachable after our arrival at the reception desk. we wanted something to drink there was no one to serve. The TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZIVA69
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We had a very pleasant stay in Blue Horizon. The managers were really friendly and the rooms were nice and tidy. In comparison with other hotels this hotel offered really good value for your money. The location is perfect and by using the short cut it is just a few minutes walk to the beach. Tip: This hotel doesn't have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten C
United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Blue Horizon is nestled in an attractive and friendly neighborhood within easy walking distance to local fruit and food stands, the beach, and the main tourist drag. The rooms are comfortable and are complete with hot water, air conditioning, mosquito netting, free wifi, included breakfast (ask for the traditional string hopper breakfast), and self service all day tea and coffee... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess C
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Stayed 2 nights at $26 a night on single basis in Room 8. Spacious room with comfortable bed. Shower had good pressure and hot water. Lower ground room towards the back. Quiet and dark when needed made for a good sleep. Wifi worked well. A little tired and a few rough edges but great value at this price. Breakfast included... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJS1966

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Manik Home Stay
Manik Home Stay
#31 of 193 in Negombo
21 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anicia Beach House
Anicia Beach House
#40 of 193 in Negombo
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#18 of 193 in Negombo
354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Taprobane
Villa Taprobane
#12 of 193 in Negombo
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Rani Inn
New Rani Inn
#32 of 193 in Negombo
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Horizon is only 15 - 20 minutes from the International Airport and only approx 100 mtrs from the beach. An approved guest house by the Ceylon Tourist Board since 1981.Now BLUE HORIZON guests can enjoy organized tours in Sri Lanka from 02 to 14 days for an unbelievable price. This service is only for our valued guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Guest House

Address: 81, Cemetery Road | Kudapaduwa, Negombo 031, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: £13 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Horizon Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Horizon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Guest House Hotel Negombo
Blue Horizon Guest House Sri Lanka/Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Horizon Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Horizon Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid the room by the side of the road better”
 of 5 bubbles rantuswamy, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ZIVA69, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms downstairs don't have a balcony but you can access the lovely garden. The upstairs room have really big balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles 115myrap, 27 Feb 2015 | Read review
“rooms at the back are more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles mieke-g15, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
“we had one of the front rooms looking out to the main street which was great watching all the comings and goings. Local people passing by and waving to us in the mornings”
 of 5 bubbles 115myrap, 27 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay