We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lidwala Backpacker Lodge

Save
Share
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (2)
Overview
103 Main Road MR, Ezulwini H106 Eswatini (Swaziland) See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Suites
Bar/Lounge
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
40
27
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
40
27
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking traila great place to stayvillage tourrural africaprivate roomlots of spaceother guestsvolunteersbackpackersbackpackingsupermarketlodgeensuiteswazilanddormitorygablesaccommodation
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Hi, I showed up unannounced and luckily room 3 was available.Its came handy as the hoteI I was supposed to stay , I did not like it and hotels around were fully booked. So I stayed two nights there with my pal it was nice...More

1  Thank Rommy D
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 20 August 2018

hi Rommy Thank you for the review. It is a busy time of the year and we were lucky to have a room available for you without a reservation in advance. i will speak to Pamela t follow up on what exactly happened but we...More

Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We had an option through the travel agent for August and when we wanted to confirm the next day they already rented the accommodation to someone else. I would not recommend lodges that do that. I think it’s a bloody shame to treat your (possible)...More

Thank Paul B
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Paul We deal with customers on a first come first serve basis and we do not confirm your reservation until payment. In some cases customers contact many other lodges, which they have right to do so and is part of healthy competition, before they...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018

A very nice backpackers, lot of things nicely organised, hiking trail right behind the property. We stayed in a double behind the reception area, quite noisy, beds not so good, but good enough for a night. Nice communal area with bar and ok kitchen.

Thank Annikatmt
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Annika Thank yo for the review and we have noted your concern of the bed and we have replaced the mattress. The noise however is due to the close proximity of the room you were in to the main deck. regards Phumie

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Lidwala and we were very disappointed. The first morning we tried to talk to the woman from the reception, but there was no reaction. In our opinion the volunteers (from all out Africa, the company who's also running the backpackers)...More

3  Thank KrisNin
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Nina As we replied to this in your e-mail, first of all the volunteers are paying guests at the Lidwala and not there to welcome other guests and do our job which i think we do quite well as we did for you when...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I have just returned to the UK after a week long stay at Lidwala Lodge. The staff were friendly, the environment was relaxed and clean and the view is stunning. I stayed alongside 4 colleagues as we were volunteering with All Out Africa for the...More

Thank ZoeF12
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for the review Zoe it was a pleasure having you stay with us. It is our goal to have people feel at home when they are at Lidwala and we happy to tell you that you do have a home in Swaziland and...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Lidwala Lodge offers award winning affordable accommodation in the heart of the Ezulwini valley nestled on the slopes of beautiful Sheba's breast mountain. A range of accommodation is available ...More including en-suite twin and double rooms, dorms, self catering private chalets, camping sites and camper van sites. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Restaurant
Spa
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Price range
US$26 - US$58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Lidwala Backpacker Lodge Eswatini (Swaziland)/Ezulwini, Africa
Location
Eswatini (Swaziland) > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Price range
US$26 - US$58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Lidwala Backpacker Lodge Eswatini (Swaziland)/Ezulwini, Africa
Location
Eswatini (Swaziland) > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Photos
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (2)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Ezulwini
The Royal Villas
103 reviews
.92 miles away
Lugogo Sun
340 reviews
1.06 miles away
Mantenga Lodge
868 reviews
1.21 miles away
Royal Swazi Spa
338 reviews
1.25 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 24 restaurants in Ezulwini
Luxy garden restaurant
53 reviews
1.81 miles away
eDladleni Swazi Restaurant
78 reviews
3.84 miles away
Sheba's Rock Spur
71 reviews
1.16 miles away
Mugg & Bean
33 reviews
1.37 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 attractions in Ezulwini
Royal Swazi Spa
101 reviews
1.24 miles away
Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
133 reviews
4.16 miles away
Swazi Trails Adventure Day Tours
48 reviews
1.09 miles away
Mantenga Nature Reserve
59 reviews
1.77 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TLBurgess
29 October 2014|
Answer
Response from A N | Reviewed this property |
Yes. I didn't use it, but it looked reasonably well equipped. They put on breakfast and dinner for a fee. I can't remember how much, but I seem to remember thinking breakfast was overpriced for what it was. Have a good... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Dorms are decent rooms, but if you are looking for an upgrade ask for a double private."
Read review
"The newer individual cottages offer more privacy and more modern facilities."
Read review
"Luxury rooms set far away from the tents are quieter."
Read review
"Take your tent there and go camping! You will love it!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing